Rent MAG for PS3
view large frontback

MAG

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.0

7793 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST BUY

posted by lizardman1 (MARSHALL, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

ALL I HAVE TO SAYAMAZING FIRST U CHOOSE UR SQUAD RAVEN VALOR AND S.V.E.R THEN U GO FIGHT WITH OVER 100 PEOPLE THIS GAME IS EPIC I WAS A RAVEN SNIPER FIELD MEDIC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Much better then CoD FPS!

posted by Worldshaker (ROUND MOUNTAIN, NV) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you think CoD games are hot s.h.i.t and you kick all a.$.$ in that game then MAG isnt for you. This game doesnt have one shot one kill on all guns, no miraculous knife kills from the side or 10 feet away, no aim assist, no unreal bullet penetration. no kills just cus you were aiming close enough.

MAG requires skill and team work. Most of the people I got to switch over to MAG left. They couldnt handle it and needed the CoD easy mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MAG

posted by grlevens (BORREGO SPRINGS, CA) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MAG is really fun,you never get bored of it,256 people online at once. I bought it and its all I play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing!

posted by djphat (ARLINGTON, NE) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

every one that i talked to bout this game thought it would lag alot on account of the size of the maches but the cool thing is it seems like you never lag. like iv read in other reviews its not as much as a shoot everything that moves game like black ops and that is what makes it good. the game has no campers and no quick scopers ecept the snipers camp but thats ok cause their snipers the problems i have with this game is one need more maps two gun attachments need to be cheaper three s.e.v.r. is way too powerful it makes raven and valor players barely get a chance it gets alittle annoying so if you ever get mag raven and valor needs your help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!

posted by wiiwiiwii1 (OROVILLE, CA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Absolutely AWESOME, i see no glitches of any kind. the only problem i have is that there is no story or carrer, which made me sad. but when i started playing with my friends, having awesome phun it makes it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by John619 (LA MESA, CA) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i normaly play the call of duty series but black ops ps3 version has way too many connection issues so i rented mag. this game is awesome. tons of fun game modes, 3 different factions choose a side. a built in clan system. has a skill tree so you can specailize your charector alot. the graphics are good considering anywhere from 64 people in supression up too 256 players in domination. looking for a new awesome fps game get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Much better after the updates

posted by bdiddy112 (BUFFALO, NY) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When this game first came out' it was very vanilla and took forever to level up. Now that they put alot of updates into it and made is easier to level up faster, ITS A STEAL FOR 20 BUCKS. A must have. Think of this game as like a fps version of socom but much more in depth. RAVEN SQUAD FOREVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Over A Year

posted by a1b2c3 (PARAGOULD, AR) Dec 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its been over a year since MAG has been released and I still recomend and play this game, the graphics are not the best but all things taken into account This game is great. I also as every one else love COD, MW2, & BlkOps. But your not going to survive if your the old run n gun type, Rambo does not exist in the MAG universe and for that reason alot of people will talk trash about this game. Give it a try (have patience) work as a team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of the year!

posted by MistandFog (BETHANY, OK) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is sick! I love it! As soon as i got it, i bought this game. You must have an internet connection to play. Your goal is to dominate war with three factions: S.V.E.R, Raven, and Valor. To the descriptions of each team. S.V.E.R is Russia, and have weapons such as RTK-47's, AK-47U's, and AK's. Raven is Germany, and other provinces near there. And then there's Valor. Valor is the U.S and Mexico. They have all the weapons made in the U.S.

Now onto the game modes.
Suppression- Where 32 members of 3 different PMC factions fight to gain control of the battlefield. ( Basically, it's War Games.)
Sabotage- Blowing other PMC's Supply points up, or defending your own.
Acquisition- Taking or defending vehicles .
Interdiction- two convoys and 126 players vie for control of the battlefield. (Only available on PlayStation Store!)
Domination- Players must secure and hold eight targets. ( Level Eight or higher to play)
Escalation- Three factions are pitted against each other in a battle for control. (Only available on PlayStation Store!)

I am a S.V.E.R member,, I am Field Support, and a medic. I am a S.V.E.R WARRIOR!

To all my comrades, I am XxDidyourmomXx, so add me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mags review

posted by elcarita (IMPERIAL, CA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The mag is propably the second best game i've played all year. The game gaphics but makes up for it is the game play with a tough choice of the three factions they have. unfortunatly it has no story to it. agian makes up for game play offering 256 players on each team this game is a 10 out of 10 if you get it GAME ON!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hooked for days!

posted by respawn (CHESTER, VA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I played this game so long I started seeing yellow +5's when I blinked. That's when you know a game has got you hooked. Definitely one of the best first person shooters I've played this year. And it's completely online! That's the name of the game, MMOG. And it's awesome.

The game:
The object of the game in the beginning really is to rank up from a grunt, because you start out with the worst weapons possible playing against people who have the best weapons possible. So it takes a while, and can get really frustrating. But after you level up and get the jist of things(and there is a lot to this game) it gets a whole lot better. Once you hit a certain rank you can request to be the squad leader, or the entire platoon leader(this is where the good stuff comes in). When your a leader you control artillery that you can pin point to any position of the map, wreaking havoc for the opposing forces. Each side can set explosive charges at the others artillery, and bunkers. And you can choose to be an engineer and repair any damaged equipment for XP, and to help your team win of course. And still to come, when your a leader of your squad or platoon, you get to order people on your team to do things like fix broken forts or set up perimeters around certain areas, etc. But because they are real people on the internet your playing with, you can't always count on them being reliable, but usually people tend to want to be competitive in this game, which is cool cause otherwise the game would suck. It's all about teamwork.

The new idea of having an entire game based online was a first for any console, and I loved it. Few games are perfect, and this one has it's share of little things I didn't like, but I'ma give this one a 10/10 anyway. Great game, rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game.

posted by MrScarecro (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wish I had a 2 game plan so I could keep this game forever. This is probobly one of the best shooters I have ever played. The best rated T shooter out there and comes second only to the Call Of Duty series in terms of quality. Everyone on PS3 is hyped up on MW2 which grant it is a fun game but the depth and quality of MAG's gameplay is amazing and should win some sort of an award. The sniping is realistic and amazing, if only torso shots were a 1 hit kill, but no. I kept this for a couple weeks and tryed all the factions...Raven fails, S.V.E.R Is great, and Valor has the best guns.MAG = 100/100.

P.S. HAHA the people with 360s dont get to play MAG!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome

posted by sniper321 (FORT KNOX, KY) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

if you rented or bought this game expecting a mw2 type thing you will get way more then you thought because even the smaller fights in this game have 64 people in all
if you are one of those run and gun type people epect to lose....alot in this game you have to work with your team mates or just die and lose every match you enter
the most amazing part of this game in my opinion is the chain of command you could end up leading a squad of 7 other people or a platoon of 63 or a army of 127 others where one mistake like telling them to go after the wrong thing will cost you the match
so this game is about strategy as much as shooting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

not what i expected

posted by charles901 (FRESNO, CA) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

of course this games graphics arent the best but ive never seen a fps that doesnt make me fusturated or mad....... im a regular gamer i guess u could say but ive always loved playstation anyways MAG has had everything ive ever wanted for an fps it doesnt make me mad and theres so much stuff to do........ u dot just unlock everything lyk mw2 or any of your regular fps shooters...... if u have a ps3 u can addd me on ps3 my name is chartallica2142 i have a youtube video called chartallica2142 montage for all of u mw2 lovers......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play longer than 10min-a hour

posted by chronicbud (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

People need to think outside of the run and gun box. this is a war game not runaround and mindlessly kill game. it irritates me when people give a game a bad rating because they sucked at it and only played the game for 10 min to an hour.256 players in 1 game 8 objectives. if more people would play they would come out with new maps. the graphics are not the best but they are good for a huge game. remember everyone is a noob at first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by hurricane5 (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

mag is good game it went waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG

posted by Trevor5985 (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Its just got those great details that most every game lacks.That is why it is such an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by benspore1 (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

this game is for people how want to play a statgice game like no game befor it all online game modes make this game the best u can find. its great for hard and soft core gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by Dank777 (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Mag is one of the best games ever made. I have never played a game as much as I play Mag. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

This is the best FPS i've played in like... forever... 'nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mag ROCKS!!

posted by browns (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Mag just plainly put "ROCKS"!!! Once you start learning maps & what you will need to do to help your team win...JUST PLAIN FUN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reviewing the awesome game mag!

posted by dcn66100 (LAKEWOOD, WA) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

The video game mag is so awesome i don't know why people give it bad reviews. Once level 8 you can battle with 256 players in an epic full scale war. Just try it people adn follow orders this is not mw2 you well lose if you don't. I give this game a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great tactical shooter

posted by Br4nd3n (DRAPER, UT) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

Really has so much more to offer than any other shooter I have ever played. Maps are huge and the fighting is...is epic too strong a word?

So many things are implemented so well in this game. From the chat system to the way the mini map zooms out when you sprint so you can see more of the map this game has a lot of little things that just make you appreciate the amount of work that the developers put into the game.

You should know I prefer the tactical side to shooters. When I play MW2 I like the game types with objectives way more than free for all or team deathmatch. So the idea of a shooter all about tactics really appealed to me from the get go. Having said that I will admit to being frustrated by my first few battles in MAG. The learning curve can seem a bit steep and fighting people that are higher levels than you can be a challenge but it wasn't long before I loved the game.

Something I really like about the game is that I can play how I want to and still benefit my squad. If I want to simply kill then I follow my squad leader's commands and blow people away as I protect/attack targets he gives me. If I want more responsibility I can be squad leader designating targets calling in mortar strikes and supporting my squad. Want even more? Try platoon leader or take the position of officer in charge and command 127 players plus you. If you get tired of that. Strap on your stealth gear and sneak behind enemy lines sabotaging equipment and running amok while your team pushes the enemy lines back.

The different factions are fun and add variety. Loyalty to a faction is rewarded, as is healing and resuscitating your team mates. In fact if you want to level up fast go medic. Healing and resuscitating yields more xp than killing...a fact that helps encourage team work and helping among the squad.

At least give this a try. If you need a friend I'm always up for mag Add me my psn is Fade Infinity (put underscore between fade and infinity)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FPS on a console ever

posted by demonseeds (CALABASAS, CA) May 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

Growing up with games like Goldeneye and counter-strike, i can safely say this game is the evolution of FPS games.

Right now alot of people are entering the FPS scene with games like MWF 2 and Halo, but once people get bored of those games theyll start to realize just how cool MAG really is. Its not your average FPS game.
When you played Goldeneye, you just ran around and shot things. To me Halo and COD are basically just a different type of goldeneye with shiny graphics. Dont get me wrong, they are a blast to play and i play them all, but they are by no means anything new or revolutionary.

MAG is going to set hte standard for large scale FPS. This is the first game that actually made large scale FPS fun and playable(lol planetside) and i can safely say it will be used as the model for future games of the like.

Right now its the #3 selling game on PS3, expect it to sell more in time as people get bored of MW2.

I also wouldnt be surprised if the next isntallment either of MAG or a copycat makes a game like this even better. All i can say is if you arent new to FPS you should get this game.

BE warned though:

There is no slayer/deathmatch mode. Its all objectives. So if you hate games like Counter-Strike but love games like COD it might not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MW2 DOEST EVER COMPARE

posted by DWARFSCAT (MEDINA, NY) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

MAG is the best fps and for those who disagree they prob play socom

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse