Rent Lord of the Rings: The Third Age for Xbox
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: The Third Age

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, PS2, GBA
GF Rating
6.6

1133 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by Bostonfan (TUCSON, AZ) May 13, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good. The graphics were about average but what caught my eye was the weapons. You get a whole arsenal of weapons ranging from bows to war hammers at your disposal. The downfall of this game was its lack of characters. During the game you continually see the same minions over and over again. The bosses were the best part of this game. You get to fight bosses such as the Balrog of Morgoth, Grima Wurmtongue, and the Witch King of Angmar. The story line was pretty well laid out. I like how it coincides with with the original story of the Lord of the Rings series. This is by far one of the best lord of the rings games i have ever played. -Stupidjew16

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs More Variety

posted by lianzim (ORANGEVILLE, PA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you've ever played Final Fantasy X, the battle system is JUST like that. So if you hate that kind of battle system, you won't like this system either.

The big problem with this game is the lack of variety in foes. Everything is Orcs and Wargs pretty much and there's not many different kinds of either. Fighting the same enemies over and over gets rather boring.

Basically your party is following a few days behind the main characters from Lord of The Rings so you will get to visit all the locations the Fellowship does in the movie, which admittedly is neat. A little feature i like is that when you change a piece of equipment on a party member, it actually changes how your character looks running around on the map. It's a little thing but it's a detail i appreciate.

The story is not that spectacular and sometimes i felt like the characters were really cliched and just not very interesting. Another feature is that you can collect different scenes from the movie and then watch them whenever you like with Gandalf doing a voice over on each one. To be honest i found this irritating; if i wanted to watch the movie I'd pop my DVD in.

A kind of interesting feature is that after certain battles you can do a fight as the bad guy and beat on the heroes. The problem is, it gets old fast. Especially when you're fighting as say, a Nazgul and you can whip the party with incredible ease.

Overall, it was a good idea but the lack of variety in enemies is a real problem. It's not neccessarily their fault though, because let's face it - all they did fight in the movies was Orcs and Wargs. If you're a LOTR fan it's worth a play, but don't expect anything spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good game but has one problem

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jun 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game good graphics good sound good voice acting but it has one little problem in my opinion awayway, the problem is that my enemies never seem to miss but over half the time I do actually i seem to miss about 10 times as much as the enemies do something is wrong with that But other then that a great game escpecially if your a fan of the Lord of the Rings

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RPG

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: 8
GRAPHICS: 7

A good RPG in a wonderful world created by Tolkien.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This isn't even CLOSE to an RPG....

posted by MrBigKilla (REDDING, CA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well, I rented this expecting an RPG just like it states and I can't say that's what I got. With this game you can usually guess whats next and I've found you never really need to worry about your health with a horde of health around every corner. Is it fun, sure, for long....no. If you want a RPG try getting KOTOR, Jade Empire or maybe even Fable. If your looking to burn some time and do a little slashing try it out, otherwise don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!??

posted by slipshod (PEACHTREE CITY, GA) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 21 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I expected better from this peice of junk.This is one of those boring ,comlicating arcade games where you walk into random battles and it gives you turns to make a move at one another.Good Graphics but no point or fun.Ther's also NO free roam what so ever!PLEASE ,DON'T RENT!!!!It is a COMPLETE waist of time!!!Bye!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quite Dope

posted by DopeFeindKook69 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is very similar to Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic in its style. You have a party, you have items and equipment you can equip to different people, skill points, etc. The battle sequences are pretty fun to participate in. Overall, a freakin' swagaholic game.
I recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great, for Lord of the rings

posted by jhenn1991 (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

For die hard final fantasy lovers this may not be the game for you. For anyone who loves lord of the rings and wants a turn based system to play it on, this is for you. The voice overs are well done, you follow right behind the fellowship which makes the story of the game a fun one. The landscapes you play in are interesting, ranging from gondor to rohan, to right outside the shire it seems, and everything in between. You level up your characters many times and they recieve a lot of weapons, armor, items, making customization very fun. The boss battles are epic, getting to fight the balrog, the witchking, sharku, etc. also there are some neat mini bosses such as trolls, or giant wargs. The downer about this game is the variety of enemies that you fight. It's a given that it is hard to throw a lot of different enemies at you using the lord of the rings platform, but it wouldn't hurt if there were a few ore anyways. The first play through the game should be a lot of fun and other than the graphics you shouldn't have any problms or complaints about it. Bottom line-I recommend rentig this game as soon as you read this if you like lord of the rings and dont mind turn based play. The first playthrough will be memorable and enjoyable. This is the best lord of the rings game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »