Rent Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle-Earth II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle-Earth II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

5172 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh RTS, how I've missed thee...

posted by JoshTheGr8 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

104 out of 108 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I'm a long-time fan of RTS games, and I played the PC-based Age of Empires and Command & Conquer series for many years. And I'm instantly hooked on LOTR for Xbox 360. Finally, someone (EA) figured it out, and they did a very nice job.

Using a controller is slower and more tedious than the keyboard-mouse combo of PC games, but EA did as well as you could hope for on their 1st attempt. Be patient -- learning all those shortcut keys on PC games isn't so easy at first, either. After just a few games, you'll be right-bumper-A selecting units like it's 2nd nature.

It could use some improvements, sure. The framerate gets sticky sometimes, and even though they've done a nice job with the controls, there's still some room for improvement there.

The armies (six to choose from) and units are pretty well balanced, and each army has it's own unique units and powers. The games are fast-paced, and geared more toward military strategy and epic battles than economy and micro-management.

Overall, they did an excellent job, considering it is the first of this genre - a much needed and desired genre - for the 360. I've played about 10 games since renting it, and with each game, I like it more. I find it funny how some of the reviews give it a rating of 3 or 4, because the graphics aren't superb and the framerate gets sticky. THOSE are good reasons to rate a game at 3?! When it's the first successful RTS, and the gameplay itself is fantastic?

If you're an RTS fan and, like me, you've migrated from PC to console gaming exclusively, you should definitely rent LOTR. Like me, you'll probably end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The First Good RTS on a console since Starcraft 64

posted by spartan116 (LAYTON, UT) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

78 out of 83 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The controls are simple but effective and they include:
the "A" button, the thumbsticks, and the triggers.

The graphics are very good on a high definition TV or a PC monitor.

The framerate is slow until you download the patch on Xbox Live.

The six factions(Men of the West, Goblins, Mordor, Elves, Isengard, and Dwarves) are all very well balanced and have awesome looking units.

Overall this is a great RTS and a GREAT GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally, RTS that works on a console.

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

41 out of 45 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge Lord of The Rings fan so I'm a bit bias. i've been waiting for a good RTS on a console and finally we have one. I was shocked at how well this game works using a joy stick.

The graphics are great and there is only a frame rate hiccup when the battle get really big and tons of action is going on. The slow down really didn't hamper the game since most of it is point and click and doesn't effect player movements.

The whole control system works well, though the learning curve is kind of steep at first, but you'll get the hang of it.

LOTR fans will love all the different races involved in the game, from orce to cave trolls, even the Giant Eagles are here as a weapon.

If you are at all interested in RTS games you should definitely give this a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good news finally!

posted by Hal9000 (KENNESAW, GA) Aug 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game and couldn't wait to put it in. As soon as I did, I wasted hours upon hours on it. This game is great. A little repetitive but not enough to make me not play it. It has a plethora of game mode and the heroes make it interesting. Online has a little slowdown but not much to bother you if you've played online RTS before. All in all a solid game. I didn't want to send it back. I kept if for a month!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is it worth renting/buying?

posted by XeonPro (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

25 out of 30 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have only had LOTR for a day now and I am finding the game play to be very addictive and fun. Overall, I give it a 9 because it is a great addition to a much needed genre for console gaming. It is long overdue.

Some of things I noted in this game are as follows: (Note - I am playing on a HDTV in case it matters to anyone)

-Frame Rate: seems to be really bad in some places. The initial trailer was really buggy on my system for some reason. Got audio but video real jumpy. Notice this throughout the game in places as well and when involved in big battles.

-In-game help: There is a very big lack of help in the game. Multi-player for instance lets you choose an emblem for your team. This is not a bad thing unless you do not know what the emblem of your preferred race is. There is no help provided and we had to look it up online as it was not in the manual either.

-Controls: If you miss it on the tutorial (limited) then you will have to learn it from someone else or on your own. I have found the D-pad to be a blessing but don't think it is really covered in the tutorial unless I missed it.

-Online (XBL) Gaming Menu: This menu is lacking a lot of the things we have grown so fond of. This was one of the reasons we needed some help but it was not provided anywhere. Maps and flags are reset when an option such as game type is changed. All flags (ready status) are reset when any option is changed including personal options (if host). Hard to determine what race you want to be (I feel sorry for you if not on HDTV). Even on my 60" HDTV the team (race) emblem was very small. You will just have to play around with the different game types and team emblems to get the feel for it. Also, when the game ends, you are kicked to the main online menu and must re-create your match and re-invite your friends or party (grrr).

I think this game deserves a 9 despite its problems. Hope you find this helpful. It is worth renting or buying, so do it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by sega166 (HAINES CITY, FL) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have the pc version, and was skeptical about the control scheme...but EA pulled it off great. I find my hands get LESS fatigued with this version than on the PC version and the multiplayer modes are WAY better...XBOX live is the bomb. Try it to see if you like it but this game is THE premier strategy game and i plan to get it asap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have if you are a fan of the LOTR series.

posted by MOZangeles (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

All I have to say is GET IT. You won't be disappointed. It's fun in single player or online. The frame rate does slow down here and there but isn't that bad.
If you don't buy it then get it through GAMEFLY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!!!!

posted by LPGtruth (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 14, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

LOTR is a great game. Its VERY close to the PC version of what an RTS is. Once the controls are learned, it gets pretty intense. And the learnig curve is quick!!! Creating the characters from the movie is amazing! Big trolls, Orcs, Uru-kai, and the wizards and elves and dwarfs, OH MY! I wasnt really a fan of RTS games before, but this game changed that. When you play for 7 hours straight, you know its great! The only reason its not a 10 is because of a LITTLE frame rate drop during the epic 1000 vs. 1000 unit battles! Other than that, it rules!!! If you like RTS' and own an XBOX 360, then this a must buy / rent! Thanks! ---LPG!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for LOTR fans

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Mar 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For big big fans of LOTR, this game is great. For more casual observers, it's an ok game. It looks pretty good, and the controls get easy enough after some practice. The problem of creating a real time strategy game for a console controller has mostly been solved here.

My biggest complaint is that it just gets too repetitive after a while, and it almost starts to play itself. You can build your basic base components and then all you need to do most of the time after that is click to tell your troops where to go. When they get there, they know to start fighting. You can micromanage that battle if you want to, but you really don't have to most of the time.

So that loses me after a few battles have gone by. I didn't finish even half of the game because I felt like I already knew what it was going to be like and I basically had already played it. It was fun what I played, but that was enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I wanted to like this game more but.....

posted by prime8six8 (CUMMING, GA) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

19 out of 31 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I really had high hopes for this game because there hasn't really been a good strategy game made for consoles. I thought with the power of the 360 this might be the first. I was wrong. First I'll start off with the biggest flaw in the game, the framerate. The game chugs along somewhere between 15-25 frames per second and occassionaly it almost comes to a halt. With the power the 360 pumps out it is unforgivable. I can only assume it was a bad port or not a good graphics engine in the first place although it actually is better online and dosen't hinder the gameplay like in the single player campaign, so if that's what your getting it for you may find it somewhat enjoyable. The second thing that bugged me was the camera, it just won't back out far enough to get a good overview of the action. So you are having to move the cursor around pretty fast to keep up with what's happening but with the poor framerate it just doesn't work. The next thing was the controls, it took some time to get used to but somehow never seem comfortable and some things, like bookmarking units, i rarely used. The way EA mapped the various commands to the controller has promise but it could still use some work. Last i was pretty disappointed with the graphics, considering how great most reviews said this game looks i thought the characters, environments and textures were all sub par. Even the lighting and water were average at best. The artwork in between each chapter was good but they are static and feel kinda lifeless. Overall i was pretty disappointed. So if you are looking for a great RTS to play you should probably stick to the PC. If you love the Lord of the Rings you will probably still like this game even with all it's faults. But for everyone else heed my warning, although it is playable, BFME 2 is far from a polished 360 title. Maybe next time EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I cant believe it!

posted by gameguy78 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jul 9, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Finally, an RTS that rocks on a console. The controls, graphics, and gameplay are great. As far as comparing this game to the PC version, you will most likely find some flaws here and there. All in all this game should pave the way for many other RTS titles.

There are some framerate issues with the game. Every once and a while the framerate will go down to like 25 FPS, which doesnt really effect the gameplay. To me the graphics look almost identical to the PC version.

There are also some cool new multiplayer modes in the game as well. Once you get the controls down you should definatly check the online play out.

Im considering keeping this one, if you dont decide to buy it definatly rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FINALLY

posted by Nate43 (OGDEN, UT) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Finally a good RTS on a console that really nails the controls. It is easy to navigate and very well done. This game is a great change of pace if you are looking for a game other than an FPS or Sports game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant!

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lord Of The Ring Games Have Been Cruddy In The Past. But The 360 One Shows That It Can Still Be Worth While.

Pros-
>Game play
>Graphics
>Weapons& UpGrades

Cons-
>Freezes A Bit
>Commands Fail Sometimes

Xbox Live- Overall- 9.0
(8.0)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A real well done RTS game for the XBOX 360

posted by MadrigaL (CLEBURNE, TX) Jul 9, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a big fan of Real-Time Strategy games but I have played some in my time. I've played starcraft, Command and Conquer, Warcraft, Just to name a few, but this game was done very well.

Graphics - 7
Story - 5
Sound - 8
Controls - 9
Online - 8
Replay - 7

The opening graphics i'm not to happy with because they really remind me of a PS2 game. But the game play graphics are impressive. They are not really detailed because of the distance you are away from the game but they are nice.

The story for the game is kind of weak. I mean they do a good job of giving the game a story but its really weak.

The sound of the game really gives you the feel of where you are at in this battle. Swords clashing, eagles soaring over and the music really fits with the game as well.

The controls are really simple. If you do the tutorial at the main menu, then it is basically explained to you as easy as possible. But to figure it out on your own wouldn't be that hard. It would take a battle or two to figure it all out. But It wouldn't be long.

Online, I have not played yet but I looked at the set up and I was impressed. It reminds me a lot of Kessen for the PS2. (Kessen was not an online game i'm just talking about the feel.)

Finally I have not beat the game as of now but just by playing it for the time being, I think that, It has a moderate replay value.

Overall, the game is worth checking out. Rent it! Buy it! Get it from GAMEFLY!!! Try it out! its worth it.

(TO GAMEFLY)
note the advertising that i've done for your site. I demand...well...Nothing really...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Battle for Middle-of-the-Road gaming!

posted by MDiver82 (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is set up like your classic Warcraft or Command and Conquer games. Where you build structures and amass armies to conquer your foe.

What I didn't like, was the lack of single player options. When you do the quest lines, you don't get to use all the factions; and you can't exploit some of the full arsenals when you have the opportunity. As Evil, you can play as the Goblins or Mordor. You get to use all of the Goblins resources and weaponry, but you only get to use a portion of Mordor's arsenal and armies. As good, you only get to fight as the Elves and the Dwarves. It's a really incomplete single player mode, which I was truly disappointed in.

In skirmish mode, you can use all the factions and have access to all their armies and arsenals. These factions include Gondor, Isengard, Elves, Dwarves, Mordor, Goblins, etc. Much more complete, but a lot less fun; because there is no story or sense of advancement in this mode.

I didn't play this game online, but it's pretty much skirmish mode without the computer.

This game has a way of occupying time, as well as making it fly. It's a good game, and worth playing for the single player achievements; which are pretty easy to obtain. Has very little replay value, past going back to try and earn achievement points that you may have missed. A game you should rent, before thinking about buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Adrenaline (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is all-around very well made. I love RTS's and I'm sure anyone else who likes RTS's would like this game. Finally, they get the controls right. The controls are smooth and easy to get through, especially in times of need when you need to make commands in a hurry. A sure to be favorite for me and many others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LORD OF THE RING BATTLE FOR MIDDLE EARTH II

posted by charlieeee (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE GAME. IT DEFIENTLY WAS WORTH TRADING IN FAR CRY AND TABLE TENNIS ( WHICH BOTH SUCKED)TO GET THIS GREAT GAME. IF YOU ENJOY STRATEGY GAMES THIS IS FOR YOU. IT HAS BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS AND TONS OF DIFFERENT STORY LINES TO FOLLOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A console RTS

posted by Feebleflea (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This RTS is on .... o gasp a console.
Well LOTR: BM 2 is very well done. The controls are very well done and the sound and gameplay is fun and fluid. The mulyiplayer is also a challenge because you face humans. The only problem is the ocasianal framerate drop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive!

posted by GamerX (CAMARILLO, CA) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can easily lose hours playing this game! Yes, it does lag, but the graphics make up for it. The online play is fun too, be sure to have plenty of time set aside before you get into a ranked match. The controls are surprisingly intuitive and easy to learn. I'm hooked!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad frame Rate and slowdown

posted by AGamer (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The pc version is by far better,in graphics and gameplay.The frame rate gets so sloppy and slow in the xbox 360 version when there is large numbers of enemy's on onscreen that it is almost unplayable.I know the 360 can handle this game, that is what is so sad about it.If you have a good PC,do yourself a favor and play the better version.The game is fast and smooth,not slow and choppy.EA should have done better than this.Also the pc game does look alot better.Better looking textures and player models.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, could be better

posted by mex4life (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jul 14, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I have seen many games almost exactly like this before, but the only thing giving it a 7 as opposed to a 5 is that I am a huge lord of the rings fan. It is fun to a certain extent, but then again the graphics at times are lacking, you cannot zoom in far enough, and the fighting can bore you. The game has some cool powers you can use but even at times the game seems dull. It would help if you could position your armies for the fight, and then actually fight in the battle in first or close 3rd person mode as one of the heroes, or even one of the soldiers. You might say "oh but then it's just another lord of the rings hack and slash", but not really. The fact that you can position your armies gives the game the strategic element, but running in there with a single person and fighting them yourself once the troops are in place is half of the fun. Add in that element to the game and it would be a "10" hands down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RTS on a console

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best RTS type games that has come to a console. The controls work, but some tweaks would have made it a little better. The game has decent graphics but still studders from time to time, of coarse all RTS games do even on high end PCs. If you like RTS or even just the "Lord Of The Rings" movies then you may like this game, give it a rent and see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game. Bad frame rate

posted by Parabolee (MAPLEWOOD, NJ) Jul 23, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

being a fan of Red Alert and other classic RTS I was very hopeful for this game. Especially as I am also a LotR fan.

Well they did a great job with the interface, I am halfway through the good campaign and I have had no complaints at all. It feels pretty solid on all accounts.

All in all it is a great game for both RTS and LotR fans alike. That is why it is such a shame that it chugs along so often while playing. There really is no good reason a game like this should be so sluggish at times on a 360. If the game played at a solid 30 or 60 frames per second it would be worth a solid 8.

As it is, it falls to a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where are the good games at!

posted by ExpectMore (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game is just another steaming pile of dog excrement. Do the guys at EA play the games they make? This game is a perfect example of the sad state of video games. Where is the inventiveness; the imagination. When will the suffering stop?

If this game is dog excrement, the camera control would be the undigested corn. Not being able to view the entire battle space makes serious game play (strategy) impossible. The camera controls should have been more Google Earth-like.

Graphics, what graphics? Little attention was paid to the details and it was very noticeable. How about frame rate? How about Super Mario Bros. after catching a star?

This game was a rip off and total abuse of the LOTRs license. Thankfully those of us reading this have GAMEFLY: Our $60 is still safely tucked away in our wallet.

Should you rent this game? Sure if your a self-loathing masochist. Otherwise steer clear of this one.

Those of you who liked this game, I can only say one thing: expect more, much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad.

posted by AnTz911 (HONOLULU, HI) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Rent it. Dont be like me and buy it because my friend says it was good. i should've rented it! now i wasted my 60bucks and the most i'll get back for a trade-in is probably $28. the camera angles is the worst thing in this game. the tutorials dont help much because if u miss what they teach u the first time, theres no menu to pull up to see what it was that they told u to do. the graphics is alrite.. idk wat else to say. im speechless.. ea should've done better, im sure the 360 can put out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse