Rent Lost Planet: Extreme Condition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

11474 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Awesome Multiplayer

posted by jhill18 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The single player campaign is interesting, but can become challenging on later levels due to the difficulty. When they say extreme, it is very extreme. The game is very realistic in a sense of physics. Not to mention the awesome VS's (vital suits) think mechs with insane weaponry. However, on XBox Live is where this game really shines. With many characters to choose from, (not to mention those unlockables) with many different patterns, you can pick which player to wreak havoc with. And now with 2 of the 3 downloadable maps free, even more stages to play in. Without a doubt worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lost Planet Extreme Condition Online Gaming Review

posted by rwideman (LIVE OAK, CA) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying this game rocks with regards to both the campaign and online playability. The controls took a little getting used to at first, but now I can only put it up there with the Gears of War active reload control sceme: awesome.

Onto the online stuff! Teamwork has never been more fun than with this game. You're team can do anything if they know how to work together. You get a couple of people in VS's, one working fire draw, and a couple working everything else, and it's an easy game, especially with the open communications line for the team.

The graphics leave little to be desired, but the weapons take the cake! From rocket launchers, machine guns, laser cannons, shotguns, and homing lasers, this game has it all. I especially like the rifle and machine gun. I've found the shotgun to be slightly in affective unless you're using the VS mounted version.

All in all, this game is great for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by MichaelD (HASBROUCK HEIGHTS, NJ) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

awesome game.there is a LOT of enemies to kill in every level.and theres a great storyline.the graphics and gameplay is very realistic.The only downside to the game is that its short.You could probably beat it in 3 hours or so.But dont expect the game to be easy,its still a big challenge.the bosses are huge.the boss fights very challenging alone.theres a lot of enemies to kill so you wont be bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Series

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet is decent. This title gives you a fun story, snow pirates (awesome), enjoyable combat, and robots to kill giant bugs with.

Final Word - With the third title coming out early next year (2013), if you haven't played this and want to catch up on the story and have some good times killing snow pirates and giant snow bug creatures, check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Awesome Rental

posted by BigJoeker (FALLON, NV) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was expecting this game for quite some time. Though I gave it a 6 I still think its a good game. But some things let me down. I'll name the good things first.

The game looks great, and feels great. The Grafics are really detailed and the environment feels and sounds like you're actually there. The enemies are fresh and some are new(like not copied from movies or other games.) The levels on the average take in between 30 minutes to an hour to beat. So its a good game if you like to sit for a bit, or to hang for a while.

Now the bad; I was looking forward to online battles, but when I started I was just let down. Most of the players are easily angered on this game. Some kick you for being level 1-10 others kick you because you took their mech or took a weapon off a mech to put on your own. Alot of gamers also glitch. I found some getting out of a mech as you fire a rocket at them so they receive no damage, then get back in and fire their weapon back. Others find glitched positions to shoot from, but you can't shoot them.

Single Player Bad; Bosses on this game are interesting, but some get real cheap when they're near death. All the bosses are best beat with a mech. Now some will eventually best your mech and this is when they're near death. Once you eject from your mech, they begin raining havoc on you just spraying their attack on you till you're dead. Which gets annoying after you already took 5-10 minutes fighting the boss.

Overview: Good detailed grafics. Good feel and sound. Interesting Story-line. Boss fights get cheap when they're near death. Online players boot new people, and tend to glitch alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont miss out

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

47 out of 63 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After playing both the single player and multiplayer demo's, I thought this game was barely good enough to pick up and try it out, boy was I glad I did.

Both the MP and campaign demo's have done this game no justice. Now aside from the story, the game is great.

The Campaing will confuse you do to the "going no where" story telling. Cut sceens jump into gamepplay with little to no explaination as to how the objective ties to the story in any way. Most confusing, I have all but completely ignored that element of the game.

There are massive and many enemies to defeat in a wide range of ways. The weapons are fantastic and innovative. They can be found lying on the ground or burried in the snow.

I compare the game to Star Wars Battlefront meets Mech Assault, Yeah, I know, Cool!

The multiplayer is where I was truley floored. Let me start with the thing that actually amazed me the most, servers! I have played matches where I was the only player in the US in the game of 16 players, NO LAG. I mean none, what so ever. Ive had games where there were people from Spain, Japan, Us, Canada and Germany, all in the same game and still, NO LAG! Sorry, it just amazed me.

The maps are beautiful. One or two of them are the prettiest maps Ive ever seen. Im not sure of the name, but there is a map where you appear to be inside a volcano and there are explosions and molten lava all around you. It looks so amazing.

The battles really heat up with the combination of foot soldier and mechs, did I mention alot of the mechs are like Transformers? Some start as a tank then hit the "Y" button and it will change into a walking mech. It amazing.

As you can probably tell by now Im pretty hot on this game and suggest any hardcore online gamer at the very least give it a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A fun and simple shooter. (Single player review)

posted by Dissension (EUGENE, OR) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

22 out of 32 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet is a fairly straightforward third-person shooter on an icy planet populated by ravenous bug-like aliens known as the Akrid, and by human snow pirates and their VS machines. (This game's equivalent of a mech.)

While the game tries to push its story with lengthy cutscenes, it proves to be a bit convoluted and more confusing than interesting. The real entertainment comes in the shooting itself.

Throughout the course of the game you fight against both akrid and humans, some of which are piloting VS machines, which you too will often use. Generally speaking, akrid make a far more fun opponent than the humans. These hideous creatures range from roughly human size, to an easy 50 feet long. Most of the larger akrid have specific weak points that must be exploited to weaken and finish them off. The gruesome visual effects of blowing off a limb to cripple the giant critters are a lot of fun while the human battles are pretty lackluster.

The game has an over-the-top arcade quality to the controls which works well against akrid, but is ultimately unfulfilling against human enemies. Due to the wide open environments and very nature of the game, you're generally fighting humans from such a distance that they appear as little more than generic black specks.

To cap off, I will quickly list my issues with the game that keep me from rating it any higher.

- Your movement is a little slow.

- You can't aim straight up.

- The fire and smoke effects, while visually stunning, often cover up the whole screen completely blinding you, but not the opponent.

- Too many invisible walls and barriers.

- You are plagued with a slow falling and getting up animation which with bad luck can allow enemies to juggle you infinitely with attacks until you die.

- Your character has to stop moving to switch weapons.

- The controls are often unresponsive. Particularly the rocket launcher.

- Game is short. About 10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beautifully Fun

posted by mculberson (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

31 out of 48 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Having just played 2 missions, I can't speak for the entire game, but I wanted to put up a quick review for those on the fence about playing this game.

First of all, the game looks amazing. There's so much happening on screen and it looks fantastic.

Second, it's just plain fun. It doesn't seem too deep so far, but the fun factor is through the roof. I've played just about everything on the Xbox 360 and I must say this ranks up their with one of the best games of its type so far. Definitely a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Visually Amazing, let lacking in story

posted by RoxtarRyan (WINDSOR LOCKS, CT) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet for the X-Box 360. Visually, one of the best games I have ever seen, making it another great success for Capcom, creator of the MegaMan series. The main enemy in the game, the Akrid, looks outstanding, and the environments you are thrown in are some of the best out there, even rivaling Gears of War. The explosions and lighting effects only enhance the visual orgasm you will receive while enjoying this great game.

However, when it comes to the actual story, the game falls short. It starts off pretty straightforward, yet, as the game progresses, the story gets confusing. Heck, it even becomes something of a bother sitting through the cut scenes. Make good use of the time by grabbing a drink or a snack. The anchor that you are given loses its usefulness after the first couple of levels, and the fact that you can't point the anchor, or even your weapon, straight up is downright baffling.

It was a pretty quick game, but sometimes, quick single player games can make up for the multiplayer gameplay. Not so here. It would be nice if Gamefly could send even photocopied versions of the manual, because when you jump into the multiplayer world, its downright confusing on what you're supposed to do, unlike the straightforward multiplayer we've all experienced with Halo 2 and the like. You can't mute players who are screaming into your microphones, and the 'lobbies' set up in the multiplayer do little to explain the rules of the game type.

So, to wrap things up, its a great game as a rental. Replay value is low (even to find the hidden 'coins' throughout the short levels is a headache), and though the single player mode is good for the 5 or so hours you will tear through it in, the story is confusing, leaving you scratching your head, and the multiplayer could have used some more work before sending it out.

So, enjoy the rental, but not exactly worth $60 in this experienced gamers opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lost planet

posted by 3xtripleh (YORBA LINDA, CA) Jan 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I felt this game is not getting proper reviews. It has great graphics, intense battles, good controls, and a ok story. Many people have said it is extremely difficult this is untrue their are difficult parts but are not unbeatable with just a little strategy and brains. It isn't the best game I've played and doesn't have much replay value but is still a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition

posted by Guns1inger (READING, PA) Jan 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition is a sci-fi shooter that takes place on a planet completely frozen. You are wayne, a "snow-pirate", whose father was killed by the inhabitants of the planet, which are know as the Akrid. The story of the game is not all that great, but the game play is sure fun. You run around shooting Akrid and sometimes snow-pirates as well. When you kill enemies, they drop 'Thermal Energy' or 'T-Eng' for short. If you run out of T-Eng, you die. You get cool weapons in the game, ranging from the basic assult rifle to rocket launchers, to the sniper, and you get to drive 'Vital Suits' or 'VSs' for short. The online play is also quite fun. Try it out, you'll love it.

-Storyline: 5 out of 10 (Could have been better)
-Gameplay: 8 out of 10 (Pretty fun gameplay)
-Graphics: 8 out of 10 (Graphics are good, but not as great as i expected
-Sound: 9 out of 10 (The Sounds were great!)
-Replayability: 6 out of 10 (Fun, but after the first time of beating it or two, you might get sick of it)

Overall: 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stick with Gears of War

posted by nelson71 (WESTFIELD, MA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

17 out of 31 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

If you own Gears of War and are thinking about this game don't bother. Once the Snow novelty wears off you have a pretty weak game... dumb monsters, some die with one shot, others need many. Lack of opportunities to save your progress..like the checkpoints in Gears. You get sent all the way back to the beginning of the level if you die. The need for constant heat replenishment is annoying too,it doesn't give you time to fully explore your environment. Ok to rent to try but if I paid 60 for this I would be quite annoyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game, Total Buy!

posted by hXcHector (LODI, CA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet was a great game with beautiful graphics. It was one of the first to come out for next gen consoles. I didn't have a chance to play this game online but I did play the story. It had a great and solid story with the gameplay. The gameplay was superb. You play a few missions (unfortunately not enough) shooting and fighting alien bugs. Each mission has a boss usually with a special way of defeating it which makes it that much more fun. You get to play as a guy with a gun or at times a guy with a mech. The gameplay seemed like a cross between resident evil 4 and mechassault.

As I said the story was great and very satisfying. It actually had an ending unlike many games out there now.

I would recommend this game to others and even buy it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST FOR THE HARDCORE GAMER

posted by SadistOne (WAYNESBORO, PA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Not much can else can be said about this game, except it's awesome! The graphics, game play, overall story and battles are just amazing. I was completely hooked on this game and couldn't turn it off until I was done. I would highly recommend you rent this game. It is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Strong Title from a Solid Company

posted by VonNapalm (MANOR, TX) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Surprisingly enough I liked Lost Planet. I wasn't sure what to ecpect from Capcom in a shooter like this, but it is well done.

The game is linear for the most part. You are forced to progress or risk freezing to death. When the enemies are killed, they drop a substance that you are required to pick up to stay warm. Too much exploring and lack of action will cause your character to freeze.

The weapon variety is good. There are very nice damage effects and the game has a nice over all visual style. Some of the graphics from inside the planet are really nice to look at. Camera angles are good.

The Boss fights are what makes the game though. From the giant Pillbug at the beginning you really get a sense of the scale of the Akrid bosses. Very true to what you would expect from Capcom.

Multi player is fun and engaging and will pull you from GoW for a bit, if only to get the achievements.

The story is the weak point for me. The plot tries too hard to be intricate and leaves you just confused. I also took issue to the fact that you still have to stay warm in a cave that is filled with lava.

All in all a good title that is worth a rent for most and worth a buy for some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lost Planet- Lost Opportunity

posted by Cuchulane (REVERE, MA) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This may be one of the worst gameplay designs I have ever seen. Long repetitive, easy levels, with no saves, followed by boss battles that you have to replay 20, 30, 40, plus times until you get lucky.

What's up with the cheap trick boss battles?? The game removes all control from the player 90% of the time while the player character gets tossed around, engulfed in smoke, knocked down, trying to reload, blown up, thrown, swallowed, stuck, etc.

Example- Boss Battle begins, and before you even have control of your player, you're hit with a rocket barrage...OK, get up- no! Hit by a laser and knocked down before the rocket explosions have even ended! But wait, slooooowly getting up.. and another rocket barrage! OK, up, but can't see a thing, too much smoke, and... another laser hit! Sloooowly geting up- No! Mission Failed! Never controlled the character the whole battle!Try again, same as above, but wait! I managed to get my hands on a rocket launcher, and I even got off a shot and did... 5% damage??? Run, duck, blown up, ooo, I can get off another shot and...no! It's not loaded! Wait for reload animation... get blown up some more, knocked down some more... Mission Failed! Whaaaat???
Fine, OK, I'll try later, oh no! no saves mid-mission! Start the whole level over??

Feh, where's the mailer, this one can't go back fast enough!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tough!!!

posted by Bigdemps (LAUREL SPRINGS, NJ) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty cool, but has alot of things that will have you cursing a blue streak.

the story is good, but there are many things that are annoying .

the camera is weird and you have to click the shoulder button to turn different directions which is odd. Also the monsters sometimes take forever to kill even if they are not a boss or anything. there is a heat meter that constantly drops while you move or even stand still and do nothing. it makes you feel rushed like you have to hurry and that ends up getting you killed fast.

The mechs and little vehicles you can use are a different thing that helps the game, but sometimes you get bum rushed by tons of enemies and get pummeled before you know what its happening, then have to start all over at the beginning of the level half the time.

Don't get me wrong, if you want a real challenge then rent this game. patience and resilience are definitely needed. some really cool weapons and environments though too. aw try it. what the hey

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for Everyone

posted by CultStorm (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The premise of this game is very good. However, the execution is lacking.

There should have been more of a tutorial. When I find myself dying repeatedly during the first 5 minutes of the game, because of a lack of instruction, something is wrong. The levels themselves are extremely easy when compared to the boss fights. I feel that they should have been balanced a bit more. Increase the difficulty of getting to the boss, and made the boss encounters a bit more intuitive.

This is the first game I've played on the 360 that I felt wasn't worth the time of playing it through all the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was Good BUT----

posted by DarkGhost0 (ORWIGSBURG, PA) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Game Was Great when it comes to the game play, Graphics, Voices, Sound and over all storyline. But the only thing that Makes me wanna just toss the controller down and never touch it again is the fact that No matter how far you are in a level If you should mess up and Die you have to start all the way back at the Beginning, and while this isn't that bad a first You restart a level or two more then once and you are just like To h e ll with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't like it

posted by SlopeDemon (PROVO, UT) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Didn't like the controls (I guess after playing titles like Halo, Call of Duty, etc. It seems very toned down and restrained), character moves too slow and I didn't like a constant life meter counting down until the next life boost--You have enough to worry about besides that count down going on. Storyline was very weak and narrated very poorly in my opinion. Sounded cheap...I sent the game back before finishing it...

Wouldn't reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Decent game play - story makes my head hurt

posted by cressless (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The title says it all, game play is fun, though it gets tedious after a while. Boss battles all work a little different from one another, but the strategies to beating them are fairly simple and do tend to become similar as the game goes on.

The plot behind the game is horrific mainly because it makes absolutely no sense. Nothing gets explained, the story arc jumps from one point to another and the dialog and emotions of the characters don't make a lick of sense.

The voice acting is at least decent but nothing spectacular either.

Play for a little bit of fun, but don't expect too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best mech game thus far (is that good or bad?)

posted by kjnapper (MARIETTA, GA) Jan 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lost Planet initially looks great. And the addition of the grappling hook is quite interesting. The second thing you'll notice after the nice graphics are the Akrid designs. If you think of the game as Star Ship Troopers in during Christmas time, then you could sum up the entire gameplay. When you are battling small Akrids that swarm in a mass of say 30 soaring mantis rays then you'll just be like WoW! And the big boss battles or even battling the bigger Akrids are cool. SNow is kicked up you get knocked around, and the Akrid's react when they are hit by bullets or say a rocket launcher. Lost PLanet puts you directly in the action and you feel like you are doing these battles for real.

And concerning the mechs or VS's as called in the game. The Vital Suits make the gundam games and even Chromehounds look like dog meat. Don't get me wrong the VS's isn't revolutionary in this game but they are fun to play with and add a nice feel. SOme of the clunkiness is there but it rivals the play of Armored Core's mechs. Maybe after developers play this game they'll focus more of their power on making mech games move and feel like the mechs and gundams they show us on television.

But I give Lost Planet a thumbs up and I say you should by rather than rent. You'll get hooked on the multiplayer deathmatchs on Xbos Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lost Money

posted by lamefly (LOS GATOS, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had preordered this game thinking it would be cool, everything about it seemed cool enough. Then came time to play the game. I share the same experience as most of the people who gave this game a lower rating. I hated the levels, trudging through snow 90% of the time, encountering a few small-fry enemies the remaining 10. And the enemies... pffft. The only threat from them is if you DON'T kill them and collect their energy, the character will die from the "extreme condition" (read: boredom).

After wayyyy too much time soaked up trying to find some more energy, erm, enemies, you finally encounter a boss. Woo! Oh... wait. It's basically the same battle over and over again. Confined space. Running around in a walker until it gets destroyed. Finding another one. Aiming for the bright, pulsating red spot. I win! Huge globs of... energy!

Rinse, repeat. I sold it withing a week of it coming out, really quite displeased I had ever bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not my game ...

posted by Hishiyama (BOSTON, MA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

didnt really like it much, maybe lost planet 2 will be much much better ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game has it's p's and c's, but mostly pros!!

posted by mrygmrz (FRANKLIN, NH) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i'd really have to say this is one of the most intense games i've ever played. it shares it respects with ALL the CoD games, SSX on tour, and the GRAW series.
pros: the explosions are endless, and the monsters are terrifying, while the VS's instensify it greatly. i absolutely love the great deal of explosions. as everybody knows, they make everything 2x more intense. i'd probobally go through 80 explosions on each level. i also love how the gigantic monsters chasing after you like the giant worm, or green eye at the beginning, which is a giant alligator type creature. the VS' (piloted armored machines) shooting their gatlin guns and their rocket launchers just get you attached to the game. the story-line is rich, and epic. the cut-scenes make me seem like i'm watching a movie. all sorts of twists and unique enemies make this game interesting. there are tons of ammo laying around everywhere and it's almost impossible to run out. the boss-battles are really intense and are very arcade-ish, as for most of them you have to hit a certain spot to greatly reduce their health.

cons: the weopons are VERY limited and badly named. the weopons are called: machine gun, shot gun, rocket launcher, and so on and so on. the VS' have a much more variety of guns, such as "grenade" and EMF lasers, but the good ones are very hard to find as gatlin guns and machine guns are everywhere. another annoying pert of the game is the boss-battles. besides the fact ehir really intense, their really long and extremely hard. i died at least 5 times on each one, and they hit you, you get up and then they hit you again and get hit back down and so on, and then you die.

all in all this game is a really greeat game, and i couldn't stop playing it. it took me about 7 hours to beat, and i wish there was some sort of extra game mode once i beat it, but i guess not. i loved this game, and highly recommend it to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse