Rent MLB 14: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB 14: The Show

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, PS4
GF Rating
8.3

230 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

whew

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not being a big fan of sports game due to algorithms making up what usually works or doesnt has made me skeptical at best. However, I am a gamer to the core and I like to play games...all games. Now to the point.

I am on board. I sucked at MLB to say the least but that didnt stop me from goin at it again again. From pitching, to base running. From fielding to hitting. Yep, I sucked big. Although, this title was just fun and beautiful. Adding your own music to the stadium and intro music for your created character was awesome. Wish other titles let you do that. Graphics are just cool. All the little animations at bat that makeup your swing are nifty. From reactions to missed swings, fouls, and taking strikes and outside balls. To bad calls made by the ump. The pitching aspect is the same. Oh man, I cant stop talking bout MLB 14.

Sounds and music. Think I...touched base bout this a few lines back. Love the sounds. Breaking bats, listening to the 4 seam fastball wiz by or of course cracking that ball 475ft, that was my record on Home Run mode btw. Importing your music is amazing! One of my most loved features.

Gameplay. Like I said, I am really bad at this game. It was so good I kept goin. Pitching was my strong point. If I had one. Timing is everything in MLB. Again from pitching to hitting. Fielding to running. Its all timing. Wish I had a PS Move system to try this out with. Bet it would've been cool as h e double hockey sticks.

If you like sports games, this is the one for you. i don't even like baseball. Yet, I grind-ed out career mode with a opening and closing pitcher. Did the best I could in Dynasty mode. Finally, embarrassed myself multiple times in online mode. I have never had as much fun being so terrible. Rent it, love it, buy it. Thanks for your time and as always, play ball, uh, I mean game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB 14 The Show

posted by lafleming (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Oct 20, 2014

Member since May 2012

Pros: The lighting is out of this world in this game. They nailed it! During a night game with clear skies or partly cloudy the lighting is amazing. The sun reflects of the players, the fans, the umpires, and the stadiums.
2.The presentation is good as always but better than ever. They have a nice flow when your done batting you will instantly hear batter walk up music with a scene.
3. Player ratings are more realistic. Not everyone has a 99 overall with insane stats. Only three people in the game have a 99 overall. Clayton, Trout, and Miggy.
Meter pitching has improved from what I can tell. when you release to early the ball will take off on you. But if you release kinda late you will hit your target.
Cons: Hitting lol. Still can't hit for nothing even when a ball is down the middle or in their hot zones.
2. Sliders do so little.
3. AI cheese lol. I pitched a first pitch it was 1-0 braves I was the braves. It was exactly on the outside corner and so low that it wouldn't be a homer like at all. But the AI's PCI guessed perfectly not kidding. Then hit it out?! The chesse factor is in full swing in this game lol. But in the end I got 5ks with only 2 hits and that was the only run that the nationals got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Had the build for a great game but...

posted by SILENTKILLR3535 (BROOKFIELD, IL) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game franchise has been phenomenal. I've played THE SHOW since 2007 with Wright on the cover after his breakout year with the Mets for PS2. Every year especially online, THE SHOW is the best consistently. Like leagues with the ability to draft your own team or use other rosters that include historic players doesn't compare to the show (i.e. madden, nba live). So for me to write a bad review shows you something about this game. Honestly, the graphic are great. They get better every year. The new franchise system instead of the leagues for online takes some getting used to but is still not bad. The major issue is the fact that the server for PS3 is awful for this game. There are glitches online constantly. And considering how the game has been in the past and how it runs for PS4 it is no question that SONY and THE SHOW are doing it on purpose by not fixing these issues to force PS3 gamers to buy the PS4. I was planning to get one eventually but this extra push by not fixing issues with games going forward on the PS3 is just uncalled for, especially from a phenomenal game franchise like THE SHOW. So that was the main issue with the servers. One thing the game in general changed that is really the only bad thing about it that makes it worse is the fact that you can only see someone's card in a game lobby or if they make the leaderboards (and you go to the leaderboard page). I guess it helps because you're more likely to play everyone instead of backing out from a strong opponent but it stinks when setting up leagues and you can no longer see other people's cards on the players who need franchises and thus you cannot tell who is active or a quitter anymore as a franchise commish. Overall the game was a disappointment but it was mainly because of how high my expectations were for it and the fact that it is usually matched but this year was far below. I'm sure next year I'll probably have a PS4 and THE SHOW '15 and it will be great. But for '14 on PS3 don't bother!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online Gameplay is HORRIBLE

posted by GettinFilthy (DALLAS, TX) Jun 6, 2014

Member since May 2013

If you're looking to play online, you're in for a very laggy, glitchy, and frustrating experience. The ball glitches all around the field and sometimes mid-play it would glitch and become frozen and the play would finish without you ever seeing what happened. Otherwise regular gameplay is just as good as past years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

if it aint broke...

posted by cg_labb (BRISTOL, CT) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

should've just updated the rosters cuz all the improvements made last year were fine. nobody can pick off lead runners this good in any world, simulated or not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dope but want ps4 version

posted by priceiga (ANTIOCH, CA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

CANT WAIT FOR PS4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by BobbyMcGee81 (CHARITON, IA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game is Amazing! Most realistic baseball game yet! I love it! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by mullee22 (LILBURN, GA) Apr 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Each year the game creator keeps making the game better and better but it cant get any better than this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst The Show Game EVER!!

posted by Crazy_TrainZ28 (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

Not only have the developers failed yet another to improve the sliders in this game but they put the stupid popups back in... 6/10 at bats your guaranteed to pop it up and it don't matter how you edit your players... all in all this game is considered the best baseball game around but that doesn't say much since its the ONLY baseball game around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

B...E...A...UTIFUL!!!

posted by victory1632 (MILROY, PA) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

MLB 14: The Show has a lot of improvements over 13... The way they reconfigured franchise and rtts was great. That's really all the more that need be said... its a 10/10 game every year, as long as it stays with its MLB The Show Swag, it'll be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »