Rent Luigi's Mansion for GC
view large frontback

Luigi's Mansion

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.7

1383 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of Luigi's best games!

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Aug 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the very first game i played for gamecube and I feel in love with it!I always like Luigi better then Mario,So Luigi fans this is the game for you.Most of the time its Mario to save Peach or Luigi but not this time.This game will make you not want to put down the controller.I recommend you getting this game if you want a little twist on the super Mario series.So stop reading this and rent it!Or buy it thats even better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVED it! SUPER FUN! Played for hours upon hours!

posted by prettyslee (WESTERVILLE, OH) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids and I loved this game. We beat it twice and it was just as fun the second time. This is one that you can play and beat within a few days even if you are not an expert gamer. Younger kids will enjoy it. After a little practice they will get the controls down and be sucking up ghosts in no time. It is really fun to explore the mansion and look for hidden treasures, too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but lacks in play time.

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well this along with pikmin, were the first games i got for my gamecube back when it launched in 2001.

Yes this game is great, Even compared to today's graphics, the amount of detail in this game impresses me. Not only that but the controls are tight and responsive, and the gameplay is downright satisfying. All this Seems to make this game perfect? Wrong, this game is short.We are talking like you can finish it between 1-2 days depending on how long you can play. So if your expecting a load of play time you'll be dissapointed. But for the kids or newer gamers, this game is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My all time favorite mario game

posted by Smashbro (JUPITER, FL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Luigi's Mansion is the best mario game there is you can play it and play it and never get bourd and every time you replay it you find out something new and exciting!!!! Great storyline and perfect gameplay I couldn't have asked for a more fun game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good intro game

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've never played a gamecube game, or even a video game, this will be fun. If you're a veteran of gaming you'll appreciate the game but won't want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by Oddworld (FORT BRAGG, NC) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a rare gem. One of the best games on the Gamecube. Most people don't really appreciate it, but Luigi's Mansion is both fun and adventurous. The mansion is a spooky place, and each Ghost is like a mini puzzle. This is definitely in my top 10 most underrated 10/10 games.

no issues at all. play this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

How about New Play Luigi's Mansion?

posted by flashcat (MARQUETTE, MI) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes, it's easy but I love the game.

I think they did a excellent job for the graphics on Luigi, the professor, and the vacuum. I love the close up when Luigi is opening a door.

For all the times he has faced Bowser though I can't imagine him being this fazed from these ghosts.

After finishing the game you can always go back through and search for more gems. I play the game several times over just to get more beautiful frames for my ghosts.

This would make a nice transfer to the Wii. Sucking up ghosts can be a bit of a hassle even though that adds some of the difficulty. Pulling back on the Wii remote to suck up the ghosts, sounds like it could be a good transition.

If you missed this game because of the poor start on the Gamecube I highly recommend renting just for the few hours of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

luigis manshoin

posted by babbu19 (DANIELSON, CT) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game!!!!Theres only two things I dont like which is some of the graghics were strang and it got a little boring.And I mean very little.Rent it buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spooky Fun!

posted by PawBoy (ROWLETT, TX) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of my favorite games on GameCube! I only rented it and never got to buy it but I did have a big late fee for not returning it for awhile. I couldn't give this game up! It's really fun and it is kind of spooky at times. Haha. I love the different ghosts and Luigi is just funny! I recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short but Fun

posted by darkcloud9 (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all Luigi's Mansion is not a platformer. Basically You, as Luigi, go into a mansion catching ghosts with a vacuum. The mayor draw is that each ghosts has a distinct personality. And each ghost has a different way to trapped them that you must figure out.

This title came out on the early days of the gamecube so don't expect a lot. It's not very long either. Anyway, it's fun and few titles are like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I got a fever...

posted by mistajones (AURORA, CO) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

My buds and I were playing Brawl and we randomly picked luigi and mario on luigi's mansion. I got a Fever and the only prescription was more luigi. I rented this then i couldnt stop playing it. The Pros of this game are that, its pretty much the first game that focuses on luigi ,you can up your ghost wranglin skills and challenge your mind. IMO, this game had a lot of neat puzzles that took a little bit (just like all mario/luigi games). The downside however, is that the game isn't actually that long. It is fun for the short time that you could play it. I got to the end but my memory card said it needed to be formatted right before the final battle so when i died at the boss (the first time), I couldn't go back to that point. Overall point: It's definitley a rental and for those who might catch that fever, it's a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but short :(

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game was a really good game when it came out. Many people liked it. I liked it a lot. The only problem with it is that it's short. Like 10 hours short. You can play a few more times. I've beaten it like 5 times, within the years I've owned it.

The game is really fun. It has some comedy in it, but nothing to make you laugh too much. It's not scary at all. Anyone who says that it is scary is a huge major wuss. Belive me, I've heard it before. It's like a cartoon mansion with cartoon ghosts. I didn't even jump once on loud volume. At all! (ahem) Sorry, I had to clear that up. Anyways, you use the Poltergust 3000 to suck up the ghosts. There are about 25 gallery ghosts, which are harder to catch than the normal ones, and you have to find out how to make them reveal their hearts so you can catch them. Some of those are bosses, which take a while to beat.

The game is really easy. If you ever get stuck, you know you suck at video games. When you get a key, it tells you which door it opens on your map, so you can't forget. And if you really don't know where to go, just look at your map. The rooms that are grey are the ones you didn't explore. It's really simple.

The graphics are nice. It's good for a Gamecube launch title. The music is also nice. There's not much, but most of it is just quiet "creepy" background music.

The replay value in this game isn't bad. Like I've said, I've beaten it 5 times. I really don't know what the difference is between "The Mansion" and "The Secret Mansion" which you get after you beat the game once. I think you just get different pictures of the ghosts in the gallery when you catch the gallery ghosts. I'm not sure at all.

So this game is worth playing. At the price it's being sold at right now, it's worth it. Renting is a good choice too, since you'll probably only want to play it once or twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Luigi finally got a good game!

posted by dude123456 (HIGHLAND, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Luigi has always been Mario's sidekick until this game was made.Luigi has to save Mario in this game. it's a great game for every Mario fan and Luigi alike!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game so much Luigi your the new Mario!

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

man, you people who hate this game, you don't know gaming, this is a swweeeeeeeeeeeeeeet game. Don't rent it, buy it, you'll personalize your Luigi. Bowser and King Boo and all those ghosts suck. No, really, you suck them into your Poltergust 3000. This game was spooky, and it touched my soul, and my ghost. Goooooooooooooooooooooooo- oooooooooood Joooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooob Game cube and Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the whole game

posted by tipper (LARKSPUR, CO) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was very amazing the graphics got the best of me....um..in all the game did get a little confusing but as time went by the game turned out great. thye best part was when you defeat the purple guy um....i forgot his name but it was the coolest part cause it fit in with the whole game it was just great i loved it till i got involved in zelda the windwaker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game for kids, may be dull for adults

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Luigi's Mansion is an early GameCube game that plays in the hands of the target audience, kids. Younger kids will enjoy the game for its characters and simple mechanics. Adults may find it boring easy and short with very little replay value. Controls are simple and response is tight, as with all Nintendo games. This is a nice quick rental to try out while you are waiting for the next hot release.

If you are looking for a game for a younger child or beginner gamer, this will be a nice introduction to simple game play and problem solving skills along with basic mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yours doesn't Work

posted by snake18 (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Luigi's Mansion isn't a bad game (I find it better than Mario sunshine) but the reason why Im giving it a bad score is because No matter how many copies GameFly sends me there discs don't work. I was hoping for some fun from the past unfortunately thats not going to happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

all the boos oh my

posted by pokeking (GROVETOWN, GA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

money money money all about well you get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game!

posted by TwoNoobs609 (DUNCOMBE, IA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

PLEASE KEEP THE GAME RENTABLE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE I thinks its amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best for young people

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

when i first played this i was amazed i was only 11 back in 2004 when i played this the first time i just got it again but its not quite how i remember it luigi wins a mansion in a contest he didn't even enter he goes to it and its filled with ghosts that have kidnapped mario obviously you go find him you get a vacuum that sucks up ghosts and a flashlight that stuns them maybe it shouldn't be but the game is actually very straight forward you need to do things to some ghosts before you can capture them but those are really easy once you figure them out this great game play does come at a considerable cost to length and replayability however so think twice if you wanna buy it because of the lack of replayability its a good idea to just rent it now unfortunately luigi's mansion is not rentable through gamefly for some reason but thats not that big a problem as you may think apparently theres a luigi's mansion dark moon for the 3ds which ive never played but if you wanna new generation experience get that but seriously luigi's mansion is a classic and that alone makes it good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by luigi2 (CUMMING, GA) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

best game i paly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why 10/10

posted by Agahanim007 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

10/10 game cause its my fav gamecube game 2nd to pikmin 1 and 2 and i was glad it wasn't how it was in beta at Spaceworld

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best launch titles in existance

posted by jss1234 (LIBERTY, KY) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is VERY fun to play it was my very first gamecube game and it has stuck withme for so long dare I say this game is able to stand toe to toe with previous launch titles super mario world and super mario 64 the game is short yes but that doesn't matter this game will keep you entertained during the short time it lasts it's got great scary music though i will warn you dont let your child play this late at night certain parts of the game will scare him/her but this is still a classic worth picking up the graphics are in high quality though not as great as some of the later gamecube games and not nearly as good as any wii game but back in it's heyday it had some of the best graphics ever pick this game up you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Finally a game that is "Luigi to the rescue!"

posted by dsi (MCHENRY, IL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

One of my all time favorite games! For me it's not a regular Mario game. The game is set up around a haunt mansion, which Luigi won from a contest he didn't even enter. Mario was going to meet Luigi there but he went missing! Now Luigi has to clean out the mansion that is run by ghosts and save his brother!

Even though this is a game cube game, this is hands down the best game for the game cube. That means you don't want to rent it! BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!

posted by sonic1 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I owned this game a long time ago and I can say that this is my favorite gamecube game ever made!!!! The sad part is I cound not get past the ball room ghost.So I just gave up and traded in the game and lastly I can't wait till luigi's mansion 2!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse