Rent Lucha Libre AAA Heroes del Ring for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lucha Libre AAA Heroes del Ring

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.9

453 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

It's OK

posted by Juggalotus428 (LEXINGTON PARK, MD) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game could have been so much better. The controls were to say the least outdated. The graphics were pretty good. The options they gave you to customize were lacking. I think the developers need to take a really good look at what they and fix a whole bunch of stuff and then release a second one. It just felt like an old game with good graphics. They need to add a lot more moves. The story mode was again lacking. Maybe they need to just change the developers all together. The idea is awesome and they probably could've struck gold, reaching out to a different audience, as well as to the everyday fan of wrestling. I also think comparing to SvR is not right. It is a wrestling game but the first of its kind. Some more work and the release of another game I will play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a good start...

posted by Luminairus (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly I thought this was a good idea. It seemed interesting and the a decent start to what could develop into something better. For now the control were decent, but occasionally slow, the graphics and moves I didn't have issues with, but there wasn't much movement and it was a little stiff to begin with. What bugged me most is that easy is easy, normal is hard, and hard is OMG! Most of the time you'll spend countering, getting out of pins, or submissions. Add more then 2 wrestlers into the ring and things get crowded quickly and if it's you verse two or more it's like trying to swat off a swarm of locusts. There is no breather and you do spend 90% of the time countering, assuming you can manage that. Overall I liked it, but it was the difficulty and stiffness that caused me the most issues. Everything else was simple and a good way to possibly start off a collection of games of it's kind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing execution of good ideas

posted by CellBlock (FAIRFAX, VA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love pro wrestling, and AAA lucha libre is a wonderful spectacle. A video game that captures that essence of AAA would be absolutely magnificent.

This game doesn't. You can see sparks of inspiration and see where they were really trying, but everything sort of falls flat. The control system is a good idea, harkening back to the old Aki games on the N64 (or Fire Pro, another favorite old school wrestling game), but using the triggers for grapples, shoulder buttons to run, and the face buttons for... everything else is unwieldy. Being able to do "career" mode as either a tecnico or rudo is nice, but either way, it's only about 5 matches, and the obligatory 2-on-1 match is downright impossible because of the control system, collision detection, and seeming inability to recover from any sort of maneuver.

The create mode is simple, but still robust. The announcers are enjoyable, but rather repetitive. The whole game is filled with those "good, but..." moments. I give it a 4 because 'Weak' seems to sum it all up nicely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Similiar to the classic N64 games but not quite

posted by Edgecrushe (NORTH CANTON, OH) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could tell from the pictures that this game was going to be similar to the old school N64 wrestling games like WCW Vs. NWO or some of the other random WWF games I've forgotten the titles of. I like this grappling system more than all those Smackdown games that are out now. The control scheme even surfaced again in the Def Jam fighting games. Those were solid and had interesting arenas.

This game has the same grappling / fighting system but is missing some of the tweaks and improvements that were established over the years. For example, in some of the previous games you could crouch after getting knocked down and do a quick grapple. This is missing. Other games also had more interesting weapons and modes. This is very bare bones.

It was also tougher than I expected. I'm good at these games but kept losing because the blocking/countering system is very time specific. Playing the mandatory 2 Vs 1 match in career mode was so frustrating because you never get a chance to string any moves together before the other guy nails you in the back of the head. I had to win by cheapy making one of them get counted out.

It has the heart of the fun older wrestling games but is missing the soul. Rent, don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Under-Rated

posted by GamerLuv (ARLINGTON, TX) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I feel the bad reviews came from people who expected this game to be like other wrestling games, but its not. It's it's own kind of wrestling game. Character creation and Story mode are fun giving you the ability to make your luchador the way you want him to look and fight. You decide your luchadors body type, wardrobe, mask design, and even pick all his fighting moves.
As far as gameplay goes. I would compare the mobility of the luchadors to an older version of SvR. You'll have to get used to the controls. Your luchador doesnt move as fluid as one would want but its nothing that would make you want to turn off your xbox and not play anymore.
REMEMBER!!! THIS IS NOT SMACKDOWN vs RAW!!
The game was made to highlight the world of Lucha Libre. So be prepared for over exaggerated kicks, punches, and acrobatics. Overall the game was fun to play with many types of fight modes that include Pride Battle, Triple threat, Fatal 4 way, Mask vs Hair, and King of Kings match (think Royal Rumble).
The cons to the game are as follows. I felt the Story Mode wasnt long enough as i flew through it in one sitting. The graphics were good but i felt they could be better. Also, i would like to see easier and more fluid transitions between moves. If all these minor flaws were corrected this game would be an 8 easily.
I for one would like to see a sequel to this game as i feel the game is pretty good for its first attempt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Consider The Direction

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of Svs.R and all the bells and whistles that go with that franchise with every release, then your probably not going to enjoy Lucha Libre. But rather than take apart the different aspects I didn't like and compare them to a completely different franchise. Take a look at the direction the game is geared to.

Based on the AAA Mexican promotion, and featuring 40 wrestlers. In single player mode your player has to increase his character´s level using his charisma. Then you choose to improve yourself and keep your charisma with the audience high.

It is definitely a different direction than what fans of Svs.R will be used to. I applaud the effort since I can see this type of game being released to test the interest level of Lucha Libre based games. It's not the prettiest...neither was the original Raw. I would really like to see this franchise survive, and have the resources (and better production) in future installments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Graphics are ok but gameplay lacks

posted by mbling82 (WHITTIER, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game has all the right ideas but the engine that it is running on is really lacking if your a smackdown vs raw fan the chances are you will play this game for 15 mins tops and that will be the end of it. I kicked a guy from the middle of the ring and he flew in the air out of the ring unless you are a horse or a elephant I dont see this happening especially from a 5 foot 1 guy that is 120 pds with stell toes on. the ring entrance is good and the ring looks nice but the gameplay is a mixture of ps2 and and sega dreamcast. I have a lot of respect for wrestling and I was interested in the hispanic wrestling game the direction that the game is headed in is great they just need to hire better gameplay developers and the game will be awesome. Stifness was a major issue as well as trying to pull off any move was a headache and once your pinned you can consider the match is over unless you want a blister from hitting the A butting 1 million times. I'm sure if there is a sequel the game will be alot better but as for now this game is a rent only game please do not buy it and wait a few weeks for smack down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game Just Don't Expect Too Much.

posted by AntDaGamr (CHESTERFIELD, SC) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls take some getting use too. Theres not any springboards. The AI is good. Storymode can be fustrating. There aren't any titles but overall this is a good wrestling game to have in your collection if your a fan of AAA or wrestling games that are fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An Xbox game on the 360.

posted by nickg6 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This was a game that started poorly and ended up hoping for average. The graphics were average at best and the controls were horrendous. Why is it every time I kick a guy near the roped he ends up outside of the ring? Why can't he grapple my opponent? Are they really that slow? It just wasn't a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Heroes Del Ring

posted by videlsport (HARRISBURG, PA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I first read the preveiws of this game I was excited, but after renting it, my view took a turn for the worst. This has good idea's and I would like for a sequel to be made, with more moves per character. It's only like 3 submissions on the ground. Alot of the Characters have the same moves.. which takes away from the experiance. I think characters should have signature moves and Finishers as well. I like the grapple mechanics, there are few to moves to get excited by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lucha Libre AAA Heroes del Ring

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

I beat the main story line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a pretty fun alternative to SDvsRAW

posted by burning_inside (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

i just think it's cool they even made a lucha libre game. i'm white, but living in L.A. all my life, i'm well steeped in the culture. i liked that they included spanish commentary, it made it feel more like an authentic broadcast. awesome that vampiro was included, too bad they didnt give him a alternate old school skin with dreads and facepaint. i like the weird characters these mexican promotions come up with, like electroshock. it may be lacking in graphics and customization, but to me it's a fun alternative to wwe, aka the walmart of wrestling promotions. its better than that trash TNA game, we can all admit that i think. anyways if you are a wrestlemaniac like me i say rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad first endeavor...

posted by ZMannZilla (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

Quick plug: if you haven't seen AAA wrestling, you should. Check your Spanish speaking networks for AAA, it really is fun. The costumes are great, and it's always worth a giggle when TNA guys like Jeff Jarrett show up.

Once you've seen it, you'll know what's missing from this game - fast-paced trios action. For some reason, they set an in-ring cap on 4 wrestlers, so the famous three-on-three format you'll see in at least half of their matches does not exist in the game. Pretty much everything that makes lucha libre different from American pro wrestling is hard to find in this game, with the exception of a 20-count outside of the ring - in lots of ways, the game feels like an early rough draft of Smackdown Vs RAW.

Gameplay itself is so-so. I like how the triggers are used to modify the strike buttons into various grapples, but I'm not a big fan of what a pain in the neck it is to climb a turnbuckle or bounce off the ropes (they went with the 6-sided ring, which AAA actually stopped using IRL). There's also an RTE-style system for countering pins and submissions that's ambitious, but falls flat in execution. Definitely puts a bigger premium on skill, for better or worse.

The character creation tools are good. There's lots of little features that really make this neat, such as the mask-making tool and the retention of color schemes when your character changes outfits. Making custom signs is easy. I really hope other wrestling games take notes on this one. Conversely, AAA really needs an auto-setting/copy option for moveset creation.

And a HUGE mark against the game: you have to unlock about 80% of the roster, so unless all your favorite AAA stars are midcarders, you will be disappointed that you can't play as your favorite luchador. I am very curious to know how you can have a AAA game that doesn't let you play as Cibernetico right off the bat.

All in all, it's fun, worth the rent, and I'll definitely give the next installment a try (if there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game For 5 Min.

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

The game is good for 5 min. After that it just gets old. The controls are nothing to S VS. R. And you have to do stupid matches and some are even unfair. It got so boring I didnt even try the quick match. If you want a big disapointment rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

New Series Old Mistakes

posted by Kaeru (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

AAA : Heroes of the ring is a new series in the wrestling genre.

Pros

1. The story mode presentation
2. Create a wrestler
3. The Rooster
4. Easy achievements

cons

1. The gameplay many flaws
2. wagner & silver king fight is very difficult.
3. Limited online play
4. lack of match options

The game is a rent if your a AAA fan or a wrestling fan,
if not avoid easy 400 gs if you try though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I gave it a 5

posted by SikHonda93 (WINGDALE, NY) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I didnt care for this much. storyline lacks alot not alot of moves. and not really a game i would like to play for 3 hrs..its worth checking out i guess but not if ur a smackdown vs raw fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not too bad

posted by ppratt0485 (WOONSOCKET, RI) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

not a big wrestling game fan, but for some humor and easy achieves this isnt too much of a POS haha once you get the timing down for counters it gets a a lot easier, but on hard against 3 its still a pain. cheap shots, immmediate grabs, etc abound but the commentary is funny and actually i played this for quite a few days. havent played a WWF(WWE) console game since ps1 days but this is pretty fun, not too gimmicy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by marsbars (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

needs more moves and needs a better story line hated the 2on1s and the 3on1s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lucha Libre AAA Heroes del crapo Ring

posted by PatchJohnson (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This was by far the worst wrestling game i ever played at least TNA had decent controls and that game was bad too.. the fact they start with only 8 or 9 wrestlers to choose from is BS.. the only two i heard of were La Parka and Vampiro... I am shocked this game was rated above 4..SD vs RAW 2011 was a bad game this year but it beat this game blindfolded with one arm and no legs..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow...Just Wow

posted by DarrBrow (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I am amazed. This game has good graphics, and a good heart. That's about it. Gameplay is shotty at best. Ai is unbelievably horrible. Save yourself the time and rental do not play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by Diskey4 (MT ZION, IL) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game is fun. It controls like TNA Impact. The play through is quick. For a wrestling fan, its worth playing.
Pros
-Create a player
-Roster
-Easy controls
Cons
-Short story
-Extremely difficult handicap matches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this TNA Clone

posted by deadlysin (BELLEVILLE, NJ) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

You want to play a wrestling game that mimics TNA Impact? I do not know why any developer would want to share any similarities with that atrocious game, they took TNA gameplay and made it worse.

Game flows decent enough to get an below average review when you have a 1 on 1 match. Mix in a 3 Way match, 2 on 2 where its chaos in the ring, Fatal 4 Way, or a 2 on 1, this is where you will find out how disgusting this game is.

Your wrestler is constantly looking the wrong way when there are too many people in the ring. Lets mention this game gets sluggish and feels like it can not even handle this much action going on in the ring.

Activate your finisher during a 4 way match and all 3 opponents immediately stop fighting and all leave the ring and keep running around outside until your meter is gone, at which point they all enter the ring at the same time. If the computer has a finisher ready, this does not happen.

Bottom line is this, i felt robbed that I even rented this game and had it in my queue. I used to be a huge wrestling fan and wanted to play this on a weekend where i could relax. This game reminded me on the broken TNA Impact game that was released. All i kept thinking to myself is how this game was even released, they should have pulled the plug on this release. Avoid this game and save yourself a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

lucha libre aaa

posted by gamespro (LA PUENTE, CA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

ok first of all i loveucha libre wrestling but this game reminds me too much of a familiar game known as tna impact. if you guys havent played that game if you ever get a chance too play it you will know what i mean. then the action feels slow at times then it seems that after they hit there special its all down hill. so ya give this game a try it i gusses but there you have it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

my thoughts

posted by Hector79 (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

it was ok ,but sad to say was a lil to goofy to play.Great graphics good speed and sound but just not to my liking .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »