Rent MLB 07: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB 07: The Show

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
7.5

1057 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUCH BETTER THAN 2K7

posted by iowaboyz (FRONTENAC, MO) May 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented 2K7 and The Show is 10 times better. The Franchise mode is more in-depth, allowing you to scout players to adjusting and playing in AAA and AA games and changing the transportation for your team and putting fun zones in your stadium. The game is much more realistic than 2K7, having scores at 4-3 rather than 16-1 or 22-0. I highly recommend this game over MLB 2K7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MLB 07: The Show is the best baseball game out.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Presentation: 8/10

Presentation is a high point of this game. Replays and cutscenes look great. Looks like you are watching a real baseball game.

Graphics: 8/10

Character models, Stadiums and the Crowd looks great. The field (grass and turf) needs work though. No framerate/slowdowns problem with this game.

Sound: 8/10

The soundtrack is good. Most importantly, the commentary is great. It gets repetitive after a while but listening the trio feels like you are watching a real game.

Gameplay: 9/10

Gameplay is the strongest point of the game. Hitting feels natural. Fielding is easy to get used too and you will not overun the ball because the camara is great. Pitching is great too. Your catcher gives you good suggustions most of the time. Road to the Show is a big leap forward for this franchise. It is far improved from the original career mode. Franchise mose is also very deep.

Overall: 9/10

Pros: Many elements of the game are life-like. Gameplay including pitching, hitting and fielding is very strong. Franchise and the RTTS are great additions. Replays/Cutscenes look great, commentary is stellar.

Cons: No Homerun Derby or the old King of the Diamond mode. Graphics in terms of character models could use some more work though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Anyone want to buy my MLB 2K7?

posted by fvalley99 (SMYRNA, GA) May 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game absolutely blows 2K7 away. The only thing 2K7 wins is the graphics, because they are amazing, just the gameplay sucks. The Shows gameplay is excellent, you can actually score from second on a base hit to the outfield. I found myself having a career and a franchise going. I think my wife is filing the divorce papers now. It's consuming all my time, this game is for real!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truly is The Show

posted by Dizzuck (NEWBERG, OR) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing period. I haven't played a good baseball games since the Triple Play days on probably the PS1. I just lost touch with the sport in general and the games lost my interest. MLB 07 The Show has sparked my interest in baseball again. I played 2k7 and was impressed with the graphics, but the play control was not very user friendly.

When I got MLB 07 The Show I was blown away by the great game play it offered. It brought me back 10 years and made me remember how much fun a baseball game can be. This game is a must have for sports fans. The Road to the Show career mode is great fun. It allows you to build up your own character and play all aspects of the game he would play. Hours upon hours of fun with this one, and the best part is you can play a game in usually under 10 mins. So getting through an entire season is not hard to do at all.

I would rate this game a very solid 9 out of 10. The only thing this game could improve on would be the graphics. Though they are relatively crisp and clean, they just aren't quite as good as you would like to see for a PS3. Take my advice, if you enjoy sports and specifically baseball games. Give MLB 07 The Show a shot to center field, you won't regret it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best PS3 Baseball Game. Period.

posted by ScottNY (SCHENECTADY, NY) May 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

MLB "The Show" '07 takes the cake over MLB 2K7. The pitching and hitting is just eons ahead of 2K7. The only thing better on 2K7 is the ESPN announcers, but they don't impact the gameplay.

If you are looking for a realistic baseball game on the PS3 that you can actually pitch and get hits, then The Show is for you.

The graphics are "OK" .. I wasn't blown away, but certainly much better than playing MLB '06 on PS/2. For some good laughs, check out Joe Torre on the Yankees - poor guy looks horrible.

Certainly rent both and compare, but this one gets my vote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid game better than Baseball 2K7

posted by montero747 (DALLAS, TX) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good graphics and great detail. The franchise mode is deep and offers lots of options. Gameplay seemed to be the same as last year. Some enhancements were noticeable. I'd rate this game above 2K7 for graphics, details, and franchise mode. Definitely worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Batter Up!

posted by Korbel (CHILLICOTHE, MO) May 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

5 out of 22 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Awesome game, Lots to keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sloooow.....

posted by Phishstik (PLANO, TX) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I'm actually going to rate this game higher than I think I should simply because it is a Baseball game and it has a couple of fun things to do....But it's a Baseball game....sloooooow. Kept my attention for about a full hour. Most of that was just setting up my profile. The other 15 was playing....bored ta death really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is how it should be done!!!!

posted by Lakermania (INGLEWOOD, CA) Dec 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This is truly baseball simulation at it's finest!!! Excellent animation; gameplay is on point and the visuals are very good; except for a few short commings.2K baseball has a slight advantage, but that's it!!! However the faces are more accurate on The Show. Hopefully their second go around on the Next Gen scene will result in a 100% realistic visual experience.

The gameplay is almost flawless from the player specific animations to the fielding the pitching motions. The pitching and hitting systems are easy to pick up and add to the gameplay experience. Crowd reactions are great and the stadiums are exact beautiful replicas.

MLB 07 The Show is the Gold Standard in Next Gen baseball simulation!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Graphics not exactly next Gen, but awesome replay!

posted by RevJimmylu (LINCOLN, IL) Oct 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

At first look, the graphics are not up to par for a next generation system. I mean they are good, but far from great. Once you start to play, This game rocks. Everything is super smooth. Career mode does not exactly take your last year stats into account when ranking players, and most of the time I could bat .400 at the MLB level and still get cut and the end of my contract. But I enjoyed playing it so much that I would start over anyway!! The Controls take a little getting used to, VERY EASY TO DIVE on defense, and miss an easy pop up on first couple plays, but nothing to complain about, I liked the ease of the diving later on.
In short, IF YOU LOVE BASEBALL, give this game a shot. YOU WON"T BE DISAPOINTED!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not entertaining

posted by dmode11 (LANCASTER, CA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I found this to pretty boring and the create a player worse then some old ps1 games. The pitching control was just bad, didn't give you very long place it where you want it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by MitchC (SENECA, SC) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

Mlb the show has finally figured out what gamers want...I love the fact that you can change the game controls to suit the type of play that I enjoy. it has been the first baseeball game I have actually enjoyed since the demise of High Heat MLB... I will definately end up buying this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mlb 2k7 road to the slow

posted by sjl651 (HUDSON, WI) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Other then the road to the show.... The game is horrificly bad...

ps 1 graphics
bad sound
bad control's

Why people like this i dont know.... rent b4 u even think about buying it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Should be called "Minor" league baseball NO SHOW!

posted by lindsey5 (HILLSIDE, IL) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

Should be called "Minor" league baseball NO SHOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best baseball sim out! Online play needs work.

posted by buttonhook (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

The game play in MLB '07: The Show is amazing!! Graphically it takes sport simulators to a whole new level. Depicting everything from facial features, to jerseys, to the stadium of your favorite team, this game holds true to America's favorite pastime in every way. Lacking online multi-player gaming is partially made up by fast paced, realistic head-to-head action. Overall the game is excellent! It is not hard to appreciate the quality of the game both visually and techniquely. Could have been a 10 with better online content!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great offline game

posted by vinal61 (ENFIELD, CT) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

Mlb07 the show is a great game for offline usage against the computer and friends but the onne really bad component to the game is the online play. the online play is good but in 9 out of 10 of your games you will get the great and lovely TRAFFIC DELAY and it usally happens ether in the 1st/2nd or in extra innings when the games all tied up but like i said before if you like the game of baseball this is a great game to play offline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This might be the worst baseball game I have ever

posted by priest401 (NORWICH, CT) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This might be the worst baseball game I have ever played, the graphics were not good and they looked nothing like the players. David ortiz looked about 150 lbs. Come on now. 2K7 is way better than this. I didnt try all its modes because I was to disgusted with the gameplay and graphics. The swing stick option is the best thing out there right now for baseball, that and the sixaxis for 2K7 for the ps3 is ok, but in the show its horrible doesnt give you the feel for the game at all. this game has BOOOOOO! Written all over it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Show does it Again!

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

The game is just as last uear's MLB 06 The Show. There are more features for your create-a-player mode. The graphics are alot better but not up to PS3 standards.This is a must buy or rent. I am addicted to this game. No word when I am going to return this game to Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best baseball game this year, hands down!

posted by BrickSide (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Aug 11, 2007

Member since May 2007

I love baseball, but haven't really played a good baseball game since the Nintendo 64 days with All-Star Baseball. This year we have a few choices and the Sony game is above and beyond the best compared to MLB 2k7 and the Bigs.

The graphics are... meh. The crowd looks good, as do the parks but it's clear this was ported from the PS2. The player faces aren't very accurate at all, same with the skin tone. C.C. Sabathia, a black pitcher, looks white in this game. The sound is good though. I like the sound track and the announcers have some hilarious one-liners. The game controls really well too. It will take some learning, but I like the button pressing for swing much better than the swing stick in MLB 2K7, esp. when I thought I was going to break my controller with that game. It's also much more difficult to get a home run in the Show than MLB 2k7 which is nice. Pitching is also very solid. In all, the game plays awesome and it's a lot of fun for baseball fans. What's really nice is Sony updates the rosters regularly when trades are made or people are cut. It's an awesome feature.

What's not so awesome is being unable to play on the same team with a friend. I can understand why you couldn't online, but offline? I want to play side-by-side with my friend on a team, but can't. Hopefully 2008 fixes this.

Online play is a bit confusing. I haven't tried it much so I have yet to figure it out, but it seems to be that you can only play against random opponents and not select people from the lobbies. Season mode and all that, I hear, is really deep. I have yet to try that as well, but i've only heard good things about the single-player modes.

If you love baseball then get this game. It's clearly the best baseball game this year and has really become the best baseball series out right now. You'll enjoy it, I guarantee it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

This game feels just like baseball. The announce team do a great job delivering an authentic feel of the game along with the subtle game play inclusions (you see them spit and it stays on the dirt). It's not the prettiest or the most innovative, but it is good in a lot of areas. The franchise mode is one of the deepest I've seen in any next gen game or for that matter period. Some will see this game and think that there are 100 games that look better and play better, but if you sit down and actually play the game, it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kinda fun

posted by hawks13 (OLATHE, KS) Aug 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

there are ups and downs to this game. the major up is the graphics... wow. the down is probrobly when you create your own guy you have to feild from a 1st person perspective and i liked it better when it was just normal views last year. also you can only play with your guy so if ur team is down you can only control your guy, which isnt suprising that they would do that but its just harder to win games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not great

posted by tedufemit (SIERRA MADRE, CA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is a good game, the franchise mode is probable better than the rookie mode. Whats up with sending a player to the minors in the middle of the playoffs when they're hitting over .400 and playing everyday? The franchise mode was good, but I wasn't very good at scoring I can load the bases but then nothing or i can hit a solo homerun. It looks just as good as mlb 2k7 and has a better interface. Oh well, I think the bigs is much funner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best baseball sim I've ever played

posted by hapEcamper (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This is a great sports game. The online play, and the single player experience is great. My only complaint is the other online users can pull their ethernet connection and end the game without affecting their community score.

Great graphics, game flow, etc. Worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak, just like the rating i gave it

posted by ficarrar (STAFFORD SPRINGS, CT) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

There still hasn't been a baseball game that has measured up to Baseball Stars on the 8 bit nintendo, which i find incredibly sad with technology out like the PS3. Sure this game has some decent graphics, but still not good enough for what the new systems are capable of and the gameplay is so dry and boring...zero excitment...i doubt anyone will ever get a baseball right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB 07 The Show

posted by SurGTC (OXNARD, CA) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

A Yo this game is amazing and really good gameplay but the online is Terrible everytime i start a game it says Traffic Delay and disconects me and its not my connection.
Overall good game hit me up online at the name...SurGTC.......... PS3 #1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse