Rent Lord of the Rings: War in the North for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: War in the North

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.7

3214 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Story

posted by MrPenguin (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is an amazing play! The graphics are very realistic and the gameplay is very simplistic, you can pick the controller up and play right away.
There are only two things that I can complain about, (1) the clunky revive system, which means that if you need two be reived, you have to be away from all of the strong enemies so that your teammates don't get clobbered by a troll or set on fire by an Ork Sorcerer while they are trying to reveive you, which causes them to have to stop reviving you. Number 2 are the A.I., which are so incredibly stupid that it's not even funny. For example, when you and one of your teammates is down, and only 1 A.I. is left, most of the time they let themselves get cornered by too many enemies and die, or your two A.I. companions get down and need to be revived, all of the enemies come twoards you, and you can't rvive them, which most of the time means you willo die and have to restart from your last checkpoint.
But even with those bad points, its good things outweigh its bad things. One amazing aspect is the fantastically easy combat system, which is just like any RPG combat system, just minus all the combos and the complicated button pressing. No one I know likes an overly-complicated system if you want to do an extremely powerful move, and with this system all you have to do is holod the right trigger and press a button.
Even better is the storyline, which feels just like you're playing a Lord of the Rings movie, with its cinematic cut scenes and amzing graphics it looks like a movie and between the enemies actions and how the characters talk fits into LOTR so much that it feels like they took one of the movies and let you play around in it. But be warned, if you're looking for and open world experience, then try another game, because this game is very linear, but don't let that scare you away, because the game's enviroments are very open and easy to fight in. The bosses are very hard to fight, but the rewards are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Game

posted by jacklop21 (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

25 out of 28 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game. The biggest problem was the repetitive combat but it lasts long enough to beat the game once or twice. The setting and enemies you encounter were very nice, although it was large mob fights in semi-open worlds areas it was still fun. There are many chests to loot and items to buy and you will enjoy changing your characters armour and weapons. It has a Dead island/Borderlands skill tree, which is 3 sections with 6-9 items in each section. I would suggest renting this game and trying it out.

PROS-
-Good setting
-Based off a good book/movie series
-Nice Boss fights
-LOOT LOOT LOOT

CONS-
-Barely passable combat
-Semi-open world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good ol' hack and slash

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LOTR War in the North is sold as an RPG style hack and slash. That's exactly what it is. Nothing more, nothing less. The story is mediocre, as is the customization and combat, but hack and slashes generally aren't supposed to be more than that. Though the combat is repetitive, it is a fun rental game that'll take away 10 hours of your life.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lord of the rings WAR of The north

posted by RPG1991 (BALLWIN, MO) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was a good game, i loved it. The Atmospheres were good and the fighting style was acceptable. A few glitches though concerned me.
1. sometimes AI companions would get stuck in a small area opening, thus, glitching the enemy wave making me unable to continue. (Wasting 15mins x3 of my time)

2.Sometimes the AI companion would "Spaz out"

3.Objects in the environment would glitch (disappear)

4.Lighting effects would sometimes glitch.

5.Being at the edge of stairs were annoying, for you couldn't move

Even with these problems I found the whole game enjoyable to play. It did have a riveting storyline even though i would have liked to see more of the main villain Agandaur.

Maybe they should've included Sauron and Agandaur having a conversation about how Agandaur became leader of the Orcs. That would then be a good reason to at least show Sauron in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lord of The Rings

posted by Thragg (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great! I started playing by myself and it was kinda fun but once i had a friend jump in, we both loved it. Even in split screen. The campaign is well over ten hours long and loaded with cool places, awesomely challenging enemies, and tons of loot. I definitely recommend it if you have a friend to play with, or even two via XBOX LIVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lord of the Rings War in the North

posted by Cleobis (NAPERVILLE, IL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hi, this game is a perfect example of a good game to rent. I haven't played multiplayer but my friend and I have been playing the campaign spilt screen. Overall the game is great, it's a fun time with your friends.
Pros:
Fun!
Split-screen action
Cool addition to the LOTR story containing pretty much all the LOTR characters
Set up and storyline for the game is nice
engine runs smoothly
Cons:
Combat gets repetitive
Sometimes to hard to kill guys which makes it unrealistic, especially when using a bow
A pretty predicable game
Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Codione01 (NATRONA HEIGHTS, PA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was amazing and had a very good storyline connecting to the main Lord of the Ring. The abilities for all the characters were very cool(even though some were similar for all characters), the combat was easy to get the hang of but a little repetetive if your one of those people who need difference in every fight. And I would guarantee if your playing with friends and like Lord of the Rings this is a definite rent and possibly buy if you have friends to enjoy it with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Watch out for glitch

posted by nicu2376 (SOUND BEACH, NY) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

It was a good game a little slow sometimes and when you get the better weapons its pretty Killer, but there"s a glitch in chapter 8 part 2 that dosent allow you to progress in the game. So sadly after spending countless hours building my character up, i got shut down and couldnt finish the game. B4 you get to to chapter 8 look it up online to see what im talking about

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Constant Entertainment

posted by Ashblade (OGDEN, UT) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I didn't think this game would be good because no one really thinks A Lord of the Rings game could be that good. But it was great! The combat was a lot better than i thought it would be. It's pretty cool with the gore and stuff, but you can turn it off and it turns into a T Game that i can play with my 7 year old brother. Story line fits in too. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

outstanding

posted by patsfan123 (WILMINGTON, DE) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

15 out of 25 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

if you like any of the lord of the rings any thing you will love this game
if you like playing a rpg game you will like this game
if you like gore you will love this game there's lots of gore

only bad side to me is the fighting repeating the dame type of moves over and over but still its mad fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well that was fun

posted by KeevaValentine (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

well it was pretty fun for a 12 hour game i was hoping for a more in-depth story tho.

graphic
i would give a 8 out 10 due to the fact the graphic is easy manger with limited space for you to go and see.
8/10

Story line
I wish for more from a RPG and it kinda reminded me of the other behind the story games from Xbox i think was LOTR third age not sure. However the story was different, i just didn't like the fact the moment you killed the final boss everyone is like i can feel that the ring had been destroyed.
7/10

Combat
i expected more from the mage class but that's just me, the only thing I needed to survive was the bloody healing bubble which token away from the challenge. I did enjoy hacking of arms, legs, and heads.
Wasn't a fan of the dwarf nor the ranger, But i started as a mage and i guess i got use to it more. Over all the combat brought me back to LOTR two towers and return of the king mixed in with Conquest which brought a smile to face to see people not trying to fix things that aren't broken.
8/10

Multiplayer
not big when it comes to my RPG's so i not going to rate it.

Other all 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Veterans beware

posted by jackzodiak (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

12 out of 23 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Yes, LotR fans may dig it. Yes, it's cool to slice and dice through hordes of dark minions. Yes, some of the locations and characters, are cool to see and fun to interact with. However, too may glaring mistakes make this game a "no thank you" for veteran gamers. For instance, what the heck is with the inventory system? If you play alone, and "give" items to your AI controlled partners, you essentially lose those items. There is NO WAY to know what items will improve your partners, and what items will disappear upon trading. Essentially, the loot you receive, you risk losing if you try to upgrade your AI partners. With so many above average games to choose from, I, as a veteran gamer, do not have the time to waste with sub-par gaming choices. I'm a fan of LotR, a big fan, but bad design is bad design.

Check it out for yourself but be warned, this game, despite some efforts, has too many programming mistakes. Sigh...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Reviewed by Kyle.

posted by KJT91 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Lord of the Rings: War in the North is an amazing game. It complies similar things like leveling and looting items, and playing with friends much like games like World of Warcraft, and Oblivion. But when it comes to combat it played like a hack and slash. I absolutely love this game, and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Hack N Slash Fun!!

posted by DenisenIke (UNION CITY, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lets start with what i didn't like about the game: This game is Shooooort! I started playing it Thursday & i had BEATEN the game by early Friday afternoon, Deffinatly shorter than most rpgs & the Voice acting & script were atrocious!! Characters are bland & uninteresting.
What I liked: The game looks good, Controls well & the classes are good. The armor, weapons, Secrets & loot are different with each character which adds a bit of depth to a really short game. I really did enjoy this game (& still am) I love loot & think i am addicted to it! Is there a looters anonymous?? anyway if you like Diablo or Baldurs Gate you will probably get a kick out of this & it's worth renting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A total loss

posted by Jeremus (DAVENPORT, FL) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

There was just one good thing about this game, it was pretty.

I wanted it to be good. I love Middle Earth, and am a huge Tolkien fan.

This game had so much potential, and it delivers on none of it. The inventory system is not intuitive at all, and makes changing gear a pain.

The camera doesn't auto-center, or even dynamically follow you. You have to MANUALLY operate the camera at all times--in an action combat game! Worse still, the game does not point your attacks at enemies near you, but forces you to manually line up your shots. For a game focused on combat, it's a death sentence.

Also, there was NOT ONE interesting move in all of the combat I did. The skill trees are totally worthless, that really made a totally negligible difference to how each character performs.

Another huge disappointment was the AI. Not only can you not swap characters except between levels, the computer controls them--and does so very poorly. Your teammates do dumb things very regularly--like casting a shield across the room where you can't use it, or using warcry when they are off alone fighting one goblin, while you fight the other 20 alone. Just awful.

If you thought the story would make up for it, prepare for another disappointment. It is dull and uninventive, and really shameful given the great source material. The voice acting is worse still, and just totally sinks it.

This was the worst game I have gotten from gamefly yet. Don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Unknown Story

posted by xHELLDOGx (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

War of the north is a good RPG but has some basic problems and also some great bash n slash!! Its not hard to get confused about side quests and even your primary quests and it can be repeditive. Besides that its cool that they fit a back story in the LOTR that fits. i Think they could have even made a movie with it. anyway good game, have fun and I give it a 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Hack and Slash

posted by HardcoreGamer24 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Fun hack and slash and the multiplayer system works pretty well. The only real complaint I have (and it's a big one) is the fact that the item transfer system is terrible. Have a really awesome bow you want to give to your archer? Give it away! Want to play your archer with his new bow? Switch to your archer and go kill everything.. wait starting bow still equipped... whoops. While it's easy enough to go to town and buy new equipment later on when you want to switch characters, what a joke of a system to go live with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better

posted by frisco (GARNER, NC) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The game wasn't too bad, but it also wasn't too good. The combat was severely flawed. I would find myself directing attacks at an orc and the game wouldn't recognize that i was hitting him. A complete button masher with a lack of combos to break up the monotony. Only thing you will be doing is pressing x (speed attack) and y (power attack) over and over again.
It would have also helped the game if the main characters even remotely mattered to you . Ppl love video games for the gameplay and the protagonist. Vice City was great bc of Tommy Vercetti, San Andreas bc of CJ, and GTA 4 blew bc of Niko Belic. Consider this game the GTA 4 of LOTR games. They might have been better off with revisiting The Two Towers with next gen graphics and characters LOTR fans know and love. All in all, a decent game to rent and play for a while until you get bored with the combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wooooo

posted by IanisWarchild (OXNARD, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 66 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is freaking awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best LOTR Game Ever.

posted by RickygPoole (COLDWATER, MS) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I just beat this game and i got to say, it was amazing... it lasted me for about 3 days i thought i would beat it in 6 hours, i don't think non-LOTR fans will like this but if your a huge LOTR fan then get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK game

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Jun 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

This was a good weekend RPG/action game. The story was a little flimsy, but fit in with the LOTR theme. This is not a high quality, polished game, but was fun to rent. You never really receive a lot of quality loot, and have very few options for improving your equipment. You can give equipment to your friends, but you can never check to see what they have, so it is really blind luck. Not a terrible game, but not terrific either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lord of the Rings War in the North

posted by Potato1 (TAMPA, FL) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game is good but is hard to recommend to everyone. I will be stating the game so you can see if it is worth your time

Cons:

Terrible revive system.

Bad graphics.

Stupid friendly A.I.

Annoying waves of bad guys.

Pros:

Awesome 3 player Co-op

Cool new storyline.

Memorable characters.

New bad guy.

Nice and smooth progression.

Seeing people that are in the books.

Overall this game is worth renting but only buy it if you are a lord of the rings fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great multiplayer game play

posted by deeq (TAMPA, FL) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

a good game to play with friends i just wish it was 4 player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game to play

posted by DeadHead468 (WALL TOWNSHIP, NJ) May 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

So Lord of the Rings: War in the North was probably the BEST lord of the rings game I've ever played. I just got the game from gamefly last year, and I had a fun time playing it. Then 2 months after I got it from gamefly, I found it for $20 at Kmart and I was like hey I play this game from gamefly. So I bought it and I enjoyed it even more. In addition, this game is really fun to play with friends. My friend and I were playing this game the other day and it was REALLY fun. Him having no clue what to do and me guiding him through it. It's an RPG based game which I don't really play that often. Then after I played this game with my friend and my dad which I forgot to mention earlier, I really got used to the RPG elements of this game. And before I go, a little smallnote, before you think about playing this game, I would suggest you watch the Lord of the Rings movies, and if you want read the Hobbit novel. They make a BUNCH of references to each of them throughout the game. Luckily I saw the movies and read the book before I started playing the game. So my opinion, 8 out of 10, it's worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Precastfir197 (KINGSPORT, TN) May 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

good game a little hard at the start because it takes like 25 hits to kill one guy but after you start leveling up it gets a lot more easy to kill them like 3 4 at the most 10 hits so yeah id give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse