Rent Lost in Shadow for Wii
view large frontback

Lost in Shadow

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

448 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Lost in Excessive Content

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Lost in Shadow - the game that just doesn’t know when to say when.
This game starts off with a boy’s shadow being ripped from his body and tossed off the top of a tall tower, lands far away and gets up. It is up to you - and a shadow pixie named Spangle - to reunite his shadow with his body.
Easier said than done. You start off by going through about forty puzzle levels where you have to manipulate objects, light sources, find certain tokens, fight off bad shadows, and have to make many jumps and climbs.
But the high point of this game is the ingenious use of the shadows and how slight changes in the position of the light or an object can make a huge difference in how those shadows are laid out. What seems like a dead end can easily be turned into the path of escape. I really enjoyed going through these levels and finding out the solutions to the puzzles - but then the game just kept going.
After the forty or so levels in the main tower, you have to go back through those levels to get some items to the top floor, then you go through a ten level dark tower, and after that, you have to go through a garden labyrinth and a deep well before fighting off the big bad boss and finishing the game.
This will take some time - about fifteen hours or more to finish. And those of us who are not excited by the end of the tenth level should just quit out and sent the game back as the experience does not change much with each new level.
This is why I suggest renting Lost in Shadow first to see if you are willing to take this long journey - or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for what it is.

posted by ScottLaura (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Go into this one with the expectation of an artistic piece with new and innovative game play and you will enjoy it. Go into it with the expectation of high speed gaming and online mmo and you will understand why this game often receives a low score from users.
This is the first game to artfully combine two dimensional old school gaming with 3D puzzle manipulations. The combat structure is difficult from the beginning and will keep you either challenged or annoyed throughout. What you will love, if you care about such things is the beautiful background imagery and the extremely unique and not too difficult yet challenging puzzle solving. It is definitely worth renting, and if you are a collector of ground-breaking gaming, you may even wish to purchase this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little too innovative.

posted by karrde (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Sometimes games go too far to be different. Lost in Shadow is one that goes way too far.

You are a shadow, you can only travel on shadows. Your environment is 2D, but it is affected by the 3D objects that you can manipulate including moving the light source.

So we need to give it props for innovation. Unfortunately its too innovative, and I feel most people will be like me and drop it before level 10 of the tower. Its just not fun.

The good parts are that the game its self is well done. Platforming is actually pretty well done.

So I think this game has a limited audience. That audience might think its a very good game. I'm not in that audience though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun, but mostly annoying

posted by TheFrodo4401 (MODESTO, CA) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

The whole point is to walk through shadows and climb this big castle within the shadows to get back to your body. The enemies in the game go down too easy, and the gameplay is kind of boring. I thought this game was gonna be cool, but turns out it's just another maze game for the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game but a little monotonous

posted by Kag31489 (NORTHUMBERLAND, PA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I really enjoyed it for a while and it's definitely a fun game if you enjoy puzzle games mixed with fighting shadow monsters. It's a little bit of an adventure and strategy game as well but it's generally the same concept throughout the game it just gets harder as it goes. I give it an 8 because for what it is suppose to be, it's good. If you're expecting a more adventurous or RPG kind of game you may be disappointed but if you play with the expectation that is meant to be, you should enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring game

posted by HBLYNN777 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is so boring you start out and it looks cool but then it take a turn for the boring side. On a scale of 1 to 10 I give it a -6 and I play a large variety games and normally like them all so for me to say this is bad then it is. Two thumbs way down. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful atmospheric 2D platformer

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) May 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

What would happen if you took the atmosphere of Ico, and mixed it with the puzzle aspects of Limbo? You'd probably come up with a game very similar to Lost in Shadow. If you liked both of the games I mentioned, I don't think you can go wrong with this title.

The developers made a hug mistake by making this a disc based game for the Wii. For a Wii title, I just don't see this getting any commercial recognition. If it were instead a downloadable title on XBLA and/or PSN, it'd definitely hit it's mark. The Wii casual crowd won't know what to make of this, and it's not a typical hardcore offering. Instead, the hardcore fans who want a puzzle game that we can play like a casual game, yet still exercise our minds will love this.

I loved how all the levels seemed to stay fresh. The times when I thought they were getting stale was more a reflection on how tired I was getting. Taking a break from playing relieved the sense of staleness.

I'll agree with a few folks' complaints about the game seeming to not know when to quit, but for me that point was less than an hour from the end. For a game that took me just under 16 hours to play, I don't think that's too bad (especially when some of my favorite Nintendo games are truly guilty of being twice or thrice as long as they should.

The reason why I gave the rating of only an 8 is that I couldn't stand the fighting mechanics of the game. I found them to be truly annoying, even though they were manageable. But the magic here was in the atmosphere and the engaging 2D platforming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lost in shadow

posted by seige (SNOHOMISH, WA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The game is awsome! In the game you get to be a shadow climbing up this huge tower in order to find his body. But after awhile it gets a little boring, and you will need to stop playing for a little while. But I still think it's cool and I think you should try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than Expected

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

This game is like a mash up of Limbo, the shadow stages of Zelda: Twilight Princess, a little Peter Pan and some elements of Paper Mario. Even though this game is clearly influenced by these other games and stories, it does a brilliant job of incorporating their elements without blatantly out right doing the exact same thing, like some games "cough" Darksiders "cough". As a result this game stands out as its own unique 2D puzzle platformer. There are some very interesting ways in which you must manipulate the shadows to advance up the tower. The only let down is when you reach the top of the tower. I won't go into details but this gameplay decision really upset me. All and all, this is an eccentric Wii title with a lot to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

stay in the shadow

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently received this game and was excited to play. The graphics on this game are excellent and look like a cgi generated animation movie. also the concept of playing as a shadow following only paths of shadows is great. This is a fun game to play. The only downfall I have with this game is the fact that alot of the levels are the same and require you to repeat the same stuff over and over to find the shadow crystals to complete the level. Also the music is very well done. I would recommend this game as a rental, dont waste your money buying this game. It is a very short game as far as length. Not a horrible game but not a great platformer either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quiet lonely game...kind'a boring

posted by Donis187 (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game is fairly interesting though sometimes it can be a bit TOO quiet and too brooding. I don't know if I'd say I had a blast playing this one. It was merely interesting and sort of like playing solitaire at your desk at work. Better than nothing sort of feel to it but I'd be lying if I said I didn't want to see how it all ended but was also telling myself throughout "lord this game just keeps going and going...just END so I can return you!" My biggest gripe however were the controls. There seems to be this feeling of jumping into an invisible wall when leaping forward. A lot of times that results in you jumping up and down in place. At first I thought it was my nunchuck controller but same results regardless. There are some levels that call for speedy leaps and its incredibly frustrating when you hold forward and jump and the character doesn't move and you can literally feel the sudden weight as if gravity is holding you back from making a simple motion. Mario would have destroyed these shadow monsters and platform puzzles. This lil guy is slow as heck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nicely done

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 22, 2011

Member since May 2011

I got this in the mail yesterday and have had a hard time putting it down. It is a very cool sidescrolling game, it is not too hard to play and very easy to pick up. Recommended to anyone who wants to play a sidescrolling puzzle/action game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »