Rent MLB 11: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB 11: The Show

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
7.9

3121 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Baseball

posted by Duder80 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

28 out of 29 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna start and say that this is the BEST baseball game i've ever played. The new analog system workes really good especially with pitching. I also love the fielding in this game. Your players will only botch a play if you mess up a throw. Batting is just okay in the new system. But if you want to change back to the old system you can and you don't have to change it all. If you want to bat like in the old games you can while still pitching with the analog stick or vice versa. The graphics in this game are the best i've seen in any sports game. Your players look like they look in real life and when you play a game that starts at say 7:00 it gets darker as the game goes along. This is just simply the best baseball game ever and might be the best sports game i've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game !!

posted by Aerodude1965 (OLDSMAR, FL) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this release since the end of the baseball season last year. This game is awesome because of the better lighting effects and true to life baseball physics. If you want an arcade game, don't buy this because it really plays like the real thing. It can get frustrating at times but just stick with it and practice. My only negative about MLB 11 is that they dont have historical players or teams and they must add this feature next year. The added uniform mix and match is a pleasant addition besides the excellent graphics as usual. Gameplay is addictive and the more you play the better the game gets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good but pretty annoying.

posted by battle_of_one (DACULA, GA) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've had this game since April and after playing 10 different teams through 20 franchise seasons and 5 full "Road To The Show" characters, this game is really good but pretty annoying. The Franchise mode is almost a total copycat of "Madden"'s Franchise mode. It's really detailed but the UI is extremely clunky and annoying to go through. It turns into "Civilization V" with baseball. The annoying message you get numbers of times reminding you "You need to schedule a promotion!" or "XXX player is doing great, you should consider promoting him" or "Vendors sold out, you should install more vendors". Then you have to manage AA, AAA, MLB rosters, sign draft picks. It is extremely detailed, which pleases some fans but casual players who don't care to play simulation games and just want to play baseball are going to be put off by the intricate franchise mode. If you could select "AUTO" for specific things like: signing draft picks, maintaining the roster & what not, WITHOUT having a pop-up message asking if you want to "AUTO" then it would be better.

This game also loves the Florida Marlins. I don't get it. Every single franchise team I played and every RTTS player that I created, the Marlins were winning the NL East and going to the World Series multiple times. It's like one of the programmers for the game is one of the 300 people that attend Marlins games. Speaking of RTTS, it still needs some work but is fun. Players create a player & put them on their favorite team to play for them. Not to be traded away to the Kansas City Royals. I created & played 5 players in RTTS. EVERY SINGLE ONE of them was traded. I even chose positions where that team was "THIN" at that position. Being traded away and stuck with that team for up to SEVEN-EIGHT seasons before you can get back to your favorite team sucks.

Hint: If you want to play for your team & you become a free agent, ignore all contract offers in off season. You'll then be able to try out for your team in spring training

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best MLB game to date (MVP was a close 2nd)

posted by kchamps (CENTERPORT, NY) Jul 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since the days of MVP ive been playing baseball video games, with minor satisfaction. The career mode is incredibly deep, improving every year. Franchise is a lot of fun, whether its controlling a dynasty or rebuilding a broken team. The HR Derby is a great added feature for anyone who likes to hit 'em deep. Only thing i dislike is the lack of variety in the same announcers since 07'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Rilol (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fantastic game. The graphics are unbelievable and gameplay is phenomenal. The "Road to the show" is fun. The only fault I've found so far is that during the offseason it doesn't give you an opportunity to progress your players and doesn't allow minor leagures to participate in Spring Training. Other than that the game is a TEN!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by Bubmayne (BRANDON, FL) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best baseball game I've ever played. It's my first time playing 'The Show' series so I can't really compare to previous years, but I was and am still blown away by the depth of this game. The RTTS mode is excellently done. I was surprised to see that they had AA teams in this game, but it made working your way up to the majors that more challenging. Online gameplay is great as well. The speed of the game was one of my issues always with baseball. But with the way they cut out all the between-pitch graphics for online makes the game go by real fast. The online league aspect is nice as well. The set-up makes for a lot of fun if you can keep a league together. Graphics in this game were one of the best I've seen in any sports game recently. Blows away any football or basketball game out there. Nothing but good to say about this game. I've only had it for a few days now, but won't be returning it anytime soon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Homerun for the show

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 10, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I didnt think they could improve this game from last year, and i stand corrected. The missing piece of the puzzle i always wanted from the show is in place, more stats and my favorite MORE camera angles have completed this puzzle to a perfect 10 rating. I love that there is pitching views from behind the picther that is directly behind the pitcher so you can see the breaks of the pitch much better than with last year's version. My favorite is the Twins camera angle from behind the pitcher. The gameply of course is smooth as usual, the graphics are top notch as expected. The controls are easy just like last year. The pitching is awesome with 3 different options to choose from. What else can i say, i LOVE this game and i WILL be purchasing it. There are now 3 things you can count on in life... death, taxes and me buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game but Roster Ratings are Terrible

posted by packman80 (LAKE ORION, MI) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like this game, it is very realistic, the gameplay and graphics are amazing. I love the new controls with the analog stick pitching and hitting. I dont know why everyone is complaining about the analog hitting, it seems to work just fine for me, I hate just pressing X for hitting, the analog stick is a lot better.

Other then the controls, there isn't really a whole lot that changed from last year which was kind of disapointing. Also the roster ratings are awful even after the updates, my favorite team is the Tigers and they don't make any of the Tigers better that have played good this season, examples like Peralta, Avila, Boesch.....etc. That really makes me mad because I can't play online since the Tigers ratings are so bad so I just play franchise and made all the ratings more realistic myself but I would have liked to play online more. Other then the rosters, their isn't much to complain about this game other then their wasn't a whole lot changed from last year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game..if you want a challenge.

posted by rob4335 (VALLEY CITY, OH) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying i love baseball games. I have played since the days of MVP baseball. and NEVER has there been a game as realistic and challenging as this. The introduction of the hit stick and pitch stick just add an even more challenging aspect to this game. You have to be spot on with your pitches or else the Alberts and the A-rods of the world will burn you everytime. Also, no more guessing fastball everytime and seeing right where the pitch is. Even if you play on rookie difficulty, no longer will it show you exactly where the pitch is without also guessing the location.
Pros:-Great interface and use of joystick gives a greater challenge.
-Even better graphics then last year.
-Hard enough to keep you from hitting .500, but not impossible for a newcomer to hit.
-Online co-op and online challenges are great new additions.
-Road to the show improvements are subtle but good.
Cons:-Franchise mode has been virtually untouched.
-Online play is still laggy compared to other online sports games.

Overall this is one of the greatest, most realistic sports sims i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wowsah

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Much better than MLB 2K series! Best baseball game ever! Oh, and the Show team wasn't lying when they showed the new dynamic weather feature. I just wanna say that if MLB 11: the Show didn't have the new pure analog controls, I woulda bought the lousy MLB2K11. I gave this a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wish it was a tad easier.

posted by Dimes55 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Love the game but boy it can really be frustrating at times. I have played a lot of baseball games in my time going back to Earl Weaver and I can safely say this game is the hardest. I have tried all the sliders and even tried rookie mode and still get pounded. I'm sorry but on rookie mode the game should be a breeze. It is a good game don't get me wrong but don't play it if your having a bad day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hitting stinks

posted by Flyersfan3 (CLARKSBORO, NJ) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i would change the hitting. when my team is up to bat the hitters strike out to much.i also wouldn't limit playstation move just to home run derby. i would make it for the entire game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Called out at trying for an inside the park HR

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 4 biggest problem with the game is pure analog pitching & batting and RTTS and trophys. Lets start out with pitching if you hold the controller in your hand and push up on the R3 yell notice that your thumb go's up on an angle to the right most of the time no all the time. So it makes it very hard to pitch no matter what skill level you play on. Next is the batting hitting the ball is very hard no matter what skill level you play on. And check swing are nearly imposible. These are both great ideas but need work. RTTS if you want to play in the infield you must be right handed. if you go through the history of MLB left handed players have played in the infield. and not just at one pos but at all infield pos and i'm not talking about a few. If there is any left handed people out there that is ok with this it just means you like to sittle for less. Stop sittling for less and let the people that make this game allow a left handed person to play SS 3B 2B 1B C as a left hand. Look at it as stereo typing. Trophys are not won by skill but by luck this game need less luck trophy and more skill trophys other then that this is a very good game 9.0

Still the best baseball game out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Show

posted by dbmb467 (UNION CITY, NJ) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nothing bad can be said about this game at all. It is great in every way. The only dissapointment I had is that you still can't change the length of a season in franchise mode. This kills it for me because I don't have time to play a full season like that. Great game nevertheless :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mlb the show

posted by doughboy180 (PUEBLO, CO) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

to hard to play couldnt hit the ball when i did was an out in 9 games hit the ball twice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lackluster... Repeat Repeat

posted by Leasy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The same game for the past 3 years. The old saying ''if it ain't broke don't fix it'' is not for this game. This game is basically the same game. The announcers are atrocious and after a while it wears out. The game-play element is the same with the exception of the pitching which is poorly executed and boring. The game isn't worth the rent if you have played 09 or 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My opinion

posted by bclark24 (FAIRFIELD, OH) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

im not trying to bash this game and i know that 99.9% of the worlds population will love this game. Not a ton of new innovations to this years game but its a sports game and im not a person that thinks an annual release has to have alot of cool new innovations EVERY year. looks great although the players do seem really wide and the baseball specific movements (throwing and hitting) dont always look perfect, but i am a baseball player so i notice it alot more closely than others do, but still very impressive. my problem with the game is the reason most people love it lol, as dumb as that sounds. the show is exactly what it says it is, its a simulation. my problem with this is that every year the game becomes less of a game and more of a pure simulation. the same swing on the same pitch may yeild completely different results, and while that is in itself realistic, it gets more and more frustrating. i want king felix and cc to be hard to hit in the game because they actually are harder to hit against than the average pitcher. i want pujols and josh hamilton to be hard to get out because they are good hitters. not because the game manipulates it that way. i love baseball, and it is my life. im a gm of a baseball facility (extra innings franchise if theres one near u) and i still play, and this game frustrates me. i wana feel like im in control, not statistics. if i am good at taking pitches i should get more hits because it forces the pitcher to throw more strikes like in real life, not because i get a stat boost or something, for example. dont let me fool you, and dont think im bashing this game, (i gave it a nine for crying out loud) because i completely realize i am in the huge minority here, along with my fellow baseball players who play this game. just thought id throw my opinion out there. this game is still worth a rent or purchase, but dnt be fooled, ur not always the determining factor in wins and loses. THANKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game didnt load !

posted by juxy88 (CROCKETT, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I didn't get the chance to play the game because it wouldn't load pass the welcome screen of the game. I ejected the disc and inspected it for damage and it looked fine. I tried many more times to get the game to load with no success. I sent the game back and I will put it back in my q so I get a chance to try this game. Not a good first impression for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same thing, new rosters

posted by JFBIII (FAIRFIELD, IA) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'd give last years a 9 so this gets an 8. Still a great game but nothing changed really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game but i need some help lol

posted by YODA12 (Middle Village, NY) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

game is great i just cant figure out how to turn off the left stick duirng rookie mode like it says u can i just wann use r2 and the button to guess pitch an dthe x button to hit if i guess right i wana see the right pitch and location not half. does anyone know how to use or turn on this feature which will turn off the left stick just like in the show 10? i like to start on rookie and build up wards. if u look under tuturails it sunde rookie hitting and guess pitch it says u can do it but when i set the options then try to play it goes right back to using the left stick agian lol i cant figure it out lol please help anyone anybody please.. in short i dont wana pick location with left stick plain and simple, other wise graphics are great and game play to... thanx in advance if anyone can solve this for me :))).......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MLB 2k11

posted by dblockdel (DOVER, DE) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

game keeps freezing when i try to play franchise mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Was Alright

posted by thursdaychamps (SANFORD, NC) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I liked the game but it had too many cut scenes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by MUFUGGA (DUNDALK, MD) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Possibly the best career mode of any sports game, in road to the show. The soundtrack director should be fired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 11 the show

posted by AJ0108 (MYSTIC, CT) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

This game gives me a thrill of a life time while i am playing it. the graphics look so real it feels like your watching a game on TV and this game gets u hooked into it after 5 min of playing the game. This was my review of MLB 11 the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Poppin!

posted by CodmanSquare (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I really enjoy dis game. I can spend hours playing "road to the show" mode. Some of the controls can take gettin used to, but otherwise a pretty solid baseball video game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse