Rent Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Looney Tunes: Acme Arsenal

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2
GF Rating
4.9

1571 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, but hard to see.

posted by fuzzy1 (MABELVALE, AR) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First let me start off by saying that there is not a heaping bunch of games for kids for the Xbox 360. So as a gamer with gamer kids I keep an eye out for anything that looks half way decent. I was excited to see a Looney Tunes title.

First off let me say my kids love the game, I find the game fun enough to even play with out them once in while. Expect this game to be like Shrek, or any other generic travel from point A to point B and smash up things that get in your way with special XXX-B-Y combos. However they comments the characters make are great, and you can expect to see most of the cartoon characters from the cartoon.

The downside to the game is the camera is hard to control, and at a few points you just flat can not see where you are going. However for me the worst part of the game how dark it is in spots. The screen is so dark at times; you can not even see the character you are controlling let alone any thing it is supposed to be doing. I think most will find this very frustrating at times. I did notice that the product placement for California Raisins did not have any shading issues. The last downside I have found is that when playing co-op if one character dies, they can not join back in till the survivor makes it to a checkpoint.

With all of those negatives for my family, we still found it to be a fun game. Even my wife who sits in the den reading while we play will chuckle from the games dialog. Over all a fun game that could have been better if some one tested the camera and brightness levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by GoodAtMath (WILMINGTON, DE) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Game - This game is pretty much awful. Even for a kids game, theres really no excuse for the horrible graphics that must look exactly like an XBOX 1 would have. As with most of these games, the camera is a tricky prospect, and this game seems to have the worst camera I have dealt with on the 360, and I've played almost every game. Like someone else mentioned, its way too dark as well, the levels are too cookie cutter, and the bosses are a joke. Even for kids, don't bother with this one, Cars, Open Season, ANYTHING over this foul game.

Achievements - The only reason to rent this game. With a guide, you should be able to knock out all the achieves in about 8 or so hours. There are about 50 of them, so they kind of flow through the game, meaning yoiu never get one of those annoying 3 hour stretches of playing without unlocking anything. The game can be played on easy, and there is not really any difficult parts to deal with, just a little with the time trials, but nothing serious. I'll assume you've played Open Season, Surfs Up and Cars for points if you are thinking about this game, and I will tell you, this is much more of an agonizing experience, there is nothing fun about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great For Boosting Gamerscore

posted by Clayboy24 (GRANDVIEW, MO) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is perfect for kids 10 and under, but for anyone older it really is not great fun. Just a bunch of button mashing. It is great if I might add if you are looking for achievement boosting, the game really takes about 8 hours of gameplay to beat with at least 650 points to get just for beating the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game sucks

posted by Calvinc (ALVARADO, TX) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This Game sucks period!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad just bad

posted by dat1beanr (MESA, AZ) Dec 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

this game is bad just bad i got it one day n returned the next day with out even beating the first level i think this was a joke to the looney tunes franchise maybe the people who made it didnt like looney tunes didnt like it watever the excuse it is bad do not i repeat do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute garbage.

posted by Pojet1620 (SPRINGDALE, AR) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

First of all this game is glitch central. Camera gets stuck behind stuff and even your charicter will get stuck behind things (boxes, buildings,stairs etc.) Most of the time the camera is behind something (trees or rocks) and you can't see where to go. Characters tend to move a few steps after you quit moving. Weapons are way too underpowered. Most weapons have 15-30 shots and even just the basic enimies take 10-15 shots each (on easy difficulty).

Guess I made more of a rave than a review, I hope this helps someone though.

-Pojet-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be decent, if the camera actually worked...

posted by adamsfam10 (LEICESTER, NC) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

I rented this game from GameFly partly to use as a sort of fun, no pressure break from more serious games such as Bioshock 2 and Halo ODST, and partly because I, like many other people my age, loved the Looney Tunes as a kid. That being said, I didn't expect all that much, and it's a good thing I didn't. The graphics were decent, although not as good as some other family-oriented games I have played. The sound quality was probably the best attribute of the game, as the characters' voices and music were all on point and accurate. The controls were easy, this game is probably the definition of a button masher and would be simple for even a child of 8 or 9. The main issues I had with game were that some of the levels were a bit too dark, which is especially difficult for someone like me with eyesight problems, it is a bit difficult to tell where exactly you had to go after defeating "the baddies" (which do pop up quite frequently but are a cinch to get through), and finally, the camera. Even though I am a fairly new "gamer" (my husband just recently introduced me to the 360, up until then I was still a Nintendo GC girl), I do have enough experience by now to be able to handle a camera in a game. However, this one is just flat out ridiculous. While you are in an open area it isn't so bad, but if you happen to be in the middle of fighting and get to close to a wall or other area of the sort, the camera has a nasty little habit of going around the corner and cutting off sight from most if not all of your battle. As you can probably guess, this makes you rather prone to getting hit and losing health and energy. Another slight issue I had is that it is very easy to get too close to the edge (especially on the Frankenbean's Castle level) and fall off while traveling. This could be particularly frustrating for younger players. Overall, I give the game a rating of 4 because it COULD be fun and at least mildly entertaining, if you could see what you're doing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Looney Toons

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

PROS:
-Get to play as your favorite Looney Toons characters
-Variety of levels which bring back some good times of watching Looney Toons on TV

CONS:
-Very bland and repetitive game play, to the extreme, same thing over and over
-Sound is annoying because it's the same sounds being made repetitively
-Levels, although nice in variety, are very boring and at times confusing to navigate
-Graphics are so last-gen

FINAL THOUGHT:
It looked like a cool kids game to try out, boy was I wrong. Even a 5 year old would find this game rather annoying. Not worth any type or rental or purchase unless you are on some crazy psychedelic drug to make it more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nothing looney about this game

posted by jaggedfel (BUENA VISTA, VA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

poor camera angles, dark environments, and aggravating controls make this one of the worst platformers i have ever played. the x and y axis are naturally inverted to start but can be reconfigured but the lighting cannot be changed. don't seem bad at first but wait until you have to make your way across ledges. where in most games pressing left or right on the stick moves the character along a narrow ledge here it does not. while only holding on with your hands you must jump left or right and hope to grab the ledge further along making pLatforming a severe and unnecessary pain! STAY AWAY! STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poorly Designed

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

This game started out being fun, but I never thought I would ever use my childhood icons in a button mashing game...
Besides the story being lame, the camera is your worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EASY achievement points but the camera... oh man..

posted by RaidenMGS4 (RAPID CITY, SD) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

WORST CAMERA EVER. Yes, worse than Kingdom Hearts or any PSOne first generation 3D game.

This actually would be a pretty decent platformer, but that is all rendered moot thanks to the camera. Some levels are virtually unplayable thanks to it, and you WILL use profanity trying to clear it.

Still, it's an easy 900 achievement points, a full 1000 if you have the patience to beat the ridiculous time trials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Iffy

posted by chemicalP (MCLOUD, OK) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game sucks! You can't hardly turn the freaking camera!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What do you mean I died again!!!!!

posted by mmmarsden (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I am a huge fan of the Looney Tunes, have been ever since I was a kid. So I was excited when I heard they had a new game out. Upon playing it, I have a vastly different opinion. This game was borderline unplayable because of the horrible camera. I had minimal control of how to use the camera, and because of this there were more than a few instances when I simply walked off of a ledge that was obscured by something in the foreground. I can usually find fun in any game I play. Sadly is this one instance where no fun was to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok Games

posted by Krazyboi (MANISTIQUE, MI) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

My 6 year old brother loved this game he beated it in 6 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad camera angles and thats just to start...

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The game has the worst camera angles I have ever seen. The camera get stuck in walls and you cant see your character. The options do not save so you have to keep re-setting them everytime you play. The game often goes into a cutscene and never comes out, you have to quit and restart the level. The game can be very bright and extremly dark at time and there is no brightness or gamma option in the menu. When using a weapon it often targets boxes and vases before an enemy making it hard or impossible to kill enemies from long range. This game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great for the parent with a young child

posted by compsci78 (GREENSBORO, NC) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I gave it a five overall as a game from an adult perspective. If I was a young child I would give it a 7 or 8.
I would say this is the best game I have played in a while when it comes to co-op and being able to play with a young child. The controls do get a little crazy sometimes. The worst aspect of the game is the camera control. There are many times when you can't see very well and this got frustrating. The game was very dark too and I have a DLP HD tv which I have never had problems with before. My son really enjoyed the game and as someone that grew up with the Looney Tunes this was rather entertaining for me as an adult also. Reminiscent factor was high on this title. The weapons were rather pointless except for the visual aspect. Marvin the Martian was funny when he was carrying a gun twice his size but the effectiveness of most of the weapons are minimal compared to just punching. This is mostly a button masher which is why I say it is good for young kids. There is also a feature that allows the other player to be transported once they reach a checkpoint so it helps keep your kid playing along side of you. The game does get more difficult and requires a lot more precision jumping which got too hard for my son but the checkpoint system allowed him to keep going. Overall I thought it was a great game for a young child or an adult and there child. I beat it in a day so it isn't too hard. Definitely more for the kid to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not that bad

posted by MuDvAyNe (PUEBLO, CO) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game is an ok game...the camera angles on the game are pretty frustrating...a lil to easy... but if you are a looney toons fan this is a good game or a good game for the kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad if you're a fan of Looney Tunes

posted by Mystic360 (WILSON, NC) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The story line to this game wasn't that bad if you're a fan of Looney Tunes, but some of the gameplay was a little off. Maneuvering around the maps gets a little tricky on some of the levels and not being able to move the camera angles around sometimes makes this much worse. I still liked the game overall, but I like the classic Looney Tunes stuff anyway. Had I not been a fan, I probably wouldn't have enjoyed the game as much. I didn't try the online play so I can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game

posted by keith74 (VAIL, AZ) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I got this game for my kids to play my 2year old son love this game more then most of the games that i have for him I still cant get over how much fun the kids are have with it i will buy it soon just to have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not fun for the kids or me - great for gamerscore!

posted by SirAlec (RICHMOND, VA) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

My six year-old daughter and I love to play co-op together and we thought this would be a fun game.

If you enjoy co-op with the kids, don't bother renting this game. You'll be much happier with something like Crash of the Titans instead.

The developers of this game released a half-baked product. The storyline is poorly written, the game itself is full of bugs (checkpoints don't save, camera angles are horrible, some achievements don't unlock), and the graphics aren't fit for the original Xbox, let alone the Xbox 360.

The only thing this game is good for is boosting your Xbox gamerscore. You can finish the main storyline in a day or two for an easy 600-800 points.

Getting the online and viral achievements is another story though, since no one is playing this online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mom's Point of View

posted by AmyinCincy (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I was so glad two players could play together. I have two sons who are 5 and 11 and they usually can't find a game they want to play with together. This was one of the few games that brought the two of them together. Pros: 2-player available. Great on-screen instructions that are easy to follow, especially for the little ones who can't read yet. They show the buttons to use to do the move, not just the words. My 5 year old picked this up instantly. Cons: The background is pretty dark and it's hard to see the bad guys if you're not sitting close enough to the television. All in all, this is a potential purchase for our household.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I liked it.

posted by xedgexpax (WAYMART, PA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I would've kept it longer, but we just started our membership a couple weeks ago, and we wanted to try more games. No one else in my family likes toon games, but I love 'em. Looney Toons rocks. This game was pretty cool. I was having trouble with the last level. I liked playing with other people, I probably would have gotten the hang of it, by watching them. I may rent it again. Very entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Acme Arsenal is full of Bugs, and not the bunny

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Very disappointed in this game. First off its called Acme Arsenal, yet you dont have weapons until you find them or get enough "money" to buy them in the level. and then after the level is finished the weapons dont carry over.
There is a whole list of problems that plague this game, there are so many bugs and glitches for example on the final level you have to fight a giant robot while surrounded by a green force field that you can not touch or go into, well the giant robot kept backing into the green force field and lost all of its health but the level didnt end actually the robot continued going backwards until it was behind some other things, which brings me to another glitch, being able to walk through objects, and being able to go through walls etc. Also being able to float in air, or being caught in air while jumping.
The controls are very loose and really need adjusting jumping and landing on things is very imprecise, and if you are on a small area where you have to battle an enemy you are able to fall off and get knocked off but the enemy can not, the reason this is a problem is because when you press the "X" button for an attack it moves your character forward, if you are hitting the enemy near the ledge you will go through him and fall off resulting in a restart.
There are a few driving levels that are not exciting nor challenging the last one that you do is way too long, I guess the problem is you never feel like you are going fast.
The graphics stink, I cant believe I am saying this but they do, awful they are they feel almost like a PS1(yes an original play station title)
The sound isnt very good either the music could have been better, say for instance like the good classical scores that are in the cartoons.
The story is lacking and ending is even worse.
There was little fun to be found in this game which left both me and my 8 year old son very disappointed.
the only redeeming qualities are its short and the achievements are fairly easy to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointed Daffy fan

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I was eager to see if someone made an acceptably game from a timeless group of icons. To no surprise it fell way short. Although there were a lot of ingredients of a good game, must more was missing. I enjoyed the arenas of play quite a bit, interesting and unique levels, but the need for button smashing got old really fast. Possibly the biggest downfall is the total lack of character sound(s) other than repeating the same lines over and over when hit. Arguably the most unique group of cartoon characters should have left the designers all the material in the world to use in the game's play in re to voice over work, but it was nil. A second flop was that the missions didn't really go anywhere and they barely meshed together to create a story worth following. When all is said and done, it just wasn't worth the licensing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Joyless Looney Tune

posted by richmont (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

Man, this had none of the personality and fun of the old cartoons! The characters could well have been ninjas or robots or stick men. Constantly whacking enemies as you wander through three dimensional mazes gets boring really fast. My 8-year old lost interest immediately so I decided to try it with the glow of nostalgia from my childhood motivating me. I ran for the exit after 5 minutes myself, sorry that the licenser handed the reins to the wrong design crew. There were no hints of the personalities of the characters other than canned sound bites; other than the fact that the visuals/environments were well-rendered, there is no joy in Looneyville.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse