Rent Lost Planet: Extreme Condition for PS3
view large frontback

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

3303 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Listen To The Bad Reviews

posted by zach13 (BUFORD, GA) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

54 out of 61 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I heard this game sucked and terrible graphics,story mode, and online.So I had thought about it and eventually decided to rent it to see what it was.So I put Lost Planet in to check out the story mode.I played for a couple of minutes the story turned out interesting and i got into the game.I played about an hour and i got hooked.Action everywhere and surprises a lot of surprises.Surprises like aliens popping out of the ground randomly and attacking you. Gameplay is pretty cool it took me awhile to get used to the controls but eventually it became 1st nature to me.The graphics aren't too bad either it's not the best but it's not the worst the graphics are quite nice.The story mode gets a little
repetitive though shoot aliens and snow pirates etc.But don't get me wrong it's fun. So now i try online which everyone said sucked but they were wrong. It was one of the best experiences of my life. It was packed with action gernades and bullets flying everywhere. It's cool how you can get in robot suits and control them to your liking the guns are cool to with a lot of firepower.To sum it up here is my score.

Graphics-8.9
Gameplay-9.1
Story Mode-8.9
Online9.6
OVERALL-9.4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent shooting game with good online play

posted by lazzzydude (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

28 out of 35 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was going to be a really bad game, because games that transition from the X-box 360 and the PS3 seems really bad. This game is actually really good. The online play is quite fun and the main storyline is much more in-depth than i thought. It just makes you feel good to see 2 100 feet robots clash at each other. The dynamics and well thought out realistic details makes this an excellent game. The dialog voice overs were very good. This is a game that anybody may enjoy; especially if you are into shooting games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Polished with few glitches but bland.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Apr 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The only reason I played this game all the way through was for the story. I had never played the 360 version but I have to say it was pretty predictable. Not to say it was not a decent story...just predictable. Gameplay is solid but levels are short. You find yourself watching more cutscenes than actually playing it seems. Boss fights are pretty easy. Controls are easy to use no complaints there. Judging from screenshots taken from the 360 version they made some improvements on the graphics. I would say this game had a little more room for development but all in all it is an ok game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Thrown Out There

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Mar 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

18 out of 28 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet is one of those games you can't help but feel was just thrown out there to make a quick buck. The cutscenes are terrible, barely a step above the Wii. The gameplay is slow and choppy both online and off. I will say that it was easy to get into an online battle. Something that I found annoying was having to hit the same button multiple times just to make selections from the menu. Oh and to top it off the initial install is pretty large which confuses me because this game was not that impressive. I would say pass on this one altogether unless you have played everything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't sleep on it!!

posted by foolish813 (TAMPA, FL) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game gets better and better as you go along. As the story comes more into light it becomes epic. It's pretty easy to start off and get's alot rougher. Some of the bosses will have you restarting about 10 time before you figure out how to even hurt them, then probably another 10 to get the job done. You'll be slinging the controller half the time and screaming celebration the other half. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is 'cause there aren't really any unlockables. Once the game is over u don't get and new skins or anything. They could have let u customize your experience a little more. I guess thats what sequels r for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's just ok....

posted by ShaggyCW (DAYTON, OH) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have played a lot of games in my day. I have also tried to keep up with the PS3 games as they come out. But this is one game I wouldn't mind waiting on.The graphics are not up to PS3 full potential. The gameplay is not at all exciting.The enemies have no brains and I feel as if it has been done already. Not impressed with it at all.Rent but don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Solid game that is entertaining at best

posted by jdocter (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I thought this would be a pretty good game, but it was awefully monotonous. It seemed like you were doing the same thing over and over again. The graphics aren't as good as other games out there and I was able to put down the controller easily. I played for 4 or 5 hours and decided that was enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

o.O

posted by banks88 (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its difficult to believe all the bad reviews this game received. if you're looking for a sci fi shooter to keep you immersed for a few days, I'd strongly recommend this game. There is a sequel coming out in may 2010 for a reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by Cooooled24 (KERNERSVILLE, NC) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was ok but it did get boring.!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lost is right...

posted by pyseas (BUENA PARK, CA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

To be fair (not that I feel obligated to do so), Lost Planet was a great concept, with a tedious premise...The game takes place on a frozen planet called E.D.N. III, whose natural resources (thermal energy), are being mined by Humans in order for them to survive the hostile elements...However, the locals have other ideas...Enter the Akrid, a species of insect-like aliens, and the beginning of our story starring Wayne...Sadly, it is the game's mechanics that are the true enemy, as the harsh environment requires you have a constant flow of thermal energy while it is continuously depleted, or essentially you die...You collect thermal energy from enemies you fell, or objects, and it can replenish life if you are damaged (to an extent)...In short it's a pain...I only managed to get up to Mission 4 (of 12), before I sent it back to Gamefly...In addition to the above mentioned gripes I had with the game, the difficultly curve left little to be desired...some sequences were entirely too easy while others were simply game ending (as in the case with a certain Worm)...I will say the controls were done well, as was the camera, but overall it was just plain disappointing...I expected more from you Capcom!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wizard Needs Food Badly

posted by JPerkins (WHITE WATER, CA) Sep 24, 2008

Member since May 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I tend to play games at a fairly slow, relaxed pace. I want to hunt, to stalk, to play at my pace. I don't mind when it's time to run into the room and just start blasting. What I do mind- what I have a major problem with- is any game where I lose health just by standing there, even if i'm not being attacked. The original Gauntlet was otherwise a good game, but with 'wizard needs food badly,' it's basically trash as far as i'm concerned. In Lost Planet you lose health (heat) by just standing there. I know this make sense in the game world's arctic environment, but as far as fitting my playing style it's a giant pile of you-know-what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really bad

posted by homestyle (FITCHBURG, WI) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I wasted 3 day wait time and my first ever rental on this. Good story does not translate well to game mode. Running around on a froze planet shooting bugs got old after five minutes, and the fact that you have to find thermal patches every minute just to stay alive took away what little fun this could have been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lost Planet is Lost

posted by GarynJaci (NEWARK, NJ) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

THis game was not worth Capcoms time, what a shame. you cannot give thisgame away i see. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Typical humans

posted by cmd673 (FIRESTONE, CO) May 9, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I found the plot of the game rather disgusting. We invade another planet and proceed to shoot the native life forms which have every right to be hostile and defending their home world from the invasion. I had no desire to participate in the genocide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by hibar6 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

lost planet

posted by minddfreak (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

good game for kids but,for grown-ups not so much,didnt like changing to transformer type.not the game for me!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

giant bug plant monster space marine thing yeah!

posted by HngryTgr (GREENBELT, MD) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

giant bug plant monster space marine thing yeah!

Loads of fun ...

Frame rate issues. Stupid lazy ports ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty lame

posted by weckst (BREMERTON, WA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I was excited to try something new, but this was not it. The controls are funky, and I appreciate them trying something new and innovative, but it is more of a distraction than it is a help. Weak plot, weak controls, poor direction. Not even worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Way better on XBox 360

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I was very impressed with the game on 360. But it was lacking something on PS3. I do not say that very often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lost planet 1

posted by b_randon92 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

its alright, graphics werent good and i had it on the hardest mode and it was pretty easy but the auto save never saved and after a good hour of it i died then turned it off and when i went on later it wouldnt let me continue only start new game so that sucked and only one day having it im already going to send it back it was lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's fun but...

posted by D_Ceezy (GARY, IN) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

it suffers due to choppy, pixelated graphics, bad lighting and low framerate issues. But the gameplay is great and controls are easy to pick up... at least for me it is. It has a decent story too but I couldn't finish the game because I was stuck on the Giant Spider-Drill Tank on level 8. After trying and trying I figured it wasn't worth it anymore. I played this game at a friends house before and I only rented just to get my "mech" fix and I'd say I've had my fill. It does get repetitive after a while and with no known unlocks, there's no motivation to keep going. Would have liked to finish it for the story tho...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks

posted by Nate284 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

do not play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and interesting!!

posted by stdlygy53 (HUTCHINSON, KS) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

I heard the 'good' and the 'bad'. And I think you make your own review. Personally this helps you or not is on you.

The game was fun and could make for a 'sick' movie. I really enjoyed the story. On-line for these type games are not a big deal for me. The 'VS' as they refer to the vehicles in it were fun and the controls were very well easy to get down with.

So if you do, or do not read this review it's a game to try out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not my kind of game.

posted by Cephalotripsist (SALEM, OH) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It started out pretty awesome. The cinematics looked amazing. But once I actually got in game I lost my appetite for it. I disliked the controls and the general feeling of the game. While it does have a lot going for it in sense of different enemies/environments/obstacles I wasn't too immersed in it .I'm sure others would like it, but it's not my kind of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best shooter games ever made!!

posted by tropicalrays (WILLOW SPRINGS, IL) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I bought this game 6 months after it was release and still play it often to this day, that is the online matches of course. Compared to other game series such as COD and SOCOM, controls are simple to use and manage, characters are evenly matched (no weapon advantages like in some games) and the maps are straight foward. With all these great things about this game, I'm glad to see hundreds of same players still online, still paying this game, many who tried LP2 and came back here. Of course there will always be network errors and connections issuse from other countries, but don't hold it against this classic game. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse