Rent MLB '09: The Show for PS3
view large frontback

MLB '09: The Show

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
8.1

3735 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too Hard

posted by Gurnett (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I played a number of games on Rookie and couldn't get a baseball out of the infield. There are no tutorials to help you figure things out. It looks like it would be a fun game, but, as a casual gamer, I probably can't put in the time needed to be good at this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by ExWifeH8tr (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

Only real downside is the lack of online (i.e. it has been turned off in lieu of MLB 10'). Worth renting if you have never played the series, or buying if you go for MLB 10'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cant Hit!

posted by markyd31 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

The hitting in 09 is way different from 08! In 08 I could hit and score pretty easily. But not in this game, even if the pitch was right down the middle, all i would get was a grounder to 2nd or a long fly ball. Hit one home run in 5 games. highest run total was 4. But for some reason the CPU could rip the cover off the ball no matter how bad of a team i was playing. I played with the Phillies who have a pretty solid lineup and got nothing absolutely nothing. The pitching is the same. But if the CPU got 4 or more runs the game was over. Couldnt make a comeback with the hitting to save my life. STill the best looking baseball game and most realistic out there. But all in all i wish the hitting was a little better. Scoring 2 or 3 runs a game got a little old after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NO no no

posted by gylda10 (ORANGE PARK, FL) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

hitting in this game sucks the big one not very good anyone who respects baseball knows the hitting is unrealistic and you cant tell the difference from a fastball or an offspeed... brutal needs to be better in 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, bad baserunning

posted by shepa728 (CHARLESTOWN, NH) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

After years of playing the 2k series, I decided to try out The Show 09 before 10 comes out next month. After popping it in, getting used to the different controls, I was pretty comfortable playing a game. Started with a quick exhibition, Yanks vs. Sox, and got used to all the new features this game offers. I loved the hitting mechanics, the pitching interface, and the fielding. The only thing I didn't care for was the baserunning. I would begin running, then the camera would switch, my guy would stop right between the 2 bases, and I couldn't get him to turn around again. After some practice this became less occurrant, yet still happened from time to time.
After my exhibition game, I started up a career in Road to the Show. My guy was a short stop, drafted to the A's, who couldn't hit very well at all. The goal system to earn points was a great idea, and by the end of spring training, I was a bit better than when I first started. Still, however, I was doomed to sit on the bench in AA ball. A long season awaits me, as I take every opportunity to get into the game and try and make a name for the rising star. The world may not know this young shortstop yet, but in roughly 2 seasons you will see what this star can do..... I hope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Aim for realism but too short on fun factor

posted by Techboy96 (PLAINVIEW, NY) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

The Good: Great and realistic visuals.

The Bad: Pitching and hitting controls are silly dumb. A 3-step pitching system is suppose to be challenging? When all it really does is uncontrollable pitches?

A hitting system rely on good timing yet they forget to give players the correct tools on gauging speed and location of pitch. So many times, it's too late to hold or check the swing when pitches fall out of strike zone. Try getting a walk out of this game is about as skill as leaving the batter there and do nothing.

The Ugly: The stems from the difficult controls that is suppose to be realistic but in reality it just take the fun out of the game. If I want a real baseball game, I'll be outside playing it and not glue myself to a TV and pretend to be realistic!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Batting is just too hard

posted by crabbyman (MABLETON, GA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This is easily the coolest baseball game that I have ever played, but the realism is too much. I wish that I was better at batting as I would have considered this game almost a buyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game.

posted by socom383 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

well, i'll be a bit biased here because quite frankly i don't like the 2k sports baseball games all that much, but this game is just pure awesome. The graphics are superb, the gameplay is smooth, fun, and is a nice challenge for veterans of 'the show' series, while still making it easy to understand for new-comers of all sorts. the new road to the show mode improvements have proved to be fun, and a nice change of pace. You should definately pick this one up..great family game, easy trophies, and is a for sure keeper :) 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 09 the show

posted by lukenev (ALABASTER, AL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

this game sounded good but when i got it ,it was a disappointment. It does not show you how to play. I highly recommend THE BIGS instead. It is almost like it but more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MLB 10

posted by Dugitz (MADISON, WI) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The graphics in this game are outstanding. They just make gameplay to hard to enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Show is a Classic

posted by JPOST2G (BELLEROSE, NY) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I loved this game. I played a season with a friend and we were entertained from beginning to end. We were expecting to get bored with the game by mid season but it kept giving us little bells and whistles that kept us laughing. You really have to pay attention to the little things to notice how much detail went into the creation of this game. If your a die hard baseball fan like I am, you'll notice so much from how similar the characters look like the actual players, to the many things that can go on during a long season of 162 game season. Things like players going through hot streaks and slumps, many different ways characters react to in game situations, or even the way players field the ball and finish plays. Of course the game isn't perfect, so you will find faults in the game that will frustrate you from time to time like fielding errors that seem to happen right when the game is hanging in the balance, especially like balls pitched in the dirt that always seem to get away when there is a player on third. There are things that are cool like hitting the strike zone in the black and never knowing if it's going to be called a ball or strike. In reality, umpires always do this so you have to admit, this aspect is as real as it gets. Lastly, if you get tired of playing out a season, you can start up a road to the show season where you create your own character and play out his career from draft day, playing his way up the minors, and hopefully making the bigs and making him into a star. The only lasting thought I have is that the real star is the staff that made such a cool game that is worth every penny I invested into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game

posted by WackyJack (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this is a great game, even if you're not baseball fan and also probably has the best presentation in an sports game with extremely life-like commentators. the only thing that hinders it, is the stupid "road to the show" mode, bottom line - great sprots game and an excellent ps3 exclusive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RTTS THE TIPS TO PERFECTION.

posted by Jackamania (ATLANTA, GA) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Okay in road to the show , i made a guy his name was Semi Achima he broke babes record, he broke Ichiros and much much more.I am a baseball fan, player, an overall FANATIC. But when reading some of the reviews, uh you can change the base running in RTTS you (if you want to cheat) go on sliders on the option page in your sucky years and make the fielders make errors and stuff, you can also go to options and make you only bat. If your a pitcher you lower the batters contact, power etc. and make the pitch speed faster. Just saying all of Semi Achima's bars were up. So the trick to RTTS is patience, and a little bit of cheating.

P.S. IN one of Semi Achima's seasons he his 76 hr. He also played till he was 45 but c'mon he was amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good installment of MLB series

posted by judge666 (EASTPORT, NY) Oct 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I've been a baseball gamer since nintendo days and this is by far the best looking game ive seen. Franchise mode is fine minus the over involvement in the stadium and all of its decisions from parking to refreshments. In all honesty it could of done without. RTTS is also very good and its been fixed since prior years. My start button thatnks you for that. With that said there are some glitches, 1 being the most annoying to me as an infielder is when you finally max out your player he still over runs routine plays to his right ( i have a created 3rd basemen ). I have no idea why but it really makes you look like a fool when it happens and it happens often. The only other thing missing is a homerun derby which in my opinion the need to put together with the allstar break and have it as a playable option in the opening menu. Overall a very addicting game for hard core baseball fans and worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best baseball game to date

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

This game has everything a baseball fan could ever want. The graphics are bar none the best in any sports game, the gameplay is a little tough but it's realistic and requires a learning curve, the options and modes are outstanding. If you like baseball you'll love this game and even if your not into sports games you'll appreciate the detail and time put into the developement of this outstanding baseball game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Doesn't get much better than this

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I stumbled upon mlb 07 the show for ps2 a few years back and at that point in time I had yet to play a baseball game I liked. Soon after that I bought 08 for ps3 and then 09 when it came out. There's really nothing about this game that I don't like, the only reason it doesn't get a ten is because there are a few minor issues that I'm hoping are resolved in mlb10. Really just nitpicking things that everybody else is talking about so I'm not going to get into it. I just hope they don't use the analog stick for the swing function, it worked for golf but it's no good for baseball (if you've ever played mlb 2k you know this).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bug me? No, bug you!

posted by maulreize (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I can say that the gameplay is second to none. If I had to compare it to any baseball series, Id have to say it plays most like MVP baseball on the original xbox. I only scored it a 7 because the menues arent the best and there was a gamesave bug that was asking me to delete 225 megabites from my hdd (the game save is 22 kb). After about the 6th time I got so fed up I deleted everything "Show" related from my ps3 and put the game in the mail. Its a shame; I was gonna buy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

OMG This Is Hard! Keeps Me Playing.

posted by stabatrick (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

First off I can't play sports games longer then 1 day. I buy them because so many people love them (Madden, MBA and son on) and I end up giving them to others.

I forced myself to play this game and enjoy it. I made it past day 1 and on week 2. I'm so happy for myself! Here is the run down from a guy who doesn't like sports games.

Pros:

1080P graphics are amazing. There is so much detail to everything in the game. I think I see flys buzzing around near the home plate... Really.

THX Sound? Out of all the games you wished had amazing sound, didn't get it. This game did. I have no clue why, but it sounds amazing.

Create a Player is so damed detailed. You can have endless fun with making stupid looking players.

Very real! The hitting, the pitching is unreal. I don't like baseball at all and it draws me in. I get so excited when I get a hit.

Cons:

I get really excited when I get a hit, because it's so darn hard! I can pick the best team and have them play against a High School team and I still lose. Everyone says it's easy after awhile, but it's 2 weeks on Rookie and can't beat anyone.

It's baseball.

I would recommend this game. Just don't get mad and start throwing the controller. I'm sure after the 2009 Post Season is over the price will drop 30%. Maybe wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best sports sim to date

posted by bigajc (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I have played vidio games for the past 20 years or so. And i have to say MLB the show is the best sports sim i have ever played when i put the game in my ps3 it was the most realistic baseball sim i ever seen. with that said the game play is 2nd to nun. i'm telling you with all the junk sports games out ther the show 09 is well worth your hard earnd money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB '09: The Show

posted by Anxiety (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I know that the real life MLB season is coming to an end, but I figured I would put in my two cents about 'The Show. Let me start by saying I now own a PS3 mainly for the purchase of this game. It's that good. I am a die hard baseball fan and this game is the most realistic baseball simulation I have ever played. SCEA really knows how to make baseball fans happy. I also own 2k Sport's baseball title and this one blows 2k out of the water if you're looking for a true video game representation of the sport.

The core gameplay of the series is still intact but minor tweaks make the '09 game so much more realistic. Gone are the days of hitting .400 or .500 in a season with 60 home runs. Hitting is tougher and it is a struggle to keep up a .200 to .300 average which is what you would expect from a real life major league hitter. RTTS mode is much more interactive through the new training modes and baserunning modes. Although baserunning is one of the few flaws I found in the game. It is very hard to steal bases and the camera changes end up getting you caught in unnecessary rundowns and thrown out. Other than that, the game is very smooth and plays how it should.

The graphics in the game are far greater than what I expected from a baseball game. The HDR lighting and cloth physics help to make The Show look like a real life game. I can't tell you how many times my friends and family have seen me playing and thought I was watching a game on TV. The minor details really bring the game to life. There are many cutscenes during the game that look like what you would see during a game on TV. The mascots and crowd animations (walking to get food and reaching for foul balls/home runs) also add to the experience. In the field the gameplay is extremely fluid filled with many animations that you would see real life players make. Excellent motion capture. Overall this a nearly perfect baseball simulation and is a must buy for any true baseball fan even this late in the season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i like it. it's alright

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

it's alright but i'm not the big baseball player just keep swinging at everything that com at me."lol"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB:The Show 09

posted by BambuENY (JAMAICA, NY) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I have been playing this game every year for the 8 years, eagerley
annticipating the newest version every year. The main things about what makes this game one of the best have not changed , and the things that have changed have only added to an already robbust game.
the franchise mode is top notch, but what sets this version apart is the improved (Road To The Show) the depth of character customization really helps to immerse you into the mind of an up and comming rookie. gameplay is great .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but a little scare for me

posted by ilikepie00 (RIVERHEAD, NY) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

When i got this game i was so happy. i played rtts for the first week i got it. it was fun but had a ps2 game in it. if any 1 has ever played mlb 2005 by 989 sports u know what im talking about. it is all the same but the graphics r better. also the base running is bs and the hitting too the demo was much better n if it had mor time it might be a great game for rtts. now franchise was its strong point n was easy to get a good team. online was k but could be better i ecpect a better n stronger game for 10n hope they dont use ps2 games as their game but still has days of fun for baseball fans. GO PIRATES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by jspinato8 (NAUGATUCK, CT) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This is the most realistic baseball game ever made. The player movements are flawless, the players' features are amazing, and the stadiums look great.The franchise mode is very in depth. Road to the show is a good concept but is boring at times. My only knock on the game are the announcers and presentation. It is virtually identical to last year. The annoucers are generic and repetitive. Probably the worst annoucers in any sports game. They have nothing new to add and say the same things they did last year. The replays in game and post game wrap up highlights are terrific. The only reason I don't give this game a 10 is beacuse of the annoucers. Other than that, it's the best baseball game ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 09

posted by themereguy (MANHASSET, NY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I think the show is one of the most realistic baseball game i have ever played. MLB 2k9 doesn't compare to this. The Road to the Show is amazing and very accurate. This game never gets boring for me and i cannot wait for the next one to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse