Rent Lost Odyssey for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lost Odyssey

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

9202 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What Version Did the Critics Play?!

posted by n1ghtwolf (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

154 out of 169 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

First off, do not listen to any of the reviews out there from the major sites. I believe either they got an old copy of the game because they complain about the long load times... There are load times but not as bad as they make them sound. They say this game takes over old already has been stuff.... Because this isn't the next Final Fantasy? If your like me and loved Final Fantasy you have been waiting for this style rpg to finally reach the xbox 360 and knock it out and this game does just that.

The story line is right up to pair of that of mass effect, maybe even more immersing. This game will definitely take you longer than Mass effect though. The videos in this game are awesome and beat any game to date. Which is why this game takes 4 disc, its hard to put hours and hours of Hi-Def video on regular dvd.

Only issues I have had with this game, and I have put in 50 hours now into is the game to me isn't that challenging. Many people say the bosses are too hard, I beg to differ, but it all comes down to your experience with rpgs. The other that can get annoying is the sudden drop in frame rates, even every time before a battle.

Other than those slight issues this game is great and you'll love it, I definitely recommend this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great RPG for the 360

posted by klw8189 (SPRINGDALE, PA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

81 out of 91 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. The graphics and music were beautiful. The story made me teary-eyed. All in all it was probably one of the best RPGs I've played in a long time.

I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good RPG for the 360. Also, Final Fantasy fans.

Although, I feel this is more for the 'hardcore' RPG fan. It is a little challenging and does require a bit of strategy for some of the boss fights and puzzles...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play for the RPG fan

posted by Wolfslayer (OVIEDO, FL) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

96 out of 109 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Trust me on this, if you've played the Final Fantasy RPG games and loved them, you'll love this.

I have to say i haven't played a decent RPG game since FF12, but this is just gold. Amazing story, incredible graphics, super cinematic gameplay which is very smooth and cool to watch. It's just a very addicting game. So hey, remember, this is Gamefly, check it out, see if you like it(guaranteed you will) and hey maybe you'll even keep it(I know i will!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

.. and a high 9 at that.

posted by Karasu88 (Denver, CO) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lost Odyssey has a solid story line - definitely one of the more original ones I have seen recently, and it flowed pretty well.

The Bad:
The combat system had a steep learning curve when trying to figure out how to make the ring system work for your advantage.. it was a little too steep and it took me about half the game to get the hang of it. The only other issue I had was that magic was kind of moot until you got abilities to hasten spell casting... and even then, meh. Why cast something that'll take 2 rounds (or longer by the end of the game) for something that won't do as much damage as casting one thing every round? And that's IF you don't get hit.

The Good:
Pretty much everything else. Stunning visuals and all that everyday stuff, but a respectable soundtrack (take a look at who wrote the score and, well, yeah of course it's good!) and finally characters that I could get behind. Even one who I absolutely hated at the beginning I really liked by the end... There was really only one character I didn't care for much but even then he was handy to have around.

Overall:
This is going to be a love or hate thing. You are going to get bogged down with the simple "Fight" mechanics and get frustrated with the way the story is being told, or you're going to get over the learning curve and embrace the game for what it can be -- that one-off work of art.

An overall 9.5 on it - and I'd expect a sequel coming. Definitely worth playing, and its age gives it a good buy price too. Replay should be good for at least a couple play throughs... It'll be the second game I get all the achievements on I expect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by mikesloan91 (LUDINGTON, MI) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game ever its story is so great its intense epic and moving but it's so hard to beat it takes a lot of time and pacients to beat this game the bosses on disc 3 and 4 are so hard to beat so take ur time and level up as much as u can. Because if u mess up u may have to start over until u get it right. And this game is not like final fantasy so don't think it is if ur looking for tht kind of game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game people are just too spoiled

posted by setsuna (NEW YORK, NY) May 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. Don't listen to those people who gave the weak ratings. They don't do the game justice. First off the story line is ultimate, I mean it will never stop grabbing your attention. You'll always want to see where things go no matter what. The graphics are also amazing. This is why there are four discs. The voice acting could of been better, but hey everything is bad in english. It's not horrible but they could of made kaim more lively. What people have been complaining about is the combat system. They want to be able to customize their characters into the cheapest little warriors and they think that the turn based old fashioned gameplay isn't good enough now. Only true rpg fans can appreciate the classic stlye of gameplay. And seriously how many of us have sat and actually customized our weapons for the whole game. Usually we only customize weapons so that we can beat some annoying boss. All in all it's a great game
graphics-11/10
story- I can't even rate how good it is
voice acting- 7/10 It's not perfect but the voices really do match the characters
battle system-10/10 It's bringing back good memories. Sometimes simple is better not to mention the ring bonus which does add a little piece of diffuculty to battle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good game

posted by LittleSis (WASECA, MN) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first I was a little disappointed in the game because of how you can't choose what you want to say to people, like in Fallout 3 or Mass Effect, but it does have a very good story.

The dreams add a lot of substance to the story line. And like another user said, these dreams can make you tear up. lol.

It is sometimes frustrating when you go against a boss and are not leveled up enough or having to backtrack because you brought the wrong bombs along. I would advise buying a strategy guide because there are a few frustrating times where i had to jump online to answer a question that i never would have figured out myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow... a must rent for all true rpg fans

posted by zilla314 (SAINTE GENEVIEVE, MO) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you want an amazing story that keeps you hooked keeps you wanting more this is the game for you in my opinion it blows away final fantasy the graphics are superb but becareful the enemy thats a giant worm on the electric plant in this game is tough took me 30 trys but the feeling of finally beating it was so amazing and felt so good i got so hooked on the story do urself a favor please at least give this game a shot its 4 discs long if u buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oustanding Game

posted by BlackShado (POWELL, OH) Oct 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game proves that turn based RPG's Still works.

Pros:
Everything, Graphics, Gameplay, Cutscenes, Story. Just a flat out great game.

Cons:
Only thing I can think of that makes this game not get a 10 is the Dream memories sequences. You don't have to view them when they come up. However its some pretty heavy reading.

Overall:

Great game, if you dont like turn based RPG's then this isnt for you. If you love the classic Final Fantasys this game will keep you enthralled for 50+ hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best RPG on Xbox360 I've Played So Far

posted by kev2w2x1 (ROYSE CITY, TX) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played Star Ocean and The Last Remnant, but I think that this game is better than both of those. If you like Final Fantasy 7, X, etc... then you will like this game. It uses a classic menu system that we all know and trust. The maps are set up with little nooks and hard to see places with confusing one way areas. However, it still uses a basic 2D layout with a mini map to keep things from becoming too complicated. The best thing about this game is the skill system. Characters can learn skills from items and from other characters. There are a ton of skills overall that all of your 4 main characters can learn if you just have the patience. It has side quests galore too. So to summarize, I thought this game was very similar to Final Fantasy 7, but way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic RPG on a Next-Gen System

posted by Drkshdw248 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lost Odyssey is your classic turn-based RPG with next-gen graphics. It brings nothing new to the RPG genre, just minor tweaks to the melee fighting system in the form of the Ring System and the Skill Link with the immortals and mortals. That being said, if you are looking for a good RPG, like Final Fantasy, then look no further. Great story, gorgeous graphics, and beautiful music, its no wonder that it is produced by the creator of the FF series. An intriguing addition to the game's story is the dreams that the main character, Kaim the immortal, recovers throughout the story. Told through text with perfectly precised musical cues, the Dreams reveal memories locked deep within Kaim's heart. Many of these stories are very well written, some with tearjerker endings, others, thankfully, with happier endings. If you are looking for a good, classic RPG on a next-gen system, then I would highly recommend Lost Odyssey, however, don't except anything terribly ground breaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My First Turn-Based RPG, and I Loved it!

posted by Yankees156 (LOWELL, MA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying this is the first turn-based role playing game I have played on any console.

With that said let me begin by saying how much I enjoyed this game. It was long, but not too long where it got dry and boring, with a great story. I felt connected to each character in a different way because of each important role they played in the game. I'm a big fan of good stories in a game, which is lacking in most games over the past few years. This game has romance, back stabbing, exciting moments, suspenseful moments.

The turn-based combat system was one that kept you engaged the whole time. You always felt in control every battle. The boss battles are tough and a great challenge. The strategy used in each battle greatly will effect the outcome. One problem I had with the game was how often you got put into battle. It seems like you can't walk 10 steps before another battle comes up, forcing you to beat them, move on, then battle again soon. It got annoying, buy yet I had to do it in order to level up. It got to the point where I was fleeing every battle to avoid them. Just got a little annoying. Other than that little annoyance, the combat system is great.

Breakdown:

Positive things about the game:
- Great story
- Long game
- Good combat system
- Challenging boss battles
- Great cut scenes

Negative things about the game
- Combat seemed to often at times/repetitive
- Some parts are very frustrating, seeming impossible
- No replay value

Overall this game is great and definitily worth a rent, but I would not suggest buying it as once you play through it once I wouldn't think you would want to play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Japanese RPG

posted by JadeChaos (PALMYRA, VA) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story line is tremendous and memories which are mini stories are some of the best I've encountered. Good spells and great mix of characters. I felt this was a very original game however I haven't been able to play many Japanese RPGs since I only have an Xbox 360. If you hate to read you'll miss out the stories but still a good game if you do not count those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Strong good game - a must play

posted by cfdude (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What I liked about Lost Odyssey was that it had a good story to keep you involved, it lead you through the training so you could master what you needed to do. There is a lot to the entire strength and skill of the characters that needs tending to like setting skills, setting things to learn, swapping out enhancements that build other strengths. The graphics, gameplay & sound are quite awesome and enjoyable.

What didn't make this a stronger game to me is that the battle system gets boring. It never changes. You fight one or more people of rough equal strength to you, you fight some kind of sub-boss, or you fight some kind of main boss. In all these situations it all happens the exact same way, you're running around and then randomly the battle will pop into place. That may not be a bad thing for a shorter game, but if you're going to invest 90 hours, do the sub-missions, find treasures, etc - then it gets boring.

I would still recommend anyone to play this because it's a beautiful game with good solid gameplay & story. You'll be glad you played it but at the end glad it's over too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Old School RPG

posted by R3negade (FAIRFIELD, CT) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a fan of the older, somewhat slower turn based RPG's you'll love this game...

PROS:
The "acting" of the characters is top notch and very believable...so much so that the heartfelt moments in the story actually get to you. The graphics are great, and the enemy characters are well designed and unique. The mysteriousness of the characters and the connections between them all in the first half of the game is excellent. "Dream" stories that you pick up throughout the game are some of the most emotional short stories you will ever read!

CONS:
The story does turn somewhat into the typical RPG type, but don't let that stop you. The last boss was way too easy, but making it up to it and beating it is worth is because the finale is a nice one. Even though there are 9 characters to play as, only half of them are truly good at combat.

Rent the game...its well worth its 60 hour run and your time, especially if you've been hankering for a great JRPG!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For those who play games to be riveted

posted by AeonFTF (EVERETT, WA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After playing Lost Odyssey, Mistwalker's latest installment, I must admit that I was caught off guard. As far as Japanese RPG's are concerned, not a lot is new here, in fact, it is so far from new that I couldn't help from feeling how I did playing Final Fantasy X, which is to me the best of it's kind.

I don't want to get into details about the story or the characters, but be prepared to be fully imersed into a game with an epic scope. You will come across "Dreams" throughout the story, I highly recommend reading all of them, as they are an amazing text backplot, with a lot of emotion.

I found myself not able to put this game down after I began it, and it just seemed to keep going and going. Any fan of JRPG's can appreciate that factor, as that is what they are supposed to do isn't it?

I highly recommend this masterpiece. It will certainly be worth your 50+ hours of gametime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolute Magic

posted by ByakuyaSix (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are few games that have quite the impact on me as Lost Odyssey has had. I have not even finished the game; I am savoring every last drop of the 50-some hours of play this game has to offer; but nonetheless the game takes everything that has made Final Fantasy such an extremely successful franchise, takes some risks with some elements of the traditional JRPG that paid off spectacularly, and have made this a top-shelf RPG, the best the XBox 360 has seen since Mass Effect, and perhaps the best we will see until Too Human releases in August.

I cannot praise this game enough: everything is tops for quality and production values. The characters are the main selling point of the game. Each one of them shines brilliantly, and the relationships they forge and the trials they endure together will have you feeling for these guys from start to finish. All of them are voiced by a stellar veteran cast and the few lackluster performances are minor and almost unnoticeable unless you're picky about such things as I am. Graphically, the game is breathtaking to behold. Odyssey pulls every last drop of the 360's graphical power and brings it to bear in a shockingly attractive presentation.

Story is another ingredient that this game can take much pride in. It is easily the best-told tale I've ever seen outside of an epic novel, and it's told with all the grace and panache you'd expect from RPG legend Hironobu Sakaguchi.

Gameplay is the game's "weakest" point, and even it is stellar, if a bit too familiar to anyone who's played a Final Fantasy or Shadow Hearts installment. A lot of the things that make those series accessible are in this game, almost to the point of being derivative.

This is probably the last top-dollar turn-based RPG we will ever see, and although Odyssey sometimes seems to try too hard to pay homage to the classics of the past, enjoy the nostalgic trip: it's one worth taking, savoring, and (like me) perhaps even shedding a tear over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

JRPG fans rejoice!

posted by blazingit (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those that have been waiting for a good JRPG on the Xbox 360, you've got it. The story was solid storyline by Hironobu Sakaguchi, which we should've expected from the father of Final Fantasy. I played with Japanese voice acting some I cannot comment on the English voice acting. But the Japanese voice acting was excellent. The voices given by the Japanese voice actors really give these characters life. The musical score was absolutely excellent in this game. The score was written by none other then Nobuo Uematsu.

I also thought the way they displayed the cinematics were excellent. I loved how a box popped up with a close up of a character talking. On to the gameplay, it's your typical turn based gameplay. I've read reviews knocking the game for it, saying how its boring and not innovative as Mass Effect (btw Mass Effect's gameplay is pretty much similar to KoTOR, not much innovating there except inserting the Unreal Engine 3). I personally like the gameplay the way it is and feel that turn base doesn't need innovating just yet (maybe a little improvement here and there), and not just because we've got these next-gen consoles. But if turn base does really need innovating, Final Fantasy have been innovating their turn base battle systems for the past few FFs, maybe more RPGs should "do something similar."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Diamond in the Rough

posted by Moodath (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying this game is INSANELY long. If all the cinematics in this game were made into a movie you'd need 2 days worth of popcorn and movie tickets to see it all.

Gameplay - The only thing 'new' that Lost Odyssey brings to the RPG styled combat system is the introduction of the ring attack/assembly system. It's fun (or a chore, however you want it to be) to craft rings and during combat the right trigger serves as your bonus attacker, get a perfect ring alignment and the bonus on the ring your wearing will effect the enemy. Besides this system the bosses are vast, creative and are a balancing challenge with a few exceptions...get ready to get stuck on a few bosses if you didn't level a certain character...sometimes you might even have to go back to a previous save point.

8/10

Audio - Just what I expected from Mistwalker, the score is brilliant and adds alot of depth to the environment and alot of feel to the battles. 10/10

Presentation - All the menus are easy to access and the learning curve isn't that bad meaning people new to RPGs can jump right in. The graphics are average for the 360 and the Cinematics are long and very well done. 9/10

Story - This is the big one, Lost Odyssey will go down as one of the most intriguing stories on the 360, while the main plot sounds alot like other games once you actually get into the story things start to change. In addition theres 31 different stories in the form of dreams that are very well written and will have you looking forward to the next one. 10/10

Replay Value - After your done with this game you'll want to preserve it...while you most likely won't immediately want to play it again you will in a few years.

Overall - This is the best classic rpg on the 360...at 30 hours of gameplay and 30-40 hours of cinematics it will more then quench your thirst for a good story, but for people looking for new gameplay this might not be your treasure.

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Classic RPG style for the next gen!

posted by dolbypro (Minneapolis, MN) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love the turn based style combat of classic RPG's, you must play this game. Remember the phenomenal cut scenes of the final fantasy games on playstation 2? Well lost odyssey is like that throughout the entire game. From the time you start up the first disc, you will become completely immersed in this deep game. great story, great graphics, great game play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

High hopes were not disappointed.

posted by jkoz86 (AMSTERDAM, NY) Mar 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I saw a few commercials for this game and thought it looked like an awesome RPG. For the first time in a very long time, I was not disappointed.
I love the old Final Fantasy style combat system and I'm extremely happy with it being used. While the replay value may not be up to par with the Final Fantasy series, its storyline more than makes up it.
Constant load times may be a bit annoying, but nothing at all once everything starts rolling.
Nothing confusing about the leveling up and it didn't take long at all to get used to ring assembly or skill linking. A definite must-buy for any RPG fan out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally a great turn based RPG for the 360

posted by Battery (OWOSSO, MI) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like I said in the title a truly great turn based RPG. Unlike Blue Dragon this one is for the big boys(or girls).With some great adult humor and eye candy that keeps you going during some otherwise run of the mill RPG storyline build up.

The graphics are just what you would expect, very good. The cut scenes are phenomenal and the back grounds are smooth and visible. Charter design is the high point of the graphics design. With a great attention to detail, you can even see the accessories you equip on your character. The lady's outfits are a little over the top, but you've gotta love those boots!(if you catch my drift wink wink)

Now lets get down to the meat n potatoes of any RPG, the storyline and game play. Combat is simple turn based combat with a trigger system the increases the effectiveness of normally physical attacks. All the basic magic is there and even some composite magic that combines multiple spells into one. You cane also change accessories on the fly, this comes in handy later on in the game when things get tough.

The story line has gotta be on of the biggest and detailed in recent memory. Not only does the game deliver close to 50 hours, more if you do all the side quests, there is back story that you can unlock in the form of reading material that can take up to 5 more hours to read. Its optional for the reading, but i would definately recommend it.

All n all I was impressed and very satisfied with Lost Odyssey. A little slow to get going but once it does Its over to fast, the sign of a great story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lost Odyssey

posted by Skorpius (PAINESVILLE, OH) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lost Odyssey is possibly the best turn-based RPG game I have ever seen. I hate turn based RPG's, but after playing Lost Odyssey for just a short period, I couldn't get enough, it has changed my opinion of turn-based RPG's. fantastic story-line, game play and graphics. I would've rated this game as a 10 but that would mean its perfect, and nothing in life is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Key flaws make a great game only good.

posted by Noevil (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics:
The graphics in this game vary more than than I could ever expected. The cutscenes are among some of the most beautiful I have scene on a console. The gameplay graphics are obviously inferior, though, when you see them. This would be fine if the first one, which is one of the best in the game, did not set such high expectations. This is not to say the graphics are bad. They are quite good and are among the best among all 360 games. It is just there are times that it switches from a cutscene to an in engine part that makes you wish the game could all be as good as the cutscenes. Some graphical slowdowns occur but they are minor.

Grade: 8

Sound:
Nobuo Uematsu is one of the best at creating video game music. He does not slack off in LO at all. The battle theme, which you hear countless times, never seemed to get old and the other pieces do a good job at emphasizing the emotion that the game creates. It is good stuff.

Grade: 9

Gameplay:
To put it simply, it is the traditional JRPG turn-based combat. If you love this, great. If not, give a second though to whether you want to play this game. I had a major problem that might be unique. I was way under-leveled to fight the final boss and I eventually just gave up and sent it back. I watched the end of the game online and loved it. I wanted to beat it so bad but it did not happen. This along with derivative gameplay and long load times really hurt my opinion of this game.

Grade: 7

Story:
Not all games have this category but in the ones that do I find it very important. The story in LO is where is shines. It is captivation and keeps you hooked until throughout the game. Ironically, though, the best story elements are the short stories that you encounter. I always dreaded these when I found them because I wanted to progress in the game but I never regretted reading any of them. I have rarely felt as emotional playing a game as I did reading these.

Grade: 9

Final: 8 Buy or rent depending on taste

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Way better than FF

posted by emordecai (FREMONT, CA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best RPG I have ever played. The story was awesome, the graphics were great and the characters were some of the most interesting that I've seen in an RPG. I have been playing RPGs since the super nintendo days and up to the latest FF games including FFX and XII and they just don't compare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse