Rent Lost Planet 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lost Planet 3

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.0

290 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitious and eventually boring

posted by crosshair_eyed (NORTH FORK, CA) Sep 24, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was initially fun. Then there comes a point in the game where you defeat a tough boss and you think, well that was fun--whew! Then almost instantly you are facing the same Boss in a slightly different environment. It's like Capcom needed more game but run out of ideas. It was really disappointing. I had purchased the game but I shrugged and gave it to a friend. This game could have been really good. As is, it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but not ground breaking

posted by wingzero7X (TEMECULA, CA) Sep 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think this one was more of a DLC ...a really long DLC that fills in the blanks of the Lost Planet Universe. After the disappointing storyline of Lost Planet 2, this one brings a fresh new story. The gun play leaves a lot to be desired, giving you only 4 different guns to use, some very similiar to the next. The Mech that you walk in though is awesome. The graphics are beautiful but nothing new. A game worth playing for you Lost Planet fans. But don't expect the nail gripping action as the first one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First two hours were fun, then what happened?

posted by Gamingcurse (KELSO, WA) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I try not to review games because to me a review means that is what I want people to think, this is just me posting my experience.

I'll be honest, for the first 2 hours I had so much fun I didn't feel like I was having any issues with the game at all. In the beginning I had some issues with the ADS (Aiming Down Sights) however once I tweaked the sensitivity it was perfect, the game went on great.

The game really conveys the whole Alone and claustrophobic feelings similar to games such as Dead Space and Fear. Graphically the game is awesome as with the audio it shows that both Playstation 3 and XBox 360 still has some staying power if the games are done right. It still shows that PS3 and XBox 360 are capable of producing beautiful games if they are done right.

With that said, it's now time for my experiences with the game after the first two hours, it honestly feels like someone else developed the game after those first two hours. What do I mean? I mean that I was on a mission to get a winch for my Rig once I got it I was sent on a mission to locate some Thermal Energy (T-Energy) pockets. I approached a cliff where I'm suppose to use the winch however the defined spot to use the winch is so finicky that if you aren't in this one millimeter spot it won't work and for me that's a major turn off.

After 15 minutes of getting the winch to work I continued on to the area where I was forced to give up, that spot is where I'm facing a huge Acrid in my Rig this boss I fought 3 prior times before getting in the Rig. The issue with this is at least to me the controls are so awful by this point it's impossible to continue on.

So as I said the game was fun over the first two hours but after this I couldn't continue it's sad because this game had so much going for it but once that mission with the winch started the game went downhill real fast. I hope if they make another LP game they fix the errors of this game.

A solid 5 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than I expected

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
As many professional reviews have indicated this game is more of a reboot than a sequel of the Lost Planet series.

It has much of the feel of prior Lost Planet games, but many changes too. In particular it is more of a story based game and has some of the feel of Dead Space 3. Some changes like T-Eng being currency instead of necessary for survival I liked. One of the most bizarre and negative changes in my opinion is the mech combat (it is a utility mech only so combat only allows melee and drilling....ie. no guns).

It is not a great game, but I ended up liking it the more I played. The game had potential, but lack of polish and fetch based errands has it not live up to its potential.

I should also warn it has serious frame rate issues and other technical glitches/bugs that detract at times.

Interestingly the multiplayer component is pretty good. It is a 3rd person cover based shooter, but actually plays pretty well. Also you have mech combat in the multiplayer.

Pros
=================
1) story is actually pretty good (you will like the guy)
2) multiplayer is better than expected

Cons
==================
1) bugs and frame rate issues
2) fetch quests get dull
3) horrible decision to take guns off of the mechs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Let's see...

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (HIALEAH, FL) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

I have a really weird feeling towards this game. I, personally, really enjoyed the first two Lost Planet games. They had a simple concept and were all around fun, in my opinion. This game is a solid title, but it's just not Lost Planet. Yea, the enemies and environments are similar, but the way the game felt in the previous titles isn't even close to how this game feels. I used to love the idea of being able to grapple onto anything in a tricky situation and move around with ease. I feel like they tried to give this game a Dead Space/Gears Of War vibe, and it didn't need it. All in all, I think it's a good game, but it sadly becomes more and more repetitive and it can become dull if you play too long in one sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor game design make this a time-waster

posted by xbows (OMAHA, NE) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

Aside from the lame and limited gameplay, the real point of frustration for me was the poor/limited thought given by the designers to making the game enjoyable and aggravation-free. Case in point: when you die fighting the first crab-creature (which you will), you are forced to sit through the minute-plus cinematic all over again. What idiot thought this was a good idea, as opposed to re-starting the battle right at the moment it begins? The same thing happens later when you encounter another crab-creature in a cavern. When you die (which you will) you're taken back to the entrance to the cavern where you have to walk for a full minute just to start the battle scene all over again. Idiotic! And frustrating!! Don't waste my time! It was at this point that I ejected the disc and mailed it back in.
Additionally, the HUD screen text is too small to read easily, even on my 70" screen, and is often impossible to read against the background, depending upon where you're standing. Aiming the weapons is frustratingly difficult. First-person is SOOO much easier for shooters.
Aside from all of these poor design elements, there is limited gameplay outside the main story line, making this a very unsatisfying game to play. Thumbs down, and whoever ultimately signed off on releasing this game without putting it through solid QA testing should be demoted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Earlier lost planets were better.

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2009

Same combat mechanics as earlier games which I like, but now there's way too much talking to people, walking around, and waiting for storyline stuff to play out. I much prefer just picking a level and jumping straight into the action from there. Movies are for watching, games are for playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

time waster

posted by Savage1 (NORTH HAMPTON, OH) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2008

this game was junk it plays like dead space or gears of war there is no free roaming there is no fun . a boring game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Starts off good! .....then...yeah...

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

For starters I have played all 3 Lost Planet games and was a HUGE fan of the original as the multiplayer was just plain fun. Unfortunately this game does live up to its negative reviews. I REALLY wanted to believe this game was better then people were saying but it simply is not.

PROS:

- Great visuals. One thing this game did well was capture that "hostile" and "zero degree" EDN 3. The games visuals made you feel like it was going to be a battle to survive and your base was the only positive thing you had.

- Decent gunplay. I did enjoy shooting Akrid on campaign more then I did on LP1 or LP2. The assault rifle and shotgun handle well and the grenade launcher does not disappoint.

- The main character feels like a main character. If your into story this will please you. Jim Peyton is a very relatable character and goes from trying to provide for his wife and kid to taking on a much bigger role.

CONS:

- Repetitive, repetitive, repetitive. Every mission is laid out the same to the point where its just absurd. It goes like this: Take rig to objective, kill akrid (either mob or boss), fix machine with rig. That gets very boring...very fast.

- Tight and confined map. I hate this to death. It seems even when you are out in the open on EDN3 you feel confined to a small area. the NEVEC base is also very tiny. Every where you go in the game its like a tight hallway. Very lame!!!

- Multiplayer is a HUGE step back. Pathetic compared to the last two games. No one is ever online and they took the old grappling hook out, no VS weapons, and no energy weapons. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE. This alone docks the games quality a ton.

Overall I just cant recommend this game to anyone. Even hardcore Lost Planet fans should skip this one. It just doesn't add anything to the series and in the end it feels boring and shallow.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »