Rent Lord of the Rings: Conquest for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: Conquest

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS
GF Rating
5.8

8194 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Battlefront? Really?

posted by l3tt3rs (FLORENCE, SC) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

112 out of 128 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

OVER ALL GAME PLAY:
As a big LOTR fan I was pretty excited about this game, and so far, it is pretty good. While the essential game mechanics are very similar to Battlefront, one key element that is missing (sadly) is the way the Battlefront used the # of troops on each side during the battle. LOTR:C seems much more focused on capturing bases than actual combat. The endless supply of enemies makes it feel more like a Dynasty Warriors game.

TECHNICAL:
Bottom line, the game doesn't look great. Graphically it looks like an early launch game. The game plays pretty smooth overall with only a few spots of frame rate issues and hit detection.

ONLINE:
Online is generally fun, but lacks the overall grand feeling of the campaign. Would have been better to include a mode that mirrored the large scale battles of the campaign rather than just an 8 on 8 battle. This seems to be a departure from the strongest point of the game.

FINAL THOUGHTS:
If your a big LOTR fan, this is definitely a game to check out, but don't expect Battlefront with LOTR as it has been billed...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you like the Battlefront games...

posted by Rico72 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

37 out of 45 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This game is almost exactly like Star Wars Battlefront. You play through several levels trying to capture points. The single player campaign will last around 8 hours at most. Once you copmlete the "good" story you can play as the "evil." Both sides have the exact same character classes so it gets a little repetitive. The game is made to be played with friends. It supports 4 player split screen and xbox live. Online you can play a capture the flag type match called "capture the ring"...team deathmatch...and conquest.

My biggest problem with the game is there is no targeting system. I got very frustrated playing as a warrior and starting an attack on one guy and then mid-combo it would switch to another. After switching I would then get hit by the enemy I was originally hitting. Your enemies also love to hit you when your down or right when you stand up. If your playing on the harder difficulties this will probably kill you. Another issue I have is that when you do die or fail an objective you have to completely restart the level. When your 15 minutes into one of the longer levels and you get killed and have to start over, it is a little frustrating.

I'm not saying the game isn't fun, but it could use a little extra work. Playing with a friend is fun and online play will keep some people coming back, but I don't think it has the lasting appeal of most games. It's worth renting if you like the Battlefront games or are a fan of LOTR.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Conquest, an entertaining rental

posted by HouseMN (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 21, 2009

Member since May 2008

38 out of 52 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

LOTR: Conquest brings the Battlefront style to Middle Earth. This game sticks very closely to the old Battlefront formula, a little too closely.

I'll break down the pro's and con's before going into some detail.

Goods:

- Many characters from LOTR are available to play
- Levels are decent sized
- Evil campaign gives an interesting change of fate for Middle Earth
- Multiplayer is fun (gee, really?)

Bads:

- Graphics aren't as good as they could be
- Campaigns are short
- Lack of replay value
- Way too easy (cheap ways) to die in certain spots of the campaign

More often than not I find myself playing a sequel, or a game made to emulate a different title, and thinking that "they should have stuck with what worked", or, "why did they change that?". With LOTR: Conquest, I found myself thinking "why didn't they change anything?!".

This game feels very much like Battlefront for the Xbox, too much infact. The graphics are nothing to write home about, there is no character development of any kind. Other than mindless killing (which I am a fan of) and achievements, there isn't really any reason to replay levels. A play through each campaign will net you roughly 60% of the gamer points, which can easily be done in one sitting (on an easy difficulty that is).

One redeeming point to this title is the "evil" campaign, which takes on the story as if the ring was not destroyed, and instead was returned to Sauron. I'm not going to lie, I really enjoyed pillaging the Shire. I killed a lot of hobbits.

I gave the game a 6 rating based on the fact it is fun for a while, but I regret paying $60 the day it came out. I am ready to sell it.

Worth a rental, but don't pay more than $20 - $25 for this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The levels shouldn't out do the game

posted by KQswst104 (LONG BEACH, CA) May 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If youve played Star Wars: Battlefront you know the drill. Choose a side and class and attack. In LOTR: Conquest however you can see how rushed the game was with its shoddy controls and boring scenarios. If you love the movies however this may still be a rental to see the levels. This aspect of the game at least was well done with all the details almost 100% accurate to the films, allowing you to see other parts of cities you didnt see in the movies like rivendell, the shire, minas tirith and pretty much every major area seen in the trilogy except for edoras, bree, and lothlorien. The most interesting level is minas morgul since in the trilogy you only see it from a far off distance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Favorite Lord of the Rings Video Game.

posted by sauron25 (HAWTHORNE, CA) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

When the game came out in January 2009, I definitely had to play it. When I did, I said "This was the best Lord of the Rings game I ever played". There were lot of things I liked about this game. I thought the battle scenes were great! You get to play charaters new characters like The Balrog, Sauron, The Mouth of Sauron, Saruman, and The Witch King. Playing the evil campaign is awesome! Most reviews I read on other game sites and they didn't like this game. I disagreed on most things they said what was bad about this game. There are a few errors in this game, The voices in the game are annoying, there are some frustrating parts to beat, and some of the voice-over acting could be a little better. But This game is great! If you like the Lord of the rings movies, I recommend that rent this game before you buy it. Just in case you don't like. My score for Lord of the Rings ConQuest is 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOTR

posted by secretops (STATESVILLE, NC) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a great game i love how its like battle front i am a big fan about that, and the overall was great imo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Action Packed Fun

posted by youthere (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing with so many moves to take down your enemy. It has maps from all three movies which is wonderful for any Lord of the Rings fans. They did a great job bringing the basics of Star Wars Battlefront into a Lord of the Rings look. It is a Ten on my scale and a must buy for any fans of Lord of the Rings. The best part about the game is the fact that you can take over just about any troll, ent, ladder, catapult, balista, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not so good as I had hoped...

posted by Iphriam (NUNDA, NY) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have to say, I had been waiting quite a long time for something like this game.

However, I was sorely disappointed. I was expecting a Star Wars Battlefront style interface, but forgot that EA had the rights to the Lord of the Rings games, which means it's simply a Lord of the Rings movie game with a little more freedom of movement. I would have thought EA would try something different, but I was mistaken. I recommend this game for the following people:

1. Those who have not played the LotR movie games by EA, as it ruins the fun with its monotony.

2. Those who have not played Star Wars Battlefront, because if you have, you might be disappointed and confused at the total switch of interface.

Or 3. Those who have played neither, as it would be new and fresh. A game is always more fun if you haven't played their better versions.

If I have offended anyone, I apologize. I know some die-hard LotR fans would probably be quite angry with this review. But let me say that I only find fault with the game because I've read the books, and I loved them.

And to be sure LotR: Conquest's mediocre rating was no fault of Pandemic Studios's, they did their job well. EA, however has used that same interface for every LotR game they've made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA cancelled this game!

posted by tank95634 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

As of March 2010 EA has shut down the servers for this mostly online-geared game! t0have do not u rent unless you do not have Xbox live! The single-player portion of this game just makes you hunger for the online experience, much like star wars battlefront. Aviod this game like a Gollum aviods bathing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by Ent3nsity (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. There is no sense of continuity, the levels are just random places where you do random stuff to fight some stupid forces of evil. Even as a LOTR fan, I have no clue what is going on here besides mindless button mashing to kill enemies.

There are like 4 classes to choose from, but the only good ones are archer and mage. The other 2 suck.

You will CONSTANTLY get hit by enemies and knocked down, losing control of your character. So the smallest hit from the weakest enemy sets of a chain reaction where you ultimately die. Frustrating!

Every so often you will get to play as a "hero", one of the good famous guys from the story like Aragon or Gandalf. There is nothing special about them other then their name.

For some reason, the cut scenes between levels have a stupid transparent overlay of a map over them. Making it hard to see anything the cut-scene is trying to see. Why? STUPID.

Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing addition to LOTR

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is my first reviews so bear with me.

I was so excited about this title that I re-did my Que so I would get it when it released. Boy was I ever disappointed. The graphics are ok (probably not the best for a 360 title), the music and sound were all ok. Why I did I give it a low rating? Game play, at least the first part of the game, totally turned me off. The standard classes all seem bland and lack any real power, with maybe the warrior, at least I could take on multiple enemies and really felt like I was in thick of things. The one hero I did play in the training session seemed equally bland. This game is probably best played in a multi-player forum, unfortunately I just don't want to hook up my ethernet/pay for access, to a game that was very interesting to me. On a final I guess if they were going to make it like battlegrounds they should have made it like battlegrounds, and not some weird hybrid, action RPG/strategy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by rickjames4 (CONWAY, SC) May 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Where do i start timed missions are really out dated... protecting stuff for 4 minutes everything you do with 10 of your guys against 250 baddies.. when you get knocked down forget about trying to get up.. the camera doesnt stay in the battle... your magic doesnt work when you need it to... do not rent save the 5 days of getting it an sending the piece of dump back... I do not recommend this game even to my worst enemy... good luck to all who plays this..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

treasuremap

posted by jason20 (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

makes challenging fun so if you like lords and rings put this on your game Q NOW!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

yes

posted by Tericia (FITCHBURG, MA) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is mad fun best game i evered played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

oh boy

posted by JokerFear (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gets repetitive fairly quick. i didnt even finish the entire game. sad because i heard the campaign isn't long either way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mainly

posted by sauron (CEDAR CITY, UT) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow i have just completing lotr conquest on all of the difficulty's and i think it was a very good game and had a very good story behind the making of this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Disappointed

posted by jch159 (SILVER CITY, NM) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Another button mashing lame game! I'm glad it's only a rental! Not worth purchasing! Is it me or are the games getting worse instead of better ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lord of the Rings version of Star Wars Battlefront

posted by Gandoff216 (MOUNT STERLING, KY) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

This game is alsome. From start to the end, was a truly enjoyable experience. This game is losesly based on The Lord of the Rings, and plays on the ideas of Star Wars Battlefront games. You have several points to gain contol of, and to desrtroy, and you can even play as major characters of the moive/book. There are only two things I don't like. I play on casual, which is term used for easy, and heroic meanin meduim. Either was about the same difficulty to me. One the most part it was pretty hard on some levels. It was realy hard to beat a level objective on a few story levels so much, I had to take a break from playing due to frustration. The second thing I didn't like was that you had two paths to beat, one being good, and the other evil. The evil path was a made up story of what if Frodo took the ring as his own, instead of Golem falling in the lava with it. I played it, and being a orc and Uruiki was not as bad as I thought it would be, but I realy didn't enjoy the so called what if story. I would have been better if they did a story line of either the great war that was fought for the ring before Lord of the Rings, or the evils path falling the lord of the rings from hobbiton to the black gates. All in all, a exellent game. I had trouble alot of times with the character not turning to fight someone, but great game. A sequl built on this idea, and begining structure would be alsome, but the Lord of the Rings is a limited story line for the characters involved. One half of the game was built from real stroy line, the rest on made up. Leaving a very limited area of the movie/book to beable to be used for a sequal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just Ignore This Game

posted by TheColonel (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

First off, absolutely garbage graphics. This game has the graphics of a game that came out the launch week of the 360, not 3+ years later. Also, the campaign is nothing but one long round of capture the flag match. All you do (and remember, I'm talking about the solo campaign here) is run to a control point, wait to capture it, wait to defend it, and then move on to the next one. In the midst of all this, it is nothing more than a hack and slash game. Literally, you spend all your time pressing random buttons hoping you're killing something and hoping they don't kill you. Terrible, terrible, terrible game. If I could sue Gamefly for sending me this game, I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worthless EA game

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

The fact that it is an EA game should of been enough warning, but I got this anyway. I shouldn't have, the combat is beyond simplistic yet they tried to make it tougher by adding in combo's and changing how it works on a class basis.

The basic controls are hampered by two things. The camera moves with the right stick, which is fine except the triggers don't do the attacks unless your a mage or archer. So as a warrior or scout, your left hoping you pressed the right direction to attack the guy behind you or besides you or off slightly behind and to the left. Archers shoot slowly, which would be fine except besides arrows you have a kick, which has the same problem as the warrior or scout. Mages can charge up a lightning attack, or hold it down and hit more opponents, plus a fireball, that has no fire and is blue, or an at your feet push back spell.

Mages are the closest thing to actually working in the game, yet they don't work very well. The camera scrolls slowly, so if your a mage or archer your stuck way in the back hoping you can hit something. Warriors and scouts are in the front hoping they can hit something. Notice a trend there?

The animations are pretty basic and bland, the class selection screen does not always react correctly, I found myself pressing A twice to select the only choice I had in the tutorial. The AI is worthless when playing alone, the graphics are grainy and blurry.

If that isn't bad enough, the campaign you start off with Helm's Deep, sounds great and exciting, it's neither. You get three assistant AI to start off with, every once in a while they may kill an orc. You can change classes at special statues, that are not readily apparent and you have to arrow flaming torch bearers shortly after starting so your stuck with an archer for the beginning, but you need a warrior for the second part. Dying means the place you were at is overrun worse than it was when you died. Not even coaster worthy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YAY!

posted by revganes (VAN NUYS, CA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I Loved the story and Online Its just like battlefront that was the greatest now this AWSOME!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Let down....

posted by JTtheGamer (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was expecting so much more from this game... The graphics seem really outdated. The gameplay is horrible. Classes seem unbalanced. being able to play with only 16 people in online multiplayer, takes away from the Lord of the Rings epic battles. Single Player is fun but gets boring quick. The Controls in this game are good and so is the sound but other than that this game is just another licensed piece brought to you by EA.

What a let down Pandemic... I'll just stick with Star Wars: Battlefront

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst....Game....Ever

posted by dedeziel (MILFORD, MI) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I read some reviews on this game before renting. I went to IGN and read the review. The game sounded for the most part fun and maybe somewhat comparable to Dynasty Warriors which got me excited. I received it on June 10th 2009 at 2:00pm, and no joke it was back in the mailbox by 4:00pm. I started the game and started the first level and was initially unimpressed. I completed the first 2 levels by 3:30 and came upon the third level. Besides the repeating gameplay and lack of combos to be able to use on any character the AI was the cheapest most dirty acting AI ever. I died 4 times and all 4 times I never even got up from being knocked down after the first time. I dont think of myself as a noob either. I have played games of all kinds for over 20 years and I can tell you right now this is the worst game ever made. I am very aware of Superman 64 and E.T for Atari, but those games look like Goldeneye compared to this heaping pile of junk. The only thing I can compare this game to is a 3 month used litter box. Do not listen to IGN or any other site that has nothing but biased fanboys who review the game, you dont even have to listen to me but Im telling you this game is nothing sort of horrendous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SUPPER GREAT GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by vic2000 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is a very good game even though ive never seen the moovie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'll just list the quick pros and cons...

posted by Artanis22 (AMELIA, OH) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Pros...
Works when put into your Xbox360.

Cons...
Works when put into your Xbox360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse