Rent MLB 12: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB 12: The Show

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
8.2

1518 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

no big surprise

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game rocks the house as expected. I love the new additions to the game, they have a K zone like plate after each pitch showing you where the pitce went, very cool. The graphics and gameplay is smooth as usual. I like that you can tailor defensive positions to every player. I love the new sound of the ball hittng the catcher's mit, improved from last year. The only thing that's missing is the camera angles you can change the zoom and height for the fielding cameras lik in MLB 12. But other then that i can't find much wrong with the game. I do however wish they would change the standings on the green monster for the AL east after every game instead of it remaining the same. I am buying this as i do every year. It's just by far the best baseball game ever seen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Show

posted by gamewizone (LEOLA, PA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of you familiar with MLB The Show series this game is the best version since 2009, maybe better. Graphics and gameplay are spot on. If you like baseball take a swing at this game and you can't miss. In the words of the great D. Vitale 'This game is awesome baby!'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best baseball game to date!

posted by radiofloyd26 (VANCOUVER, WA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This installment is the best by far so many great modes a ans unbelievable graphics. Creating a player is my favorite part of any sports game and this one is so detailed and has so many options to work with you could spend hours creating your perfect major league player. the game play is perfect the option of pitching or batting old school or new school(with the analog stick) is so great. Road to the show is a great feature could give you that time to build a player the way it's done in the big leagues. Sorry MLB 2K but Playstaion 3's the show is the only way to play baseball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

No Question

posted by DoctorDreezy (PITTSBURG, CA) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best baseball game ever created. I hope they keep it up! The RTTS game mode is amazing, I never get bored of it LOL. My player is already a hall of famer pitcher after years of struggling lol this experience was realistic and it gave me the idea of how actual MLB players start from bottom to the top. Try to add some more to make it a great baseball experience!!! A perfect 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great baseball experience!

posted by hkymike (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Mar 8, 2012

Member since May 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

You can say a lot of good things regarding this game but let me start out by saying I will not do what most do and compare this game to 2K's baseball game because I own both and play both. Now with that said onto the review....

The presentation is amazing. From the graphics to the player models to the animations, this game hits the nail right one the head with mostly everything. When they say they try to create the most realistic baseball experience they aren't lying at all. You can find your most authentic baseball gaming to be done in this game.

There are a few flaws but none of which ruin this great experience and even worth talking about. I have not played it online yet so I cannot talk about how the online is.

If you are looking for a true baseball style sim then look no further because MLB: The Show 12 fills that void! I give this game a strong 9 out of 10 and I feel it doesn't deserve any less then that!

Now enough reading! GO PLAY BALL AND HAVE FUN!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 12 the Show (10 out of 10)

posted by redsox2 (ARCADIA, CA) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

MLB 12 the Show is a really cool. The graphics are great and I enjoy playing it. I recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 12: The Show is by far the best one yet

posted by BPilcher07 (CROSBY, TX) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After playing this I have to say that this year's title is way better than the other ones and it blow the 2K Sports franchise away. They have totally remade this game and there are things on here that you can do in the others that you couldn't. Plus the fact that they have the Miami Marlins (Florida Marlins) in here is even better. The graphics on this game is better, the user interface is better, and the only minor downfall to this game is the fact that the Guess the Pitch is still hard and they need to fix that. Overall, this game is a MUST get for any baseball fan out there. You will not be disappointed I promise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

straight to da point

posted by CocoFlow69 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great baseball game

posted by Anton54 (MATTOON, IL) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i think this game is this best baseball game out there it has amazon graphics the gameplay is great. the controls arent to hard to learn for new baseball players there are many tutorial video in options that show the controls very well. the only problem i have found with this game so far when i was play RTTS mode with the ps move and my guy is outfielder and you cant controll him at all you dont have to move to the ball it will automatically move to the ball all you have to do it press trigger to catch which is way to easy and sucks you cant controller you guy for a better experience with the ps move. the battiing with the ps move is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mlb 12 the show

posted by noah2009 (BRONX, NY) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

if u buy it does it come with a cover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 12 the show

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game is the best baseball game I've ever played. It looks like you're in the game. So get out of the dugout, get a bat, and take a swing at this game. You won't miss. I don't know how you couldn't like this game. Even though it's almost the 2013 season and there's been trades in the offseason, when I got it, the rosters were up to date and it's just amazing. There's great gameplay, so I think you should buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard to start out, But fun and rewarding afterward

posted by JoeAstevez (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

nnnnnnnyup

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Didn't know what I was thinking.

posted by Wigthers (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 20, 2012

Member since May 2010

San Diego Studios does put a lot of Emphasis on a lot of things in their "The Show" MLB games. A lot of Emphasis on the graphics, emphasis on character models, emphasis on the feel of the game and how it is in real life, but not a lot of emphasis in terms of gameplay. I have played both Franchise and Road to The Show, and both in batting and pitching were very difficult. On batting, I found myself working the count a lot (as I'm used to swing at the first pitch and getting a double or a home run). On Pitching, it's almost like that I had to be precise in order to throw a pitch for a strike, even being just a bit off will get your pitch called for a ball. I'm just hoping that if there's a 2013 version of this game that they'll put more emphasis on gameplay and make it easier for casual gamers.

What I also don't like about this game is that the broadcasters are more monotone than the broadcasters that do the 2K version of MLB. But this is just my opinion. I personally don't recommend this game to anybody, but I won't stop anybody who would want to play it anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good MLB Game

posted by FarticusTraci (SOUTH GATE, CA) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game has good graphics and it's fun to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by SupaBamMan (DAYTON, OH) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

Every year MLB The Show impresses me more and more. This year is no different. It delivers excellent game play, excellent graphics, and the addition of the PS Move to RTTS as well as others is just the icing on the cake. I have never seen so much detail put into a sports game in my life. I wish that I had a 3D tv just to see what that would be like. I play a lot of sports games and I don't like a lot of them. But this title is one of two games on Gamefly that I would be proud to buy. With new additions like commentators and the move as I previously mentioned, I spend almost four hours a day playing this masterpiece. I think that I am still discovering new features in this game. The only problem I have with this game is nothing too important, just that it always asks you if you would like to update the roster every week. As well as always having the same intro unlike 2010 and other MLB The Show titles. Other then these small nitpicks I think that this is the best sports game out there and you all should get your hands on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Baseball but......

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The Show is awesome!

The graphics are spot on with all of the players. The pitching is one of the better aspects of the game. Hitting is nice but could use a little tweaking.

Other than that, its GRRRRRREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by baller5546 (SIBLEY, IA) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I love this game. Good graphics. Easy to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hello game fly

posted by tonystar123 (CEDAR HILL, TX) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game that i recived was not working (right plz fix that)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only fun with multiplayer

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

In a dynasty, even when ever you are cheating so that everything goes your way, just as in a game, you still can NEVER do anything done or have fun-I am a great video gamer and I lost six of seven games, but multiplayer is SUPER fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Bad Gliches

posted by spbroom5 (WAYNESBORO, MS) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

First let me say I love this game!!! But there were some things that irratated me to no end with this game. It froze up on me multiple times!!! One in particular... I would try to steal second base and the opposing team would call a pitchout but instead of catching the ball and throwing it to second, the ball would go pass the catcher and he would just stand there while I ran around the bases. That would be great if it would allow me to score but when you cross home, everyone just stands around and looks at each other. The only thing you can do is turn the game off at this point, which sucks if you are 4 for 4 with 2 homers a triple and a double. SUCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by farahst_george (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

nice game good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by orionea (APTOS, CA) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I can't wait till next years edition!!! trust me in road to the show mode be patient, when you get to the majors the fun begins!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by Irishrye (KINGSTON, PA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Good not great. Seems 2 me that yr 2 yr the gm is not much better. Gameplay needs 2 get better, especially the pitching .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 12 The Show

posted by Napoli25 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

wonderful graphics looks like a real broadcast the gamplay is great too i have a freind who lives down the street with this game so i can play pretty much anytime i want

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay game.

posted by Ncristella (MERIDIAN, ID) Jun 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game shows a lot of potential but it still missing some gameplay control.

On Beginner the controls were too simple everything except pitch and batting were automated, there is no field control in beginner and there is no speed control for pitching either.

One experienced the batter gains some control with batting highlighting the pitch but often time my batter would check swing nearly always even with perfect timing. It hurt the game terribly by the lack of batting. With pitching there is strange speed meter that makes little difference to the pitch itself but was never accurate as I tried at-least 25 times and couldn't land the meter perfect or barely close at all.

It is definitely comprehensive with all the teams, players, franchise mode with marketing, budget, and manager control you could want in a game. I still think I'll stick to EA though on this one but its close and baseball games themselves just haven't been able to provide the game intensity a user needs to engage the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse