Rent MLB 08: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB 08: The Show

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
8.2

2432 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Ballpark Experience Yet

posted by Gints08 (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:

-- Hands down the best presentation of any baseball game made to this day (maybe sports game period).

-- Pitcher/Batter interface is excellent with superb controls on both ends.

-- Option to save your game in the middle of it is an excellent addition and way overdue.

-- Amount of in-game options is staggering for any game much less a sports game.

-- Graphics from player models to ballparks and everything in-between are second to none.

-- Amount of little details that add to realism are fantastic. For instance, you cant paint the same corner on every pitch and umps will make some questionable calls on borderline pitches both ways.

Cons:

-- There are some glitches in the fielding. Most noticeably with balls hit to the outfield. For example a fielder may look as if he is going to make the catch 10 feet before the wall but the ball actually drops in front of the wall or hits it (screwed up my base running a few times).

-- There are times when you will want to release the ball(while fielding) a little sooner and said fielder will take his little time.

-- Also fielder switching at times can be frustrating and you end up missing the ball by a step more than you would like.

Overall however the pros so far outweigh the cons that those little fielding graphical glitches (that im sure will be fixed with an update anyway) dont detract you from wanting to play this game. I really wanted to give it a 10 but couldnt bring myself to do it considering the few problems it does have and this is coming from a casual baseball fan at best. Enjoy, its worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome baseball

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The Show is a great baseball simulator. It is the most accurate portrayal of the summer classic you can get. The game exceeds in intelligence from the announce team to the pitcher, catcher interface. The modes are many and the options are deep. The game is not the best looking sports sim out there, but it looks better than last year's version. As far as the actual game goes, this is baseball, no tricks or gimmicks. The AI is very intelligent especially during pitching. They toned down the HR ball for more small ball including more ease when base stealing. The animations aren't the best in the world as the players look like they catch the ball late but nothing that will hinder the game too much. All in all and good AB for the underdog.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid baseball game

posted by NH8842 (SAN CARLOS, CA) May 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't played a baseball game in a few years so I'm a little out of touch but this was a good PS3 game. Excellent graphics, fielding is simple and controls are pretty easy to use. Plenty of options from just playing game to running an entire franchise from year to year. There is also a "road to the show" feature which lets you build a player and take him to the majors but I didn't play that part of the game so I can't really tell you much about it. Hitting takes a bit of practice to get down and is a bit frustrating at first but it makes the games more realistic. All the real players are in the game and they did a good job matching batting stances and such. I'm sure you could play this game for hours on end as each game takes almost an hour to play and there are tons of options. I only really touched the surface of game play but I would say this game has an extremely high replay capability (until of course 2009 comes out). Also online capable. Only negatives I can think of is the announcers get repetitive once you've played a few games, and it bothered me how players sometimes ran through other players like ghosts, you'd think the AI wouldn't let guys do that anymore. For instance, on a stolen base attempt my catcher throws the ball through the batters head like he wasn't even there. Anyway, if you like sports games give this one a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game

posted by phillyfan (WINSLOW, AZ) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was a good game. The only thing i wish i would have known is that the online play would lag. It lagged badly even though i had a 100% cable modem connection. I found that this was because i was playing on a standard definition tv but when i switched tvs to a 720p setting the lag was gone. Excellent game but if you dont have high def. forget about online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Almost

posted by Trooper582 (MOORHEAD, MN) May 31, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought I had finally found a good baseball game for next gen consoles. In fairness the gameplay on this game is very good...way better than 2k. However I ran into some programming in the Road to the show mode that really upset me. I recommend season mode or two player as Road to the show mode let me down immensely.
Sony for future reference when a player hits .360 (led the league) 21 homers 95 rbi was leading ROY and gold glove condidate, and led his team to a division title he is not going to be sent back to the minor leagues for absolutely no apparent reason the last day of the regular season "as my wake up call". I spent a good deal of time playing this mode as I found it new and very fun until this happened.
This game is actually pretty fun but when you put that much time getting to the majors and then to get sent back down I cant compel myself to play it any longer I retired and retired this game.
Sorry Sony that was a major programming snafu that needs to be fixed. I thought you had made a near perfect baseball game but alas I think it may never happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 08 the show = best baseball game on the market

posted by Terribles (CHERRY HILL, NJ) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

14 out of 28 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With all the improvements they've made this year its kind of hard to not pick this game as the number 1 baseball game on the market. If you own a ps3 and love baseball you owe it to yourself to pick this title up over the wannabe baseball game called mlb 2k8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MLB2K8 vs The Show

posted by WISteel (TURTLE LAKE, WI) May 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before anyone flames me, please realize I have played both of these games, and I have good things and bad things to say about both. 2nd I only play baseball games when there is nothing else to do.

1. Pitching: edge MLB2K8
Both games have a nice variety of pitches available. The ability to paint corners in 2K8 is a very nice plus to Sega's game. In my opinion (and maybe I was doing it wrong) the only way you can strike out the AI in the Show is to edit a players ability and bounce a pitch over the plate. I can see no reason why a strikeout pitcher (in real life) can't strike out the back up shortstop batting less than .200 at least once in a game. It seems like every player in the Show turns into Ted Williams with 2 strikes
2. Batting: edge EVEN
Both games are relatively accurate for the ammount of hits they players get. 2K8 is a little to generous with the HR's, but who wants to win 1 to 0. The Shows cavernous outfield makes for a lot of hits falling in is ok, but frustrating while on D.
3. Running & stealing: The Show
2K8 makes stealing a little to easy, and the frustrating baserunning with two runners on makes The Show an easy choice.
4. Presentation & Extras: EVEN
The Show has more bells & whistles but in my opinion leads to too many distractions. 2K8 has it's annoyances as well. Too much and not enough, no happy medium.
Summary: While both games have their merits, one thing stays equal. The online play of both games is terrible. Graphics are a matter of preference. 2K8's player models are a bit to linbacker looking, while the Shows players while more fluid seem to be missing something. When it comes down to comparing the two games, it's really a matter of preference. If you want a deep sim go with the Show. If you just want to play baseball without having to over analyze everything, and occasinally strike out an opposing batter, take 2K8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Baseball Game Ever!!!

posted by nutbuster (NORTH TONAWANDA, NY) May 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you ever liked a baseball game in your life...even just a little bit...You gotta play this game! This is by far the most fun sports game I played in a while! Compared to 2k's game, this blows it out of the water...2k's "game" is probably the worst game I played in a while, graphics, hitches in frame rate, pitching...probably the stupidest thing I've seen in a game. It's like NHL 2k but with baseball...You would think with sega having the license for MLB it would be better but they probably spent more $ on that than it took to develop the game...Anyways RENT THIS GAME or even BUY IT!!! Great online play and long lasting appeal, ow yea, the Graphics are unbelievable too!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the only decent baseball game left

posted by proficy (ASPERS, PA) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

with the other baseball game being unplayable....this is the one to get ..even if its only for the road to the show career mode. If only this game didnt randomize the players contracts before every season you start ..the franchise would be playable too..I wrote and told them to fix it last year but nobody reads my mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB the Show, fo sho

posted by JayMil (TUJUNGA, CA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is tight. I loved MVP 2005 for PS2, still my favorite baseball game of all time. this game is that game, with better graphics. When you hit a homerun, it looks real, the way it comes off the bat and everything. This game is great. pick it up if you are a baseball fan...I love NBA 2k8, but the MLB 2k series is garbage in my opinion. this one is the baseball series to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still not great

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Although this version is better than previous years, it's still rather bland. Pitching is boring, hitting is boring, fielding is boring. It has cool features, but the game play doesn't back anything up. I'm convinced no company will ever get a baseball game right. EA sports came the closest with their college baseball. I still have to compare games to Baseball Stars from the 8 bit Nintendo...how sad is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB 08 has good graphics.. not much else.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is ridiculously hard to the point where it makes it no fun to play! I tried it on All-Star level and never won a single game.. NOT ONE! The computer AI is so jacked up that when you get past the sixth inning it is all over.. the computer will NOT swing at anything outside the strike zone, NOTHING, not even by an inch.. and as soon as you throw a decent pitch in the strike zone, BAM, homerun or easy hit at the very least.. The AI goes on 5-6 run spurts and makes this game VERY un-fun to play. Tried going down to the level below all-star, same junk different level. Rookie setting is ridiculously easy and therefore is no fun either. Tried adjusting the game sliders to help out.. but to no end.. I think the game sliders are just there for looks. This game does have one thing going for it.. the graphics. The graphics are the ONLY reason this game did not get a lower rating. If you want a baseball game that has great graphics and you do not mind the SUPER HUMAN AI in this game which makes it near impossible to win... this is the game for you, however, if you want a game that is actually ENJOYABLE to play and doesn't make you want to smash your controller against the wall, I suggest getting another title. This game blows!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PERFECT!!!!!!!!

posted by GOINGFOR27 (ELMHURST, NY) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS ONE OF THE BEST BASEBALL GAMES OUT RIGHT NOW . GAME PLAY IS HOT. BUY THIS GAME INSTEAD OF MLB 2K8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I have put in more time on this than any other

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Be careful you might never put the controller down, i spent plenty of night waking up with the game on & i had fallen asleep while playing.

I have a SS with 15 years in the MLB (never simmed a single game)
3 100+ home run seasons, 4 200+ stolen base seasons

I have a SP with 11 years in the MLB (never simmed a single game)
6 Perfect Games, 8 No hitters, 2 400+ strikeout seasons

I have a CP with 18 years in the MLB (never simmed a single game)
1000+ Saves 2 season with 70+ saves

I have a LF with 6 years in the MLB (never simmed a single game)
nothing special (compared to my ss at least)

Serously probably close to 500+hours of game time ive put into this freakin game. Its great its fun its freakin adicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ratts

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

ITS OK ALL AROUND BASEBALL GAME NOTHING TO SPECIAL...I REALLY THOUGHT THE ROAD TO THE SHOW WOULD BE PRETTY COOL...BUT ITS REALLY NOT, ITS SEEMS LIKE ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET THE THE MLB STATUS WITH OUT BEING AN OLD PLAYER...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Show Hits A HR

posted by Qsohk1 (EAST ELMHURST, NY) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Let me start by saying I love baseball and I really enjoy playing baseball games. I think some people knock baseball games and call them boring. Either way there’s nothing boring about this game. This game is good. The controls are good, they are like almost every other baseball game so if your use to others you’ll have no problem with this one. Graphics are pretty good as well. There are tons of options; you basically can control all aspects. One of the features I love about this series is the save feature during game play. Sometimes you don’t have time to finish a game so there’s no more losing half the game. This feature was long overdue. Now on to some things I didn’t t like about this game. No game is perfect. At least not yet. Sometimes the fielder doest throw the ball right away, there’s like a little delay. This can be very frustrating and can cost you a game. Either way not the end of the world because it doesn’t happen all the time. My only other complaint is with the difficulty levels. There either too easy or too hard, it takes a lot of playing around with the sliders to get it just right. If you haven’t played this game yet get it I think you’ll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB 08 is a solid game to have in the library.

posted by Latin625 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Mar 12, 2009

Member since May 2005

MLB 08 is wonderful and would have purchased it if it was a little more affordable once the season started... But the price never dropped until MLB 09...

So if you want a great MLb game, get MLB 09 (if you . Want the game now and have limited funds )go and cope that MLB 08! It is a great game that has most of the MLB 09 features including online gaming.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great sports sim lacking very little

posted by AZdude1 (PACIFICA, CA) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

MLB the show is probably the best sports franchise on the market right now. Since its release in 2006 it has always been a favorite of mine. 2007 was sort of a year where sony dipped their toes in next gen console market in terms of this game. The new 2008 version went far beyond my expectations. The graphics were just stunning and the amount of player specific animations just blew me away. For some reason the background image always looked a little furry on my TV. I know that was only me because in my experiences at friend's houses, the whole picture looked perfect. The one downside of the game is the amount of glitches in the game and how they can effect the outcome of what you're playing. Some glitches are dumb like players throwing "around the horn" without a ball but others can make players run the bases and be unable to control and then the umpires call him out for not tagging up when the ball clearly bounced or even stopped rolling before the fielder reached it. These have been watered down a bit this year and do not happen as often and they hardly draw you away from the details of the game and even the effort put into the fans realism. I think the game is well worth buying and with all of the game modes, it can be played forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of my all time favorite games

posted by conichulin (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I should preface this review by stating that I'm a huge fan of the franchise, and a baseball fan. The newest version of the game is certainly moving the franchise forward. The graphics are exceptional, and the game play has me still playing regularly after having owned the game for almost a year. One of my favorite things about the game is the ability to earn goals which gives you points. These points can then be spent on Hall of Fame baseball players, and other items. The bad part of this is that the list hasn't changed much in the past few years, and there are several players I'd like to see added (Ted Williams, Micky Mantle, Hank Aaron, Willie Mays, etc..). However this is, and has been my favorite ps3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not that good

posted by mikea3 (SEWELL, NJ) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I'm New to the mlb games It was very hard to me. batting and hitting easy right. well 3 outs come I'm up to pitch I'm completely lost pitch the ball swings misses catcher missed the ball they scored every time i pich the ball the catcher missed then i put in a relif picher misses even more it was teribble i thougt it would be bettter then Mlb The show 2007 same setup and contols same plays not much new the basicly coppied mlb the show 2007 you should pobly try mlb 2k7 or 8 or maybe even 9 i havent tried any of the mlb 2k7 8 or9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Time to raise the bar.

posted by Fir3ball (KATY, TX) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

It's about time that baseball fans had a game that we can obsess about the way that football fanatics drool over the Madden franchise. MLB 08 The Show is NOT that game. You would think that after the third incarnation of the series we could see some progression toward improving the graphics and game play to a more lifelike appearance but no. It seems that while games for other sports are growing by leaps and bounds the developers for the baseball games are baby stepping their way into the seventh generation platform. Now the graphics are probably better than they have ever been and I like the fact that you can replay any play in the game at any time but I need more. Where are all the extras? No Hume Run Derby? No mini-games? No Classic Stadiums? The unlockables are cool but there's not enough of them and they're the same ones we've seen in dozens of past games. The looks of the parks could use the most improvement though. Two dimensional backgrounds aren't cutting it these days. I refuse to believe with all of the resources and technology that sony has at their disposal that they can't make Wrigley Field look like Wrigley Field. It was a good AB but ultimately MLB 08 The Show just didn't have the lumber.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MLB 08 The Show

posted by OIFVetUSA (EVANSVILLE, IN) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

My first experience with the MLB franchise was with the 2007 edition for the PSP. I played any chance I had during a deployment to Iraq in 2008. I am quite happy with the New one for the PS3 now that I am home and it only has a few bad points in my view. New in 2008 is a expanded experience system which give you greater points for great play and for achieving goals but also negative point if you fail to meet your goals. Starting out this is both good and bad and you cannot just jump right in a start bombing hits into the sets. You have to balance your goals and fulfill them otherwise, AA here you come. After you build your player up through a couple of seasons though it becomes very enjoyable and addictive. Goods - Endlessly re playable as you can create a new player and play different positions. Bad - Slow in building a new character in Road to the Show mode. Recommended buy for a long term game and if you like baseball as a sport.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB The Show 08

posted by martel (NAPLES, FL) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This is by far the greatest baseball game ever made. From the deep franshise mode, where you handle everything from your roster to tickets to your minor league teams. To road to the show mode where you create a player and bring him up the ranks to try and make it to the big leagues. THe game play is superb. The graphics as real as they get. The sound of basball is there. The feel of baseball is there. If you love baseball this is the game for you. If you are just a fan of sports games pick it up. I suggest you think about buying it cause once you start playing you wont want to stop

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, except....

posted by Patcj13 (DUBLIN, CA) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

My only real issue with MLB 08 The Show is that it has a couple of glitches. For example, there's a runner on base and two outs. The batter hits a ground ball to a fielder, who then tags out the runner for the third out. When the team that made the out comes up to bat in the next inning, the player who was at bat and hit into the fielder's choice is up to bat again. It's a minor thing, but one that should have been caught in the QA process.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great baseball series goes new-gen!

posted by Gedaman (PORT MURRAY, NJ) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

On a note: if you use a wireless router (like my Belkin router), you may have to turn it off temporarily because the game won't go past the main title screen if you have it on.
I've been a fan of SCEA's MLB series since MLB '98 back on the PlayStation and have been impressed ever since then. MLB 08: The Show for PS3 brings in near photo realistic high definition graphics, better animation and some other nice nuances. The character creation feature is unbelievable now. You can really make an off the wall looking freak with a crushed face, pointy nose, and square jutting jaw if you want to. The only thing I don't like is that now it seems near impossible to make a hit and that you can have your created players have super human speed to steal bases like you could in MLB 2006. Overall great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse