Rent MLB Front Office Manager for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MLB Front Office Manager

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.5

976 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Just like a top prospect, it has alot of potential

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

48 out of 51 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

2K Sports has released the first baseball sim to ever hit the new era consoles.

The Good:

Fantasy players dream. If you're one of those people that end up adjusting rosters and simming seasons more then playing the actual game then you wont be disappointed. This game has extreme depth, bidding on Japanese players, Rule 5 Draft, Arbitration, you name it its pretty much on this game. Creating your GM is cool feature. You can dress and have your GM look they way you want them to, as well as giving them personality traits that can help strengthen your GM's skills. Depending on the moves you make with your roster, you will gain/lose skill points.

The Bad:

Navigating the menus is an extreme bothersome process. Instead of being able to navigate multiple things at once, each thing has its own menu. Instead of being able to pull up your roster and look at the Free Agents at the same time, you have to close everything, open up your roster menu, look at the rosters, close it, then find the FA menu and by that time you forgot who you wanted to sign. The AI is kind of disappointing as well. The more you play the more stupid moves you will see the AI make such as signing Chipper Jones to a 6yr/$40M deal or the Phillies signing Orlando Hudson to have him sit on the bench. GM's also have no motivation in there moves. All Gm's are the same so you wont see a team try and net prospects or go trade frenzy.

Final Note:

For those who thought this was a regular baseball game it is not. This is a complete baseball sim that is centered around becoming a GM and building your team to become a baseball powerhouse. This game has extreme depth but the menu navigation kind of downs all the cool features it has. This game is good for a first time release, but its just not there yet. Hopefully 2K makes another one next year that improves the AI and other problems. If you like Baseball Mogul, OOTP Baseball then you should have fun with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No middle ground here

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Feb 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Don't touch this game if you aren't already inclined to enjoy stats based games with a lot of text and numbers and not much by way of graphics.

If this sounds like something you might like, then read on. If not, run far far away. Because this game is mostly arranging and rearranging names and positions to infinity. I spent the first hour playing this game on day one. I had to read through so many lists and figure out which of my minor leagers were worth paying attention to and setting up contracts or deciding whether or not to offer arbitration to Milton Bradley, that it was literally an hour before I ever hit the button to progress to day 2!!!

I enjoyed that. BUT my attempts to sign free agents in the off season didn't go very well. Just like in real life, pitchers don't seem too eager to sign on with the Texas Rangers. And I even had one guy reject my offer to play elsewhere for 3 million a year less than what I offered him!!! Frustrating, but realistic.

Slow and time consuming, but fun if you are into numbers and tracking prospects. The reviewer who said it was like watching grass grow actually had it right. But in this case, some people might like watching this grass grow. I thought it was a good game overall, but it would need to develop a little more before I would commit to buying it.

It is a nice tide-me-over between now and baseball season though. If you don't want to sit around waiting to see how much Manny Ramirez is going to sign for, maybe give this game a try instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad - Needs Some Work

posted by steve2722 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first thing Take Two needs to re-do is in the setting the lineups screen. If you are going to have so many injuries occurring, you need to make the lineup screen more of a breeze to change it. In MLB 2K8 they had it perfect, who was the genius to decide to go away from it.

Way to many injuries. AROD, Derek Jeter & Mike Mussina played in a combined 24 games in my first season. They would come back from injury then go back on the DL.

A tip screen needs to be added, especially for the 25 man roster deadline. I spent over an hour to find out I needed to add someone. I wished there was a menu / screen that would have told me what I needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unbelievably bad

posted by tang007 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Expecting something like fantasy baseball?? Well this is more in line with a fantasy kick in the groin than anything.

Interface is slow and unresponsive and extremely user unfriendly. Player stats are hard to locate, and are extremely lite.

Franchise/Career mode in ANY other baseball game is much more polished than this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Alright Simulator

posted by Misterspaz (BREA, CA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you play games like madden and usually find yourself just simulating thru season after season in franchise mode, just trying to build good teams for the heck of it...

then this is probably a game for you.

if not, id probably stay away.

When you first start career mode you will be signing free agents, going thru arbitrations, letting players go, and doing a rule 5 draft before you even get to spring training... all in all this will take you a good hour or two easy. the season is similar, a bunch of text, messing around with rosters here or there, and simulating season to season.

Likes-
The CPU isn't dumb and tries to compete and make their rosters just as powerful as yours.
In Depth, can do japanese bidding for players, rule 5 draft, amateur draft, arbitrations, and running 6 or 7 different teams from MLB to AAA to AA and so on.

Dislikes-
Really slow and boring.
Players ratings suck. Francisco Rodriguez drops to a 50 after 1 season...
Gets old after only 2 or 3 seasons.

Overall, 6...
something new for avid baseball fans, try it out for a few days, then dump it. good idea, lots of work needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is awful!!!

posted by YaBuddie89 (OXFORD, ME) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me first start out by saying that I love baseball, fantasy baseball and baseball games. I would buy the baseball games and just make trades and simulate the season. This game seemed like it would be perfect for me...boy was I wrong. The menu screens are awful, the player rater is kinda crazy and its just no fun. I'm so glad I rented it on gamefly instead of just going out and buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Game

posted by goblue44 (Clay, MI) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very bad and should not be played by anyone. It is boring and takes to long to do anything. The game is also very confusing and curtain things don't work out right. Don't even bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awesome Concept, Poor Execution

posted by WWDL07 (HARVARD, IL) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the idea of this game. My favorite part of all sports games is personnel management and trading players. This game offers that, but little else, and leaves you confused and with no satisfaction of achieving anything. It has all the details, but the interface doesn't feel comfortable. The two things that I disliked the most were; the player overall rating system (20-80 in increments of 5, no detail or variance between players) and how some fictional 19 year old's are rated higher than good MLB veterans, and the lack of a trade search option. The computer offers you lots of trades, none of which are very beneficial to you, but it is really hard to shop a player and you can't find out how interested the other team is in your trade. You are better off playing MLB 2K8, or 2K9 in a month, and simming the games, the GM interface is much better and more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible All Around

posted by Buttaman (ABERDEEN, MD) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is bad bad bad.Me and bro couldnt wait to play it we love baseball but the gameplay is horrible not realistic at all.The batters never swing or strike out on bad pitches, most pitches are right down the middle of the plate,fielding players dont tag runners when theres a play at a bag when they are gonna be thrown out they just stand there and let them be safe,the outfielders just stand there dont run until a ball lands in the gap,the outfielders throw home and dont hit the cutoff man when its clear hes gonna score and let the runner advance to second.Also when your at bat when you pick what your gonna do what you pick is for the whole at bat not pitch by pitch which is so stupid so if you wanna steal its on the first pitch or hit and run its the first pitch and they usually swing and miss which is dumb they should make contact atleast.And people get picked off alot at first and theres never close plays at first there are so many almost impossible double plays.Diving play at short throw home then to first and got him by a mile.So stupid.Dont get it please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What a Letdown

posted by juggalojay (OBION, TN) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have had this game in my game q for a few months. I could not wait to play it. Boy was I let down. Do not bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucks

posted by sam2927 (Flagstaff, AZ) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This isnt even a baseball game. One of the worst player rating systems ive ever seen and terribe simulation system. Dont rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its pretty good...

posted by Constant (TULARE, CA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One thing that i love about baseball games is that you can build that fantasy roster you alway want. Mess with line-ups and pitching rotations. I love fantasy baseball. Everything is really accurte in this game. Its fun to play but you must love Fantasy baseball. Its a good game but i like to actually play with the players and bat and pitch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Early in it's Evolution

posted by derek22 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Great idea, nice effort, but the executing is poor. In a few seasons, this could be a GREAT game. But as with most initial attempts at bringing the "Front Office" to gaming, there are too many misses.

Ex. Tried to pickup a free agent. I made a great offer. And when I got word it was rejected, the player had immediately signed with another team (and for a LESSER deal) and with NO negotiation at all. Nothing from the agent; no push and pull; just a reject and sign elsewhere. Not realistic. This is just one of many.

So, for now, gotta rate this a waste of time. But again, some day this game will be tight!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Fun

posted by BlakeC85 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game isn't nearly as good as I had expected. It focuses on the Front Office aspect as you'd expect, but what is fun about managing a team that you cant play? Yeah you can sign new players, find new prospects, make trades and arbitration agreements..but after that you're left with an unexciting game. I hoped there would be some sort of gaming to be done, seems most sports games now come with the same "Career" type aspects and include in-depth gameplay (pitch selection, pitching aim/power, batter swing/aim/direction). This game includes all you could want from the front office but lacks SEVERELY everywhere else. I expected to fall in love with this game but 75% of it is automated for you. The in-game portion of the game is what ruins it, you are left with such little control of it that you're more excited about the game ending so you can get back to making that next trade rather than your wins and losses. All in all I suppose the game is what it was programmed to be, a fantasy game you can play on your console. Too bad it doesn't allow anything more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring Boring Boring

posted by OwninPwnin (WYLIE, TX) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is boring and takes a while on career to get to the game and graphics are not great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good GAME!!!

posted by Chris1234 (BRONX, NY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 27 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game has to be the best game i had ever played!!! I love it. This games puts you face to face the MLB and all the real aspects of being a GM. This game is so good at trying to make you feel like you are a actually a General Manger. I love this game. This Game ROCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBAGE

posted by CHUCKY25 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE, GRAPHICS ARE GARBAGE..MY 2 CENTS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

enjoy watching grass grow?

posted by beeronasti (ODESSA, TX) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Then this games for you. Perhaps even the people who like staring at paint drying will also appreciate the intricate and indepth spin that they add to boredom. Im all for strategy but watching your big names guys get tired after 3 innings of pitching and all the league hitting badasses grounding out you realize that this game is frustrating and not very rewarding. If you enjoy micromanaging all the stupid little details such as clothes for a gm then by all means go get this as its on par with whatever barbie dressup game youve come from. But for anyone who is a real fan of the sport dont waste your time on such a tedious and repetitive lackluster attempt at baseball

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by cheeser (LENEXA, KS) Feb 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Worst game I've ever played. Billy Beane should be ashamed to have his name attached to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

seriously, i mean come on

posted by cawestlake11 (MANHEIM, PA) Jun 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

seriously indeed when I first got this game I thought wow I cant wait to play this. 30 minutes later I grabbed the game put it in the envelope and put it in the mailbox. I mean come on, so lets get this over with

goods
-the way you can control the franchise

bads
-after a great team even when I got pujols I lost 30-40 games in a row
and now you know

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth playing

posted by TMoneyDogVIP (OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I have owned this game since 2009 and I play it occasionaly. If you like setting up teams to your liking, I would recommend Fantasy mode so you can set up your own teams. If you are trying to get achievements, you'll most likely have to play career mode for most achievements and it is tough to have a winning team no matter who you have on the team, and can be tough to win the World Series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good if fan of fantasy baseball

posted by gmeplaya (JACKSON, MS) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

its ok igave it a 3 bcause im not realyy in baseball and maybe it may be fun to baseball fans but really boring seeing how u cant control the players jus telling them wat to do but thn again im not a baseball fan but boring game overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great Idea, needs polished

posted by mike3223 (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

I'm definitely a sports enthusiast. I sometimes enjoy just building rosters and watching the development to see who I can take from the sports basement to the upper echelon. Because of that, I figured this game would be right up my alley. It wasn't. There is little player development from one season to the next, players are injured FAR too much and the player ratings are ridiculous (Alex Rodriguez is rated a 65 out of 100). The draft provides no real talent from one season to the next and free agents don't counteroffer when you present them with a deal, they just say no and sign with someone else instantly. I'll try this again when they put a little bit of effort into it. Steer clear, even if you're really a sports fan, this game is boring and lazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Take 2 does it again...

posted by bboxbilly (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Take Two interactive has done it again with it's title MLB Front Office Manager. The 2K Sports people have a tendency to take a great sports game idea and dumb it down to a total boring and somewhat unplayable state. It is a great idea to take a game and make it all about the building of a franchise from the perspective of a manager but, they never really give you much of an incentive other than see if you can win. Here are some ideas that I had about how to make it a more interesting game.
1) Co-op this title with your other title so that you can import lineups and players straight from one game to another.
2) Have roster updates auto spawn from online like MLB 2K10.
3) Incorporate better graphics and better playability within the season.
4) Better statistical data for each player... not just a singular rating system that is all encompassing.
If they had something like this, I would have loved this game. But, just like MLB 2K10, 2k sports again disappoints. Maybe they could have merged both this game and 2k10 and had an excellent baseball game that differs from all the others. But, instead, I think that they saw dollar signs and thought that they could get more money from 2 different titles. Shame that we 360 owners are cursed to have only one baseball title a year. I wish that EA would get back into the game and give us some better quality baseball titles for this console. I am one year away from getting a PS3 just for the baseball game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Nice Concept, Poor Execution

posted by MsMeowMeow (THOMASTON, GA) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

I like the concept of this game, but it lacks in execution by over complicating things, I think.

This is truly a game for pure baseball fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse