Rent Lost in Blue for DS
view large frontback

Lost in Blue

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
6.3

733 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Starving in the Blue

posted by LuigiB (PAWTUCKET, RI) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Lost in the blue invites it's players to enter a world where people starve to death in less than 2 days(about 15 mins real time).

While all around a very creative idea, I spent the first hour or so trying to eat raw seaweed and dieing on the shores of said unnamed island. The opening movie is inescapable (That = AWESOME!)

That being said "instant gratification" and "Lost in the Blue" don't exist in the same universe. However "eating every coconut you can find" and "hiding in a cave" seem the true foundation of which Lost in the Blue is built.

Most of the fun of this game is found in discovering new ways to extend the time it takes to starve. This includes building shelves, collecting vines/logs, making ropes, waiting for re spawns to happen, recollecting the vines/logs, making more ropes, and building a more comfortable bed.

Trapping animals in a noose and shooting them repeatedly with a bow and arrow is very amusing, climaxing with 2 hours of actual time I spent trapping and domesticating a goat, just to return to my cave after two game days (another 30 mins or so, 1/4 the time it me to ensnare and persuade a goat to stand outside my cave) to find the goat had died. Picking the "It was just his time to go, you didn't do anything wrong." dialog response will trigger a super fun chime noise and make the girl stop crying and smile. She soon forgets about the 85 pounds of rotting goat flesh laying feet from the cave's entrance. No one likes goat milk anyway.

She also makes several "maybe you can find something good?" comments. I get all the food we eat to say alive, IS THAT NOT GOOD!! Her skill set includes bad cooking, messing up the fire, and making worthless seashell necklaces (taking up precious inventory slots!!!) This doesn't feel like we're sharing the "staying alive" responsibility.

I also found no difference in spears made with bamboo as opposed to spears made with "stick" wood. Torches are useless, you can see perfectly fine at night.

-Lou Beatini

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something different

posted by Pickel668 (FREEPORT, IL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Any game that uses the touch screen on the D.S. well is worth playing. This game exceeds that by far. You hunt, fish and build things. Things can bog down with Skye (female character) she is a high school student that can't take care of her self! But this is only a small distraction. If you play Trauma Center then this one is worth looking at

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Concept...Poor Execution

posted by tallfort (PENSACOLA, FL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me first preface this by saying I love games like Monster Rancher, Dark Cloud, Animal Crossing and Harvest Moon. I want to make this clear because much of Lost in Blue involves repetitive, even tedious tasks.

The concept of the game is great. You play Kyle, a young man washed ashore after a shipwreck. Your first job, and the primary point of the game, is to survive. You have four separate status areas to keep up: Food, Water, Strength, and mental stamina. You have to collect food, find a place to stay, and figure out how to make tools to help keep you alive. Here's the problem: It is frustratingly hard to go slow enough to survive, when you know what you need to do next. Exploration of the island is excruciating, since you cannot stray far from your base until you are sufficiently adept at keeping yourself alive.

There are a lot of cool concepts in this game: You have to alternate on the shoulder buttons to get an ember started, then blow on the mike to make it grow into a flame; there are also some interesting touch screen uses. In the end, the tedium did me in. I died 3 times within the first 45 minutes of playing, because I wanted to go faster than the game would allow.

In the end, this game is worth a try just because of the innovation it offers, and if you are a very patient gamer that likes the above mentioned RPGs, then this game might be right up your alley.

Happy Gaming,
Tallfort

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hopelessly lost in the blue!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well....second worst game on the DS ever!!! Ok. I washed up on the island met the girl bla bla....and what now? I was just as lost as the characters on the game! I didn't know what to do I mostly spent FOREVER finding the cave. When I did find it the girl was complaining the ENTIRE time! She was like "I am starving!" well why couldn't she find it herself!???!?! Then she tried to cook it. WORST COOK EVER! Then we couldn't eat the food! That girl really irrated me to death! THEN she was tired she said "Get me a sleeping bag!" I did not want to go into nightmare dark darkness! So I let her sleep on rocks HA! Throughout the game I was sick of her complaining! So I let her DIE YAAAAAY! She was the BIGGEST COMPLAINER IN THE UNIVERSE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great Thinking Game!!

posted by foofyamy (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. You have to think all the way through it. I think that's why a lot of gamers can't be bothered with it. You have to keep your character and the female character alive at THE SAME TIME as exploring the island you've washed up on & making progress.

Hint....the sooner you figure out how to drink and catch MEAT, the better you will feel about this game. THINK about what you would need, and it is very intuitive. I am having trouble figuring out how to build things, but I anticipate I will keep this and play with it for awhile. Wish it were for sale...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lost in Blue review by Kelly

posted by MattnKelly (BALTIMORE, MD) May 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very addictive. The only annoying thing about the game is the girl. She's helpless! You actually have to lead her to the water or she will die of dehydration! lol, fun game though. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Like an uncool episode of lost

posted by thekeeper (MARYSVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I really have nothing good to say about this game.
Its very hard and the story just isn't worth the struggle. There are more ways to get to the game over screen than i can count for example walk away from your cave for twenty minutes to explore another location on the island uh oh your girlfriend just starved to death because she can't do anything herself. play it if you want but trust me you will probably not enjoy yourself

AE sighing out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'd want this if I were stuck on an island.

posted by duuuuude (SOUTH BOSTON, MA) May 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the best game for DS, play it it's the best game ever!See, your name is Keith and you wash up on an island and you meet skye, she washed up too. There is a great story and cool music when building and cooking. you must gather food, hunt, build furniture, and survive. With 3 game modes you'll be playing forever every. Also, 5 seconds, 5 minutes go by. You won't believe what happens...... but I won't spoil it for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Game You Can't Stop Playing

posted by divads (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game is fun for a total of about 1 hour. The problem is that hour isn't consecutive. You get a good minute or two here or there. But you gotta play for hours on end to get them. You know it sucks, but you can't stop because dang it! you gotta get those stupid kids off the island. And this game is next to impossible to progress in if you aren't using a walkthrough (thanks to all the folks on gamefaqs for their help).
My advice: Don't get started on this game to begin with. Just rent something with more consistent and meaningful gameplay, like Animal Crossing or Sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Surviving is hard and boring.

posted by Calgar (CERRITOS, CA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The problem with this game is the fact is that its difficult and boring. I wanted to play a good survival game and this definitely wasn't one. The games 3 stat bars are ruthless, and eating 20 coconuts doesn't seem to appease the stats bars. The worse part of the game is the girl you rescue because she is the most worthless thing ever. Surviving is hard, but now you have an extra mouth to feed and she doesn't do anything to help herself survive. She does have a few important features that only women can do (yep i said it but i hate her) but her AI is so terrible you have to literally hand hold her so she wont die of thirst or of hunger.

The focus of the game is survival but it doesn't do it in a way that is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I got a Case OF Deja Vu!

posted by Scorpia (JAMAICA, NY) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2003

Upon playing this game I thought to myself-"Where have I seen this before?" And then it hit me-The Sims Castaways!
This game quickly got frustrating as I wandered around starving to death & trying unsuccessfully to catch crabs on the beach.
Forget this & play The Sims Castaways instead!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun, might buy...

posted by Okami1 (PASADENA, CA) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

If you like Harvest Moon and other such "Real life games" then I would recomend this title, however there isnt much action apart from when your briefly shooting animals with a bow, or fishing by tapping the touch screen.
I thought that this game was very fun, it had an excellent story line and characters. I also enjoyed the "trying to survive in the wild" feel of it. The way that you gather food to cook and make items was very enjoyable, however the game did seem quite slow and at times frustrating. Once I found myself stuck at a point were I litteraly could not progress forward, I had gotten to the jungle and was trying to go back to the cave, however my health was 10% and I had saved right then. That is when I had decided to return it. I also found it annoying that when I am trying to jump I end up just "searching" the ground. I think that this is a very fun game, but might need a little work, I am hoping to try the 2, 3 and 4th one.

1/10

Story line: 7

Characters: 5

Graphics: 6

Gameplay(like how well buttons respond): 7

Action: 4

Inaction: 8

Enviroment: 10

Sound: 5

Overall: 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Difficult and not entertaining

posted by harleygirl (BREINIGSVILLE, PA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I found Lost in Blue to be difficult to play and not entertaining. The characters were difficult to keep alive and the game continued to give you the same hints over and over again when you were repeating an activity instead of just the first time. i got bored with the game quickly and there for had no desire to try to complete the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible - waste of time, try #2 or #3

posted by Meli1783 (EAST HARTLAND, CT) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

So many things annoying with this game - LIB 2 or 3 are much better. You spend too much time just trying to get by, it's hard to get a spear or build a trap or improve your cave so you wind up picking up loads of coconuts and shellfish to eat which takes all of your time. Your companion is useless, and the storyline is dull.

Also you can't run in LIB1, but you can in 2 and 3. I had a lot more fun playing 3 although you don't want to play as a girl b/c you cannot do most of the things you need to like hunt or fish. The storyline and extra characters in LIB3 were really fun and the game was challenging and interesting.

Don't waste your time on LIB1. Poor gameplay, bad graphics, boring storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surviving is actually kind of enjoyable!

posted by Devkit (CENTREVILLE, VA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Lost in Blue is a pretty neat concept. It's execution was done really well though in my opinion. What you do in LiB is definitely what you would be doing if you were actually stranded on an island. You'll be grabbing coconuts, sticks and twigs to make spears to hunt fish, digging through sand, etc.

Gameplay - 9, Story - 1

You're a 17 year old teenager on a ship ride, when suddenly, your ship crashes and sinks. Now, you're stranded on a remote island in the middle of nowhere. You're not exactly in the best situation. A few minutes of gameplay later, you find a teenage girl that has also been stranded on the island. You find a cave, make a fire, and save your game.

Now, during LiB, you'll be looking for twigs and sticks to start hunting fish which will drastically increase your health. When you really need food and water though, you'll be looking for coconuts, which provide both health and water(how convenient!). You can collect different items and then hand them over to the girl so she can cook them. This is all you'll be doing until you can muster up the strength to go outside the cave and explore the island. If you don't find yourself hooked to LiB after three days gameplay-wise, then stop playing, because you're just torturing yourself. If you do find LiB interesting after three days, then keep on playing.

Graphics - 10/10

The graphics for LiB look splendid. The island looks great for a DS game. Even the food and materials in LiB look detailed!

Sound - 10/10, Music - 0.5/10

The sound is what you would hear if you were on a real island. Birds chirping, the ocean waves, bugs and insects, grass flowing, and such. The music is almost non-existent. You hear a jingle that lasts for one second when you save your game.
There's a few more short jingles in LiB, but you won't be calling them anything too good.

Overall - 8/10

LiB is great if you wanted to ever see how living on a deserted island would feel like. Rent it IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Can't stop playing......game....!!!!

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Right when I turned the game on I was hooked the game is basically a survival game. It is based around you and some girl you find on the second day when you cross the river. She stays in your hid out and cooks while you go out into the wilderness hunting spearing and capturing animals. The game's graphic are kind of poor but the entertainment from the game totally makes up for it. The days go by fast because five minutes goes by in the game every 4 seconds in real life. Over all Lost in blue is an awsome game and I highly recomed to pretty much any one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hard

posted by Theomen (CLAREMONT, CA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

it is hard u fall asleep while ur walking. and u have to take care of two people! its just too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, almost no complaints

posted by MattBear (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

What a fun game. I was so surprised that I liked it so much, I thought it would be a kids game. The gameplay is great, and the graphics are pretty darn good for a DS game.

Pros:

- Awesome storyline that goes a few different places, depending on how you do it.

- Good characters that are easy to figure out.

- Once you get the hang of it, the HUNTING!!

- Fishing, starting fires, catching animals in traps, exploring a weird, cool island.

Cons:

- The fact that you need food so quickly, and it's a constant thing you have to worry about.

- The hunting controls are not perfect.

- Dragging the girl around when you just want to go explore by yourself.

All in all, it's a great game that you will spend many fun hours enjoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hard as H&##

posted by BIGSHAW (El Dorado, AR) Jan 5, 2008

Member since May 2007

I barley made it to day 7 it is so hard you have to feed them and water them constantly along with resting to keep up your energy it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Started off ok....

posted by Jimbox114 (CHESAPEAKE, OH) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The game started out ok, but towards the end it just completely detours from what the game is supposed to be based on.

It also becomes more of a chore then anything when you start to explore more of the island. You can't hardly go anywhere without starving to death or running out of energy. Apparently the girl is not smart enough to take care of herself while you are gone as you constantly have to worry about her thirsting to death or eating your highest energy foods.

I never did complete the game as the final part was just way too annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game and great use of the touch screen

posted by bradster (SALINE, MI) Apr 10, 2007

Member since May 2006

The game is tricky and may require online guides (since there are no real paper guides)the story is sorta sketchy and dosent make sense to me but overall its a great game if you enjoy survival games P.S I still have not beaten it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hey this sounds so cool! BUT IS THE WORST EVER!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

I remember how excited I was to finally get my hands on this game - the concept sounds incredible, and the ds has the ability to submerge you into a game like this so you can experience it as never before. Shooting arrows? Blowing into a spark to make a fire? Fishing? IM IN! What the back of the box did not tell me is how frustrating and bland this title is. If there is not too much to do on an island besides try to refeed myself every 5 minutes and refeed some girl I don't give a flip about every 5 minutes, then this game is INCREDBLE at sharing that experience. This game is boring, and uh..yeah. Boring. Hopefully 2 will be better. Good idea, bad way to put it together. Trust me, save your rental for something worth waiting for - if you want to click on this, wait a couple of days only to spend 5 minutes playing it then waiting 4 for your next, RENT NOW. If you want a good gameplay experience I am betting the OLSEN TWINS games are better than this piece of dook. F --------------------- -- -.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Harvest Moon: Maui

posted by dmagnet86 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game is very much like harvest moon, with a hunting/gathering theme as apposed to a farming theme. I enjoy games like this at time, I was a big fan of harvest moon.

It has many positive aspects: good use of stylus and touch screen, nice execution of gameplay elements, and decent enviroments.

My issue with this game is the frustrating task of keeping your people alive. The game wants you to explore the island in hopes of escaping, but it often buts a hamper on your plans causing you to search for food for several day (in-game days) to be able to spend one day finding a way out. It eventually gives you some ways to ease this suffering. Overall a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lost In Blue can Eat My Shoe

posted by jacmaykt (NEWTON CENTER, MA) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

I hated this game with a fiery passion. Each time I got close to completeing the task my person would run out of food and I would have to start over. I thought I was going to love this game, but I was wrong. The day after I got it, I returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ill get to it

posted by doglife4me (VALENCIA, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

i haven't tried this game yet, but i hope its good enough to look at. all the reviews im reading give me mixed thoughts, but ill try it anyway. i cant wait for the sequel. maybe it will be a little less hard(if the prequel is even hard at all)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse