Rent Lost Planet 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Lost Planet 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.0

302 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Reboot

posted by kanoeN (TORRANCE, CA) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's be honest--regardless of whether you were a fan of the first Lost Planet, LP2 was a pretty difficult game to like, and thus, it came as a surprise when Capcom announced they were making a sequel to this franchise.

This time around, expect more story than action, but the story is decent, even if it doesn't feel spectacularly original. Lots of time spent contemplating the cold in the mech, probably much more than actual fighting, was a bit of an isolating experience.

Overall, I'd say if you're into story-driven action and not an ADD gamer, it's worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall good but a couple issues

posted by gallagher2201 (SNOHOMISH, WA) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story, plot, game play and action were all pretty good. The one thing that threw the game off for me was the voice acting. The acting itself was fine except the microphones sounded like they were in the throats of the actors. I could hear the breathing and lip smacking. It was very distracting. Other than that the game gets a solid 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Story Lost Me - contains some spoilers

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 7, 2014

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I thought Lost Planet 3 started out fantastic. A very compelling plot of a guy coming to a dangerous place to do a dangerous job to help his family. And the first few missions were great: learning the ropes and your surroundings and getting to know the people on the station and fighting off monsters and storms and destruction.

Then a few hours in, the whole script is flipped and you leave the base to go to a town of freedom fighters. Apparently, you were working for the evil company and now, to progress, the game compels you to work for these new guys. I really wish the game offered you the choice of who to work for. These freedom fighters complain that they are oppressed by the evil company but they seem to be living quite securely while the evil company base was inches from destruction last time you were there.

Anyway, the story lost me. I just didn't care about doing missions for this new group of jerks. it went against the whole premise of the main character doing a JOB to support his family.

The gameplay was great, but the monsters were really tough and retreading through the same areas and killing the same tough monsters over and over got to be a chore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What could have been

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) May 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2005

It's a sad occasion when you come across a game that displays greatness in so much of what it does and then a real let down when you come across the flaws that keep it from excelling. This is without a doubt Lost Planet 3. It irks me when developers are either too lazy, underpaid or just simply rush to market to get a game out leaving it unfinished. LP3 has beautiful graphics, a wonderful story, great dialogue (see Gale in the basement workshop) and has a nice even pace between action and exploration.

However, where it gets bad is the atrocious nav point system. I mean why is it that all optional missions do not show a nav point when trying to get to your objective? Was my particular game broken? The main missions are easy to follow but side missions are a "your guess is as good as mine" experience. In short, you get lost a lot with no sure indication as to where to go and no help along the way. I only completed a few of the side missions because of this and I really wanted to play all of them to get the complete experience.

Secondly, and maybe this somehow was my system or disc (although I cant see how since we are all playing the same game on the same system) but why does the audio in almost every cutscene sound distorted. I almost wanted to stop playing the game just because of the in game cinematics. What a shame. I couldn't even enjoy the story because of this unforgivable garbage.

Anyway, I won't ramble on but please do give it a rent before you buy. I would love to have purchased this game but some things are inexcusable and I just cant recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was ok

posted by someguy098 (CHESTERFIELD, VA) May 12, 2014

Member since May 2014

I thought it was going to be really good but no. It was horrible compared to LP2. It was a so so game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game the best

posted by kdog2 (OMAK, WA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

loved it the story line it was great the graphics were great i give it a big thub's up !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game play is horrible

posted by Jason9651 (NEBRASKA CITY, NE) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I played this game and it was horrible. The graphics ok not great by any means. But the game play is horrible. I enjoyed the first two earlier games but this one was a huge let down. I would not play it again. Not a game I would buy either. Very disappointed in the game. The review for this game is by far way to high at the most a rating of 4 would be the highest and that's being generous. I would not recommend this game to anyone. Save your time and money and choose another game. Hope this is helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not a bad game

posted by frostmare (INTERLAKEN, NY) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

the game was respectable for what it was. it was just a tad limited of what you could do. the storyline was played for it part. the only things that where lacking was a verity of monsters. felt a bit crowded with the same monsters in most areas. had no problems with controls for the most part.

the good part that if you like fighting in a robot with some action sequences with bosses then this game has. it limited but good. either way should try this out. you don't know until you try it.

I gave it a 6 for a fair review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Got Tired of It

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Nov 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

Hello, I was reluctant to rent the third installment, because I never finished the 1st version. The same thing happened here for me, I got stuck fighting one of the big creatures and I just could not get past it, and mind you I was playing all along on easy mode. I had almost stopped two or three times before the last time I got stuck on this version ( Lost Planet 3 ) but I suddenly got thru the spot. This last time I said enough, the story is really the only reason I kept trying to finish, it got interesting after Mira came into the game. However I did like Lost Planet 2, the second installment and reason I gave Lost Planet 3 a try, but Lost Planet 2 is completely different from the other two, you fight enemy soldiers more than creatures and is a fast moving shooter game which I did finish and found to be better than the reviews stated or scored. Love ya still anyway Game-Fly and Thanks like always, Billy in Samson See Ya!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LOST PLANET

posted by BNG2RSM (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 17, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

DONT BOTHER RENTING, overall rating is maybe 3.5.
Terrible mechanics seems like some amateur dude design this game. Worst game I ever played !

They are truly lost this time too bad... :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sloww could have been a 7!

posted by Raskal2048 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The game is ok but the load time every time you go to a different area is a joke. It takes way to long that and a few other little things i would not rent it from hre for the fact that you'll wait a week for it and be SAD lol because you'll most likely sent it right back and have to wait another week for a game lol...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I actually liked the style and game as a whole better than the first two. If I were to rank all 3 games I would say this and the first one pretty close to a tie for first with the second one being last.

Pros:
--Characters and voice acting pretty good. Jim was an all around likable character
--the rig was cool, especially with all its upgrades
--the rig soundtrack was a good addition
--fast travel
--good selection of weapon choices

Cons:
--while the rig was cool, there could have been so much more done with it
--while at this point in time chronologically VS suits weren't created yet it still would have been cool to have them
--rig soundtrack, while a nice addition, was "temporarily disabled" way too much
--repetitive side missions (t-eng posts)
--not enough side missions

All around I liked it. Liked it much better than the second game and in my opinion was equal or perhaps a little better than the first. I just like the style. Was not a big fan of the style the first two were.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great reinstallment!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

Capcom's reinstallment of Lost Planet is set to appeal the western culture(Americans) of gamers... It does a great job implementing a broader storyline and creative gameplay. Giving the gamer the cinematic experience US gamers are accustomed to.
This time around it has a more of a deadspace feel in gameplay but Multiplayer feels more like the original conception of the game but a step back.

You assume the role of Jim Peyton.

In a distant future of humanity... Resources and renewable energy are scarce and in order for humanity to survive a renewable energy is sought-out. Energy known as Thermal Energy is found on planet E.D.N. III .
Jim is a pilot of a robotic construction rig and sets off into the frigid and extreme environment. Braving the planet and keeping the Base furnished with thermal energy... Jim finds a trail that shows that his contractor, NEVEC has a hidden agenda.

The game really had a Deadspace feeling, but without the zombie astronauts... The level design was very well refined and a great amount of detail was placed into the environment. The RIG you control periodically is hardly ever used -- You are limited to small levels and it made the rig pretty useless.
The multiplayer is a step back from Lost Planet 2... In the last installment, they had many vehicles and fairly large maps... In this version you have constant tight corridors and they do not give you real choice of vehicles.

I still enjoyed the game... The single player had a Borderlands feel also--besides containing many loading screens--you do get the feeling of being on a empty, vast planet that contains no life.
I hope they continue Lost Planet on the next generation consoles. If the game had no loading screens and was far more open to explore, it would have been perfect. Maybe bring back the complex of Lost planet2 Multiplayer also.. The multiplayer now seems VERY dull with lack of option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »