Rent Lord of the Rings: The Third Age for GC
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: The Third Age

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2, GBA
GF Rating
7.1

416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game for strategy/lotr fans.

posted by BloodWolf (SNOWFLAKE, AZ) Jun 21, 2006

Member since May 2006

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Firstly I'd like to clear a few things you may be wondering about the game. You cannot personalize your own character's physical appearance; but you can configure stats, armour, and skills they learn.

Secondly, this is not a third person slash/stab game. You explore in third person, but the battles are fought like a strategy game such as final fantasy. Don't be expecting this game to work like lotr the two towers by EA. This game requires thinking and planning.

At first, the game can feel quite dull and repetitive. You may be tempted to send it back and receive your next game in your queue. If you wait however, the game keeps progressing as you unlock new characters, enemies, evil modes (Fight for the other side), armour, skills, areas, stats, etc. The more I played, the more addicted I became to it and the more complex and interesting the battles became. This game is worth the wait.

The two things I disliked about it was the fact that they strew hours worth of product placement for the movies into it. This I have no doubt was because it was created by EA.

Next the battles can get furiating towards the end. They make you fight near impossible battles, then give you no place to save before they throw you into another near impossible battle. Safe to say, if you lose the second battle you have to restart from the first battle you barely passed and have to miraculously win again. This may leave you shouting curses at your television. This only makes it more satisfying when you beat it though, and I highly recommend this game to final fantasy fans. Good luck saving the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A surprise!

posted by Meekus (ROCKLIN, CA) May 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Third Age was a surprising treat. Unlike most games based on movies, this game is fun and, though it couldn't be called original, takes a unique and fulfilling approach. You're basically a band of assorted characters more unique and diverse than the Fellowship, and travel through Middle-Earth cleaning up the unspoken messes left in the Fellowship's wake, occasionally teaming up with Gandalf or Aragorn or someone else just as nifty. The battles play a lot like a traditional Final Fantasy game, which is fine. It's tried and true and there's no initial frustration period learning the battle system. There's not much depth in exploration. Go off the beaten path and you're sure to find a new piece of weaponry or a potion of some sort, but don't worry about getting lost...off the beaten path is usually just a short hole in the map, save for the Pelenor Fields, where it's easier to get turned around.

The Third Age won't knock you off the couch, but it's great if you just need a quick and easy game that ends in a mild satisfaction of fulfillment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprising

posted by ssjwesker (UNIONTOWN, PA) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I hate the LotR movies. That said, this has to be the best turn based RPG I've played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lord of the rings 3rd age

posted by RambaRal (KIOWA, OK) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

we are a true LOTR fans and we will buy this game for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE LORD OF THE RING=THE THIRD AGE

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

My brother,tryed to play this game but it would just go through the story of it in the begining and just cut off afterwards. He told me he tried and tried,and i went over to his house to see what it was doing. It was the same thing he was telling me it would tell the story of it and after that it would just cut off. He tried everything when i was there sometimes it would not even tell the story just cut off....So i am very sorry he had to send this one back due to damage of the 1st cd,i do not know about the second cd. But this is the worst game he has ever had to get to work and still could not get it to work....he sent it back on the 11/01/2011 700a.m.in the morning......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Surprise, Surprise! Another Gamecube Snoozer!

posted by johnnie173 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

To say the Wii and Gamecube produce the lousiest RPG's in the world might be the biggest understatement in the gaming community.
"LODR: The Third Age" is another in a long line of snoozer, yawn-fests thrown out by Nintendo. If it doesn't contain the name "Zelda", don't bother.
Where to begin...
The battle sequences are very long. Your characters look pretty cool when they attack, but you can run to the grocery store in the ammount of time it takes to complete a round. Yawn!
Your characters lack any real personality, and we never learn much about them. Yawn, Yawn!
No town exploration or interaction. Snore!
The game is dark, and I don't mean spooky. I mean, "Where the heck am I? I can't see!". I spent a lot of time following the map instead of taking in the scenery, especially in Moria.
As stated previously, the cut scenes are nothing more than advertising for the movies.
The voice acting is good, but who cares when you feel zero attachment to the characters.
You are constantly overmatched, and since you don't acquire money to buy useful items, you are left with the meager droppings you find in treasure chests. 90% of these items are useless in battle.
I tried to get into this game for about fifteen hours, but just couldn't. "Clunky", "Dull", "Been There, Done That", ect.
The PS2 put out better, more involved games a generation ago.
I can't wait to get my tax return, buy a used XBox, and keep the Wii for my kids.
How this system remains competive is baffling to say the least...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Details on LOTR Third Age: D&D part 73

posted by Shrike70 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

A modest, entertaining melee game with the major characters from the LOTR series. Not for hardcore RPG players, rather this game is ideal for young fans of the movie series.

You begin as Berethor, a Gondorian exile, and your party slowly accumulates characters until you get to the standard set of six: Gondorian, Elf, Dwarf, Dunedain Ranger, and two Rohirrim - male and female.

Along the way you fight alongside major characters starting with Gandalf. There is an "evil mode" that I'm not going to keep the game to bother trying.

The game discs are heavy with 109 remixed segments from the movie series. In fact, these cut scenes are so frequent at the beginning that it annoys the veteran gamer who already read Tolkein 30 years ago.

SPOILERS FOLLOW.

Once you're in Helm's Deep, about 30% in, the melees and treasures become much more interesting and challenging. It was there that my party was first annihilated. Play continues like this through Osgiliath - about 75% into the game, where your party is split into two groups and wage battle more or less simultaneously.

After clearing out Minas Tirith, you're diverted to Pellenor Fields. Normally as your party leader moves through a maze or tunnel, the action freezes and the screen dissolves to load the next segment. That's fine when you can run for 30 to 60 seconds, but when the screen dissolves EVERY FIVE SECONDS, it drives you crazy.

Sadly, you have to run around a lot in Pellenor Fields to attract encounters with the enemies you need to overcome. Fighting a set batch of enemies at each stage is the heart of this game. There are no genuine side quests or any compelling reason whatsoever to backtrack. Your level 65 character needs just one attack per kill to wipe out any enemies from the first third of the game. Snooze.

The final battle - contrary to my high hopes - was not at the Black Gate. It's a letdown to fans of the movie series. Nobody ever climbs to the top of the Barad-Dur. Honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is a must have for LOTR fans! Whoo!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

This game makes LOTR 2 the video game look boring. Because this was pretty much a behind-the-scenes game. I mean, it's cool how your playing as Berethor who's trying to find Boromir, and then meets Idrial who has to get back to Lorien to warn Galadriel. If you like the movies, then your gonna love this!! Like I said, you must buy/rent this game if you've liked the games and loved the movies! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

YUCK

posted by MMaaRRaa (LITTLE FALLS, NJ) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Ok, I'm not a full on "gamer" like some of the other reviewers, but I do know that I HATED this game. It bored me to tears and that's all there was to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Turned Based RPG

posted by clixrule (BATTLEFIELD, MO) Apr 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

If you are into the turn based RPG games you will be very happy with this game. You are constantly levling up and finding new items which keeps you interested. The game is pretty long, took about 40 hours of game time to complete. My only complaint, the video sceenes that keep popping up constantly, get annoying after awhile. You can choose to ingnore them though and just concentrate on the game play if you like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for someone new to RPGs

posted by superfunky (PASADENA, CA) Jan 10, 2007

Member since May 2006

This was a great game for someone new to role playing games. The interface is quite good and there is explanation of what everything means. The effects during battle are quite nice. I would have rated it a 8 or 9, except the game had a fatal glitch: DO NOT TRAVEL BACK TO OSGILIATH ONCE YOU REACH MINAS TIRITH. You will lose one of your most powerful characters. I was thus unable to finish the game since I didn't use multiple save slots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Definitely not a good game

posted by chinchilla (WATERFORD, WI) Nov 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

This game just basically bad. I played it for a half hour and that was it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best lotr games

posted by rjmang5 (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game has it's perks like new characters and many many items. But it really lacks in function and it is just is way too easy to beat. Also it is very long and you can get bored very easily. It's got some awesome music and visuals yet it still looked slapped together. Despite all of that I think it's one of the top lord of the rings games out there. A very good rent for someone who is a die hard fan of lotr.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it was bad

posted by sparks (SOUTH DAYTONA, FL) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

The game was not what i expected at all. it was a great step down from the others. it looked like they made this game in haste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Long and Fun

posted by SomeGuy1 (ST CHARLES, IL) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game was one of my favorites. This Lord of the Rings game has 6 new playable characters that you can customize with weapons, armor, and more. It is an RPG game which means it is a strategy game. This game is very, very long. I still hadn't beat it. I say its a "Buy It" game. Even though its an RPG, you still can move around after interaction. This game is really fun because you can meet up with some of the characters from the movie. Of course, you fight Sauron's army of Orcs and Uraki. There are also boss battles. This is my favorite RPG game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »