Rent MLB '09: The Show for PS2
view large frontback

MLB '09: The Show

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.5

410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 09 The Show

posted by AnGlEs48 (BLYTHE, CA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for anybody who likes baseball games. It has great features for experienced players and newer players to the series. It could have a diffrent hitting system, but the hitting system the game has is ok, too. If you like a real life baseball experience. This is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

have you ever heard of: if it ain't broke...

posted by wingsnut90 (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I made the mistake of putting this into my ps2 and thinking it would be similar to last years' version. WRONG Sir! they changed the complete core of gameplay in rtts and when i started the game i thought i could go right to veteran mode because that is what i played on last year. WRONG Again. the game is harder even on rookie and i sat there feeling like a noob trying to beat the blue jays w/ the tigers. one thing i do like is the offseason mode. it definitely exceeded my expectations. there is one glitch that caught me though...
i was playing and i had to pinch hit for my pitcher. when i went to warm up a new pitcher during the atbat it told me i had to replace the CPUs pitcher and it wouldn't let me not exit out so i had to reset.
my best warning... start on rookie, and always play w/ dh.
otherwise it is a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Show

posted by Minister (GREEN LAKE, WI) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Show is a great game. The reason why this game is great is because of the game modes. These include RTTS, exhibition, franchise, manager mode, multiplayer, and season. All of these are great modes simply because they are fun to play, and are easy to play. (most)

I would sit on my couch and play RTTS all day long. Its just simply a great game that never runs out of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The game could have been better.

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was overall enjoyable, but the game could have been better. They do not have most of the old features such as showboat, power hitting, or k-zone hitting or pitching. I think that overall they could have made the game better. MLB The Show 09 was definitely the better game of the two. Lets continue the showdown with MLB 2010 The Show and MLB 2K10.

Yours truely
BigZig06

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

same old same old

posted by cokiemnsta (TARRYTOWN, NY) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Exactly the same as the last 2 years but still fun and realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ONe Major Flaw

posted by JetsFan09 (NEW MILFORD, NJ) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

There is one MAJOR flaw with this game. Why would you change the baserunning controls to what they are. With the camera angle changes you never no what way you will have to press on the Analog. Such a horrible change. Somone tell me WHY you would do that?? The amount of times you end up diving back to the bag when you wanted to say go to third, and then get thrown out at third from the outfield is rediculous....Otherwise it is your normal good graphics w/ good features baseball game. But it is like the WWe game without being able to change who you are looking at. One change that completely RUINS IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Show is maybe to Real

posted by chrisdavis (WINONA, MN) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Ok If you want a real Baseball experience the show is for you. But if you want to have fun the show isn't for you. My main problem with the show is that on Rookie it's way to hard. Games are made to be fun and this is not fun. another not so fun thing about the show is running and fielding while realistic it's way to hard doubles go for singles cause you can't tell if the ball been caught or not and if you let up at all on the analog your out because you stop dead. with fielding the camera doesn't help either because you can't find the ball in the air until it's to late. So all in all this game isn't good if your playing Road to Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its good

posted by SirGamer (REDDING, CA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

its a good baseball game but it cheats too much. I expect
it to cheat but it goes too far.Like I was playing and the pitcher hit a homerun and it was in the dirt.:(
but over all its still a fn game hope peaple read this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

have it

posted by 989sports (GARDEN CITY, MN) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I already have this game because I bought it from game fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baddddddddddddddd

posted by gamer8904 (ANAHEIM, CA) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

bad very

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Too Many Reasons...

posted by VegaDude (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Road to the show on any level is too hard(even rookie.) 1st off when you start, the picthing is too random and when you finally do guess the right pitch, you will most likely pop out because you either swung too early or too late. Homeruns are few and far in between(for instance, in MLB'08 I hit 94 homers in my first year as compared to 18 in MLB'09-that's my first year playing not just called up to the majors)
The fielding isn't user friendly, when you try and line up a double play or field a ball sometimes your player will freeze up causing the batter to beat out the throw. Lastly the baserunning is the worst I have ever seen, This new control isystems horrible and everytime you round a base your player has a hitch in his step to where he stops or slows down dramatically to turn your would be double into a single.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Very Good

posted by aarbear (HOLLAND, MI) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

MLB 09' The Show for PS2 is not a game to consider buying. The graphics aren't very good, the controls are confusing, and there are not enough features. I have played this game for PSP, and it is way better. It is easier and there are more features, making more enjoyable for PSP,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no like

posted by rpsmith1 (AUSTIN, TX) May 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

i rented this game and didnt really like it, it is very complicated to play and when playing a game the pitching and batting is very diffcult to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »