Rent Lost: Via Domus for PS3
view large frontback

Lost: Via Domus

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.5

1575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lost in Production.....

posted by Lucas0077 (CHAMPIONS GATE, FL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge LOST fan and have seen every episode, and reading all the bad things about this game, I still rented it with an open mind thinking that there must be somthing worth while to take from the game. Unfortunately there isn't, in fact this only makes a 4 because of the fact it is related to the LOST story and has decent character likeness.

The game is very short but that's a plus in some ways because it means you can ship it back quickly to get a much better game on your Game Q. The story line is just OKAY as you play the part of another survivor of flight 815 who has lost his memory. You go about avoiding the black smoke and trying to piece the past together by taking photos in flashbacks like the series. But it soon becomes a case of trail and error as some frustrating parts just end over and over until you work out what to do.

The only sections which are anything like action packed are the running sections which involve a simplistic jump or slide approach to avoid obstacles and apart from that I maybe fired my weapon 5 times in the whole game.

NEVER buy this game and for a rental only LOST fans should think about it and even then it doesn't divulge anything that we don't know already.

Terrible game, weak story and lousy quest structure. Avoid like the black smoke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

(Don't) Get LOST!

posted by iPlayPS3 (WASHINGTON, DC) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is my first game review. I am writing it because I feel obligated to do so to stop people from wasting time or money on this game as it is really very disappointing. The graphics are weak (even the LOST between "chapters" is grainy). The game play is weak. Debris is in a fence pattern so you can't move very far and you can't even make your character swim or wade in the ocean. Things that you examine don't actually appear to you, an info bubble just appears letting you know what you've found. The puzzles aren't very interesting and are repetitive. The story isn't very developed. No one gets to know everyone and miraculously you talk about characters right after you crash that your character hasn't even met yet. It's very basic and reminds me of the first incarnations of more graphics & puzzles developed computer games from the early 90's, except the puzzles aren't even as good as those old games. I am a LOST fan since season 1. It is now Saturday evening and I can't return this until Monday. However, I can barely get myself to play it even out of morbid curiosity and may pop it in the mailbox early.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHAT A LET DOWN!!!

posted by gamer85 (PUYALLUP, WA) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

okay so first let me say i love lost the show so i had high hopes for this game. i got the game and wow graphics were great the faces looked like the real people. and then it's all down hill from there.
you shot 2 people and 2 pieces of dynamite total. for real that is all the shooting. so when i first noticed that i thought okay i can deal with no shooting more puzzles. nope the puzzles are all the same puzzle. and oh by the way i beet the game in like 2 hours. seriously guys play something else this was a waste of time. and take in mind i love the show it;s one of my favorite but this game is booty so please guys heed my advice play something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All show and no go

posted by Dewey72 (CASPER, WY) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Being a consummate Lost fan, I am aware I probably got a lot more out of this game than most. I thought the graphics, sound, and all the other tech speak was pretty fair for the PS3. For example, the detail they put in the hatch was spot on. However overall, I thought the game was a whimper at best compared to some of the titles out right now. My first complaint is playability/game length. I have played games that have had longer cutscenes then this game has total in cinematics and actual gameplay. My second complaint is that I am now convinced that Via Domus is actually Latin for 'For Electricians". How can the developers of this game actually claim it is a puzzle game? Silent Hill and Myst are puzzle games. Prancing around the jungle looking for fuze boxes as your singular challenge is not a puzzle... it is poor man's Electronics 101. Trading coconuts and beer for weapons is not Lost.... it is Gilligan's Island. Now, I can sort of forgive the developers for the insanely bad voice work, but what was the deal with Charlie and Locke? The first time I heard Locke speak I thought it was a joke or my speakers were going out. Could an attempt to sort of get close to the voice be out of order? In the end, the developers had a mountain of material to pull from (four seasons) and there is no forgiveness for such shabby development.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DON'T waste your time.

posted by gamrmom (AUGUSTA, GA) Jan 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is teh SUCK. Seriously. I have seen every episode of LOST and am a huge fan. I thought this would get me past any potential gameplay issues. I was wrong. I literally played this game for 12 minutes before putting it back in its envelope and sending it back to Gamefly.

The character models looked like demon possessed ventriloquist dummies and the forced path through the game world is ridiculous and artificial.

The dialogue trees are stilted, disruptive and stupid.

It was very bizarre to go out to the beach immediately after the crash and see ONLY a few key characters, standing static, with their helter-skelter eyes, waiting for you to come up and talk to them.

Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game LOST my respect

posted by natharia (NEW MILFORD, CT) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was one of the Worst games I have ever played.

I urge you not to take a chance, This game even for Die Hard fans like me was horrible! The Story line was weak. half of the characters did not have the same voices as the Characters on the show, You get a gun but you only fire it 5 times, the game has puzzles which are boring and repetative, the Action really lacks, the mystery is not even there, You dont get a chance to explore at all, you cant even swim.

I would have liked it if we had played as the Main characters.

Also the Graphics were from PS2, I mean if your going to transfer the game to PS3 at least try and upgrade the Graphics!

The game had me confused the entire way through,

And thats pretty bad even for LOST standards,

Above all i rate it a 1 - For Apocoliptic Failure.

Please dont waste your time, its just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lost via domus

posted by jordan24 (AGAWAM, MA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

good story,very,very short diff rental not worth sixty dollars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who am I?

posted by viadomus (ALBANY, NY) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While only on the 3rd episode of the game, I am fully enjoying every moment. I'm a huge fan of Lost, and this game allows you to immerse yourself in that world while adding a new storyline to the Lost Universe. The mystery of trying to find out who your character is is riveting...through flashbacks, it's apparent that the main character has met our Losties in the real world...everyone is interconnected, just like the show. I see myself glued to this game for many hours to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fan of the show? No? Skip it.

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Mar 6, 2008

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Exactly what the title says. I found the title really fun. I'm a big fan of the show.
I tried to rate this game as if I wasn't a fan of the show. It is a fair game. Graphics are solid. Shadows could use a little smoothing. Dialogue during cut scences was ok. The interaction dialouge left a bit to be desired though. It seems they didn't get too many of the original actors from the show to join on the game though. If they did, they didn't capture the tone from the show.
Controls were functional. A few times I got frustrated when I couldn't wake around something because my person kept stopping on an object I couldn't see. Such as a root at the tree line that I couldn't walk around or over. There weren't too many things you really needed to do. Walk around, light a torch, fire a gun, etc. Control wise they did exactly what was needed.
One thing that bugged me was the beach. Every time you were at the beach you only saw a handful of people. You didn't see the generic people just doing stuff. You only found a few select cast members. Even out int he jungle you didn't see anyone (except a few select characters). At night when you were at the beach you didn't see anyone as well. That was really the only point that didn't stick with me.
The part I thought was really cool (coming from a fan of the show now) was being able to see what was behind those concrete walls in the swan station. That was cool.
Conclusion would still be exactly what I wrote for the title. If you are a fan of the show, try this game out. It will be a fun experience. If you aren't a fan of the show then you won't find too much here. The game is short and very little actual interaction is needed. It's really a lot of walking around. You can't examine everything. You can't choose what you want to pick up, the game really just points out "here is a coconut". It would be hit or miss if you know nothing about the show. Watch the first and second season first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad....

posted by ratley21 (LAHAINA, HI) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game could have been a little better.But overall i enjoyed playing it.Ok good vs bad....

GOOD;Charachters are cool and have good resemblance
BAD;They say the same lines over and over again,and every line is a one liner.Dialogue was doo.
Good;Graphics were nice and seamless,good colors(a lot like drakes fortune)
Bad;Hardly any action,i used my gun like 3 times.And the puzzles got annoying after they repeated themselves over and over.No map either.
GOOD;Each chapter would begin and end just like the real show,which i liked a lot.
BAD;This game ended way too soon,i beat it first day.Lame,i wanted more.

Overall...Rent it for sure,but dont waste your money buying it.aloha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lost got me lost

posted by brewdude (EL SEGUNDO, CA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I tried to play this game twice and did not have the patients to do it again. The only good thing about this game was that I could return it back to gamefly right of way. It is one of the poorest concepts for a game is down there with OBLIBION "that bad"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste your time

posted by Arioch (BUNNELL, FL) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Everything about this game is bad don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

As Expected

posted by MylesJ (TROY, MI) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Lost: Via Domus is pretty much as I expected. I thought the game would have more of a wild side. However, you could trade and collect items across the island, still it disappointed me. I expected the game to be short, though I had no clue just how short it was. I finished in around a day and was a little disappointed. Lost: Via Domus is also a strategic game, either from working your way through the forest or managing your resources. Beware of the black smoke and never go in caves in the dark for too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hmmmm

posted by daultman (RENO, NV) Jun 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

hard as gosh to beat i couldnt even get through the cave cause the dueche in the woods and the other on the beach wouldnt trade with me and if i went into the jungle again the smoke kept killing me. omg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Milking a popular franchise name

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

In short, this game was nothing more than a cheap, poorly done means of cashing in on the popular franchise.

I'd rate it worse if I didn't honestly expect little from a movie/TV based game. I had low expectations and boy did this deliver...

The pros:
- It's Lost, complete with your favorite characters.
- It's short, so you can move on to something better very soon.
- It returns to the time before the church and the horrible last season.

The cons:
- Everything else.

The only thing I expected out of the game was maybe for it to reveal a little more of the back story that wasn't in the show. But honestly, you don't learn anything about the island you didn't already know. Neither do you learn anything about the main characters you don't already know. It just adds a new character to the pantheon of characters. And a rather uninteresting character at that.

I honestly just sort of had to muscle my way through the game. There was nothing drawing me to play other than trying to get to the end so I could send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too dang short!

posted by sdotizhot (PARLIN, NJ) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

ended so abruptly me that it made me mad. i dont usually write reviews but i felt like i would do a great injustice if i didnt voice my opinion on such an disappointing game. it did no justice to one of the (in my opinion) best tv series EVER! Only fans of the series should even think about renting this game. Its worth a look at, at the very least. If you know nothing about Lost, spare yourself the agony.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lost its way

posted by slimer120 (GRANBY, CT) May 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

Like many others that played this games, I too am a huge lost fan. I should have thought twice in retrospect. i could not get past about an hour of game play. the whole movement of the character was a let down. i would have loved to have been able to explored the island and find and do things on my own rather then jsut follow a lost episode script. my other let down was the voices of my beloved lost characters were completely off. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most annoying game. Only for fanatical Lost fans

posted by neuronet (DURHAM, NC) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

I'm a die-hard Lost fan, so decided to give this game a shot. It turns out everyone is right, it is the most annoying game in the history of video games. If you are not a serious Lost fan, do not even consider getting this game you will return it within a half hour.

Having to walk slowly through a forest maze, while a black smoke monster is chasing you, because running will cause you to explode, is excruciatingly annoying. Wandering around taking pictures at exactly one zoom/angle/distance wasting time trying to get it exactly right to get credit, even though at another distance/zoom you would get the exact same picture. Lots of silly scavenger hunting (find this, oh sorry forgot to tell you you also need this), and not in the vein of Uncharted.

Not to mention the checkpoints are too far apart. I solved three major puzzles (about a half hour), got to another major part of the game (or so I thought), so I turned off my game.Wouldn't you know it, it started me at the beginning of the puzzles. Also, they tend to put long cut scenes that you cannot skip at places that you have to watch over and over, as they put them right before scenes when you die a lot. Incredibly annoying to have to sit through a 60 second cut scene before running from the smoke monster.

I could go on with complaints. I hope I've convinced you.This game is simply annoying.

Positives: decent graphics, 'twas fun to be a character in Lost. Puzzles were a lot of fun (finish this sequence: Z-X-C-V-(?):that one took me a while to get.There are some fun electrical circuit puzzles.

Overall, those of you that rabidly love the show Lost will probably like the game at some level, even though objectively speaking the game is horrible. No good additional materials, no comments from the creators of the show. Just like watching some slightly below-average episodes from the Third Season (this came out right after the end of the Third Season)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Via Domus tailored for Lost fans

posted by imiloa (KAILUA, HI) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Quick thoughts on Via Domus:

-- Game was tailored for people who have watched Lost from the beginning and know the Lost world/storyline well. The game story parallels the TV series story referencing the TV plot events often without explaining them. Fair enough, given the time text/voiceover necessary to explain 100+ hours of TV story. But guaranteed to confuse those unfamiliar. I played with a friend who has vague knowledge of Lost TV. I spent nearly as much time explaining the plot events as we did playing the game.

-- Graphics are decent, esp the jungle sequences. Not as beautiful or polished as Uncharted, but solid.

-- There are several sequences in which you need to navigate the jungle without getting lost. If you pay attention, you can find your way and recognize the path over time. But easy to get lost if running aimlessly. Fairly realistic "lost in the woods" experience.

-- The game uses a fuses-in-circuit puzzle throughout. It's a fun game, used a bit too often, but interesting.

-- Downside: The sequences in which the smoke monster chases you in jungle become quickly monotonous. You spend an annoying amount of time hiding in trees, waiting for the monster to wander off, just to advance quickly to the next tree.

-- Downside: Most of the voiceover is done by sound-alikes. This is very apparent for some characters, distracting from potential immersion in the Lost world.

-- Upside: For Lost fans, just wandering around on the Lost world is fun. Beach, jungle, hatch, etc...

Nutshell, if you're a fan of Lost and know the whole timeline, esp first few seasons, you're likely to enjoy wandering in the Lost world for the 5-10 hrs this game takes to complete.

If you don't know Lost from Simpsons, it's not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good!

posted by Anonymous5 (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was really challanging but so much fun! It gets confusing at some parts but you get by it and its tends to be easy... but not too easy lol. I recommand getting this game because its fun, adventerous, and once you start you won't stop until your at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SAME PUZZLES OVER AND OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tubbytubby (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

it's the same irritating puzzle over and over. And, apparently I am too dumb to figure them out, as I had to find the cheats online to finish them. The game is very short and not very interesting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lost

posted by robert35 (CANNON FALLS, MN) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

the game was fun to play everyboby should play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

domb

posted by madbinjet (SANTA MARIA, CA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

domb stouped

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wt the!!!!

posted by Twitkid (SAVANNAH, GA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since May 2006

ok this game i love this show the game stink i saw on the bak it had blood so im like o yay it is a shootergame u only shoot 2 or 3 peeple the rest is just on the fist level all the people that r dead have little cuts this game is teribal do not even touch or concider this game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game was whack

posted by nexler (Bronx, NY) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

i'm not a lost fan but i love games and this game made me lose my mind 'cause i brought it. the only weapon that i wanted cost so much money... don't buy it. rent it if your a lost fan only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse