Rent London Taxi Rush Hour for Wii
view large frontback

London Taxi Rush Hour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.2

101 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

More Fun Then CBMR; But Not By Much!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Apr 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I knew that this was not going to be better then Crazy Taxi but it is better then some of the garbage that Nintendo "Approves"; for racing/driving titles. I will not even consider this developer and pub-lisher in the future; and I suggest you do the same. When a company puts out so many titles in such a short period of time it indicates that no effort was made and it is just recycled useless junk! Good VC Racing games: Ridge Racer 64, V Rally Edition 99, Mickeys Speedway USA, Top Gear Rally 1 and 2, Top Gear Overdrive, and Micro Machines 64!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DIFFICULT TO CONTROL

posted by MADMUFFIN (FARMINGDALE, ME) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THE GAME IS INTERESTING BUT AT THE SAME TIME HARD. IT IS VERY HARD TO CONTROL THE CARS BECAUSE ITS BACKWARDS, YOU DRIVE ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AND ITS VERY SIMILAR TO THE SIMPSONS GAME THAT CAME OUT A COUPLE YEARS AGO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Look the other way if you see this title!

posted by Colywin (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games for the Wii ever!

I tried to hard to write my own review on this and I just couldn't find the words! So here is a quote from Gamesradar.

"It starts with the “why the !+&#(%&#&!&# did we just go off the road AGAIN?” heck that is driving with the Wii Remote. The control scheme is full of "could be cool if the game worked… but it doesn't" details like pushing the remote forward for an extra boost of speed. But the game’s graphics lag so badly that the acceleration often ends with taxi + brick wall = start over. At least, we think it was a brick wall. It could have been a hedge. With the graphics, it was hard to tell.

Speaking of the graphics, they're not just bad. They're awful. They're a horrid, terrible, do-not-show-to-young- children, therapy inducing, "oh-my-God-did-all-games- used- to- look- like- this?" freak show. We only wish we could see and/or recognize Big Ben. Instead the graphics look more like Mom and Dad’s slides of Our Trip to London…stop motion and everything…and what little you can see mostly consists of grey smudges with occasional Ichabod Crane-type human wondering around. Tetris has more interesting architecture."

I totally agree with the above quote! Don't even buy this game for your 2 year old!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

London Taxi Rush Hour, Dont even rent it!

posted by MrFeelgood (SOQUEL, CA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Just played it this morning. Graphics are awful, the car doesn't move swiftly, It was a terrible game. Awful game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

would be a fun game except..

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 22, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

the controls are horrible! Either they're over sensitive or they don't work at all. I tried stopping before I hit another car but ended up hitting it anyway. Stop and reverse are the same button which doesn't work well at all. I never was able to get a customer to his/her destination due to crashes, getting stuck and the car not turning where I wanted it go. Even my husband has problems with it. I gave up on it and put in a game that I owe and enjoy playing instead after less than 30 minutes of play of this game. Don't waste your time with this game as you'll end up in frustration like I did. I did enjoy driving like they do in England so this wasn't an issue for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Needs to be repolished

posted by jkplay (SOUTHERN PINES, NC) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Just would like to say that this game means well but does not deliver well.I'm thinking it was going for the same thing Crazy Taxi did ,but it does not hit the mark.

Pros: It means well and its neat to see some of the different places in London.

Cons: The controls are not to good.
The games sound is not all that great at all.
I know this is the wii so the graphics are not going to be great but i think there are better graphics on the Nin.DS.
Don't waste your time reading all the reviews because they don't get any better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stop the taxi, I want to get off!

posted by londoman (CARY, NC) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The blocky graphics and uncontrollable car have been covered in other reviews so I'll touch on some other points.

Gameplay. There are money missions, where you have to get money in a time limit. Then there are time missions, where you have a time limit to get money. So those are pretty much identical. You earn money, but you don't get to keep it. What you really need are bulldog tokens, which earn you new taxis. Or rather, the same taxi in a different colour. So there's no real reward for doing any of the missions, only for getting the bulldog tokens. So why do the missions? Beats me. Just drive around collecting tokens. When you do complete a mission, the game remembers your high score (most money/best time), but there's no high score table, so you don't know who got the high score or when.

The map. Areas appear on the map and are fenced off, so you keep hoping that something you do will unlock them, but I completed the game 100% and they're still blocked off. There is absolutely no reward for finishing the game - the amount complete just reaches 100%.

Passengers. The passengers and their destinations are fixed, which means every mission you can pick up the same people at the same spots and they want to go to the same place. This makes it easy, if tedious, to complete the game by picking up the same 3 people in a circular route over and over until the time or money goal is reached.

Locations. "London Victoria", like it could be any other Victoria. The House (singular) of Parliament. Apparently the authors have never been close to London.

Oh yes, reversing your car changes the view 180 degrees which makes maneuvering extremely difficult. Sometimes you crash and no amount of steering will unstick you. If you have a boost available it will move you, but if not you sit stuck for ever.

Hints. The best hint I can give you is to avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »