Rent Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal for Wii
view large frontback

Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
4.4

738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

play if you want a headache

posted by chrisnjill (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the worst games that I have ever played. If you make it through the first level the control on the the second level will drive you insane. the screen is so dark that you cannot tell what you are doing half the time. basically everything about this game is a bust. Don't bother renting and please please DON'T BUY IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just another platformer, a lousy one at that.

posted by raynes (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

So much that could be done with the looney tunes. Instead all the developers did was create a platformer that does nothing new.

The game starts off in a training level. It's nothing but Bugs in a empty set of rooms with some robots to kill. No real reason of why he is there. You spend about 20 minutes killing the same enemy over and over. In the process you are supposed to be learning the controls. Instead you just get hand cramps.

Next up we have the controls. Once again we have a developer that didn't spend 10 minutes thinking about how to make the unique controls work well. Instead they just sat there and thought "well the character is swinging something left to right, so we will have the player do the same!" The result is that you keep performing the same tiring repetitive motion.

Loving the looney tunes and not wanting to give up so easy, I decided to keep playing through the first level. You are put into a mad scientist level which looks like the same cartoon that Gosimer is in. You start off with Marvin being thrown into the level by Taz with a giant rubber band. Why he is doing this? Who knows. Suddenly you (Bugs) is dropped off in the same level. Then Marvin goes who knows where and you continue fighting more robots jumping about. Getting the occasional different weapon that really aren't that interesting. I played 1/2 way through the level and was so bored I gave up.

The makers of this game seem to have missed on everything that makes a good game.

1) Player understand and knows what is going on and why.
2) Player has a decent control scheme.
3) Levels are designed so that player has desire to see the end.
4) Player sees new and interesting things in level. Exploring is fun.
5) Weapons are interesting.

My advice, skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Looney Tunes Rock

posted by Elayoh (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok. So this game was great for a single player. Multi-player just split the screen so when one player was down, the player had to wait for the other player to reach a check point. And there was not really any interaction.

Camera angles seemed to change rather randomly, but that could have been lack of finesse with the nunchuk.

Was great fun for one player with great graphics and fun action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

looney tunes: Acme arsenal

posted by second (SPRING, TX) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

we had a lot of fun playing until we started hitting game errors. there were quite a few game errors that made it frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun break from heavy hitters like Call of Duty

posted by GenHavoc (WICKES, AR) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a nice break from intense games like Medal of Honor and Call of Duty. Trying to get the characters to spin is hard, but if you hold the nunchuck upright with the joystick pointing towards you and the buttons in the air, you can twist it sideways and make them spin. The rest of the game is fairly easy. When your brawling with Foghorn Leghorn, or blasting with Marvin Martian, you can't help but enjoy yourself. This game had its quirks that made parts had to play, but still a fun overall experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Controls

posted by grshopr007 (SILVERDALE, WA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game isn't so bad. Graphics are par for the game type (and for the Wii). But the controls could be a lot better. If you are interested in this game, save yourself the hassle and get it on the PS2 instead of the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Looney Toons: Acme Arsenal

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rented this one to evaluate game for possible gift for my nephew. Horrible game. Too difficult for the younger gamer and too stupid for the older one. Nothing in this game is original or any good. Camera is awful, control with the nunchuk or wii wand is so bad I don't even want to talk about it. Why would such a good license want to make this game?

Stay away, stay FAR away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Doesn't live up to it's potential

posted by Melikor (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son (age 7) and I were looking forward to this game because we both love the characters, and the concept of the game was very promising. Unfortunately, we only played through the first two levels of the game before giving up.

We loved the characters (primarily Bugs and Marvin) and the comments they made while playing, plus the occasional taunts by the villain. We also liked fighting the robots.

However, the Controls were the reasons we ended up sending back early. The nunchuck has to be twisted along it's axis in order to make the characters do a spinning attack, and several of the enemies are only vulnerable to that attack. Also, the only way to jump across several key gaps. The castle level has several of these longer jumps, and falling will take you back to the beginning of the series of four to five gaps.

Also, we were playing on a 36" standard TV. We tried splitting the screen both horizontally and vertically (horizontal ended up working best for us), but the Castle section was too dark and the characters too small to keep track of where we were. Several times, we were separated and had a LOT of difficulty finding one another. It was also easy to lose track of each other during the fights.

Honestly, I hope it does well enough to get a sequel, because it is a great idea for a game. However, this one just doesn't do it for us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I really wanted to like it....

posted by johnnywebb (YELM, WA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...because the Looney Tunes characters are all awesome. I got to play with Marvin the Martian and my girl was Bugs bunny, and we had fun for about 2 minutes. Then frustration set in. The control is horrid, all the enemies look exactly the same, the enviornments are uninspired and bland, the combat is basically just approach and enemy and wave your wii from side to side, for hours and hours, ad nauseum. I'm not going to beat a dead horse. If you're thinking about renting this atrocity, do yourself a favor and skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Glitch Or Is It Normal(?)!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game and put it in and the menu screen is like a roulette or something because it scrolls realy fast so it is a chance to get what you want (Story, Battle, Save File). Also when you do finally be able to get to the first level where Bugs Bunny is behind green bars and has to kill robots he runs in a circle and you have a realy tuff time getting him to walk straight. I had returned it within minutes of "playing" it. I rented Tony Hawk Proving Ground (I was the first one) and it had a scratch; what is going on with these games latley; Gamefly is lacking in so many departments; it is a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good game no matter what anybody says

posted by Pacmanfan4 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I played Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal, I was remined of all the great elements in the cartoons. Bugs Bunny and co. are back with avengence! Sure the gameplay was similar to Ratchet and Clank, but that's ok because Ratchet and Clank is one of the highest selling game series the world has to offer. Every character has his own unique hands-on combat weapon like Bugs' Guitar, Foghorn's boxing gloves, and Taz's crazy fist of fury. The game allows you to choose your difficulty, but no matter what the difficulty, some of the deaths are going to be cheap and the checkpoint system will be rigged like if you get one after another and accidentaly go back to the one before, you'll be stuck there until you can get back to the one after. None of the characters have lost their touch, but Bugs, Sylvester, and Porky have lost their catchphrases. The music and sound effects have bought back the cartoonish feeling of the series. Not all of our favorite Looney Tunes have returned like Elmer Fudd. And did I mention there's a never before seen character too?

Ratings

Presentation - 6.0: The previews gave the feeling that the game was going to be a little too over violent for the Looney Tunes nature (even though it's not).

Graphics - 8.0: The Looney Tunes have never looked better!

Sound - 10: The music and sound effects bring back the cartoonish feeling of the series.

Gameplay - 7.5: A little similar to Ratchet & Clank, but who's complaining?

Lasting Appeal - 9.0: Welcome back Looney Tunes!

Overall - 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WHAT'S THE POINT? WHO LIKES THIS GAME? NINTENDO HERE'S A SUGGESTION, PLAY THE 3RD PARTY GAMES BEFORE PUTTING THEM ON THE SHELF. HAVE A APPROVAL PROCESS. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHY ANYONE WOULD MAKE THIS GAME (COUGH, MONEY,COUGH) THE DEVELOPER'S HAVE TO DO MARKET RESEARCH. NO ONE WANTS THIS IDIODIC GAME. IF I COULD I WOULD GIVE IT A MINUS 1,800 POINTS. SIMPLY HORRIBLE.

COME UP WITH A BETTER GAME Y'ALL EVEN 7 YR. OLD HATE THIS GAME, ANY CLUE TO HOW BAD THIS GAME REALLY IS??

HERE'S A SUGGESTION, GAMEFLY PULL THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game, but awful motion-sensing controls.

posted by Pitch328 (FAYETTEVILLE, NY) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game and played it, hoping that I would enjoy it. But it's more of a game that can give people headaches instead of happiness.

Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal used the Wii Remote and Nunchuk combo, which wasn't a smart idea in my view. If the game was compatible with the Classic Controller however, it would've been easier to play.

The reason for hating the Wii Remote and Nunchuk combo is because of the motion-sensing controls for the Nunchuk. You have to spin to jump over certain gaps, but the game hardly responds to the Nunchuk and you fall to your doom.

The first level of the game was simple, but the second level can cause you to go bonkers when you have to make those ridiculous jumps.

The game is pretty short, but can also be tough since there are several levels that seem to last forever with no end.

Basically, this isn't a game worth buying. Feel free to rent it, but you have been warned about the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by wolflady15 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

My 11 and 16 year old like it a lot, of course I grew up with looney tunes(the old ones)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that good of i game

posted by mason1234 (NASHVILLE, TN) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

i got it as a gift but this game has lot of bug and it hard to play when all of the bugs that are in the game do not get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bummer

posted by Vidiot777 (THE DALLES, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Parents your kids well be angry if you rent. Can't believe this got past any form of quality control. Sad, very sad seeing childhood icons wasted on such a painfully put together game. The person who plays this through has more patience then I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bugs!!!

posted by trinirogue (Wichita, KS) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

Could not figure out this game, very hard to control character. If you fall down, you get stuck and its hard to get back up. Didn't like the graphics either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad game too dark!!

posted by sharks416 (HAMILTON, NJ) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

The screens in this game are to dark to play. I even tried to lighten my tv screen to be able to play and it was still to dark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Gameplay, Hard Controls

posted by xpwizurd (WEST WENDOVER, NV) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

This game started out like a real winner. It is fun, fast, and very Looney Tunish. After you got into the game, however, the controls seemed to slow you down. They put too many Wii controls into the moving of the characters. The multi player options were great, but if you can't get around, then it ends the game pretty quick.
This would probably be great on another system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

acme arsenal (looney tune)

posted by scootshot (ENID, OK) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

This game is horrible do not waste your time or money. graphics are bad, controls are horrible and gets boring really fast. boring button smasher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Review for Lucy Tunes:Acme Arsenal

posted by shego315 (BRENTWOOD, CA) Jan 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is only somewhat interesting when you understand it and the moves so remember to do the training first. This game has different adventures but the only way to unlock the new one is to beat the one before that you can unlock different weapons also and use many different swords, guns, and odd thing to beat the minions up with such as violins and sledgehammers. This game is interesting but watch out on your second adventure there is a certain jump that will stump you for a long time so remember to practice and yes it is possible. This game uses up to two players and is a lot like Haylo for kids. If you enjoy humor and action you may like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stupid

posted by jdude789 (SCARSDALE, NY) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Why would you want to play this?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is some what fun

posted by flaco2005 (CORINTH, TX) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

It's ok when you don't have anything to do for 30 min or so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stupid game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!

posted by Texaszim77 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I'm seven years old. I hated it. It is too hard and don't like it!!!!!!!!!!

Somthing is wrong it wont let me do battle mode!!don't buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by wagnerelli (GRAPEVINE, TX) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

Camera follows you and doesn't get stuck. Fun game for my 7 year old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »