Rent MLB 12: The Show for PS Vita
view large frontback

MLB 12: The Show

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.9

189 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

American Pass time comes to the psvita

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MLB the show is the best baseball game francise and maybe the best sports game francise ever. So when they say that this game will be the same as the ps 3 version of the game minus that they take away some prestantion out of it. So I was excited because it cost $20 less and anybody psvita libery needs the show to be there. So when I got the game I was a little dispointed. It has the pulse piticing and puluse angoluge batting that it was new to the ps 3 version of this game and it has the road to the show fetures that was new to the show this year. You also have player cards for online and you can add friends after the game atleast i heard you can do that. You also can save to the cloud and load to the cloud to play road to the show, francise, and season on the psvita and ps 3 with the same player or team. And they also put in 200 new ball physics. But they don't have the dept of francise mode from the ps 3 verison of the game to the psvita. Francise mod e has these things like how much for the stadem food will cost or how many resurate and stands will there be in your staduim to make money or t.v. or newspaper contract for your team to get more fans and etc. And they did not add rival mode to the psvita version of the game and also they did not add the new diomand dynasty mode to the psvita version.

Pros
- Touch screen and back touch pad works great
- Most relistic baseball game on a handheld
- up to date rosters everyday
- Good grafics
- Lots of stats ( One of the best new stat thing is that you can see the stats you perform in road to the show against teams)
- You have quick menu

Cons
- Bad game for online play
- You can't play with ps 3 players online ( Does not matter because the game is bad online)
- It is super hard to throw sombody out when they are stealin

This is a great baseball game in your hands but don't think everything the publiser said about this game is true but overall this is closing thing so far we can get a ps 3 verson in your

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Real Show

posted by samsvisa (VALLEJO, CA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, so im going to tell you the Cons Pros about this game.

Cons:
- Great Game.
- Up-to-date Rosters (Big thing for some people)
- Very realistic gameplay (Seriously, theyre dope!)
- Being able to pick from Season, Franchise, The Road to the Show, and the Homerun Derby.
- Addicting
- Multiplayer
- Leaderboards
- Easy Controls
- Overall a very realistic baseball game for a handheld!

Cons:
- It takes forever to find a game in the lobby.
- Vita's can only play against other Vita's, not PS3's.
- I think the CPU cheats!
- Hitting is a little challenging
- Unfortunately, if you rent the game, NO multiplayer. (You either buy the game or buy the pass for 10$ in the PS store)
- Some of the servers are Effed up
- Traffic Delay in Multiplayer games.

Im not saying it's a bad game. In fact its actually VERY entertaining and fun. Just a bit of a challenge and some Cons do get annoying but nothing too serious. I say if your a true baseball fan, then it's definitely a game for you! So rent it, or buy it and rep your team(s)! But we all know the Oakland A's or San Fran Giants are gonna be 2012 World Champs ;)

Have Fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing!

posted by kyle_32 (CAMBY, IN) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing through about five games I can safely say that they have done wonders with this title. I was skeptical to play it hearing "It's VERY similar to the PS3 version" and it really is that good. It feels and looks very similar to its PS3 counterpart. Its a little watered down but for the first year on Vita I cannot wait to see what they can do with the later versions! Worth a buy for sure! Love that I can take my RTTS and Franchise on the road with me. Another year, Another great baseball game from SCEA San Diego! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing

posted by mrkennyschafer (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this being my first actual experience with the show series(past years i've ignored the ps3 versions due to only focusing on my 360) i have to say it is so close to perfection! you can obviously notice it still has some graphical issues but gameplay more than makes up for it! it has everything the ps3 version has(road to the show, franchise, season etc.) plus the cross platform play is such an awesome feature! glad to say my money was well spent :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by echosintwilite (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Another good addition to the MLB The Show series. I'm still horrible with the pure analog controls but there are other options so no need to worry if you are like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

'its a love hate' relationship

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

i love this game but i dont understand why they rush thru everything and give u no presentation. they dont even show the catcher throw the ball back to the pitcher, and when a game ends they dont show the players shaking hands. i love stuff like that because it makes it seem more real. its like they are serving a fine expensive bottle of wine but then u are forced to chug the whole thing. it feels like a demo sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great cross platform

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

I rented this to continue my season, and received it from my daughter on Christmas. This is a stellar hand held game, and enables you to play your season at home and on the road, on either the PS3 or Vita. This series is by far the best baseball sim series ever made and to have it on handheld, even better. My wife also enjoys it, simply because she gets to drive more now =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB 12: The Show - Handheld goodness, or mediocre?

posted by mandraxx (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I first saw MLB when a friend at Gamestop took his psvita out to show me the game. He was then nice enough to allow me to play it for a while. I thought - "these graphics beat out the ps3!" The players were awesome-looking, perhaps the most realistic, the dugout was great, everything was great visually.

But visual do not a game make. I rented it to check out the gameplay. It was definitely on par with the other MLB, 2k, and Hot Shots hand-held sports games, if not a spot above. I wouldn't quite say that the control was as good as console control. This doesn't mean that it was bad - it just seemed to be missing a few things. To be sure, hitting homeruns was fun, the homerun derby was a blast, and the pitching is perhaps the best pitching system on any handheld yet (also a little more forgiving in terms of understanding every single symbol :))

There's a lot to do - the baseball season is long. Thankfully, there's arcade mode, home run derby, and a couple other modes that can you keep you busy enough not to avoid boredom. Of course, every baseball game suffers from the "fatigue" syndrome a bit - unless you commit, and really want to play, you end up with half a game. Some of these games didn't have a lot of options. This game does, allowing you to dig right in, but still enjoy the details that are involved in a season during gameplay.

This is definitely the best handheld baseball game out there. Does it best the consoles? Maybe. If you want something portable, something to bring with you, something that is sports or, particularly, baseball, then this game is for you. If you're looking for even more realism, finer control, and a game that towers the bleachers, then maybe the console version would be better.

One thing I didn't try - the cross play. You can transfer between the console version and the PSvita version if you have the right setup. I know there are limitations to it, but it definitely has to be fun. So give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

simply amazing

posted by Frosty2300 (WILLOW SPRINGS, MO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i played 2k games alot and tried mlb the show 09 on ps3 but didnt like it....i got this on the vita and it just blew me away....sure the graphics are poor compared to the console version...but for a portable its great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game...just not for me

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
==================
I used to LOVE baseball games. I just can't get into them anymore. There is no doubt that MLB 12 is a great game. It is near console quality on the Vita and the best baseball game out there. If you love baseball games this is certainly the one to buy.

Pros
==================
1) near console functionality on the Vita
2) online play (however, need pass)

Cons
==================
1) I just lost interest playing after 1 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »