Rent Lunar Dragon Song for DS
view large frontback

Lunar Dragon Song

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

372 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not as Bad as Most Say

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ever since I bought my DS I'd wanted to play this game, in spite of all the overly-harsh reviews and general reaction from the press.
Let me tell you - this is not as bad of a game as most people say. The story is pretty basic (you are a human, beasts exist - beasts hate humans humans hate beasts - will there ever be peace - etc) you get to play primarily as a bruce lee type, doing some rpg martial arts instead of the typical slash-bit - all of the characters are pretty great, each has their own unique style and moves - the enemies can be straight stunning, taking up both screens in some instances - and the land you travel along stays pretty the entire game. so whats so bad about it? well - first off, you have no control over which enemy you attack during battle, this is entirely random and all required of the player is to choose attack, magic, or item - - you lose hit points when you run (seriously) - and the way the text is presented (in regards to the story) is simple and boring. it takes up the whole screen (S), and is a horrible aspect of this game.
all in all i break it down like this :

graphics - 7 - these look like gba graphics, however are very suitable for this type of game

gameplay - 7 - theres ups and downs to everything in lunar ds, especially in these regards.

sound - 9 - i really enjoyed the music in this game, and each character and enemy has their own unique sounds.

replay value - 0 - this game can be continued after completion, however, you will not want to.

overall - 7 - lunar ds is fun. if you like rpgs and own a ds you owe it to yourself to play this game. it is nowhere near as good as the previous lunar games, however this is a prequel and it is not meant to be too similar anyway. keep in mind this game tries a lot of new things, and might or might not come up short - just depending how you choose to see them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's a Pretty good game

posted by Zephyr7 (WAYNE, MI) May 31, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

A lot of people talk badly about this game. I will admit it's a little hard and hard to understand at first, but once you get used to such things as running drains HP (so be prepared to walk a lot) and the fact you have to choose if you want experience points and items (personally i didn't need items so i stuck with exp pts), and the fact that you can't choose which enemy you hit (your character will automatically attack any which creature)then it'll be good. I wouldn't recommend buying it though, it is fairly short. Plus (to me) the story's ending was kind of bad and left you wanting to do more. So i highly reccomend playing, but buying is up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pretty lame

posted by chocobofan (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok when i got my DS i couldnt wait to play all the new RPG games they could make for and when i saw this game im like cool i cant wait to see what this is like.but then i start playing and was dissapointed. haveing to switch "modes" to get EX points and then switch again if you want items. why cant you just get both at the same time? and it drains HP if you run.whats up with that?well all i can say is i hope to see better RPG games for the DS in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dragon Song, A Song Better Left Unsung...

posted by trashman (FAIRBORN, OH) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To start off let me just say that I love the Lunar series. Working Designs did a great job with the series and even when Ubisoft took over on the Gameboy Advance and recreated the first Lunar game, it wasn't half bad. So when I hear of Lunar Dragon Song, I was pretty excited. Honestly, what could go wrong with a Nintendo DS Lunar game. How about everything?
Graphics 3/5
Let's start with the graphics. This is probably the best part of the game because they really aren't that bad. Pretty colors and decent character designs. The backgrounds on the battlefields are a little plain, but is decent enough to get by.
Sound 3/5
One of the things that caught my attention to the Lunar games was the soundtrack. Magical melodies that entranced me in the gameplay. The tunes in this game are fairly decent but nothing to write home about. There was a few times I found myself humming the tunes but few and between.
Gameplay 2/5
There are lots of little problems that add up, making this a terrible game. What happened is the creators had decent ideas but was poorly executed. One such example is you actually are a package delivery worker, transporting goods you pick up or receive for money, This becomes monotonous real quick when you find out that you can't earn both EXP and items at the same time. You actually have to pick whether when you battle you get EXP or items. A real drag when it comes to progressing gameplay, because you need money to buy better weapons and equipment to survive the onslaught of monsters throughout the story. Another big gripe is running around. Just dashing through town, you lose hit points. Luckily there are the Althena statues that heal you but they are spread out thin. The battles are a little slower than I would like, totally different than those on the PSX.
Fun Factor 2/5
After discovering many of the flaws, I still gave it a chance because it is a Lunar game. It's not the worst game but far from the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stop and Think

posted by Zakemaster (TORRANCE, CA) Aug 24, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was a fan of the Lunar games since I was a wee lad and went over to my cousin's house to see him playing a game called Lunar:Silver Star Story. I was hooked. When Lunar 2:Eternal Blue came out, I was in heaven. I don't want to sound like a doting fan boy, but the games managed to take forces of pure good and pure evil, somehow make that actually compelling, throw in some of the greatest characters in any game ever, and mix it up with a fun battle system. Watching the characters grow was a worthy experience, and almost made you feel like a parent, watching over your children. When I discovered a new Lunar game was out, needless to say, I was first in line. Maybe my first hint should have been that I was the only one in line.

Lunar: Dragon Song takes everything that's good about the series, like the character development, fun battle system, witty dialog, and great story, and threw it all away. Instead, what's left is a mosh pit of bad ideas stuffed with good ideas that were poorly executed. First, the touch screen is barely used. Oh look Ma, i can select things in my inventory. Yay! Second, the story is boring and short. Let me say, for the first time ever, I really didn't know the game was over until the credits rolled. I didn't even realize I had fought the boss of the game. Third, the characters, although likable, never develop, leaving you feeling bored and disappointed. And last, the battle system was scraped for a horrible system that, let me say, was so bad the developers added a speed up button to end your misery sooner. Also, the two "battle modes" are the same thing except you have to swap back and forth to get money and experience. Who thought of that idea? That's just dumb.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody, but I really wouldn't recommend this game to Lunar fans especially, because compared to the original, it's a bland rehashing of what great RPG's used to be. If possible, avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT a Lunar title, not even much of an rpg

posted by rpger19 (ARLINGTON, WA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pro's : Decent Music, Great character designs, Well-paced battle system, likable characters.

Con's : Horribly short, battles become repetitive, the two different 'battle modes' cause more harm than help to the game, Character development is minimal, too cliche' storyline, no real plot-twists, NO replay value, no extras, cards are overpowered, and split-screen is integrated HORRIBLY!

Summary : Unless you seriously are hurting for your next RPG fix, pass this game up. It isn't worth any money. It's understandable that it isn't really anything compared to a Lunar game, but, it really isn't anything compared to RPG's in general.
About the cards system: I was able to make any boss i fought hurt me for 1-10 damage a hit with the cards i had! And I could boost my damage up to 2X or more! Not to mention a full heal of the party's hp/mp. And, the cards aren't even that hard to replace. Plus, the cards always hit all enemies/party members, instead of just one person/enemy.
At a certain point in the game, the story just starts zooming forward, and before you know it, you're fighting the final boss. They didn't even put any real plot twists into the game. You always know what's going to happen next, because your main character has the exact same goal as always. This game really did have potential, they just destroyed it by ending the story so quickly, without any real twists or surpises.
The battle system can move by VERY fast, or slightly slow. It really depends on you, the player. But, while in battle, the split-screens are a nuisance. IE Jian jumps up to attack monster A, before Jian gets to monster A, his head suddenly splits because of the screen. On top of that, his head seems to stretch. You soon notice that his head did not stretch, but his character graphic's head was 3/4 in the bottom screen, and 2/4 in the top screen. I'm not kidding. They made it so you see on the top screen, part of what you see on the bottom screen! And it looks REALLY weird...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst of the Lunar series!

posted by NyteWalker (FORT PIERCE, FL) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LOVED the other Lunar games, so when I bought the DS this was the first game I wanted! However, after the first few hours I began to realize how insanely redundant this game is. First you have to switch between XP mode and get no items, or items mode and get no XP, keep in mind you get NO money from battles either way! Second, the items you can purchase are expensive from the very beginning and since your only way to get money is to battle for items and sell them (to the tune of 2 - 5 sp on average!) it takes forever to upgrade items! Third, you have this "delivery" side thing going on, that asks you to collect items and deliver them to someone. Well I spent 5 HOURS trying to get these 5 bones (I forget which ones) and only got ONE! This was after 5 hours of NON-XP fighting! Fourth, you can not select which enemy to attack, so for those of you like me that plan your attacks one or two rounds in advance... save your time cause your weak character will attack the strongest enemy only to let your strongest character attack the weakest enemy and waste their more powerful attack! This happens more then 75% of the time making fights longer then needed, and tougher do to the fact that you can't take out a status causing enemy until the GAME DECIDES you can! Fifth, If you fight in XP mode and defeat all the enemies in the area within a certain time, they stop spawning! This means you lose XP, lose items for money and deliveries, and are forced to LONG distances sometimes just to find a battle! All that aside, the graphics are ok, sound wasn't annoying (to me) and it "seemed" like it was going to be a good game when I started it, but trust me, unless you have A LOT of time on your hands to do A LOT of needless fighting to collect items to deliver or sell then your better off skipping this title! However, those of you with more time to play may find this an "OK" game, but i can't see ANYONE giving it more then 2 or 3 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WEAK WEAK WEAK

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I couldn't stand playing this game for more than 15 minutes. I thought it was hard to fail at making a console RPG, but when you stray from the tried-and-true formulas too far, it can make for an unplayable experience.

If you're really hardcore about the Lunar series, give it a try, but I really don't think it's worthy of the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

words cant explain how horrible this game is

posted by natlei (NEW BETHLEHEM, PA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Dont get me wrong I love lunar silverstar story alot and I love the RPG genre but this has to be the worst RPG ive ever played in my life I got it in the mail today and am sending it back in the morning 1 hour is all it took me to realize how horrible it was so play it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HP LOSS

posted by BEAUX25 (TAYLOR, MI) Jul 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It takes away HP to run around the map. That is the worst thing a developer could do to you! This game is not good. Cool cover art though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by RpGPhenom (GASTONIA, NC) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

Well i've played most every Lunar I could get my hands on. This one is actually pretty good. Some people don't like the fact that you can only get experience or items. This was kind of a down in the beginning of the game but after about the first 1/4 of the game items were useless. Its for the jobs in the game which are basically for money which is for items and gear. You get cards from the battles when you choose items which helps but after that first 1/4 you have enough cards to sustain you through the game and the gear you get most of that out of blue treasure chests which you get from defeating all the monsters on a certain screen on the maps. This is a cool game with somewhat old school rpg battles and despite the bad reviews i say give it a chance you may find you'll like it because I sure did. 8 of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow, this game suckz

posted by GarBaer04 (WINSLOW, ME) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

Win i first saw this game i said 2 my self "hey a rpg 4 the ds, cool". But i was wrong i mean come on this is proble the worst rpg ever. Think about it, runing takes health away. And u cant walk or ur be in constent battles. U cant gain exprince and things 2 sell at the same time, wich will give u only like 70 gold if ur lucky. The cards were pretty useless because the run out 2 quickly. And 2 top it off the storyline was horrible at best. Plz 4 the luv of God dont buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lunar dragon song yea

posted by tonlok (BUSHNELL, IL) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

one of the best rpg all around fun game even better than fallout or final fantasy all of them . if you not an idiot you will rent or buy this game and please my GOD see gyle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad

posted by BlueFlame (LIBERTY, MO) Jun 11, 2006

Member since May 2006

I diddent like this game like i did the rest of the series before hand. they took out too many aspects and made the battle system bad and they added too much confusing stuff and the fact that you could hardly use the touch screen made it even worse. Running taking Health Points away was a bad feature also. The only feature I did like about is the way you coulds see on top of the screen where the reactions were going on. and on the bottom read what was going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »