Rent MAG for PS3
view large frontback

MAG

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

7793 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by OmahaLonghorns (OMAHA, NE) Sep 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It was an awesome game while it was out. I liked it better then COD. The maps where bigger and there was a lot more going on and you could be a leader, follower, attacker, sniper, or anything you wanted to be. They should really make another one. But don't buy or rent this now, because the servers are no longer up for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by MKmaster (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

I had this game sitting around for a while.I was waiting for a boring weekend with nothing to do.The time finally came to try the game,so I'm attempting to install MAG onto my PS3.The game finished install then would not work at all. It continued to give me the same error message over and over again until I just gave up.The error screen was "unable to connect to server " . Thanks for a weekend with nothing at all to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

All of the work put into this game, 256 players able to play at a single time and everything pretty much anyone could want except the fact that a lot of people like to ignore the objective and don't play using team work.

This game thrives on team work and the devolopers put all the work into the game to where even players without mics can lead a squad to victory if they use team work.

Team Work is a very lacking thing in FPS games of date sadly, and it's mearly a PS3 exclusive as welll, so it was bound to fail in the long run. Though a decent amount of people still play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

perf

posted by magda (FREEHOLD, NJ) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

oooooo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

one problem kills it

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) May 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game is not fun when your raven there ment to be high tech right? then why do they always loose? its very sad to see the bottom line pmc sver always wins only buy or rent if you are 20 years old and you have played fps all your life otherwise dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST BUY

posted by lizardman1 (MARSHALL, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

ALL I HAVE TO SAYAMAZING FIRST U CHOOSE UR SQUAD RAVEN VALOR AND S.V.E.R THEN U GO FIGHT WITH OVER 100 PEOPLE THIS GAME IS EPIC I WAS A RAVEN SNIPER FIELD MEDIC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT WORTH GETTING

posted by gamerdude121 (EATON, OH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I got this game after a year it came out, so like any game i was level 1. It takes FOREVER to level. It takes 2 magazines to kill anybody, and 2 shots and im dead. I knew my k-d ratio would be low, but geeze. Ive played all kids of fps, so i know i dont suck. If you didnt start playing this game when it first came out dont waste your time. All you will do is die, from the higher lvl players. I wish i could write cuss words on here to describe my feelings better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not my kinda game

posted by DakotaRT23 (SANFORD, ME) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

First off i didn't like the fact it took me 2 hrs just to download all the contents for this game

Once i started playing i didn't like the graphics and the game play just felt pretty slow.. Other than that i don't think this game is for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too bad, so sad

posted by joboo65 (SWEET HOME, OR) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

1. Why do you give a game a bad review just because you get your butt kicked?

2. Why do you give a game a bad review if you're too stupid to know you need the internet to play online?

This game is pretty awesome, although you do need to know what is going on tactically or you will just be fodder for those who do know what's going on.

You will have to play for a while, and yes, you will die a lot at first, but then you'll start to learn what your objectives are and how to work as a team to accomplish them.

This game is best when you clan up with friends or like minded players.

Oh, and you really should have a mic so you can communicate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mag

posted by stemafied111 (EASTON, PA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this was the worst game i ever played. they couldnt take it bac fast enough and since mail dont come on sundays im stuck with it one more day before i can even send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as i expected

posted by BFELI12 (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the first time i played it i got a lot of snipe shots. very nice game the graphics look alittle years back. there's two problems: your teammates might get the thought to shoot yu from behind, then actually do it. the second thing is yu mignt get kicked out for simple reasons. on the battlefield, one of my teammate stares at another teammate then kills him, then i come from behind and kill the killer to disipline himlol, then another teammate comes up and kills me i go after that guy and try to take revenge, THEN I GET KILLED AGAIN BY HIM, then i get kicked out the squad. i swear i was getting ready to kill my whole side. in the game i spend more time getting shot by teammates then shooting at my enemies. team work dosen't ring any bells in anyones head

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Online game.......

posted by Dragonox97 (SANTA MONICA, CA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was very fun. The only problems I thought there was with this game was that there wasn't a campaign mode, if there was a campaign mode or just a single player mode then I would have given this game a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its good but not that good

posted by flames297 (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

mag ist the greatest first person game its know near better then black ops and besides for mag there guns are not that great and theres no attache ments you can do i would not buy this game i would just rent it if i were you guys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

generic

posted by joshs_dixie (TAMPA, FL) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I have given Mag a good chance to impress me, and it still disappoints. The levels are good however i do not like to the waiting period to respawn. ( I'm playing a game to play not wait ) I didn't feel the reality of the shooting, to me it felt like older shooter technology. The action movements were basic and ( stiff ) I did however like the level size and and the weight control part of it, seems real in that aspect and very clever. I rate MAG a strong 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mag i love

posted by chase63586435 (BRADENTON, FL) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love mag i love how u can choose through 3 teams and u can have all teames i think it is in my top 10 of games maybe like the 3 one that is all i have to say thank u for having mag on here thank u thank u thank u

chase vanhouten
7-18-2011 10:43

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by FTHEGOAT59 (PORT REPUBLIC, VA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun. It steps away from games like call of duty and tries to be different. Why not a 10? It has some pros and some cons. Not trying to spoil too much for you I'll list them.

Pros
huge maps
teamwork
vehicles
fun game modes
have to be a team player
good sniping posts
awesome sound effects and audio

Cons
slow and confusing at the beginning
bad guns at the begining
not much character customization
have to by weapons
graphics aren't bad but could be better
everytime you die you have to run across the battlefield to get in to the action

Overall a good game. For ps3 users it at least deserves a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by taylordaws (DARIEN, GA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i rented this game and i was really dissapointed with this game because i had to wait like 5 minutes for 1 match to start overall i would not recommend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

u amost need more people

posted by giga_money (NEWNAN, GA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

mag wat a great idea, 256 people in one super massive sided fired, untill u die for the 32nd time.

when you first start mag you have to pick a team, so you pick on of 3 chosies and go from there, after that you look a the very odd menu nothing like cod of battlefield. if you want to play you go to deploy even on training, you buy wepons in suppydepot, and community for clan and friends, wen you go to deploy the first thing is trainig, always do traing always.

each teams training is diffent from the rest, valor is more towards enginer, raven is more toward vehicles, and sver is more killing.

the games you play are suppression (team death mach,not an addon), sabotage (not an addon ,destory the objectives to get to a 3rd objective to destroy), the an addon game were 32 players from the 3 teams capture baces (forgot the name of the game), then the 4th game (not and addon) 64 playes form each team eather try to steal or protect 2 vehicles from the other. the firth game (addon game) 32 players from 2 teams capture ojectives.

the last game domination 128 players form 2 teams (128+128=256) try definding or attacking the oil reserve pumbs, with elements form the games before try 4 platoons defind one side (or attack) of the field, and each side is different. the first thing to deffend (attack) is the burnout towers. if those go then you head for the cooling towers, if those go then the pump station are next. the deffinders are always trying to let the time run out and the attackes are trying to get the objectives with in time.

the controles are set wied, and to get better you have to be better. u know th perks in cod game, in this game there are 160 slots to better your play, 1 point for level up but there are only 70 levels, so you should only better your streghts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Much better then CoD FPS!

posted by Worldshaker (ROUND MOUNTAIN, NV) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you think CoD games are hot s.h.i.t and you kick all a.$.$ in that game then MAG isnt for you. This game doesnt have one shot one kill on all guns, no miraculous knife kills from the side or 10 feet away, no aim assist, no unreal bullet penetration. no kills just cus you were aiming close enough.

MAG requires skill and team work. Most of the people I got to switch over to MAG left. They couldnt handle it and needed the CoD easy mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Let Down

posted by Annon420 (ADRIAN, MI) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I really was expecting to love this, being as its touted as a team based tactical shooter. This is not the case. Its just like Call of Duty except with worse controls, poorer graphics (which is acceptable with the massiveness of this game) and poor shooting mechanics. I am usually a 20/4 K/D ratio in Black Ops, but this game is too hard to see anyone and everyone is always using snipers so you get picked off after waiting to respawn. I'm sorry, not what I thought it was going to be. Let's hope (if they make it) MAG 2 will be better.

Just got it today and am already sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehhh

posted by TheShroud (YELM, WA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

MAG could have been really fun if bought at launch or around launch date. Now being two years old, the factions and players are so strong that its almost no fun at all to play the game. You spend the first few hours running into battle only to get your head blown off (even as you shoot your enemy in the back several times before he turns around and shoots you twice and kills you). The large battles are good in idea but when its all said and done you feel like your only going 12 on 12 because the maps are so large. Like i said before, If you had started this game out when it released and was able to level up with the rest of the groups, the outcome and decision to whether you like this game or not could truly change. Maybe next time I will buy this game or rent this game sooner so I can actually have a chance to see what it's all about. Anyways rent this game and see for yourself whether you like it or not, don't base your decision on some asss like me....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

do not buy

posted by metallic (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

MAG is a game that has virtually unlimited potential, breaking the boring call of duty game max of 18 in ground war up to 264 players in one match. however, this means that your time in MAG will be completly reliant on your team (sver valor and raven). unfortunatly this is a bad thing. my team, valor, was awful. we lost almost every game we played. every time game starts up some little kid starts up a vote to kick you too. long waits to start a game are also crippling. overall i would way that mag is a fun game to try out with its large multiplayer, but rent instead of buying. trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAG

posted by grlevens (BORREGO SPRINGS, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MAG is really fun,you never get bored of it,256 people online at once. I bought it and its all I play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So so

posted by Rengie (ANDERSON, IN) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game at the beginning, but as you move forward you learn two things. One, it's takes a long time to get any real good weapons, and two, everyone else already has the better weapons. In this game Winning or Losing doesn't matter, all that matters is the kills and how many you got. If you rush to the goal or objective to try and win the match faster, you would only be waisting you're time. just Kill kill kill... kill. No matter what match it is no matter what map you're on, just Kill, forget the objective forget the goal, kill. Thats all that matters. Kinda was a drag after that, if you want a game that you can space out or get high and play then this game is for you, mindless running around jumping and shooting kill kill kill kill kill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont waste your time

posted by billysbaby (KALISPELL, MT) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

i like the plot of the game but it take to many bullets to kill some one it take forever to level your guy up and get new wepons but they suck to the last sniper rifle take for ever to get but at least it kills in one shot like it supposed too and if you dont play on the s.e.v.r team dont plan on wining much couse the people who play valor an raven are dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse