Rent MLB '10: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB '10: The Show

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
8.0

2899 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Making a great game even better

posted by jayonaise (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game focuses on all the little details one would expect at a real ballpark. They did a great job of fixing every issue I have had with past games in this series. Now the catcher plays a much larger roll in the Road to the Show portion of the game. No longer do the player get stuck on a base when fielding a ball. The addition of home run derby and pre game batting practice are a welcome addition. This is by far the best baseball game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 10 The Show

posted by AJBK718 (RANDOLPH, MA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Simply put only thing missing from this game is the hot dog, peanuts and the beer. This game is simply amazing!!! It's great to see how far they've come since the show 08. It's a must buy for ALL baseball/ PS3 fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very realistic, Nothing gets you closer.

posted by PS3owns (CONCORD, CA) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

First off i should say that i am a very tough reviewer, so the little things that bother me, may not bother you...

Pros:
-Great Graphics
-Very Realistic
-Fun too Hit
-RTTS is solid, although it could still be improved
-HR Derby is awesome, all its missing is commentating

Cons:
-Player models are still a bit funky. Everyone is too Buff. Lincecum looks like a body builder, lol.
- Pitching can get boring
- Commentating still Exactly the same, getting sick of the same exact commentating for like 3 or 4 years now.
- Have dealt with some freezing issues with RTTS

Overall this is a great game, that is very realistic, and gives you a true baseball experience. I cant see 2K ever catching up. Although i give them the edge on pitching, and commentating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as good as last year...

posted by SharkdrivR (CENTER POINT, AL) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I've played this for the last couple of weeks and the flaws are beginning to show. Don't get me wrong, the game is still good but...players stll have a tendency to double clutch before throwing to a base causing the throw to be late and the runner safe. A player was trying to steal second. I throw from home to the second baseman that was coverin' the bag or at least I thought I did. It went to the shortstop instead who was standing where shortstops stand. A bunt goes right at my pitcher. The third baseman is the player that is automatically selected to get the ball for some reason while my pitcher simply stands still on the mound. This happened 3 times in one game. These things along with a couple of others not mentioned are enough to ruin an otherwise good game. Especially when playing online. On a positive note the game looks better than last years. I hope these minor problems when combined in a single game becomes a major problem can be dealt with via patch. All in all it's a good game. Definitely good for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best sports games I've played

posted by jtexasfloo (VIROQUA, WI) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I have played both MLB2K10 and MLB 10 the Show and I will tell you, there is no comparison. The Show is much more polished and resembles baseball a lot more than 2K. The player animations are unbelievable. All the little quirks and things that you take for granted watching baseball that add to the atmosphere are in this game. Very easy to get into. Not much of a learning curve if you've played baseball games before. Even the crowd animations are awesome. I honestly felt like I was watching a game on tv. I've swapped consoles (Xbox 360 for Playstation 3) with one of my friends recently and I don't wanna give it back because of this game. It's that good. The kind of game that sells consoles. There are no graphically or gameplay glitches like there is in 2K. For instance, invisible players with bat floating up to the plate when announced, choppy animations, skipping audio tracks, no check swing, just to name a few. The only reason I give this a 9 is because the commentating is average at best. Also, I hate to admit it, but I kind of like the pitching a little better in 2K10. However, because 2K10 at its' core is flawed, The Show blows it away. So this is what I've been missing in baseball games. Maybe my friend will sell his PS3. Probably not, but worth a thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Online play choppy

posted by Funat42 (OXFORD, AL) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Great game. Online,,its like swing and aXXXXX miss. All that lag between pitchs. Never got through a complete game, cause someones always bailing out, because of to much lagging. Maybe MLB10 folks can fixed that as time goes on. Great game though!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Step it up developers...

posted by jbocker34 (WINCHESTER, MA) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Really, these sports game developers need to step it up big time. Having spent about a year and a half playing the ps2 version of this game, then getting last year's version, I was disappointed at how similar they were. This year's is more of the same. Obviously the graphics have improved, but is that what we want at this point? No, we want a game that's closer to the real thing, and this aint it.

Baserunning is still a painful experience. Really, the controls are different for road to the show versus season play? Why? Be prepared to get picked off every time you get a hit for the first few hours, or watch your tubby catcher try to swipe second and get thrown out by ten steps.

I was excited about being able to make a catcher for road to the show, but talk about painful! Minor league pitchers NEVER hit their spots, so any strategy there is out the window. "Hey, pitcher, let's give this guy a fastball low and outside, a waste pitch." Ok, let me just throw it up and in and nearly hit the guy. Sorry. Also, you get no "points" for calling a good game. You could have Helen Keller throw a shutout and still get no points because you didn't drive in a run. Guys, put some more thought into it!

Really, if you've never played the earlier versions and want a decent baseball game, this is decent, but if you've played any recent incarnations of the Show, beware...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same as last year and online sucks

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is almost identical to last year which is both good and bad. The gameplay is good just like last year. the pitching and hitting model is very effective and fun. The game is loaded with so many players custom pitching windups and batting stances it's unbelievable.

We finally have a homerun derby and it is run just like the real thing which is a definite upgrade. As I said the gameplay is pretty enjoyable just like last year with a couple of minor glitches but it's not a big deal.

The negatives really hurt the game though. Onlline is UNPLAYABLE. In baseball with the pitching meter and the timing with hitting any glitches ruin the game. Unfortunately there are alot of glitches(and i dont experience them with other games) . I dont understand why this hasn't or can't be fixed it's 2010?? so basically you can't play online.

For baseball fanatics the franchise mode is the next thing you will want to dive into too after you realize online is horrible. Everything will be fine throughout your first year. until you reach the off-season.

The player progression is BAFFLING. some players have horrible potential that should not (mark reynolds, grady sizemore, jose reyes). the progression is NOT performance based which is incredibly frustrating. I simulated a season with the d-backs and reynolds batted .290 with 53 hr's 130 rbi's and 20 steals and he lost 7 points in all of his ratings for the following year! I almost returned the game. this is the norm and you will get tired of manually editing your players to reflect what they did the previous year.

Another negative for me was the fact that every new player has the default batting stance. WHY how hard is it to assign a random batting stance from the hundreds they have?? by year 4 or 5 more than half of the league has the same batting stance, LOL.

for casual fans this game will be fun. for hardcore baseball fans you will be extremely disappointed. I wish EA came back with Triple Play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Thing, A Beauty

posted by bigwill55 (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first thing that really stood out to me in this game was the realism. It was as if I was watching a real baseball game. The thing I love most about MLB 10 that was not present in past versions was the addition of new camera angles when you were batting. On ground balls, flyouts, home runs...the angle would change whenever contact is made, giving you a different look at how the ball is fielded each time.

The crowd in the game looks better than ever before, with fans falling onto the field of play when balls are hit into foul territory. It's great. I could go on and on about how great this game is, really. I have been waiting since October to get this game and it was well worth the wait. If you're a fan of The Show, then you need to get this game. Heck, if you're a fan of baseball, you need to get this game.

If there was one thing wrong with this game, (and I'm nitpicking a bit here) it is the stealing of the bases. I found that my baserunner would hold his arms in on a head first slide, which enabled him to get tagged out shortly before making it to 2nd or 3rd. It gets frustrating, but it's probably something that takes getting used to. With this small issue intact, this game still deserves a perfect 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB2010TheShow

posted by donkeyfly (LAKEWOOD, CA) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the worst baseball game I have ever played in 15 years of playing them. It has great detail but a terrible infrastructure makes that null and void. It allows you to expand rosters in September. Great, until either the player or CPU tries to substitute a catcher, then it freezes. Again, in the postseason, it freezes. It froze when I clinched the division, then 3 times in a row when I won the NLCS. I thought maybe my copy was defective so I sent it back and got a new one from gamefly. Same thing - froze when I finished the NLCS. If they're going to take the time to flesh out subtleties like the sky changing hue and shadows encroaching on the mound, shouldn't they preclude game glitches first?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MLB 10' The Show

posted by rhysm2 (VANCOUVER, WA) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't recommend renting MLB 10 the show because it takes way to long to make it to the pro's when you play the road to the show. You will end up playing in the double A or Triple A teams for like 20 to 40 games, pretty much a month unless you do nothing but play and on the road to the show you only play the position of your created player. Only rent this game if you are a die hard baseball fan and most likely if you are a die hard baseball fan, you already own this game. Don't waste your time and your rental because you'll probably send it back right away and have to wait another week for a new game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB10 the show sucks

posted by 420DANKS (BENSON, MN) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is defenitly not all it cracked up to be it its imposssible to throw picthes near where u want it to be pitched i am glad i didnt buy this game i would not buy this game they should make gameplay more consistant clasic baseball games had better game play the only reason i would buy this game is because JOE MAUER is on the cover

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Foul Ball.

posted by Bonemaple (REISTERSTOWN, MD) May 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

When they say this is the most realistic baseball game ever made, they must have been talking graphically, because the gameplay at times is completely un-realistic. Take the computer-controlled batters, for example. You'll be rolling along, with your team in the lead. You'll be pitching a great game for 3 or 4 innings, then all of a sudden, your pitcher will not be able to get an out. The computer batters will start hitting with pinpoint accuracy, and nothing your pitcher throws will get past them. They will go on a 6 or 7 hits in a row rampage, and take the lead from you and then some. The computer also will hit doubles CONSTANTLY!! And, your fielders will start making idiotic errors, adding insult to injury. It's ridiculous. '08 was a much better game than either of the past two versions. Please fix the AI for next year!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not much change, but still a quality game

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This year's game didn't show much change from last year. With that said, RTTS is still alot of fun to play. Online play is boring and almost impossible to hit the ball if you have an opponent who knows how to pitch in the game. RTTS gets rather old once you max out all the attributes.

Graphics are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Hard for Beginners

posted by vargsa (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was visually very well made. The graphics are excellent with the ability to turn off replays and player information for a faster game if you need to. A major turn off for me was that the game is extremely difficult to pick up for a beginner. Of course this is supposed to be an ultra realistic version of baseball and I understand that I'm not gonna be hitting homers every at bat but... I played about 25 games before shipping this game back to gamefly and I didn't win a single one. I even turned down every thing to the lowest difficulty level and still lost by a lot. I started out not being able to hit the ball at all but by the time I returned the game I was hitting very well. The problem was, I could never get base running down and this was detrimental to all of my losses. I would get guys on base and couldn't get one to stop and one to run. They either ALL stopped or ALL ran... it was very frustrating because I could have won about half the games I played if I had been able to move one runner at a time. Again it's very difficult to pick up if you haven't played any of the previous MLB:the Show Games. I think for the person that has a lot of time on their hands (by the way I played about 4-6 hrs a day) and really loves baseball or has played the previous games, give it a try. You might pick it up faster than me. If you are looking for a less realistic, more action packed baseball game I suggest MLB: 2k10 or The Bigs (of course someone already won the $1 million though in 2k10) which are both great games for what they are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not fun

posted by Madxxx (LAPEER, MI) Jun 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Games are supposed to be fun and this game is not. how fun is a baseball game if you can't hit the ball. i played this game for six hours and only managed to score once. i've been playing games over 20 years and i beleive to be a good gamer. i have never got so mad at a game. the hitting is near impossible, not fun at all, no matter what i did to the settings it didn't change a thing, stay far away from this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

HOLD ON A SECOND

posted by howyadoin (HO HO KUS, NJ) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 19 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

This is the same exact game as last year....Okay maybe a few more graphic replays...(foul balls) but NO. This game is not any better from last year. You could change disks and I would not even know. Serious....I would try 2k10 for something different....Boring Boring Boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same as all the others

posted by Bubba90827 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

MLB 2010 is a good game overall, but to me its just plain boring! Yes it does look good and graphics are good but it just doesnt seem perfect to me. The way the controls are and how you have to have a perfect reaction to hit the ball or to pitch a perfect pitch. So in conclusion....if you want to play some good ol' baseball...GO OUTSIDE and play yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mlb 10 the show is a no show

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I will list this in bullet points:
-What's with the gameplay?
-:(
-The career mode sucks, you can't even upgrade your "superstar"
-IT'S TOO FREAKING HARD!!!!!!!
-there has never been a good baseball game, there never will be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW! Amazing game!

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

All I can say about this game is that it is easily one of the best Baseball games I have ever had the pleasure of playing. I used to play MVP back in the day when MVP was around but this easily puts it to shame.

If there is a flaw, it is the X for swinging. That is the one thing that 2K has over this is the swing stick, which I believe to me a more realistic approach to swinging. But that is a VERY minor flaw and by no means a deal breaker.

RTTS is just brilliant. I created a pitcher and the depth of this mode is staggering. From your Goals to simulated games and knockout pitching, you can tune your pitcher to be truly customized to your style. The sliders are very consistent and intuitive although maybe just a TAD to demanding. I have applied several hundred points to my 4 Seam velocity and barely notice any juice. I notice it on movement and break for my Curve and Circle Change but the velocity never picks up. Yet my scouting reports keeps telling me I have a 95 - 100MPH 4 Seam, the gun never gets up over 89.

The interactions are great although I think you get penalized a little too much for voicing your opinion. I finally made the rotation and was pulled early for letting up 2 runs and and interaction came up saying ask your manager why he pulled you early. I did and was promptly benched for a week, taking out of the rotation and traded to Texas? that is pretty harsh.

All in all, the depth, the vastness of every little item being tuned to the color of your cleats is just simply jaw dropping baseball greatness!

I also got it for $7.80 from Gamefly! You cannot beat that if you tried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

be a pro problems

posted by noah1212 (YORK, ME) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game all around is ok. Its not amazing or spectacular to the average person. Those of you who hate baseball will hate this game, and if you love baseball, you will love this game.

That being said there are some major flaws in this game. The biggest one to me is that the game is very difficult to get better at. Specifically in the be a pro mode, or my player mode (forget what its called). If you have a bad game....you dont get points, and if you have multiple bad games in a row, you still have no points. This is not a problem, as over time, if you made a good play here or there you would collect points. The problem is that your skills decrease if you dont spend points on them on a regular basis, and in combination with that, your coach has certain skills he wants you to train each week.

I found that between keeping my stats from decreasing, and pleasing my coach, I was left with almost no character customization left.....How am I supposed to create a guy that throws like tim wake field if the game REQUIRES that you update velocity to be successful...

Now you might say "just ignore your coaches goals and do what you want" ..... I did, and the result was that I went 19-2 and got rookie of the year, mvp, and cy young awards. My team made it to the playoffs. Apparently the cy young award winner isnt good enough to pitch in the world series, and my team lost 0-4 in the world series.

This is a huge flaw that must be worked out before the next game.

despite this flaw, the game is still very enjoyable, and the actual gameplay is not that bad, but the my player mode is so limited because of the points system that it really kills the excitement and the enjoyment I might have gotten from this game, which is why I think this is a solid 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

N3m3s1s

posted by N3m3s1s (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I thought this game was incredible. The graphics, sound really made this one come to life. There are many choice options for different styles of game play, including a mode to create your own player and work him up form the minors to the big league. It took me quite awhile to get any sort of pitch recognition, needless to say i had a lot of strike outs to start with. If you want a solid true to life baseball game, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

hope you like baseball

posted by Zeddecus (KEYPORT, NJ) Feb 16, 2011

Member since May 2010

this game is boring.. id still rather play RBI Baseball, Bases Loaded, or BaseWars for 80s game consoles rather then these newer ones...I'm disappointed everytime I try a new one out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 10 The Show

posted by popeye065 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The Best Baseball Game Ever, I Can't Believe Spike's VGAs Did Not Gave The Show The Best Team Sports Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB The Show 10

posted by RikoLaw (BOLLING AFB, DC) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

The best looking baseball game, ever! The controls take a little time to get use to and can be very frustrating. My first time playing, I lost 11-2; this game is definitely not for rookies. The practice mode helps you to get in the zone and become more competitive. To sum it up, I would describe MLB The Show as a “baseball simulator”; as it requires the same mental preparation as the real thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse