Rent London 2012 Olympics for PS3
view large frontback

London 2012 Olympics

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

289 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than the Previous Attempts

posted by egmhookem (JAY, OK) Jun 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the past Olympic games have fallen short of being good games and have felt rushed and basically sent out to make a quick buck. London is much better than previous attempts and plays like they really put forth the time and effort to make a good game. The graphics are good not great and the gameplay is simple (maybe at times to simple). The ability to change characters names and looks lacks a little but I was still happy that they gave you an option.

All that said the game still lacks depth and imagination. The replay value is not good and although there are a ton of games to choose from it didn't feel personal and you could never get into any kind of groove. It would have been nice to have all of those games and have an option of training someone and going through one event to make it more personal not just 2 rounds of the same event.

Overall it is a rent and not a buy. If you like sports games give it a shot through GameFly keep it for a couple of days then send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Simple and fun for a while, but not replayable

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Some of the events were entertaining a couple of times, but this is NOT a deep game by any stretch of the imagination. Most events are one button (x) for ps3 and the L stick. Some, like swimming, used both L and R sticks. The main thing to do was timing, you wanted to press the buttons at specific times. This was the most fun for me while swimming and Table tennis. Volley Ball was very poorly done, as the AI of your teammate will not go after the ball when not even needing to take a step. Also they will try to set you every time, even if you are on the ground after a dive.

Overall some of the games were fun for a few plays, as much as button mashers can be fun for a while, but it has very little replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really entertaining

posted by MiniDragon (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

This game would not have received such a high rating from me if it weren't the first Olympics game that was actually worth trying (why are Olympics games historically so terrible?). A lot of the events became tedious after a while, but the party play area of the game was fun with friends, and it was generally fun to go through at least a couple olympic campaigns. Probably not worth becomming a permanant fixture in your game catelog, but more than worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Your Original Style, But Okay

posted by brothergameguy (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Honestly, I had some fun with this game. However, my only drawback I found while playing this game. It wasn't your typical Olympic style game. It seems to lack something that I just can't pinpoint exactly. The only exciting thing was the Volleyball, trapeze, table tennis and swimming. The 100m and 400m track wasn't like the last Olympic game. I personally would've liked if the game could've kept the controls that is similar to the latter games. Overall I would give this game a 6.5/10. I wish if there were a volleyball game developed or a table tennis game that could be similar to the games in this title...Just hope EA Sports see this comment!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Simple Olympic games simulator

posted by texasvaquero (DALLAS, TX) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The gameplay on this was way too basic. Most of the events were controlled by one button or very simple analog combination. Novice might find it more appealing. I did not play it with the motion controllers, maybe that would have helped raise the fun factor a little but I just didnt care after I played every event, and there are quite a lots of them. Swimming, Track, Volleyball, weightlifting, shooting, gymnastics, ect. I thougt the Graphics were good. However, DONT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Ok Game

posted by bballer4sho7 (HOBART, OK) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

This is an ok game i would not reccommend you buy only rent and the AI is to easy even on the hardest difficulty

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

london 2012 official game

posted by crazysnowman198 (WOODLEAF, NC) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

if u want sum easy trophies theres a few on this game...i'll say its about 35% easy trophies the rest are time consuming and seemingly hard to get. overall this is a decent game for a multiplayer night. my overall impression of the game i give it a 6/10 mainly because of the multiplayer mode. the major downfall of the game is it doesnt use the big names in the respective sports...( no michael phelps in swimming no misty and carrie in volleyball...no lolo jones or usan bolt in track) its a decent game to rent and if it ever goes to the 'bargain bin" for less than $10.00 its a good buy !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Events Missing

posted by Tomboy99 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

Only the Sydney 2000 Olympics video game for PlayStation 1 had the Horse Show Jumping. All others have omitted it. The equestrian events are the only things in the Olympics that I care at all about.
What's wrong with the people who make these games?
There are also other events that are not on this game.
Awful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by TkONe22 (GLENDALE, NY) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This games okay for Rent probably only for one day. Gets boring quick, but it is fun. Probably too easy also. Gives you a quick look into the Olympic sports. I enjoyed playing it, but wouldn't recommend to buy or keep for longer than a day or 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »