Rent Lost Magic for DS
view large frontback

Lost Magic

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

275 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game depending on your taste...

posted by ConorGrove (NAPA, CA) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

An excellent game, but VERY difficult in many ways. first off, the whole idea of only useing the stylus...well...not a very good one. the only other thing bad about this game is the time limits...Awful. you get like 5 mins to get through a large stage. other then that its a great game. but still very difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Your enjoyment of Lost Magic will depend on...

posted by jgibson75 (MARYVILLE, TN) May 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Your enjoyment of Lost Magic will depend on a few things:

1. Are you looking for a unique use of the DS touch screen?

2. Are you willing to fight through painfully rough controls in order to enjoy the unique touch screen functionality?

3. Are you a patient person?

If you answer yes to all three of these, then Lost Magic may be for you.

Me? I enjoyed the use of the touch screen to cast and "fling" spells at enemys. But I was let down by the "point and click" style of moving your character around. This may work in an RTS or a TBS game, but in a game where the enemies move freely and are chasing you around, and you have to use the same screen for moving and casting and flinging spells all at once, it just became a nightmare of a mess for me...

But I'm not the most patient person. So as you see, my score is based on my answers to those three questions. I give it a 6, only for the unique spell casting and flinging dynamic that had so much possibility. But if it were not for that, it would have scored much lower.

Enjoy Lost Magic, if you can. If you can't, wait for Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin to get your spell casting groove on...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lost Magic, Probably the best game on the DS.

posted by Zoidburg (FAIRBORN, OH) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first heard of this game, I was ecstatic. A fast pace, Real Time Strategy, Role Playing Game. Now, this is a different kind of game that deserves its own genre. Not only do you control a squadron of monsters, you can also cast magic spells by drawing runes on the touch screen with stylus. Anyway, onto the review.

Graphics 6/10
Not the best graphics on the DS, but whoever says graphics make the game... O.o

Sound 9/10
I only give this a 9 because of the sound the game makes when you're looking for a match in wifi. That noise gets annoying. Anyway, the spells make nice sounds, the music is great. What more can you ask for?

Game play 10/10
This has to be the most unique title on any system I have seen. No time before has an RTS made into an RPG, and given an awesome way to cast spells. There are about 400 spells in this game, when you combine runes (later on, you can cast three rune spells). As for the story...

Story 8/10
This has to be your typical RPG story. Son grows up with some old lady, whom later he finds out that she is not really his grandma... the father is an enemy, and the main boss is a good-guy gone bad. Not too many unique things here, except you can choose the path of good or evil down the line.

Online 7/10
This gets a 7, because its not very detailed. You search for a fight, get in it, get out, and your done in about...5 minutes, 10 minutes if you take a long time. I only give this such a high score, because you can load up your story mode character, pick the monsters and items you have in your story mode, and even use all your spells. The best part? Any exp you gain from winning goes into your character on story mode.

Replay Value 9/10
Being a RTS, there are many ways you can take the missions. That, and you have two endings for Story Mode, and you can even load your file into a new game. Awesome.

Overall 10/10
All of these aspects add up to create one of the best games out on the DS currently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lost magic rocks!!!

posted by zagu92 (GILROY, CA) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

lost magic is a must play game for everybody. Very addicting!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like whoa!

posted by Seether101 (Keizer, OR) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this game for 2 months, i was skeptical at first because it looked like another ordinary wanna be FF game(final Fantasy). I read in a Nintendo power magazine that it had a unique way of casting spells. Where you draw a symbol on the bottom screen would create that spell. the better you draw out the shape the better it is! I knew i had to pick it up and I have beaten it three times. The story line is enriched with details and there are more that 350 different spells to draw because once you start to master this spell drawing technique they throw in a new way called duo rune. Where you can draw two spells making them do something even more spectacular. When I was about to play it I was worried about bad graphics but it even has decent graphics. Especially when you are making water explosions and light dragons appear. Over all I would give this game a 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD GAME!

posted by SuperLM (KINGSPORT, TN) Jun 9, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This has got to be one of the best game I have ever played! The spell-casting and battle systems are great!! The only draw-back is the time limitations. I believe that most people will enjoy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I Lost it....

posted by Zach24LA (Hollywood, CA) May 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really, really tried to like this game. The graphics are good. The Spell casting system is very, very good...

However, the timer just keeps on moving along... Maybe i'm far to much of a newbie for this title, but i simply felt frustrated while playing it.

Now, i'm not an excellent gamer, sometimes i have to level up for a bit before being able to hold my own, too bad there isn't random battles for me to level up.

I simply returned the game, i'm sure there are more experience players that will enjoy the game, but i simply couldn't get pass the frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I wish this GAME was lost...

posted by dmbrandon (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Some people (Including myself) would find drawing runes to create magic spells fun!

However, Lost Magic is a poor example of fun, and fantasy.

The battle system is boring, and mundane. The level up system is all but pointless, not to mention the fact that you can only equip your monsters...

It has a monster capture system, which is dissappionting at best.

The game moves slowly, and horrid. The script is awful, and the storyline is just plain dumb.

It's linear as linear gets.

The whole premise of run, is drawing the spells. But, you'll draw them so much you'll hate them.

4/10 is a generous score. I reccomend skipping this game entirely.

Wait for Children of Mana.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I must say I disagree.

posted by Ghostarms (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is an epic experience of RTS and RPG mixed into one giving you a unique new feel for the ds. Also they've made an EXCELLENT spell casting system for the ds(finally). Another thing unique to the ds is a monster capture and control system where most of the RTS part of the game enters. It is a very simple style of gameplay where your usually killing all the monsters in the area, killing the boss/opposing mage, or protecting something or someone. Overall, I say this is worth the rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Mechanics, Poor Execution

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lost Magic has the makings to be an excellent game for younger gamers interested in being introduced to RTS/RPG games or experienced players wanting to use the touch screen capabilities of the DS.

I found the actual story to be a little too young for my tastes and that says quite a bit since I consider myself to be an old-school RPG veteran preferring the Japanese-style characters and storylines. The hero in Lost Magic is extremely juvenile in a way that would certainly appeal to newer, younger gamers just breaking in to the more advanced gaming genres but probably won't able to older gamers.

The gameplay is very clever and fun for a short period of time but quickly grows tedious. You use the touchpad to completely control your hero as well as all of his minions using the D-Pad only as a map panning device. You also use the touchpad to draw magical runes in real time which is how all your magical spells are cast.

The problem I faced immediately is that while the game tries very hard to be both an RPG and an RTS it does neither very well. For example, your opponents move in real time but you are confined to clicking the left shoulder button to activate your rune screen, drawing the run, and then targeting recipients for your magic. This makes playing the game as a real-time or turn-based RTS a little difficult because it follows the rules of neither.

Alternatively the game also tries to present itself as a valid RPG. Although as an RPG you have no real non-linear decisions, your character cannot do anything but run, cast spells, and command troops all rather poorly. You also aren't given any kind of character customization options, leveling branches, moral decisions, or any other wholesome goodness that makes an RPG entertaining.

Rent the game to experience the first in what will probably be the first of an excellent hybrid RTS/RPG style or if there's a young nerdling who needs to be introduced to more advanced gaming styles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If your looking for a hard and exciting game...

posted by TesseracT (FROSTBURG, MD) May 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you came to the right place!


Storyline

I can't really tell that much about this game without giving away any spoilers, but here is what I can tell... In this game, your characters name is Isaac, and your burdened with saving the world from the insane Diva of Twilight.


Game play

The games timer system adds an element of strategy to this already fun RPG, while the touch screen is used most effectively to move your monsters and Isaac himself, and also to cast magic! To cast magic, you hold the [L] shoulder button (or the [R] shoulder button for south paws) and draw a magical rune onto the bottom screen using the stylus. Later on in the game, you can combine up to 2 (or even 3!) runes together for even more damage and effects! In fact, there are over 350 rune combos in the game, 396 to be exact.


Strategy

This game boasts so many strategies, I'm betting I haven't even found 5% of them yet.


Overall

Great game, recommended buy, if at least not a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What A Cruel World...

posted by TheLuigi (MORRISVILLE, PA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I could of enjoyed this game. A LOT. Let me tell you why I could've LOVED this game.
The game focuses on using magic runes that you draw with the stylus to use against monsters. This is pretty good and is not to hard to draw.
You can also combine runes for awesome powers and complete domination. There are over 400 possiblities for great spells.
It could be fun. You can also control monsters and capture them in battle to help you later on in levels. Great.
Now let me tell you the rest.

Main Problem - WAY TOO HARD!!!!!!!!!
This game is impossible. I blame the creators.
All my friends have tried this and said, "Why is this SO HARD!!!"
You move at such a slow rate, enemies can move at least twice as fast, even bosses.
Did the creators even have a normal gamer try this? Or did they just ingore him?
Enimies do damage so fast, the mosters you use and really only bodyguards for you. They move slower, have less attack and are useless expect for enimies attack them before you(you can only have like around six mnosters!!!).
You get new runes at such a slow rate, it feels impossible.
And just to put salt on a wound, you have time limits.
WHY!!!!????!!!!!
They just seem so useless in a game like this.

Fighting - UGH.
They only attack you have is spells. "So what if you run out of MP. Nothing. Nada. You sit until it grows back(why couldn't they have used a button for a normal attack? You only use the L button in the game).

Also, while you draw the runes with the stylus enimies still attack you. I guess makes sense, but we then go back to "Enimies have EXTREMELY HIGH ATTACK AND YOU HAVE EXTREMELY LOW HEALTH.
Seriously, if there are three enimies surrounding you, you have no chance.
Bosses can attack with magic at long range, pretty much all around the field, so most of my monsters were dead by the time I reached THE SECOND boss.

Most of the time I have to heal. It pathetic. I can't even try out combinations without dying. It "runes" the fun(hahaha).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

lost magic is a mix of different games

posted by xXOWHICXx (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

lost magic is a mix of fire emblem and final fantasy. its a very a weird but challenging game for amateur gamers but it was easy for me i advanced to level 50 in not even a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but challenging

posted by gamerman11 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This is a fun game but it's pretty challenging. you have to command it just right or else you'll lose. So if you're a guy/girl looking for a challenge and you like fantasy and you like strategy games you are the right person for this game.(Recommending action replay which is kind a helper for the DS and you can buy it at Target or Wall mart.):)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is a big dissapointment!

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is not good, under no circumstances will you enjoy it, and for some odd you reason you do, your enjoyment won't last long. Considering the fact that you'll spend the majority of this game attempting to heal yourself, or dieing. Although i will admit the game has a good premise. The idea sounds great, apparently the crew who designed this game didn't get the memo. If your familiar with RTS RPG's then this game may be just up your alley, considering that your alley is a drunken place filled with sorrow and regret. Because that is all this game has to offer. The games graphics look like a gba game at best. The controlls are good and may actually be the only thing keeping me from giving this game a 3. I can't even fathom a single reason to buy or even play this game. Not even for fans of the genre. All this game will make you want to do is crawl in a hole and wait for somthing good to good to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad just bad

posted by kithrin (MOHAWK, NY) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

Positives
1. interesting concept
2. decent story
3. multiple Endings

and that just about covers the positives...

Negatives
1. Extreme difficulty in some stages
2.no equipment for the main character
3. monsters move and attack on their own even when you don't want them to
4. infinite monster spawn points.
5. time limits 5 min normal battles 10 For Bosses
6. poor symbol recognition half the time when i draw a symbol it doesn't recognize it even when it is extremely close.

need i go on? in short the game mechanics are just plain bad and with the difficulty makes getting past certain points nearly impossible. it just becomes a frustration magnet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH

posted by angerstorm (CEDAR PARK, TX) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is beyond terrible.Sure,it's fun for the first 10 minutes,but don't be fooled.Not only does the game have no save option or autosave feature,the level you need to beat is impossible and impassable.You have to make make pathetic walls that last 7 seconds with earth magic,walk like an old man to get away from the speedy enemies that are too strong for you and your monsters,and get past the OTHER monsters before the green ones get you.Ya can't do much anything with this game,since the only way to fight or defend yourself is to use magic that depletes after 3 spells.Not to mention the fact that leveling up does nothing.Don't do it for God's sake.Gonna be 4 days down the drain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by WCrawford (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

This is a strategy game with an action twist. You have to command your troops (monsters) while casting spells to attack, defend, and heal them and yourself.

It's a fun game, if a little annoying at time. Quite often, the only difference between easy success and total failure is the monsters you choose to bring with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A very interesting game...

posted by Fenrir (BRENTWOOD, TN) Jun 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

When I first read about this game, I had a mix of feelings. Though very innovative, it seemed that the controls would be crude and that the gameplay would be greatly diminished. I couldn't have been more wrong.

Although it is true that the controls take some getting used to, once you've passed the learning curve it all seems very natural and flows very easily, as it seems with all new DS games lately. Of course, also like other DS games, excessive play causes extreme pain in the wrist and hand. If you've ever played Metroid Prime Hunters via Wi-Fi, then you'll know what I'm talking about. A quick warning; if you're experiencing severe hand pain after prolonged gameplay, talk to your doctor to see if Lostmagic is right for you. o.o'

Anyways, to the gameplay. Unlike most RTS games of its time, Lostmagic's story is lacking in depth and frankly seems a bit empty. The game is much more action-oriented, which is fine for most people, but I personally like a good, long story to add a point and meaning to the game.

Everything else about the game (the controls, the customization, etc) is simply amazing. The controls are crisp and fresh, the gameplay is smooth and fun (despite possessing rollercoaster-like difficulty), and the graphics are amazing.

In conclusion, this game is a must-buy for anyone who is a fan of a good RTS, as it's one of the best ones I've played in a long time. It can be very difficult at times, so don't expect to beat a level the first time through.
Until next time,
Fenrir

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »