Rent Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon for 3DS
view large frontback

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

894 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

The must have of 3DS

posted by captainfalcon52 (SEBASTIAN, FL) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I got this game on realese date and was imeditley in love with it. At first it starts slow with allot of cutscenes and dialoge but gets much better.

The puzzles are the one of the main aspects of the game. They will take you awhille until you can find the thing you need by studieng everything.

Ghost catching is very fun.With tons of ghosts and different types which gives it a lot of diversity. Boss battles are very hard focusing on puzzles, dodging and stunning the boss.

Overall it's a great must have game along with Fire Emblem Awaking and Super Mario 3D Land. Add it to your collection. It's worth it.

P.S. : Year of Luigi is of to a great start!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bark at the Moon

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Luigi and Professor E. Gadd return for some paranormal ghost busting.

The game already starts of strong with eerie environments, nostalgic music and comedic ghost that cause havoc and mischief to Luigi's dismay.

Controls on the 3DS are tight and work perfectly for this game. The visuals are incredible with the 3D turned on and may be one of the best looking 3D game on the 3DS.

The dialogue and conversations between Luigi and E. Gadd are hilarious and enjoyable. Luigi often shows his enthusiasm for each mission with a frightened face and yelps of fear and disbelief. Professor E. Gadd on the other hand speaks his own hilarious language and is more enthusiastic than Luigi with each new discovery or mission.

Capturing ghost may be the core of the game play but its not the only exciting thing to look forward too. Each room, each environment must be meticulously inspected for traps, currency, hidden ghost and secrets. This makes exploring fun and enjoyable since you never know whats going to pop out.

Boss battles are surprisingly challenging and unique. It wasn't as simple as point and shoot and everything would fall into place. Instead it involved problem solving and attention to detail while dodging and deflecting attacks all at the same time. This makes the build up to a Boss Battle worth the time and effort.

Amazingly there is a lot of content for Dark Moon. There are bonus levels to be unlocked during the single player campaign, new challenge modes and of course multiplayer action that make this title worth the 12 year hiatus.

A must rent and buy. Luigi can finally step out of his brothers shadow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sequals never prevail.

posted by Emisary (LAFAYETTE, IN) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is solid, but lacks the same feel as the first Luigi's mansion.
The mission mode based sequences is testiment to that.

Exploration is cut down quite a bit and the constant harrasment from the Proffesor makes looking around a pain, when you can't go through a door because it's in the opposite direction of the current objective.

Luigi's Mansion captivated me when I first played it back in 2001. I was 12 at the time and the idea of a game not based around jumping and squishing goombas caught my eye. But mostly it was a chance to play as my favorite mario character LUIGI. But the game annoyed the living daylights out of me at first, then became my favorite game for the gamecube.

But sadly Dark Moon just doesn't live up to my expectaions. It was a fun distraction but not worth buying.

On a side note the multiplayer seemed a little boring. (this was meant to be a single player game, and to try and make it something else is nothing short of a travesty.)

But I guess you can't compete with perfection, Luigi's Mansion still holds the victors belt over Dark Moon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A pretty good sequel!

posted by Acid_Nine (MILWAUKEE, WI) Nov 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Dark moon adds a lot more mansions compared to the Original luigi's mansion. It has great gameplay and it's style is quite charming even while being atmospheric. Some of the Boss's are challenging but satisfying to beat, each with it's own trick. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by chefwolf77 (POST, TX) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

A really good game if you like puzzle type games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh

posted by 1ManFoxPack (SANDERSVILLE, GA) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I guess it was ok. I sent it back early cause after 2 hours of playing and the same thing happening over and over just got old. The first game was amazing and this isn't something I'd love to play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by FinalFantasyFX (MADERA, CA) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

You have no time to just free roam the game, controls are terrible, and when you get to the secret mine boss, have fun sending this game back, because that part is very stupidly made, how you have to worry about the boss regenerating, you health, and the meter of the bomb launcher, so you have 3 parts that make that boss fight terrible and ridiculously challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So-so

posted by ashesofroses (NILES, MI) Jun 25, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I loved the original Luigi's Mansion and looked forward to playing this, while I didn't hate it I would say this game is not good for renting as it is slow to start and takes time to get anywhere. I also don't like that you can only save by finishing an area rather then using a save point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good stuff abound

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I found this played the same, if not better than the GC version. With lots of hidden treasures, cool ghost concepts, and nifty graphics for a 3DS, dude its a solid ghost busting title with fun factor in the above average range. Rent it, love it, buy it. Thanks for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

<3 Luigi

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Luigi is Beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This would make a great game series!

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I'm surprised that this was not made sooner. A Wii or DS version would have been great. Nintendo should definitely make a Wii U sequel or even another 3DS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of Nintendo's best

posted by Triracer19 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

This has to be the best game in the series, and quite frankly one of the best Nintendo games in a while. Firstly, I will start off by saying the graphics and soundtrack are huge improvement from the first Luigi's Mansion game 13 years ago. The size of the game and the size of mansions also impressed me, because for a 3DS game this game just take everything much further. The game was also quite funny, with surprisingly funny and complete dialogue for a Mario Universe game. The two things I did not like about this game is the hideous checkpoint system which makes you start the game from the very beginning which can be annoying with some bosses and, having to deal the puzzle all over again; the difficulty on the game was also a bit annoying. Overall, this was a challenging, but fun and quite funny as well. A game everyone should try. I love this game, and I hope Nintendo takes out a sequel on a console instead of a handheld!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my perfect game

posted by Dragonsigner (PICKENS, SC) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

i dont have any problems with this game. so much so..i would love a hd version of this game for wii u or luigi's mansion 3. I recommend this game to everyone. it deserves a 10. one of the funnest games every. well done Nintendo for a great 3ds game. i plain to buy this game one day soon. i would repaly over and over and over. and online is fun too, playing with everyone is mad face. please rent then buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by charlie_nk (BEDFORD, TX) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

At first glance when the last game came out I had nearly zero interest in it. However with the massive popularity of this game I figured I'd give it a shot.

This game is impressive to say the least. The casual exploring, interesting puzzles, loot gathering, and the subtle humor pushes this gave into my top games list.

The gameplay could not be more perfectly set up for the DS.

Would I recommend this game? Yes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not perfect!

posted by SamiteBlue (HILLSDALE, NY) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon has some incredible game play and puzzles that make it a wonderful experience. However the occasional glitches inside the levels, lack of checkpoints in areas that sometimes take up to 20 minutes to explore, and repetition in the later levels leave a little to be desired (and occasionally to frustration!) Overall highly pleased with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by game56 (mobile, AL) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

goodgost

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay but could be better

posted by AliKH (BREMERTON, WA) Aug 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

This game was okay but after a while I got stuck to the point of wanting to toss my 3ds XL out the window. Replaying levels is cool though because you get to keep your upgrades and new tools you have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game to mess around on

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

it was a decent game good rental the game is more geared towards kids but it fun to jus lay around n play easy games that u dont have to think as much.jus lay in bed n play i hope nintendo comes out with more adult games for 3ds n i need to upgrade to aq 3dsxl becuze my hands cramp up im a big guy. good game rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Terrible Game

posted by SeaFang (DELTA, CO) Jul 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

This is easily the worst game I have ever played. Too many things in this game depend upon time limits. It is hard to enjoy a game when you know that you have to complete a task or fight a boss within a time limit. This game is a terrible cry from the first on which I did enjoy. If the programmers remove the time limits, through out the entire game, they would have a great game upon their hands but until then this game stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Luigi's Mansion: The game everyone loves

posted by Ninjaian1425 (MINOOKA, IL) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I first saw this at Target, and when I did, I fell in love with the game. It includes challenging puzzles, great graphics, and of course, Luigi himself. I recommend the game to EVERYONE that reads this comment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best 3ds game ever

posted by connorg123438 (COLUMBIA, KY) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

as soon as i started playing i knew it was the best game ever it is a little hard but exiting best 3ds game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

alot similar to the gamecube version

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

this game made me wanna make ghostbusters for sure. all u do is capture ghosts and its really fun to do puzzles and capture ghosts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!!

posted by XTopherGuarino (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Best game of it type. Which is super original to begin with, but if your looking for a puzzley, Lookin' around game that will always keep you guessing yet frustrate you, this is it! The 3D is superb! Up there with the best if not the best. I have the 3D switch up all the way 95% of the time. Must play! May be my fav 3DS game thus far!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must have

posted by Cheezr (LANTANA, FL) Apr 6, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2008

Love it. This is a typical nintendo game, extremely high quality and lots of replay value.
My only beef is that if you are too tired to finish a level you have to leave the game suspended or lose your progress (AFAIK). The game only saves on completion of a level and there is no quick save a la SMB2

Still the levels are not particularly long and IMO the game is a must have for my 3DS collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

How it's done

posted by comicblues (ROSEVILLE, MI) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

Really great work. It runs so smooth. It's so aware of the capabilities of the 3ds. The game just squirts narrative and moods. And the gameplay is super intuitive- like the less you explore or the less into it you are then the less you get out of it because you'll just skip most of the secrets and cool interactions. Its totally made to play your way. Have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »