Rent MAG for PS3
view large frontback

MAG

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

7789 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Team Work Team Work Team Work!

posted by UserReview (MENLO PARK, CA) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Mag is a very intense and fast paced completely online game. It has everything a FPS fan would want. Large maps, Vehicles, sniper rifles, rocket launchers. What more could you want?

You start off by picking an army. And choose wisely you don't get to change sides once you've started. You level up (which can be pretty slow at first, and you might get a bit frustrated. Till you get the better equipment) get new equipment, allowed to join bigger battles, get a few perks and you even get to customize your character. This game is the first I've seen that makes you feel like you are a part of a real army, not just a game where you run around and shoot at anything that moves.

Though being part of a team can have its downsides too. If your team mates think that this game is just about killing as many people as they can you will most likely loose every time. There is more to do then just shooting people. You can get a very good amount of points just from healing injured teammates and capturing points of interest not having to killing a single person the whole time. You have to defend and attack in large numbers. If your squad sticks together and rush the enemy you wont have a problem unless the enemy does the same thing.

The game is fun, and if your teams sucks stick back and be a sniper or heal injured people that run past you. You cant do much if you are the one person who wants to be tactical in a team of over 100.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A pretty big step

posted by aeygamer2 (CANFIELD, OH) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

reading all of those people that gave this game a 1, all i could say is that they are just complaining im not saying this game is the greatest but its something new and its fun. what kind of graphics would you expect from a map that has to support 256 players and they still arent that bad. it does take a lot of lead to put people down but the gameplay is really fun especially if your playing with people that have mics.

overall a good game thats worth a chance that lasts longer than a day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Over A Year

posted by a1b2c3 (PARAGOULD, AR) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its been over a year since MAG has been released and I still recomend and play this game, the graphics are not the best but all things taken into account This game is great. I also as every one else love COD, MW2, & BlkOps. But your not going to survive if your the old run n gun type, Rambo does not exist in the MAG universe and for that reason alot of people will talk trash about this game. Give it a try (have patience) work as a team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of the year!

posted by MistandFog (BETHANY, OK) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is sick! I love it! As soon as i got it, i bought this game. You must have an internet connection to play. Your goal is to dominate war with three factions: S.V.E.R, Raven, and Valor. To the descriptions of each team. S.V.E.R is Russia, and have weapons such as RTK-47's, AK-47U's, and AK's. Raven is Germany, and other provinces near there. And then there's Valor. Valor is the U.S and Mexico. They have all the weapons made in the U.S.

Now onto the game modes.
Suppression- Where 32 members of 3 different PMC factions fight to gain control of the battlefield. ( Basically, it's War Games.)
Sabotage- Blowing other PMC's Supply points up, or defending your own.
Acquisition- Taking or defending vehicles .
Interdiction- two convoys and 126 players vie for control of the battlefield. (Only available on PlayStation Store!)
Domination- Players must secure and hold eight targets. ( Level Eight or higher to play)
Escalation- Three factions are pitted against each other in a battle for control. (Only available on PlayStation Store!)

I am a S.V.E.R member,, I am Field Support, and a medic. I am a S.V.E.R WARRIOR!

To all my comrades, I am XxDidyourmomXx, so add me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is intense.

posted by hecksyes (FERGUS FALLS, MN) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

67 out of 77 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

First off, I would like to get this clear. If you have no intention of being a helpful teammate do not get this game. It's evident by some of the reviews on here that some are trying to run and gun in this game. It doesn't work that way.
Secondly, the spawn killing remarks are unwarranted and laughable at the same time. Granted, if your not bright enough to realize that running the exact same path every time you spawn is getting you killed then this game is not for you.

MAG is a fps that finally gets it. If I wanted to run around doing mindless killing I would just get halo 3. MAG has raised the bar for fps on a console imo and is super hard to put down.

One thing that I would advise is to play to level 10 and get some domination games in before forming an opinion on the game because that's where the fun really starts.

I look at the the beginning of the experience to be a bit slow and confusing to most. Once you get it though there is no turning back.lol You will be hooked. If I had to pick one fps to keep this would be the one.

This game comes from the fine folks that brought you the SOCOM series (minus confrontation) so those of you that know them know they support their games and that DLC content will happen and patches will be a regular thing as they continue to tweak this game to perfection.

I'm going to state one more time that everyone that rents this should get to level 10 and play domination before fully judging this title.

Also, here is a protip- Level up your medic all the way right away. It will give you xp like mad. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too bad, so sad

posted by joboo65 (SWEET HOME, OR) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

1. Why do you give a game a bad review just because you get your butt kicked?

2. Why do you give a game a bad review if you're too stupid to know you need the internet to play online?

This game is pretty awesome, although you do need to know what is going on tactically or you will just be fodder for those who do know what's going on.

You will have to play for a while, and yes, you will die a lot at first, but then you'll start to learn what your objectives are and how to work as a team to accomplish them.

This game is best when you clan up with friends or like minded players.

Oh, and you really should have a mic so you can communicate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by FTHEGOAT59 (PORT REPUBLIC, VA) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fun. It steps away from games like call of duty and tries to be different. Why not a 10? It has some pros and some cons. Not trying to spoil too much for you I'll list them.

Pros
huge maps
teamwork
vehicles
fun game modes
have to be a team player
good sniping posts
awesome sound effects and audio

Cons
slow and confusing at the beginning
bad guns at the begining
not much character customization
have to by weapons
graphics aren't bad but could be better
everytime you die you have to run across the battlefield to get in to the action

Overall a good game. For ps3 users it at least deserves a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

u amost need more people

posted by giga_money (NEWNAN, GA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

mag wat a great idea, 256 people in one super massive sided fired, untill u die for the 32nd time.

when you first start mag you have to pick a team, so you pick on of 3 chosies and go from there, after that you look a the very odd menu nothing like cod of battlefield. if you want to play you go to deploy even on training, you buy wepons in suppydepot, and community for clan and friends, wen you go to deploy the first thing is trainig, always do traing always.

each teams training is diffent from the rest, valor is more towards enginer, raven is more toward vehicles, and sver is more killing.

the games you play are suppression (team death mach,not an addon), sabotage (not an addon ,destory the objectives to get to a 3rd objective to destroy), the an addon game were 32 players from the 3 teams capture baces (forgot the name of the game), then the 4th game (not and addon) 64 playes form each team eather try to steal or protect 2 vehicles from the other. the firth game (addon game) 32 players from 2 teams capture ojectives.

the last game domination 128 players form 2 teams (128+128=256) try definding or attacking the oil reserve pumbs, with elements form the games before try 4 platoons defind one side (or attack) of the field, and each side is different. the first thing to deffend (attack) is the burnout towers. if those go then you head for the cooling towers, if those go then the pump station are next. the deffinders are always trying to let the time run out and the attackes are trying to get the objectives with in time.

the controles are set wied, and to get better you have to be better. u know th perks in cod game, in this game there are 160 slots to better your play, 1 point for level up but there are only 70 levels, so you should only better your streghts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

mag i love

posted by chase63586435 (BRADENTON, FL) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i love mag i love how u can choose through 3 teams and u can have all teames i think it is in my top 10 of games maybe like the 3 one that is all i have to say thank u for having mag on here thank u thank u thank u

chase vanhouten
7-18-2011 10:43

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAG

posted by grlevens (BORREGO SPRINGS, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MAG is really fun,you never get bored of it,256 people online at once. I bought it and its all I play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Absolutely AWESOME, i see no glitches of any kind. the only problem i have is that there is no story or carrer, which made me sad. but when i started playing with my friends, having awesome phun it makes it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Much better after the updates

posted by bdiddy112 (BUFFALO, NY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When this game first came out' it was very vanilla and took forever to level up. Now that they put alot of updates into it and made is easier to level up faster, ITS A STEAL FOR 20 BUCKS. A must have. Think of this game as like a fps version of socom but much more in depth. RAVEN SQUAD FOREVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i thought it was awesome :)

posted by beaverhunt (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have this game at home right now i love it only two complaints not enough map diversity and lack of character connection but all in all i give it an 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its getting there, 4 out of 5 stars

posted by Geabrey (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first, when I heard about this game, I thought to myself “Here goes another Online FPS (First Person Shooter) that I will not get into.” well, I was wrong. Right when I heard that there was gonna be 256 players on one map at a time, I was hooked. I started playing this game when it was just a beta. At that time, I would have given it a lower rating. Now, almost a year later, the game has grown into something revolutionary.

With this game growing everyday, my rating may change as time goes on. Note that this is only an online game, so if you don't have your PS3 on the internet you're wasting your time. This game is still in its infancy so a lot of the problems you may hear about do get fixed very fast. That's one of the reasons why I give it such a good rating. The team that works on this game is on top of everything and if I could rate them, they would get a better rating then the game. All and all, if you're a fan of online FPS games, this is a must have.

eCON Reviews
-Geabrey

More reviews on Facebook
Games
Movies
Music
& More
To find us on Facebook just search ECON Reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for the light hearted

posted by JToler (GALLATIN, TN) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here's the bottom line. I put this first so you don't have to read my BS if you don't want but if you are planning on renting this game check out my suggestions section. It'll help. Anyway, This is not COD. It is hard and the first 20 or so levels you will die A LOT. Don't lose heart. Work through them, develop your character, pimp out your weapons, and listen to your squad leader. After you do all these things you will have fun.

We've made a world of mediocrity for ourselves especially in video games. Developers will do anything for a buck and it ruins potentially GREAT games by making them accessible to EVERYONE. Remember the good old days when games were difficult and some games couldn't be beaten without cheat codes for extra lives and so much repetition that we could see it in our dreams? Whether it was intended or not MAG takes a step back in that direction my making the game slightly more difficult than the average FPS.

THIS GAME IS NOT CALL OF DUTY! You can't run and gun and expect to get a ton of kills especially while working through the first 35 or so levels of your character. Give it time. As your character develops and you get used to the type of game play it will become much more fun.

My suggestion is to specialize in a weapon group and max out the stability and recoil bits so when firing the bullets actually go in the same general area as the potential target and then become a medic you get great xp for resuscitating fallen comrades. Anyone who does this and sticks with their squad leaders fragos (basically squad orders) will breeze through the first 20 or so levels and sometimes level up 2 or even 3 times after a singe domination match. Another suggestion is not to buy anything but the med kit and weapon attachments until you have a totally pimped out starter weapon. The base assault rifle with fore-grip, a sight, and a silencer coupled with a developed skill tree in that area is very deadly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mags review

posted by elcarita (IMPERIAL, CA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The mag is propably the second best game i've played all year. The game gaphics but makes up for it is the game play with a tough choice of the three factions they have. unfortunatly it has no story to it. agian makes up for game play offering 256 players on each team this game is a 10 out of 10 if you get it GAME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ONLINE ONLY!

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well it is best if I just posted the pros and cons....

PROS:
- ps move ready
- you can buy your weapons and go the route you would prefer (meaning a lot of diversity)
- 3 sides you can choose with different weapons.
- Many online fighting modes.
- Massive battles...
- large fields for large amounts of enemies.
- It keeps growing.

CONS:
- Graphics are sub par
- raven and sver beat valor in terms of weapons.
- level up system could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Rare Gem From The FPS Crowd..

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

168 out of 208 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

FPS games just have been getting more and more stale as time passed. Even MW2 played it safe to be a "hit" to the casual gamers. War games getting boring now to be honest. Wait, until..

MAG came along and changed everything. While the controls are a little awkward at first, might not have the best detail in the sprites, you get dominated in the early run, you couldn't be anymore confused and you might just HATE the game early on. But guess what?

MAG delivers on many other aspects. While the controls are a little strange at first, it only takes a little bit to get used to them, and it becomes very easy. The setup is actually very basic and simple. While the graphical details aren't the best, they are by no means sub-par. They are amazing for this scale, it really is. And yes, you will be dominated in the start, it's how it goes. But in a day, maybe two or three you will get the hang of it and will be running around with your team killing more bad guys than you can count. You will get "in to" your accessories and healing/helping people will actually become fun.

This game does a fantastic job of giving you a feel that it's not all about running and gunning, which you still can do and that's fun too.. Don't get me wrong here, but there is a lot more to do. You can play in a 64 player levels, 128 player mini-wars, or 256 player bloodbath. You might be thinking that the only reason to play it is to play with 256 people but you couldn't be any more wrong. The other modes are designed very well. My favorite is Sabotage, which is the smallest of the modes.

Be warned that this is a game you want to give time, a few days or a week before you judge it. You need to get used to the play style, it's not MW2. Also you need to get familiar with the maps and the controls and you will be rocking. Trust me! I hated this game at first, and now I can't put it down. It's a very good game. And they still are tweaking it and adding things!

Score: 9.1/10 (This game isn't MW2, it's MAG)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More than meets the eye with MAG

posted by OscarQ (CUTLER BAY, FL) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

MAG is a Multiplayer only First Person Shooter game. And it is the first and only game to be able to have 256 players in one game. A boundary broken that I believe Zipper doesn't get enough credit and appreciation for. It truly is a feat worth recognizing.

Mag features huge maps with many different game modes to have played on them. The game allows you to customize your character quite decently. Its much like the Socom Confrontation game. You have different types of Armour you can wear. One category being Heavy, then medium, and then light. The Armour looks pretty cool I must say. And then you have some extra things you can throw on your guy. And you unlock more as you level up.

When you level up, you gain a level point. Which you can use towards unlocking weapons or weapon upgrades. And to get the better stuff, You have to rack up those points. You will have to unlock the higher categories with points as well to get that better stuff.

The gameplay is very smooth running considering all the players in one game. So that's nice. The graphics are up to standard. The controls might be something you will have to get to used to, but its not complicated. You might be able to alter the controls to your liking actually.

And MAG is fun. Its pretty awesome having something of an army as your team. Its pretty thrilling when your rushing a defended fortification with a convoy and buttload of troops.

As you get more and more experience in the game, you will be able to apply for leadership positions in your team. And you will be open to special abilities such as calling air support of any kind, artillery, and a bunch of other cool fun stuff.

The vehicles in this game are pretty cool by the way.

Now as you first start MAG, Its not that great and can get frustrating. You have to keep at it. You have to rack up points and get the better stuff. And it will get really fun.

So to conclude my review. MAG can be a terrific game. Give it time. If you like it, buy it. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play longer than 10min-a hour

posted by chronicbud (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

People need to think outside of the run and gun box. this is a war game not runaround and mindlessly kill game. it irritates me when people give a game a bad rating because they sucked at it and only played the game for 10 min to an hour.256 players in 1 game 8 objectives. if more people would play they would come out with new maps. the graphics are not the best but they are good for a huge game. remember everyone is a noob at first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Will Redefine FPS, a new standard has been set!

posted by TornPr1nc3 (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

84 out of 107 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to Beta test this game like many others out there and was impressed by it, so I knew that buying it was a must. The main competition will be Modern Warfare 2, but in my eyes, there IS NO competition. The two games may be from the same genre, but are two completely different experiences.

The amount of depth to the game does not become apparent in the first few "levels" of your character's progression. Like MW 2, MAG uses a leveling system in the vein of many RPG's out there. There is also an MMO aspect of the game because of the number of players you will be playing with AND against.

Each squad of 8 should act like a tight knit unit, keeping one another alive while defending a location or pushing forward further into enemy territory to complete an objective.

While MW2 is extremely arcade in nature and is more of a run and gun experience where completing objectives can only be done in certain missions and even then, it feels too short and gets old in a hurry. MAG does have a Deathmatch mode, but it is mainly to hone your skills towards playing the bigger modes. There are so many ways to earn experience points and you almost always feel like you are accomplishing something. If you are victorious, the feeling is always one of comraderie where everyone really did their job. On the other hand, should you fail, you will want to try and do it again to get it right.

Cheap kills in MW2 also make for an unpleasant Multi-player experience. In MAG, I have not once gotten the feeling that my death was cheap. It has always been either a bad mistake on my part or just that I simply got outgunned by the better player.

Meeting up with friends and keeping a clan organized is as impressive a WORKING SYSTEM as Killzone 2's (Both PS3 exclusives). I have felt that MW2's system was mainly designed for the 360 or PC.

Most importantly, the game feels like a REAL WAR in ways no other FPS has achieved. Kudos to Zipper for a winner!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game and a system seller!

posted by Cipher8 (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

77 out of 99 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is easily my favorite on the PS3.

What more could you want out of a multiplayer experience? Huge battles, vehicles, plenty of different classes and roles, unlockable weapon upgrades, player customization... the list goes on and on...

Now-a-days I here a lot of people complaining about campers in shooters and how there's no-one to shoot when Sniping. You'll NEVER have that problem in M.A.G.

It's so action packed, with people running all over the place, objectives to take care of, explosions going off, bullets whizzing by... It actually feels like your in a war.

Team work is necessary especially when your opponents are working as a team but if you don't a group to game with you can still go out on your own and just work along with your random teammates to accomplish the objective at hand or just defend or assault a position and get some kills and xp to unlock some new weapons/enhancements.

I'de say this game is as close to perfect multiplayer experience as we're going to see for awhile.

9.5/10

I'de recommend buying it if you got the cash. You won't regret it and there's always going to be something to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I'm one of the few that have had a blast playing

posted by Natiej85 (ELKHART, IN) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

The game has it's downsides, mainly the graphics which aren't on par with most of the NexGen Shooters. There's no offline campaign mode so if your looking for the then look elsewhere. The game's strengths are solely in the online multiplayer mode. You have to do alot of work to get anywhere in you PMC but it's just fan and fast paced with NO LAG. Your seriously on maps with 256 player(after you work up get level up high enough) and everyone blown stuff up and the game doesn't skip a beat. This first game to do this and one of the reason why it's soo much fun and why I rated it so highly. The same chaos that make you amazed can be frustrating for some because you will die and probably die alot because there are alot of snipers and alot of people in general that are just coming from all direction. Seriously though if you want to have fun in this game then just put in the work, and sometime just a rental's time spent on a game like this could leave a bad taste in your mouth. Well maybe not with Gamefly but you know what I'm getting at. Put in the time and you'll not only have fun on the way there but the payout it pretty awesome. Note: Pick your PMC wisely because your stuck with them until you unlock the option of playing as others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tops

posted by TrueGame (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game has everything. But there are two things i dont like about it. those are the graphics including gore. and weapons selection. On the flipside this game has alot to it alot of others dont. This game is very real in that you cant just run out and spray a gun you need a team and need to watch your 6 (back). another big plus is that the maps are maps not alley way fights like in other franchise games COD the map is large enough that you can use a sniper and not killed by someone from accross the map with a M-16. It is also a good way to get some team spirit going you want your team to do well so you will do anything you can. You never know how creative your military side of ur brain realy is until you play this. I have set up ambushes and taken buckers detroyed APCs all from complex monuvers that me and my friends put together while playing just because we realized what damage those things where doing. I highly highly recommened this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic Game 10/10

posted by zancoste (CATONSVILLE, MD) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

53 out of 71 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I played the Beta of this game, after a few hours I went straight to pre-ordering it. I also got a mic just because of it.

Okay so now to get the game. I don't really know where to start...

This game is packed with MASSIVE actions. You will never get bored; it really feels like you are in the battle field, explosion going on left and right, bullets whizzing by. It is just EPIC. You get in games with 64 vs 64 players or 128 vs 128 players. You might think that it will be chaotic, but you can never be wrong. There are objectives and you really need to think as a team to achieve those objectives. You have to try it.

To top it off, they included some kind of leveling system along with some costumization. Using those you can specialize yourself in one field (sniper, field commando etc...), but you can always use other weapons.

Also, if you can get a Microphone, it will make the game more EPIC. I can't stop playing it and I am not getting bored of it. I don't think I will.

In short this game is simply beautiful.

It will take you about one or two battles to know what's going on, but after that you will get into the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse