Rent Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest for PS3
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, DS, Wii
GF Rating
3.5

869 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest

posted by Akonton (CONCORD, CA) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is ok it will keep you busy for about a day or maybe two at best . There are some fun side quests and nice background to the story , yet all and all I am Happy I RENTED the game as opposed to buying it THANK YOU FOR GAME FLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fans beware

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

First off, this is not a bad game. The game play is fairly straightforward, nothing especially challenging but still it's kind of fun to play the story as Aragorn (and young Frodo Gamgee).

I have two problems with the game. The first being total lack of camera control. You can't see anything that isn't directly in front of you unless you stop and go into Ranger sight mode.

The second being that the writers took some serious poetic license with the story. If you're a fan of the movies, the books or both, prepare yourself to be truly and seriously upset with this treatment.

If you can forgive those transgressions, it isn't a bad game. It is exceedingly short, I'm old and slow and I knocked it out in two days and that includes doing almost all of the side quests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't dismiss this one so fast

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Oct 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I almost missed out on a really cool game because I thought it was going to be one for the kiddies. Looks can be deceiving. Within the first half hour, the game starts to get rolling. The story is just timeless and if you have read the books a long time ago, this brings them back to mind. The animation is kind of cartoonish but it has a real charm to it. It doesn't take away from the gameplay. The one shockingly bad thing about the game is the lack of camera control. Didn't they bother to test the game? This really is a drawback but its still worth playing through to relive the story of the lord of the rings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Definately Not What I Expected

posted by daveh2676 (CHARLOTTE, MI) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I went out on the first day of the U.S. release and purchased the whole Playstation Move Controller set, (which I love by the way). Wanting a good game to play with it all, I immediately gravitated to the new Lord of the Rings game. I've been a fan of the past releases of the franchise on both the Playstation and PC, and thought that this would be an almost sure thing. The first 10 minutes of game play showed me that I was very, very wrong. In my opinion, this game is directed to the younger crowd, and I mean pre-teen to young teen. I'm slightly older, and therefore found it difficult to immerse myself in the cartoonish graphics and overly simple style. The controls handle okay for the most part, with a couple of problems making themselves apparent early on. It's hard to control what you need to see with the camera, as it follows your character from the back and can be a pain when you need to see at an angle behind you or something similar. The sword-play can also be disconcerting when you want to raise your arm and perform a downward swipe. More often than not, your character performs an upward swipe while your arm is raising in preparation for the action that you're trying to perform. All in all, this game would probably be good for the younger player, as it's pretty simple in execution with the violence being timid and game play simplistic. After paying $60, I suppose that it's a good thing that I have two younger children that would probably enjoy a game like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For the kiddies

posted by rbegpeek (CANON CITY, CO) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the LOTR trilogy and even a fan of the Hobbit as a child, I was anticipating the release of this game as were my children. I think it was in my game Q for the better part of a month. After receiving the game, I instantly noticed that this game was directed at the younger crowd. The controls are simple but sticky, you have no control of the camera which takes away from any 3rd person game, the graphics are a little out dated. However, my children had an absolute blast with this game. So if you are looking for a game with the typical hack and slash of the other LOTR games, go elsewhere but if you have children this might be a game for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this is how it goes...

posted by horsumhack (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

well, i always have a soft spot for games like this, look forward to them and hope, but gaming is merciless. it's incredibly hard to make a really good game. the big budget games are terrified of taking any real chances and are rewarded for taut, balanced, profoundly conservative and very well produced nothingness (er, halo reach comes to mind here), while little games like this just don't have any resources to do anything much, enough, beyond what it takes to cash in, or try to. aragorn's quest is not terrible really. there are flashes of polish and appeal; good voice acting, fairly pretty environments, sort of charming story presentation (really, it's a cute idea with the storytelling and the young hobbits). there's collecting and some leveling type stuff, not bad little cut scenes, i mean, if i were reading this i'd still be interested. but, sorry, there are just a few too many basics missing here. this may sound harsh, but if you couldn't make this game with a controllable camera i don't think you should even bother. it just cuts the heart out of it not to be able to look around or reorient except by moving. add clunky controls, some occ. awful character modeling and animation and the generic gaming sin, a desire to rain enemies on you because it's the only halfway interesting thing the developers can manage, only, it's not all THAT interesting and suddenly you become aware "wow, i am sitting here playing a stupid video game!". if the very best of games (mass effect 2, red dead...) have to struggle against this, well, little aragorns quest does not stand a chance!
it's funny, there are like a billion identical reviews for halo reach out there, but this one i can still barely find a thing on. i guess the idea is you're supposed to know it's not that good. every movie gets reviewed, but 100 gaming sites can't seem to handle it with games.
so, maybe give it a rent, but wait till this exciting fall season of releases ends & understand you probably wont like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by icedragon1 (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know they rated this game teen but I'm in my twenties and I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The playstation move with this game is so flawless. I enjoyed re-enacting the movie but feeling as I myself was actually the character playing. I totally recommend this game to those who like the movie and to those who just love action games. Two thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Child

posted by starbat626 (VENICE, CA) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Well I just got the game... I didn't know it was for young children though, it says teen, so I assume at least 16.... but this game looks like it's for very young people.

Nothing wrong with this game, but I can't play it, of course! I watched the first 5 minutes.

I'd recommend for those with children who perhaps like the Lego games, etc.

It looks like kids would like it.

I don't want to say anything negative here. I'll give it a 7 for this reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A S S game

posted by gardenome (PUEBLO, CO) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

worst game ever 1st level glitched on me 1st level!!! stay away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible!

posted by crandall1010 (LARAMIE, WY) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

When I first saw this game released I was really excited for it. When playing it I found myself utterly disappointed. They could have done a lot more with it. The graphics were very poor. The storyline was not well thought out and it held no surprises if you played any of the past LOTR games. As well as the voice acting could have been done better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

LotR: Aragorn's Quest

posted by digiboy123 (DICE, KY) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is aimed at kids, there's no doubt about that. With that in mind, the game isn't too bad. The gameplay is pretty solid, music is nice, and graphics are okay.

I played the game using the Move + Navigation controller and had pretty good time with it. No controls were that hard to understand. The game is much more fun if you have a second player join the game to help you with your quest. It really helps to breeze through the game.

This game can be beaten 100% in a couple days, so it's at least worth a rent for a lonesome weedend, or a great rent for trophy hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LOTR for Kids

posted by JJACK1 (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Aug 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is a joke, you are supposed to be replaying the story as told by Sam Gamgee's point of view, it barely follows the actual storyline of the movie and for being "Aragorns quest" there is a lot of jumping back and forth between characters. The controls are horrible, the game play is horrible. The graphics are decent however the game looks very child cartoonish. This would b e a good game good a little kid if they like LOTR. I dont understand the Teen rating as it's not graphic or violent at all. If your are a fan of LOTR stay away or prepare to be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest

posted by theanubisdragon (BELFAST, ME) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game on a scale of 1 to 10 i would probable give a 4 it was OK the game play was a bit slow and i beat it in 2 days i would have must likely beaten it in a day max but i have 3 kids so i could not play it till they where in bed and the Graphic's in my vow could have been much beater so if your your just getting in to game playing and want an easy game this games for you i would not run out to buy or even re rent it i don't think it worth the time but hey that's me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I recommend it for insomniacs...

posted by MitLong (CHAMPLIN, MN) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

...because it will put you to sleep. A lot of people have complained that the game is too childish. I can't say that I disagree, but what really hurt the game is that it's just...boring. At first it was fun to slash baddies with the move controller, but the novelty quickly wore off.

In the interest of full disclosure, I only put about 4 hours into this thing, so it's mathematically possible that it gets more interesting. Playing with a friend (who gets to control Gandolf) made the game slightly more tolerable, but not much.

Ultimately the game lacks some key elements that you associate with good games. These elements include variety, challenge, and whatever the opposite of repetition is. I'd stay away from it unless you're looking to play a game with your 5 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A Huge Disappointment

posted by nyoPchu (MAULDIN, SC) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I've read some of the negative reviews about this game before I chose to rent it. I thought I'd still give it a chance because maybe I might see things differently and enjoy it because I have played other LoTR games and enjoyed them greatly. It's sad to say that this game was very disappointing. The graphics were very low grade and the game was largely targeted to young children. I did not think that a game for young children would deter me like the way this game did. I played it for about an hour and then put it back into the packing slip. Still, the concept for the game was not bad and I am pretty sure that young kids would love this game - I'm just too old for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Aragorn's Quest

posted by mmcrunner12 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game was really made for younger audiences. There was nothing difficult about it and was very fast to complete. Glad I rented instead of buying. Also for any die hard lord of the rings fans the game takes some liberties with Tolkien's story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Child's Play

posted by BlakImage713 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game may be fun for a younger audience, but if you were expecting something like Conquest or the Lord of the Rings Trilogy games, you will be disappointed. I guess I will be waiting for the serious combat and energetic gameplay if they come out with a new LOTR game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fun

posted by Gabcent2 (CLIFTON, NJ) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is not fun. At all. I don't have a deep and insightful review on why it isn't fun, I just don't enjoy it. My biggest dislike is that you can't move the camera view around in the midst of the action. Why can't I turn around to see what is biting my ankle at a particular moment in time? I would've been ok with the graphics if the game wasn't poo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

lord of the rings aragorn quest

posted by leprachaun (ALLEGAN, MI) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

i m sorry to say that this game is a disgrace to the franchise. to kiddy. looks like a wii knock off and game plaz is to artifical. two thumbs off the controller zou have been warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.....ok

posted by myst2377 (GLASSPORT, PA) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The game was a fun play, a bit too easy and short. Enjoyed playing it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as bad as some say

posted by jroldham04 (JOHNSTOWN, CO) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

I rented this game for my new MOVE. At first I was not very into it but it has a way of hooking the user. The graphics are, sorry to say, WII quality at best. The voice acting is pretty decent, but motions of characters in cut scenes and the overall gameplay are very generic. It seems liked it was rushed to PS3 to coincide with the move launch--it just falls short in some areas. The story could also be longer but is pretty good. It is a clever take on retelling the story. I personally found the RPG style with side quests, collectibles, etc. highly enjoyable. The gameplay with the move is pretty fun and engaging, if you plan sword attacks. They took liberties with the story but overall I think it a good rental for LOTR fans. This game could have been so much more, but is still a decent game (to rent).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disgrace of a game

posted by MrReacher (DERRY, NH) Jan 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Terrible game. I got this for my son and it is just plain awful, if your looking for something to entertain the kids or to play with the family DO NOT LOOK HERE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by roperone (WALDOBORO, ME) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

One of the worse games ever been made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by ElecMourne (ARANSAS PASS, TX) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

OMG this game is the reason why i have gamefly im a huge fan of lotr and have played all the games so i gave this one a chance to. the graphics where horrible for a ps3 game, and aside from the narrator all the voice acting was cut straight from the movies! i played for an hour after that i put it back in the sleeve and mailed it....... an hour ill never get back what a shame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rent, just don't expect to be overwhelmed

posted by Lynxan (Clermont, FL) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

The first thing that was clear from the moment this game started, it was made for the Wii. The Sly Collection looks better then this does. Now mind you this does not make a bad game on it's own, but this all so leads to how it plays, witch isn't bad, but rather then using what the Move can do it mostly just uses the old waggle this way for this atack method and does that rather poorly too.

All is not bad though, the story is ok in a LOTR Jr kind of way. This isn't bad for the under 10 crowd it was likely made for, if your over that you'll probably be board

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse