Rent MLB 2K13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MLB 2K13

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.1

381 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

$60 Roster Update?

posted by tymmac007 (DREXEL HILL, PA) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I've been playing MLB 2K12 up until I got 2K13 yesterday, so I pop in the new version and it was EXACTLY the same, not a darn thing changed but the roster. The sound bytes, the narrators, the graphics, the gameplay, nothing changed. I'm very disappointed in this game, I could have just kept playing 2K12 and made the roster changes myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by raptors83 (BOULDER, CO) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do not buy this game, especially if you already have 2k12. It is basically a $60 roster update, and even the rosters 2k has are horrible. 2k should be ashamed of what they released. Really wish The Show had rights to the xbox!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh so very bad

posted by GenDeftinwolf (BELLEVILLE, IL) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, so this game is terrible. I tried...and I tried...and I tried. Let's begin with...

A: the game is almost exactly like MLB 12, which also sucked

B: The game seems to know how bad it is by at least fast forwarding through plays until you get a chance to catch or bat.

I know this is a sports game, and expectations shouldnt be that high, but seriously...you will be bored in less than 10 min with this game.

Last, if you were looking to make a custom character that looks normal and has some cool features (name brand anything, chains, ear rings, tattoos) dont even start playing. You get a stock (ish) character that has cheap looking gear, even when customized.

Word of advice, stick to FPS... or NFL Blitz.... ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by park (WALLA WALLA, WA) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is a good game i relly reckameand it if you pick the seattle mariners you will be surprised

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not great

posted by sbintliff (CLEARWATER, FL) May 16, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the mlb 2k games always have, however i was disappointed that it didnt change much from 2k12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Save Your Money

posted by childofgod562 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do you know how you read reviews saying this is the same game as MLB 2K12? This is LITERALLY the same game! I even had to check to make sure the same the same cover athlete was not on 2K13. There is no difference at all. No tweaks. Only updated rosters. I love sports of all kind, so I got it anyways after reading the reviews and I am so frustrated that I wasted a game pick on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

.... Seriously?

posted by YewgohtPewptohn (ROY, WA) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Sports games in general get a pretty bad rap for being the same from year-to-year. But this is just ridiculous. Its seriously the EXACT SAME GAME with updated graphics, rosters, and maybe a few improvements that are barely noticable. Honestly, the default 2K player ratings aren't that great to begin with, so you're better off. You're better off going to 2k Share and downloading custom player ratings. A buddy of mine was playing 2k12 at the same time I was playing 2k13. He downloaded a custom roster and it was the exact same custom roster I had downloaded. So, you're better off just playing 2k12 and downloading a custom roster, which is something you'd want to do with 2k13 anyways. Not only is 2k13 virtually the same game as it's predecessor, its predecessor may well have been better. One error that I found in the game that proves all they did was remask this game Is when you start a franchise and get to the draft. The draft order is the exact same as the 2012 draft order. This is not determined by anything that happens in the game, as it is predetermined by the previous year's record. I.e. The Mariners still have the 3rd pick, when they should be picking 12th. There are also a lot of errors with the announcing, which used to be a strength of this franchise (as much as I dislike Steve Philips and John Kruk). The announcing is much less intuitive, sometimes having nothing to do with the situation, and its probably less common for a player to be called the right name that it is for them to be called the wrong one. Usually a player will be called by a teammate's or former teammate's name (but only if they were teammates in 2k12, for example: Mike Morse gets called Ian Desmond and Josh Hamilton gets called Adrian Beltre). Bottomline, if you're desperate for a baseball game. Look for a used copy of 2k12... Or better yet, buy a PS3 so you can play The Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This again??? It's time for some competition!

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Mar 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The exclusivity agreement between MLB and 2K will end soon. It can't end soon enough though. This is the same game as last year which was almost the same game as the year before that.

I'm still playing 2k8. The lighting isn't as good and the frame rate is choppy, but the gameplay is better and I actually think the graphics are better too. The players' faces are crisper in 2k8. After 2k9 hit, the players look blobby and cartoony as far as skin textures go. The company needs to hire some new artists and go back to the same gameplay they had in 2k8. I have tried the new version every year, and have had to come here and write almost the same review every year. So sick of this "product" being the same tired ugly worthless thing every year.

Ok. I'm going to go fire up my 2k8 again and hope it doesn't crash on me like it did last night. But it's still better than 2k9-2k13!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

exact same game

posted by tripm99 (WARREN, ME) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game is the exact same game...minus chipper jones and that's it basically. no updates..no voice changes, just put price on the cover instead of verlander..I played last years heavily and recently and you would NEVER know the difference between the two...worst baseball game ever..cant wait for change

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game, Not much new... but FUN!

posted by 30YearGamer (MOREHEAD, KY) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you are familiar with the MLB2k Franchise, then you know how the games play, and they are pretty much the same from year to year. However, this year was a major Dissapointment in the fact that in MLB2k12, there WAS an online league where you could play with your clan, or friends. however because, by Take Two's own admission, This game was made very fast they took this feature out. Also, they added no new graphics, nothing new to stadiums, basically, this is MLB2k12 with an up to date roster. Now, keeping that in mind, the baseball game is solid. It does what a baseball game does, delivers solid game-play, no glitches, or graphical errors to speak of, and is the ONLY game I have played in 30 yrs+ of gaming that you, and your buddy playing online against one another, hear the same commentary. Which is very helpful as you catcher might ask for the fastball, but the commentator may say, "If I were him, I would through my curve low and inside here." The commentators know baseball and when you hear that, I suggest you take the advice. They added a few animations in the outfield for better looking and exciting catches, and made infield players better at catching fast balls off the bat. Again, this depends on what team you are, and players skill, as well as your own. I see many players on here knocking this game. I think they wanted more, which is fair, however don't judge what didn't happen, judge the game for what it is, and for what did happen. It is a solid, fun baseball game that I play 4-6 times a week. If you own a PS3, you have the option to play the show, but if your an Xbox 360 owner, then this is what is there for us, and it is well done. See ya at the ballpark!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same game...new year

posted by Joshlangg000 (SEQUIM, WA) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

2k didn't change this game one bit. I swear its the same game and they only made this for new rosters. Not worth it! Although its still better and more in depth than the show...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage

posted by thekb83 (ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Thenaimations arent smooth, the annoucing is random and often has nothing to do with what goes on, feels like a mailed in effort knowing their contract is up after this year. really phoned in just avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

DECENT GAME BUT NO CHANGES

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Unless you own a PS3, or are a baseball nut, then there is no reason to play MLB2k13. However, if you own an xbox360 and are a baseball not, then you have to play this game, and not out of choice because this is your only option.

Keep in mind, this time last season, 2K was not planning to release a baseball game for 2013 because of the weak effect of the series, but considering it is the only baseball franchise for the xbox360, MLB could not suffer a market devalue with no baseball game on North America's top console. It was as recent as this past winter that 2K realized they would have to push out a baseball game. With those time constraints comes little innovation...

...MLB2K13 is very similar to the last few editions, and it does nothing to sway the negative thoughts of the franchise, as a whole. However, 2k did polish some of the player mechanics and adjusted the fielding in the outfield. The online gameplay is experiencing less lag than the previous years, but the removal of the online league is a BIG negative and that alone could have ramifications for 2K's baseball franchise. The graphics are much of the same with the fans getting some added touches to make them look real. The commentary is top-notch, and although much of last year's commentary is present, there is enough new lines to keep things fresh. If there is one thing that 2K does right, it is the pitching mechanics.

Overall, this is an above-average game. It is good enough for avid baseball fans on the 360 to enjoy, but it should be nowhere near a PS3 owners house. If we were accustomed to no online league mode, this game would get, at least, a 7/10. But, considering they removed one of the staple modes, the game, as a whole, suffers, but it deserves a 6. To sum it up: buy if you are an avid baseball fan and xbox360-exclusive gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Result of the 2k monopoly

posted by OoNewby14oO (TEMECULA, CA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wow, roster changes only? This game has not deserved an annual release for several years now. Please, just stop feeding the beast and don't give 2K anymore money until they deserve it. This is as bad as repackaging gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

first 2k baseball game

posted by FLIPSoFaNCY (RADCLIFF, KY) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I honestly liked this game since it is my first baseball game for the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by jperk211 (MCKEESPORT, PA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

2k might be the worst sports platform out there. game is just all around terrible it's like you are playing in slow motion the mechanics are awful. would not recommend this game for anyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is not that bad

posted by cjms (BLOOMINGBURG, NY) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

MLB 2k13 sure is not the best but it has its momen tfor everybody that says it "sucks,it's terrible,etc." when was the last time you made a game. If you don't like it don't play or make snippy remarks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOST MY MLB2K13 at home I WILL BUY it

posted by johnsnoke (LILBURN, GA) Jun 15, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I LOST MY MLB2K13 at home I WILL BUY WIN I GET MY MOM TO BUY it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by imlogan18 (LAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ) Feb 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

mlb 2k13 really brings the game to life. And the updated rosters are the best. there also is a my player mode, and a dynasty mode which are both pretty awesome. also the home runs are fantastic i really think anbody who likes baseball should get this game it is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sorry

posted by kingreid87 (NEW HAVEN, CT) May 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

this game was sorry so sorry i played it for ten minutes put it in it's package and sent it back........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stealing Money

posted by pea_cee (PASADENA, CA) May 9, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is a CARBON-COPY of last year's edition. The only difference is the rosters. I don't understand how a company like 2K Sports could get away with this. They're basically stealing money! Do not waste your time with this; because 2K Sports did not spend any of their time trying to develop a new game. New Year/Same Poor Results.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The same mediocrity that you've come to expect.

posted by TcMcG48 (ROCHESTER, MN) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

If you have a XBOX 360 then you're out of luck when baseball season comes around because the choice for baseball games on the XBOX are only 2K and sadly for the better part of 2 years or so this game has pretty much remained the same. Yea sure last year added a career mode which is pretty fun and still is in 2K13 its the graphics and choppy animations that have ruined this game ever since 2K8. The core gameplay isn't terrible and its about the only thing this game has going for it. So if you have a XBOX you pretty much have no choice, its not a downright horrible game but it definitely is a flawed one. Lets hope either 2K makes drastic changes to their game for next year or just let EA bring back MVP and just stick with NBA because thats what 2K's golden ticket is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a scam

posted by acardy (WEST HAVEN, CT) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

all i can say is that it is a scam. they basically put a new cover on last years game and sold it as this years. you honestly can not even tell the difference. its a complete joke. i will never purchase another 2k product again. they blatantly showed how little they care about their customers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

online play

posted by bdogg (GEORGETOWN, OH) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

2k13 cleaned up some issues like catching routine flyballs without the lag issues. The biggest issue is the online lag and disconnect just tried to play 3 games and never made it past the 4th. With this being an ongoing problem from year to year it really limits how long people play the game and kills sales, people will struggle with it for a week or two and just move on , as I will do. The graphics are great, player legacy great, franchise great, online play stinks. Thats why i will rate the game at a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same as last year's game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

I can't believe this game is pretty much the exact same game as last year.
2k sports needs to take more pride in there baseball franchise games like they are with the basketball games.
If you have last years game, all you have to do is update your rosters and you have the new game.
Don't waste your money buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse