Rent Lord of the Rings: Conquest for PS3
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: Conquest

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
5.5

3610 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Is this the same game that everyone else played?

posted by poppie (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I'm mean really!?! People thought it was bad? I thought this game was amazing. The AI was decent, the graphics were above standard, and the controls were a lot easier than poeple might say. I also liked the instant action mode, and the 2 campaigns were interestingly addicting to finish. The only noticablely bad was that the camera was always going in a direction so that your caracter was facing the screen, but you can fix that at the options menu. Very good, but not quite perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LoTR: Conquest

posted by AzEfEng (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 17, 2009

Member since May 2008

42 out of 52 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

After seeing the other reviews i was very confused,
Sure the game doesn't have state of the art graphics and it is a button masher game, but this game is still by far the best LoTR game out.
Even without beautiful graphics and intense complicated game play, LoTR: Conquest still has great re-play value.
What the others didn't realize is this game is meant for you to learn the ropes for good and evil chars in single player then go online and play with people because in my experience the real fun happens online in the "EA Nation" not in single player.

Honestly if someone can't even try all aspects of a game and see that this game takes more then just button mashing when playing online they shouldn't write a review on it.

All in all this is a great game i highly suggest renting it and if your a real LoTR fan, buy it =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game, actually

posted by Bhep34 (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright, Lord of the Rings:Conquest, hands down, great game. This is exactly like Star Wars Battlefront, all about capturing the command post and basically just owning every orc in site. It's actually pretty sweet, I love being the mage because he has a giant energy shield to guard u and can heal. he also shoots lighting strikes at at least 2 targets. Another thing that's like Battlefront is the thing where you get enough kills so that you can become a hero. It's sweet, you can be gandalf, faromir, legolas, eowyn(girl who killed the witch king)gimli(occasionally) and Aragorn. My favorite is probably Aragorn, because you can do special attacks with all of them, but his are the best and strongest. You can shoot the green ghosts at the enemies, which owns. As I already said, this game is crush city basically. It rules. I've played it several times, and for once, in a lot of these type games, the story doesn't suck. Buy/Rent this game, and you won't be disappointed.

Bhep

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

LotR conquest

posted by Primusaur (DENVER, CO) May 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really had fun on the splitscreen although the game is incredible easy and short that way. Solo play is a slight bit more challenging and online play is the same as every ps3 online game. i found the controls to be more and more fun as i learned them and the game was equally as fun if not more so the second time around. The four basic player classes are horribly balanced on the online play but for taking down the computer AI they work well. I may have only had the game three days and i beat if four times but i may rent it again just for the fun you and a buddy can have with the splitscreen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

clone150's LOTR Conquest review

posted by clone150 (Orem, UT) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be very fun. Sure, its a bunch of button smashing throughout the whole game,but that doesn't stop it from being great.

The Good:This game has an excellent storyline[in my opinion]of both good and especially evil.
The game's controls are simple and easy to use with cool combos to kill your enemies with.
The heroes are pretty good,I think that being able to play as Sauron is a cool improvement from other LOTR games.
For vehicles on good you can play as Ents,and as bad you can play as Trolls.They are REALLY powerful,and can heal themselves and others,but they do have their weaknesses.
The multiplayer I found the best part of the game. It's easy to get kills as archer,if your skilled with targeting,or a mage with their firewalls.Scouts are good since they can instant kill enemies with their Backstab move.And warriors,well pretty much just run in there and start hackin away!

The Bad: It's not the greatest in graphics[but then again we're just in it for the evil campaign,right?]
It has some issues with connection problems on multiplayer[as thats what I've seen.]
The lives thing on the campaigns can get annoying if you have trouble on certain parts.
It is actually quite easy,at least on heroic.

Other than that,I think this is the best Lord of the Rings war type game in the series.I strongly reccomend trying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Lord of the rings game

posted by jdwooley14 (BRECKENRIDGE, TX) May 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best i have played in years, the game play is good, the graphics is what i like most about this game, the only down side, is the story line, its to short, i would of like a bigger story line, but all in all its a great game, especially online mode, it is great, all the minigames are fun to do with other players, so i give this game a 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fo any LOTR fan.

posted by dingis1216 (MARCUS HOOK, PA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I wold most certainly rate this game with a ten. The graphics are by far acceptable and game play is definitely something to keep returning to. Also the storyline for the game are ones to keep the player playing. It was also a good quality to have gamers play as all of the characters you never got to explore before such as, Oliphaunts, Ring Wraiths, Ents, and Villains. The final great achievement for this game is the instant action feature and the option to play the untold story of the ring returning to Sauron.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

All-in-all a pretty good game.

posted by joeluk123 (Jeffersonville, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun.

THE NEGITIVE:
I wish that blocking system was a bit better, its kind of a pain when you have to fight with one orc/soldier for 5 minutes just to get them to stop blocking. The storylines should have gone along with the movie a little more to make it a bit more realistic but I understand why they didnot.

THE POSITIVE:
The figthing is very cool with whole battles going on around you and the ability to grab any combatant on the field and duel to the death with them is very nice. The enviromental controls are nice too allowing you to interact with weapons on the battle feild or bust down a on coming orc battle tower with a catapult. The ability to once and a while use one of the actual LOTR's charaters (e.g. Aragorn) is fun too. For the most part the feature I loved the best was that once you play out the battle for middle earth as the movie intended you can change it up and play as the baddies. This gives you a whole new prospective and maks this game totaly worth playing.

So like I said all-in-all a good game and if you are a LOTR's fan then you will most likely enjoy this game very much.

GREAT JOB EA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lord of the rings,conquest

posted by lowville04 (HORIZON CITY, TX) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is what i thought it would be because i dont have high hopes for games because games are not perfect in the ways you want them to be.Thats why i am rating this game a ten,i knew this game would not be the best.So if you are renting this game,dont have high hopes,so it would seem good to you.Now my brother will tell me what he thinks of this game.My brother says that he likes the game, thats all he told me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Was really looking forward to this one...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jan 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

maybe a little too much since my expectations seem to have exceeded reality. That's not to say it's a bad game, but there are enough minor issues and quirks with it that keep it from being all it can be in my opinion. Several people have compared this to the Star Wars: Battlefront series, and rightly so, the games I kept thinking about though were the previous EA LotR ventures. Maybe that's the source of some of the issues I'm having with it. Instead of playing one of the main characters you play generic grunts for the most part (towards the end of any particular level you get to play one of the heroes to finish things off). In the context of the game they were going for it makes sense, but come on this is LotR, we want to play the heroes ;) They also screwed around a bit with the order and sequence of events. Maybe that's a little too nit-picky, but it still bugged me how they tried to wedge some of things in (the Moria level for example), and I'm not even that huge of a LotR fan.

Regarding the game itself, I thought the graphics and sound were great. The only problem I had was it was easy to get lost in the crowd since there is no indicator that points out your character and everyone of the same class looks the same. The levels are on the short side and there's not many of them so I think they are counting on the online part to keep people hook. Unfortunately this is another complaint I have. You have to register with their server in order to play online. As far as I know this goes for all multiplayer, so you can't even do a friend to friend play without logging in to their machines. Just one more hassle in my humble opinion.

Bottom line, it is a fun game in the same sense of the SW Battlefront series, a good button masher to blow some time with. Frankly I enjoyed the previous LotR button masher games a little more. I do strongly recommend it for a rental to try it out. Personally I'm going to wait until it hits the bargain table to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not The Best, But Fun!

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) May 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all let me grade the main components of this game on a 1 to 10 scale, ten being the best.
Graphics: 7
Controls: 9
Story: 3
Replayability: 5
Overall: 6.5
Now let's us talk about the game as a whole. I was very surprise to find that the characters in the game are a pretty good size, I was afraid that our heros would be little as they are in other games (X-Men, Batman and others). I found that the characters are easy to manipulate and the control-combinations are easy enough to remember. Graphics were not the best but they do the trick for this game. I did not like the fact that I could not play as Aragon or any of other movie characters but only in some circumstances. Also as soon as the game starts, you do nothing but fight...don't get me wrong, a game like this does not need much of the cut scenes, but what if some one did not watch the trilogy of the Lord of The Rings, they'd be lost, they would not know why they are fighting for a certain city. I will say that this game was fun and I was glad to play it. My advise is as follows, if you are the type of gammer that likes to beat the game the same day you get it, then this is a great game for you go and buy it. If you are like me and after an hour and a half of playing this game you find that you have reached the end and you find yourself asking "what?" "Already?" Why?..."is that it?", then I recommend you rent it, don't buy it because this game is short. I will give the game a 7 and hope that the next chapter it's not rushed and make it a real part of a movie trilogy. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I enjoyed this game

posted by TrueDuke01 (LUBBOCK, TX) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I loved to play the game with my brother and the gameplay got pretty fun and had the LOTR action fans like me crave. But, and I only have two criticisms. One, Gameplay did get boring after a while, but that could've been because I was only renting and I played it constantly. Two, the amount of people on the battle field was too small for my taste, more people to kill would be nice, they should add grunts to Instant action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is This What We've Been Waiting For?

posted by DarkRogue (MARYVILLE, TN) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Finally! If your like me, you've been waiting and waiting for a Lord of the Rings game worth playing. While Return of the King made a point that Lotr games might have a future, it had major flaws that begged correction. Unfortunately, none of those were answered in those that followed.

Once this game came out, I immediately had to try it. I of course expected the same levels, but not the same design. Although these levels have been defined a bit; they are the same levels you played in the past with a few exceptions like Mines Morgul and The Shire.

If you loved Star Wars Battlefront, then you'll like this. Made by the same people, you can definately see the resemblance. I loved being able to play from the perspective of the warriors, archers, etc., instead of just the heroes. There is also an option of playing through it with another player player via splitscreen. The combat was as good as it could be with no simple corrections. The graphics are pretty good, but overall not a great difference between this and the Ps2 versions. Not to mention all the limitations including the invisible walls and mindless silouhettes of characters in the backround. The story is a bit confusing for people who haven't seen and followed the movies, because they are basiclly bits and pieces of the movie in a short clip before each level. The levels are fast but enjoyable, and they included all of them worth playing.

Now the bad stuff. If your looking for trophies, your out of luck. The story mission trophies are easy, and you'll pass them in no time. However, EA decided to close down the server, which completely liquidated the online feature. When you beat a game, you'll find that the online play is the only thing that you will come back to. Also, half of the trophies require online play, so the Platinum is literally impossible to collect. If your a Lotr fan like I am, this is definately worth a rent. God Bless!

- Rogue

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looks good, but no follow through

posted by Acilate (LIVERMORE, CA) May 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The demo for this game was fun and made the game look very enticing. However, after 30 minutes of game play through the single player campaign, I got so frustrated that it was all I could do to not throw the game disc out the window. The AI of your fellow combatants is horrible, you seem to fight almost every battle on your own, as your team mates fall at a single hit. The one on 20 action is fun at first, but as you die time and time again to relentless hoardes of enemies, trying to achieve a single goal, your patience will wear thin.

The multiplayer is equally as frustrating, as the controls are clunky and react at what seems to be the games whim.

All in all, I was thoroughly disappointed in the game, and will return it after just an hour or so of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

There was a good game to make, they didn't make it

posted by Printz (BOONE, NC) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This review is going to be overwhelmingly negative, so lets start with the good:
Its LOTR
Has a good fighting system

I liked being able to change player classes, it was fun using a Battlefield type system for acquiring victory while playing as fantasy characters.

Now for the BAD:
If you don't mind using your PS3 for a game with graphics on par with the PS2, get this game.

If you don't mind a dodgy aiming system at best, along with countless horde that are at times annoying (not challenging) to kill, get this game.

I was just unimpressed, a game with the LOTR brand on it should live up to high expectations. If you want a game that looks like it belongs on the PS3 and has a better combat system, look at the new Golden Axe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what a letdown

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game for one thing is a replica of star wars battlefront without guns or grenades it follows the attritubes of respwan,and third person action again just like battlefront but it's not as good as battle front it lacks good graphics and the battles are way too hard even playing as an ent or a hero i was still dieing to easy i will not be putting this one on my birthday list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lord of the Rings : Conquest

posted by Serobi (VISTA, CA) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not what I expected. I expected much more from the developers of Battlefront II but hopes were shot down. Now his doesn't mean it's an entirely bad game. It's just that it's way too short and the online trophies aren't the fairest ones either. It's an average game, nothing above and nothing below. It's a rental a pick up and play sort of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is this lord of the rings game any good?

posted by bblain (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought it was an awesome game. Campains were sweet but it didnt hold my attention for very long. Online good to but same problem. Good game to rent bad to buy.

Signed,
bblain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't have been much worse.

posted by Tatzlwurm (OSTRANDER, OH) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Very disappointing, reminded me of a cheesy knock off of StarWar's battlefront. Although Battlefront played much better than this game. The cut scenes where poorly done as well. Only played for 1 hour or less before I was completely bored and sent it back. Not often I have do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WORST Anticipated game of the year!!!!!

posted by rooku1 (Murfreesboro, TN) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I mean it wants to be a "brutal" game but it seems like no one bothered to play the game to see if it was any fun. I have played the other LOTR games(PS2) and this one is such a let down. Maybe it's just me, I dunno, I play games alot and I tend to be well enough to beat it without any problems,(even the easiest mode).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad

posted by Ethan1617 (OIL CITY, PA) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

i had high hopes for this game but i dont think it lived up to its potential. i like the coop play but the graphics are not that good at all even in HD. it has excellent gameplay, its a bit too short also. the graphics is wat really hit me hard. not a buy game just a rent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game I've Ever Played

posted by NinjaFace (NORTH AUGUSTA, SC) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. The controls are awkward and the fight system is also ridiculous.

What I mean is, blocking is pointless because as soon as you finish a combo on one person you are immediately attacked by another before you even have a chance to block. Now I for one don't like to take forever to play a level, I like to get in the mix and mess people up. Just not goin to happen with this one with how fast you die and the lag between attacks and blocking. Well that and the fact that you are constantly getting railed by lightning attacks and arrows.

It's clear they didn't think it through too much, 5 times in the second level or so the guy with the key fell off the level and it told me I had to retrieve the key. But guess what?! You can't get it because if you try you will fall and die! Haha!

Between trying to aim and move the camera angles you will not have time to move the crosshair in the correct direction to attack someone.

Otherwise this game is put together pretty well, there are a lot of moves (although getting any kind of rhythm in your attacks is hard). The sound is alright and the graphics aren't TOO bad. It's the combat and camera that makes it horrible; and yes I did try the far out camera mode as well (still sucks).

Look, basically unless you are a die hard fan and you don't care how much this game sucks, stay away from it. I hated it so much I wrote this review, and I have never felt the need to do so before! The only way I would however recommend this game is if you are playing with someone else to pick off people that would hit you in the back, but single player is strictly doodoo. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wouldnt reccomend

posted by Thedusty (CAMBRIDGE, MN) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is ok, kinda stupid when your on the ground and they beat the junk outta you. Oh and no big deal but the multiplayer is disabled they shut off all lord of the rings servers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TOO short

posted by Tehrod (EVANSVILLE, IN) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played this game for one day and I'm already tired of it. I was hoping something like Dynasty Warriors that takes a long time to beat completely, but this game was just like star wars battlefront...with less replay value somehow. Glad I only rented it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what an epic fail of a game

posted by 3amroos (DENVER, CO) Jun 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

yet a game that tries to capitalize on a movie franchise only to do a HORRIBLE job at making a decent game out of it... i couldn't stomach playing this stupid game for more than an hour before i turned it off and put it back in the envelope to ship it back...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse