Rent Lost Planet 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Lost Planet 2

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

3612 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised

posted by Shadow0Syn (RADFORD, VA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

At first i was letting the bad reviews turn me away from this game but i was a fan of the first game so i gave it a shot. And im so glad that i did. It was a little slow at first but i was hooked after my first time playing it. It was a fun game with alot of great graphics and cutscenes. The only complaint i have with it is its online play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sometimes IGN Is Wrong

posted by JayWill (NEDERLAND, TX) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I picked this up at a friend's request. Me and a couple of my friends like playing co-op games. Well, I wasn't so anxious to get this title after seeing the reviews for it on Gamespot and IGN, but that's why we gamefly, right? For co-op, the game is a blast. Its an arcade style run and gun. You don't have to go back to "town" to level up, or upgrade stuff. You pick up guns and shoot bugs and people. Its actually a blast. What I think happened with the reviews is not that IGN and Gamespot were wrong in their reviews, but instead, the developer fixed the issues they complained about after the reviews. Admittedly, there are several parts where you are wondering what you're supposed to be doing, but you figure them out. If you like to co-op with friends, pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as the critics (or you guys) say

posted by KillaKAM40 (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) May 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

30 out of 36 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Like most of you I read the review before I got the game and went in thinking the game was going to be some garbage. But after the first hour or so, the game got me hooked. I can't turn my PS3 off. I love the weapons, the enemies, and the multiplayer (campaign and VS). Yeah the game cheats by knocking you to your death over and over again but to me that says I need to take that into account when strategizing how to attack certain levels. I think a lot of guys quit way too early on this game because of the bad reviews and didn't allow themselves the chance to even like the game. I hated the first lost planet, so it took a lot for me to give this one a good grade and so far so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starship Troopers

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Well I never played the first game but this one was pretty fun. Controls were good and the graphics as well. The gameplay was what I enjoyed the most. It was like playing the movie starship troopers, one of my favs! There were a few times in teh game where it wouldnt give any hint as to how to kill the boss enemies but not to hard to figure it out. Just pick up the biggest gun around, point and shoot. Only downside was that I didnt really like the online play that much. Just wasnt as fun as fighting the hordes of strange monsters on the planet. All in all if you like fighting HUGE worms and shooting everything that moves then give this one a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Uhh this game rocks.....

posted by dafeed (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I have no idea why people rate this game so low... It's awesome. If you keep dying over and over, lower the difficulty or get better haha (: I have it on easy (cause I'm a wuss) and it's been one heck of a ride. The bosses are ridiculously huge and fun to fight. To be honest in my opinion, this ranks up there with gears of war. Gears still has it beat out but it's a close match. I can't express how cool it is to fight an enemy that is like 500 feet tall... Dang epic... Anyways, I think it's messed up they got screwed over on this review because it's a lot better game then people are giving it credit for. What's even more messed up is they are probably losing a lot of money in sales because of these fools that gave it a bad review... Sad day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lost Planet 2

posted by antonio200 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Lets start at this It is Amazing! Its Sports Buetiful Visuals Epic Bosses And Cool Levels It is Bad though that the Controls are Not up to Snuff they are reliable tho To get you out of the Worst Mess The Multiplayer For Lost Planet 2 Is Mostly The same as the first Just a new Coat Of Paint On it with more Features and Stuff, The campaign Is Alot Of fun But No checkpoints but they are replaced by The control Points The Saving Grace Of this Game is The Co-op Play It is Arguably The Best Co op experience on any system The Exclusive well i Cant talk about them but they are really cool.
So my final Verdict Of Lost PLanet 2 is A 9.1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent game with flaws

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Summary
=================
This is a good game with some serious flaws.

Pros
===============
1) great graphics
2) huge akrid
3) co-op gameplay (even split screen)
4) decent multiplayer

Cons
===============
1) framerate issues
2) move like you weigh 500 pounds (just like 1st one)
3) grappling hook sucks (why can't you use it while falling????)
4) the size of the split screens is way too tiny (no good reason)
5) story....what story?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rating a 6? The game deserves better then that.

posted by Twizzler (NASHVILLE, TN) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok so i read about the game and thought it was going to be complete bull. But I remembered the demo being so awesome and fun, I remember thinking "if only I could play with other people." Well That's basically all you can do. I mean yes you can play it offline. But they really incorporate that multiplayer into it. Which is great. They also have matches instead of JUST coop. Me and my friend had a great night just sitting back chilling and beating some baddies on offline cooperative, just me and him and three computers that could never keep up with us and usually instantly died. The game isn't "amazing" or anything. But it is different. But a good different. A different I've been waiting for for a while now. I don't see how this game received a 6 from anyone, but they were clearly under the effects of something. The game deserves, at the very least, a rate of 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Co-op game in a long time.

posted by Dueldar (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am always looking for co-op type games to play with my spouse and am mostly disappointed. LP2, however, is awesome. It provides excellent multi-player integration that is really cool. We play it on a 60" tv, and the split screen for each player works well. Four thumbs up for LP2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOST PLANET 2...WOW!!

posted by penguin52 (DOUBLE SPRINGS, AL) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all the game is great,the guns have some major kick.The areas you go in are awsome.The enemies you face are really cool.All around it is an awsome game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game.

posted by Neoncrisis (FREMONT, CA) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

FIRST OFF (Mini-Rant): I give it an 8 because i'm not "professional" like that other guy, I don't think anyone cares to read what you have to say, not griefing... you're just randomly insulting people and assuming you're higher than anyone else.

ANYWAYS - Good Game, Excellent Graphics, Partially Long/Frustrating at points, and not saying this is entirely bad but... I found no replay value in this game.

Worth a rent, if you've got a day or two off at some point you could probably beat this in that time easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh

posted by NiteZero (CHINO, CA) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Theres is little story to only one thats intersting is the nevec one the others are about getting t-eng and stealing stuff.
Controls are simple you'll get used to them the only ones you will have problems with are with certain VS. moves.
Online Campaign Co-Op is where you will want to spend most of your time doing it by yourself is an option but the AI will not help you at all they'll shoot here and there but most of the time there either dead or shooting at an enemy that is on the other side of the map.
The competative multiplayer is decent but so many people use the VS. that you'll get frustrated and it will get old fast.
The character customisation is fun playing the slot machine trying to get what you want is good.
Overall if you get this game be sure that when you play with people that they have a mic cause "Communication is Key"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun And Different

posted by Charles102 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

20 out of 37 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Awsome game with lovely graphics. Requires team work....I honestly dont know what IGN and the other lame reviewer where thinking giving this game low rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Visuals HORRIBLE gameplay

posted by RobXIIX (WRIGHT CITY, MO) May 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

16 out of 30 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

First off the game looks great. The graphics are what you expect and when you transfer from the ice to the jungle for the first time the cut-scene is beautiful. The game play leaves lots to be desired though. It seems to me that it was designed to only be played co-op and that the solo game play came as a second thought. I haven't played online and have only played the "campaign" mode but what I have played is just more of the same. Shoot random enemies till they die. Boss fight with bright orange "weak spots" rinse and repeat. Way to phone it in and capitalize on the success of the first game guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game is an online only co-op game

posted by marjval (COMMERCE, CA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

let me start off by saying if you were thrilled hearing that lost planet 2 had splitscreen co-op then i hav some very bad news to you. The game is near impossible to beat on splitscreen. When you play the campagin alone you hav 3 AIs helping you through the story which helps since when ever your shot you cant shoot back what so ever. Anyways i got this knowing it had splitscreen co-op and just enjoy playing with a buddy on the same couch. So going back to the splitscreen co-op once you start you notice that you hav 2 Ais helping you in the beginning of the game but once your done with that little intro theres just you and your buddy sitting next to u, on top of that the screen is small like tiny. Ok let me give you a little hint how small it is if you think the splitscreen co-op on resident evil 5 is small than this games splitscreen is tiny! radar isnt even on your screen its to the right of it which the background is nothing but a big pitch black screen. Game is a must play online co-op its way better than splitscreen. I'm sadden by the fact that splitscreen seems to be obsolite in ps3 games. Just few games hav it. Lost Planet 2 is a fun game to just mess around with friends online. Story doesnt seemed to matter at all just shoot up anything that attacks you whether its human or creature. The gameplay is kinda repetitive thats y u need friends to play it so jokes and conversations can be held while dealing with this repetitive gameplay. Activate this station get a map of your location and enemies.... go to then next station do the same fight some machines.... maybe protect some station.... then back to finding a station... drags on and on if you think like that lol. Multiplayer is insane cant play it what so ever i see people at the max level throwing these massive grenade type objects at me and thats instant death for me lol. it heat seeks too so no its not bcuz i cant dodge or roll out of the way. Overall its about a 6.8 for me just below average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything a Sequel Should Be

posted by FiveDollar (ANN ARBOR, MI) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought a used copy of Lost Planet about a year ago and finished it up in a couple weeks. I thought it was awesome, and around that same time was when news about a sequel was getting released. I was not zealously looking forward to its release, but I was on the lookout for what it had to offer.

GameFly sent me a copy on the day it came out and I had finished it within four days of receiving it. Almost everything is an improvement upon the original with a lot more added in. One of the weaknesses the first had was lack of weapon variety and originality. In subsequent releases (Extreme Condition, etc.) they helped fix that by adding in more weapons and other stuff, but Lost Planet 2 comes chock full of weapons, grenades, VSs (mechs), and unlockables. Lost Planet had multiplayer, but the sequel adds in a campaign built from the ground up for 4-player coop and a more robust multiplayer system with unlocks, achievements and whatnot.

What might put some people off is that Lost Planet 2 is basically paced like a Japanese arcade game. The 5 or 6 episodes are divided into several chapters which are divided into areas. This really divides the action up, to make it feel like the old-school concept of 'levels'. Upon completion, each area gives the player a grade based on their performance. The higher the grade, the more points you get to spend on new gear. So effectively you are simultaneously competing and cooperating with your teammates to finish the chapter, kinda like Gauntlet or many other multiplayer arcade games. It is different from what most other games are trying, but I thought it was a lot of fun and unique.

The interesting thing about the points and unlockables is that it works like a slot-machine, so that everyone's gear is randomized. For every 2,000 credits, you can pull the lever once. You can unlock anything from weapons, to new abilities, to new body parts/clothing, emotes, titles for your character and more.

LP2 is fun and tries to be diff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by bestolb570 (SPRING VALLEY, CA) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great... Army of Two but better... The sound effects of the guns are amazing, the story line is great. Multi play is great.

GOOD JOB!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by Peyton987 (HAZEL CREST, IL) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

hi my mom got me acocunt and im only 10 but i think its good and its about to end hope i get a deal or u guys ship it free and i will make my own company 1 day all ready started thank u gamefly and happy cristmas to all u guys and happy thank giving hope u guys have a good time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lost Planet 2. Excellent game.

posted by reddlyon (UDALL, KS) Oct 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me get the bad things out of the way first. In campain, checkpoints for a restart are few and far between, making me have to redo some missions three times over before i can get enough time to finish up the chapter (while i enjoyed it every time, i really wanted to find out how it ended). Switching weapons while moving still an impossibility, though this hardly matters. The rest of the game, however, has absolutly stunning enviorments and characters that i sometimes get so immersed, other distractions mean nothing. The one trick pony that was the first Lost Planet has given way to vastly different enviorments such as the jungle and dessert, with new and imposing creatures at every turn. For those who have played the first game, you will be happy to note that the harmonizer is now able to be easily controlled by the player instead of the long wait before you can jump back into the fray. Multiplayer shines as well as you can take them into the campain, or any other match versions the company has designed. I give this game a nine out of ten, it was so close to perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST!

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game and played it right away. I had very little hopes when I rented it.I was way wrong, I obessivly played it, hooked up my online, and dominated lost planet 2. It was the best gaming experience with the realistic fighting and monster killing. The Akrid have improved 10 fold, and the graphics are great. Everyone should rent and buy :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No idea what the critics were playing

posted by Loki42 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Both LP and LP2 reviews constantly complained about the annoying knockdown effects and cheap deaths they caused as one of the major complaints of the game. After playing both LP1 and 2 back to back, I have no idea what they were talking about. I think I got chain-knocked down once in each game, usually when trying to take on a VS while on foot.
LP2 is a great improvement over LP1 and a good, solid 3rd person shooter. Sure, the AI companions are dumb, but they're no dumber than most enemy AI, and you're not penalized for having dumb companions.
Definitely try this one for yourself, don't take the reviews as gospel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it was ok

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am really disappointed in this game but at the same time impressed i cant really tell you how i feel about this game but you will need to play it your self to find out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very nice.

posted by redriot (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the type of game that either gets high ratings by people who know what games are about or low ratings by people who don't like good dirty fun.

this game has an awesome story, you find your self lost in action always being sent to do somthing small and almost dying by somthing huge.

The graphics are real good but in the jungle its nearly impossible to see but challenges are fun.

Playing the game though diffrent perspectives is good and bad you get diffrent settings but you don't stay withh one person through the hole story.

I loved this game but every one is diffrent. if rent it i hope you have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lost Planet is lost in epicness!!!!!

posted by PanzerDuty (HAYWARD, CA) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The solid futuristic gunplay system accompanies the many useable mechs known as "VS"s in this perfect shooter. Im a fan of big-time franchises such as Naughty Dog, so this was even more appealing to me since it was produced by Capcom. The only possible flaw is its extremely long and hard campaign. Buy it or suffer from a lack of epicness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

lost planet 2

posted by private77 (ONEIDA, TN) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like fairly good campaigns then this is a good rental. Has some cool backdrops and big bosses to fight. The scenery in some places is great. Not hard at all to beat the game. The few negatives I discovered was the the story line is hard to follow at first, but not playing the first game could be a contributing factor to that. Also there are a few parts that are lagy (is that a word?) probably because there is so much action on the bigger battlefields. Did not play multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse