Rent Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest for Wii
view large frontback

Lord of the Rings: Aragorn's Quest

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3, PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.2

410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Cool Game

posted by CyberInch (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Was a cool game, although I don't like the newer games whereas you can complete them in 4 hours. Overall the story line was great the action was great as well. Only complaint is the the Co-Op or 2 player mode only allows the 2nd player to fight or cast spells, not very much control otherwise...

All in all 4 stars..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun and easy game (wanted more)

posted by BoredinMN_30 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a good representation for the Lord of the Rings. It included stuff frome the books and stuff from the extended versions of the movie (ie. The Mouth of Sauron). The gameplay controls are a lot like Zelda the way your sword responds to movement. All the dialogue and voices are taken from the movie. The animation is a bit to cartoony for my taste though. Overall the game is very easy even on hard mode, but still very fun if you like LOTR. The only draw back is that it was a short game and over to quickly definitely wanted more. Also if you play only on one player you can not open certain chests and pots because they are magically sealed. You need two players so Gandalf can open them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost Worthy of Lord of the Rings

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Just when some of us can’t get enough of Lord of the Rings the movie, and the DVD collection with dozens of hours of entertainment, you can now get Lord of the Rings: Aragorn’s Quest (this review’s for the Wii version).
Here, Samwise is your narrator as he tells about Aragorn’s heroics through the epic tale - from the Shire to Rivendell to Helm’s Deep to Mordor. There are eight sections in all, good for about 6-8 hours.
The game makers put a wrinkle in the tutorial. Before using the controls with Aragorn, the player tries it out with Samwise’s son, Frodo, in a celebration. It’s a nice touch.
But most of the game will have you wandering about the map taking on main quests, side quests, and searches for Lore Items, Artifacts, and Tokens (used to make you and your companions better fighters).
And when I say “wandering about the map” I do mean you go through every bit of the playing area. Many times the game will ask you to backtrack over parts of the map you’ve been through before, and this can try player’s patience (these wanderings can go on for quite some time)
It doesn’t help that the characters in this game don’t have much character in them; I found the entire cast to be dull and bland - and Sam’s not that great as a narrator. Come on, guys, can’t you put in some dry humor (or any other type of humor ) in here?
The game makers try to overcome the boredom by putting in an energetic combat system where you can dodge and attack foes from behind, smash them with your shield, torch them or use a power attack for major damage.
But even with a great combat system, the gameplay can get dull and repetitive. This is one game not for the impatient.
And if you want to get all the items, you might have to fork over another $20 for the strategy guide.
Still, I had a lot of fun with this game. Aragorn’s Quest is definitely worth a rent, and some fans of the genre will want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

POOR

posted by Nikky (DENVER, CO) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

The graphics were bad and the games store line was hard to follow i also ran into problems with the instructions they were not clear enough to complicit my task!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Aragons (Links) Quest

posted by DasAndernoe (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Pros:
Boards are large
Story is great
Side quests a plenty
Score and backdrop graphics are beautiful
2nd player can "jump in"
Reminds me a LOT of Zelda/Link family

Cons:
Reaction time is slow from controller to character
Co-op (2nd player) mode has VERY limited sight/vision
Character graphics/speech/movement dated
Took about 5 hours to defeat :(

To sum up:
Its fun enough to play if youre a Lord Of The Rings Fan, but it aint no Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disk error

posted by DarkPrincess21 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

10 minuets into game play error appeared and i was forced to start over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disk Problem

posted by username122333 (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I started the game and played a little until the game stopped an said "Disk error" and some other stuff so i couldn't play anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A wonderful Game

posted by Ariel (CANDLER, NC) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

agree with other reviewers that serious gamers will be disappointed with this game. But as a periodic break from the norm for people with a life, this is a fun game. I'm a huge LOTR fan, both of the movies and of the literature, and this game is a fairly decent interpretation of both. Interestingly, while it is not 100% faithful to either, it represents both faithfully to some respects. Of course, the voices and images are almost straight from the movies, but the game designers have corrected some plot points to remain more true to the books. For example, when you reach Rivendell, you will be given Anduril. In the movie this didn't take place until the third movie, but the game corrects this and thus is more faithful to the books.
I think my favorite part is just roaming through the Shire as Frodo Gamgee in between Aragorn's quests. Aragorn’s Quest is definitely worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess only not as good

posted by AngryNinja (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was like The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess if you took away some of the graphics and all the challenging mind-tricks. I did like how you play as Frodo before you start/continue your quest, which also lets you try new skills(i.e. bow and arrow). I also like how you can change your "Find a Path" feature to direct you to the quests of your choice. The only thing that threw me off was you couldn't switch to other characters for other skills, like instead of getting a bow for yourself, you would switch to Legolus. or Gimbley(I forget spelling for their names). Or Gandalf. And then P2 would be able to switch characters, too. Overall, this game was good. So, 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »