Rent Lollipop Chainsaw for PS3
view large frontback

Lollipop Chainsaw

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2084 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A weak title from the famed Suda51.

posted by Celor997 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

16 out of 22 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Allow me to state first off that, I am a huge fan of Suda51; Killer7 is one of my favorite games of all time. (Even if it is utterly bonkers.)

This game.. is a zombie slaughterfest with a storyline that spans one of the best soundtracks I've ever heard in a game (seriously, up there with Brutal Legend's soundtrack). Yet, the game's still sort of.. weak.

What I mean by weak is that the game is short; the storyline is mostly nonexistant, save for the boss fights, and the controls are sluggish.

The story follows a single day--the birthday of the main character, as the underworld breaks loose and zombies infest the world, and five evil spirits (each one covering a genre of music; viking-metal, punk-rock, groove, funk, and oldschool hard rock.)

Of course, the main character just happens to be from a family of zombie hunters.

Yeah, that's pretty much the majority of the story.

So, here's pros/cons:

Pros:
+Goofy sense of humor that only Suda51 can pull off (by which I mean rainbows exploding from zombies' necks, and gratuitous panty-shots.)
+Awesome premise (a zombie-slaying cheerleader with a chainsaw. COOL!)
+Freaking SWEET soundtrack! (The music selection for different segments of each stage is superb, and fits perfectly.)
+Hilarious dialogue

Cons:
-Weak story. (Again, what I said above is about 50% of the story.)
-Short game (Yes, it's meant to be replayed multiple times, but the game probably won't last you more than 4-6 hours if you're like me.)
-Sluggish controls (I know, I know; you're wielding a chainsaw, which isn't exactly a fast weapon, but still. You can at least make it feel satisfying to wield!)

Bottom line:
This game is a lot weaker than Suda51's previous titles. It's definitely worth a rent if you're a huge fan of Suda, and love dorky humor. But if you're looking for a game with great combat with a great deal of depth, you may want to consider Devil May Cry or Bayonetta instead.

Not a bad title, just not a great on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Made to Capture the Attention of pre teen males.

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Jun 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The Good:
- A character wearing a semi revealing cheerleaders outfit. Equipped with a magical chainsaw that never needs fueling. How can you not love it!
- Lots of gore and some interesting dialogue.
-Controls are basic and easy to master.
THE BAD:
- Storyline is so-so. Not much meat to it.
-Instead of survivors paying you off. Why not let them pick up a weapon and help out?
-You don't re spawn where you died at. Instead you have to restart the entire level. Or from the last save spot.

THE UGLY:
- This is a game where you need to be able to save manually. The auto save feature is simply not good enough.
-if you fail to rescue a survivor they turn into a "berserker" Zombie. Why? Doesn't make sense, just makes them harder to kill.

I had to rate this game a 7. It's light, fun at times, dismembering Zombies with a chainsaw is always my definition of a great night out.
- The game developers went with a bright, campy up beat theme.
-This game's hardcore following will be in the pre teen-12-15 gamers. It teasing those age groups.
-Game is worth a rental, but I can't see the replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another flavor of the month?

posted by Nineteenth (BRONX, NY) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Essentially, you take the core concepts and elements of several different games like Bayonetta and Zombie Hunters- Water it down immensely , hand it over to the terrible joke writer from Shadows of the Damned and then send it to Warner Bros for marketing and you get Lolipop Chainsaw.
Graphically, the game is fine. No graphical lag or pop-in. It all runs smooth except for the 1st level for some unknown reason.
Control wise, the input is laggy even when slowly tapping the buttons- Most of the combos are pointless in the long run.
Music wise, the original BGM for the game is pretty good. The Licensed Soundtrack on the other hand is terrible. Songs you've already heard in other games or songs you're tired of hearing already playing on an endlessly loop. Example: I got tired hearing of Sleigh Bells -Riot Rythmn in Saints Row 3. Having to hear it on a near endless loop in the Highschool level was not my cup of tea.
Completion time: 4 -5 hours the first time through with a total of 9 hours playtime.
Replay Value, very little unless you're trophy/achievement hunting. Even then, you can get most of them by simply playing through the game on Hard to begin with.
Unlockables: Very little. A good two dozen lousy costumes for the main character with only two decent ones ( Rosalind & Mom), that are just boring skins- Nothing more.
Annoyances: The game loves it's instant death QTES , Minigames ,Defense Missions and Events. The only thing missing is an underwater escort mission.
Another annoying problem with the game is that it periodically locks the camera in place or disables the lock on function. Turning a 40 second fight into a 4 minute struggle to get her to face the right direction.
If this game was sold as a budget title off the bat, I wouldn't complain. But for the 44 to 50 dollar price tag they're asking for? There is simply not enough content to even remotely begin justifying the price.
Glad I didn't waste my money on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time...

posted by Vannagan (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

At first you would think the game is fine and will get better, but it doesn't. you get coin which you use as upgrades. Don't waste you time getting combos since the are almost useless and you have to time them to the T, just get your status up first. The level are centered around your new powers as you get them, and there are time that you will have to kill a bunch of zombies which have nothing to do with the game. IF you every see a coin or item get them asap because the game will force you to move forward. Some of the stuff they say is for shock value only and is needless. So if you get this game do not expect much that way you like get something out of it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Good

posted by jcagni (DENVER, CO) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a huge letdown. It uses every boring cliche known to video games. You play through the game unlocking combos, which are unusable against the bosses. Every boss falls into the boring pattern of waiting for them to perform a few attacks, then only being able to counter attack them while they recharge. This type of gameplay was old when the NES was still the dominant console. It also relies VERY heavily on QTE (Quick Time Event) mini games, those stupid watch a cut scene while pressing a button when prompted things. It takes only 6 hours or so of play to complete the story, and unless you really like pressing a button while watching cut scenes, there is no replay value. Unless you count unlocking skimpier costumes for the main character. If that's your thing, you might really enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mindless gameplay. Can't recommend this game.

posted by Guyton (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So I enjoy the alternative animation style this game used "reminds me of borderlands but less vivid." This game is corky, cheesy, and overly ridiculous but what do you expect from a game with the plot of a zombie killing cheerleader for the main character, right.

After losing interest and the fun before even finishing the first play through I can not recommend this game. Save your time and pick something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fundamentally weak game

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

OK, I'm male, and I have a low brow sense of humor. I thought this would be full of stupid fratboy giggles, and I was fine with that - if I'll be honest I was kinda looking forward to it. However this is pure misogyny, and got very uncomfortable, very quickly. It's certainly worthy of it's M rating... the dialogue in this game is not suitable for impressionable ears. However...

...the main problem I have with this game is that it's just not very good. While the graphics are bright and colorful, they are hardly pushing the envelope of what the PS3 can do. The controls however are hideous, combos make little or no sense, and it resorted almost instantly to button mashing. Gameplay essentially is walk a bit, fight a group of enemies to clear the area, wash-rinse-feel_dirty_inside-repeat. It's a one trick pony of a game, and that one trick gets boring very quickly.

So, if you are looking for some cheap titillation, there are better avenues for that than here. If you are looking for a good game, you've definitely come to the wrong place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Burn, Burn, Burn!

posted by Envy_Aus (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game's on fire. I went to a midnight release for this game prior to "day" sale. I went in getting exactly what I expected on arriving home. Classic Slice and dice beat em' up style like the good old days with new implemented "god of war" button combo clips adds a feel of adrenaline based action. For anyone taking this game serious, this isn't for you AT ALL. The comedy bits make each event worth playing through a second time. Unlockables throughout keep you going to try and do your best each time, while leader boards do little more then embarrass those attempts it's still worth trying for a good score. Overall this is basically an action rpg type, with rpg being the upgrades putting more weight in the action department. If you enjoy zombies and hot ladies this game can be enjoyed regardless of your player skill. However the lack of detail on controls annoyed me with it's in game options of detail and no manual left me wanting something as far as art work or something not just a Game case. So if you enjoy comedy this game is also just for you, I spent many times laughing at the quirky humor put into this game. A lot of love and care was added into this to please people of all areas but this game i felt was definitely more for the fans rather then those looking for 100% playability and difficulty with roughly 6-10 hour time game play they may find it cheap. Costumes are an aesthetic addition but a nice touch considering the game itself revolves around perv jokes. 9/10 in my book and worth getting at midnight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lollipop Chainsawful

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jun 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Graphics are no good (except for character models, especially Juliet, for some reason, she suffers no graphical glitches)

Story is everything you expect it to be. No real complaints there, it is what it is. If you even know of this game, you know what I'm talking about.

Gameplay is weak. It's just not fluid. Kinda clunky, kinda stiff but some good ideas I suppose.

It's nice and short, which is great unless you actually buy this. DO NOT BUY THIS. Renting is okay.

It's funny, the Voice acting is actually pretty good. But it's not enough to make the game good.

The game gets annoying and frustrating at times. It's not unforgiving or hard, but when certain parts are more annoying than others, it's hard to forgive a game that's just not that good or fun to play anyway. It's easier just to shut it off and send it back.

If you know of this game, you've probably played Killer 7, or Shadows of the Damned and I can tell you that this game is not as good as those, and Killer 7 is still the best of the three.

The game has replay value in the sense that there's incentives to play it again, but none of them are "The game is good and fun to play."

=/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a huge fan

posted by mihopkins (STRATTON, CO) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not a huge fan of this game, thought it was going to be so cool, but was very repetative. Would not buy this game especially not for the price they want for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that entertaining

posted by GylWind_Knight (ROUND ROCK, TX) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got the game knowing it was going to be dorky and cartoony, but I thought it was going to be fun at least. It wasn't. I'm all for using profanity when it's needed, but this was just for the sake of it and nothing more (or less). Oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

COULD OF BEEN GREAT

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

sluggish controls and useless combos made it more irratating than fun,, story was teen-oriented as well as humor and situations,,,try it for a rainy day if you like,but you have been warned,,,it could of been great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game!

posted by Zentech (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely horrible! I've played a ton of games through Gamefly and i have never rated anything less than a 5. But this game I would have rated 0 if they would let me. The game is SO childish. I think it was meant for little girls if not for the language. I really really don't understand why everyone is giving it high ratings. I mean, who wants to be playing with rainbows and getting stars in a zombie game? The girl that you play is VERY annoying! I beat the whole game in less than four hours. I's a waist of time. If on your game Q delete it ASAP! It SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but has a few issues

posted by UFAME (LOCKHART, TX) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game I thought was gonna be a joke like Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad, it turns out this is a really good hack n' slash. One of the best I've ever played to be honest. It has a similar lvl system to DMC where you collect coins by beating zombies to buy new moves, power ups, songs, art and new costumes. The music is great, the story is hilarious, the boss fights are great and well structured, there is a nice variety of weapons so use but the chainsaw will be your main. The only bad things I have to say about this game is that the load times are horrible, Im talking skyrim horrible. the game is also rather short only consisting of 6 levels. Combat was fun til I learned that drop kicking zombies would instantly stun them and then any chainsaw attack would kill them, this even works on powered up zombies. Its a fun game to rent, defiantly worth a try if you like games such as God of War, Dantes Inferno, Devil May Cry and such. Check it out, you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lolipop Disaster

posted by kidgamer1996 (LITITZ, PA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I've never played the game, but I can say this much: Didn't we get PAST the PS2 already?

The story and characters look good, but from the pictures, I saw how weak the graphics were. Here's my advice: If it looks weak, it feels weak. And if it feels weak, don't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A decent rental

posted by ceejay11 (RENO, NV) Jun 14, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I REALLY wanted to like this game. The concept is hilarious. The artwork and the voice acting are also excellent. I was hoping this would feel something like an early Buffy episode with more chutzpah and zombies. Here's the problem. The gameplay stinks. Basically you have one wave of zombies after another, mash some control buttons to execute random combos, knock down the zombies then move on. Batman Arkham city was a bit button mashy like this but there you had much more scope for positioning, tactics and you really felt like you were reacting to attacks and planning out how to take down groups carefully. Here it's just mash square, circle, triangle then move on. This gets boring fast. The other criticism is that the writing falls flat. I was hoping that the lines here would be somewhat snappy and clever. Instead, it feels more like a 13 year old clumsily taunting you and the result is just uninteresting. It's sad, I wanted this to be a really great game but the mediocre writing and gameplay ruined it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent rental game

posted by Fyren (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

It's motherf-in SUDA51 production. Off the walls premises and unconventional gameplay. Famitsu pegged almost 9/9/9 across the board.

If you're a fan of charging your weapon by shaking your dildos, suggestive sexual innuendos, and now, a headless boyfriend as your sidekick; rent this game.

There is a cult following for Suda's game and NMH/Shadow of the Damned are perfect examples why. I don't even have to play this game to know that whatever my expectations are, SUDA went way over left field and out of my view. All his games start with a solid 8, a grade of B as baseline and gets only bumped if another innovation is present.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitive as heck

posted by ImMeno (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Wow, so play this game for 10 mins...got it? Well I hope you like doing the same thing over and over for hours!

Wouldn't even buy this if it cost $5.

Pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Juliet Juliet you are so hot but your game is not

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Lollipop is worth playing but could of been so much more. Combat is some of the trouble hard too pull off the cool upgrades hit this button 4 times then hit this button 3 times half-the-time the move never works- Then you are left with the normal boring moves- Zombies are weak the Boss fights are cool looking but easy too beat- Great Rent Game are a buy at 24.00 bucks- Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid, silly zombie slaying game

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jun 16, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Suda 51 is known for his off the wall games, from the very twisted "Killer 7" to the more juvenile humor/horror trip through the underworld of "Shadow of the Damned". Now he adds a Buffyesque zombie killing game starring a cheerleader named Juliet. "Lollipop Chainsaw" is filled with goofy humor, and the jokes land more often than not. Accompanied by the decapitated head of her boyfriend Nick, Juliet uses her trusty chainsaw to carve her way through the zombies invading San Romero High. Her moves are typical of a hack-and -slash, with different combos you learn as the game goes on. On occasion Juliet gets to transform her chainsaw into a projectile weapon, helping her with aerial threats. The game mixes things up decently, though some may find it repetitive. Even when the gameplay frustrates, the humor and the soundtrack help in carrying on to the next section. Each boss is based on a particular musical style, and offers some unique though rarely challenging battles. There are seven stages in the game (including the final Boss), and each has its own set of enemies to deal with. Controls are fairly good, though there is some lag on occasion. It'll only take about 4-6 hours for one playthrough, though there are plenty of collectibles to pick up, so for some that may be incentive enough for a return trip through. Sit through the credits for an additional scene, and even looking through the concept art with its humorous captions is worth your time. The soundtrack is one of the best in a game since "Brutal Legend", with a nice mix of pop, metal, rock, and funk. This game will not be for everyone, but if you're willing to give it a try, you may enjoy its ridiculous premise and silly style. It's hard to not smile when zombies explode into colorful sparkles, hearts, and rainbows. Its short length probably won't warrant an immediate purchase for most, but this is a solid, entertaining rental at least. Wait for a price drop, since the game does have replay value. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Handful of Gems in a Pile of Garbage

posted by sageoftruth (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Like all Suda51 games, Lillipop Chainsaw has a special offbeat charm to it. In this case, it's the meshing of two genres that one would consider highly incompatible: Zombie massacres and high school dramas.

The protagonist, Juliet, is the captain of her school's cheerleading squad, and fits the stereotype to a T, but she's also a zombie hunter. This leads to several absurd moments where you see a valleygirl slaughtering a horde of zombies in highschool clothes with a flashy chainsaw, while yelling "OMG!" among many other one-liners.
To serve as a foil for all this, Juliet takes her boyfriend Nick along for the ride (literally) who offers constant commentary on the absurdity of everything happening around him. Then, there are the bosses, who are all styled around musical genres and play up the stereotypes in several amusing ways.
Needless to say, the game is full of charm. And the lines spoken by many of the characters frequently put a smile on my face.
Unfortunately, to experience those delightful moments, I had to play the game. I have to give the game credit for not being a pure button masher, but not button mashing is pretty much all you need to do to be a pro at the game. Juliet is an agile character with an arsenal of crowd-clearing attacks, which only grows as you unlock new moves. Considering her enemies are all brain-dead zombies (with character nonetheless), this arsenal quickly reduces them to cannon fodder. As is a common problem with Suda51 games, the enemies often tend to basically function the same, differing thematically, but fighting like zombies.
Another major faux pas is the game's reliance on quicktime events, especially the instant death ones. The game is riddled with them, and they never feel satisfying when properly executed, as is often the case with quicktime events. Sadly, in the final boss fight, half of the fight involves quicktime events.

I'd recommend a rental for that Suda51 experience, but that's all it has going for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

suprised by it

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

was really fun to play .had great graphics ..combos were fun to use ..good story with plenty of horror filled puns ..and Juliet is kinda hot only complaint was she had man hands in some of the close ups ..try it real fun and addictive..part two ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lollipop Chainsaw

posted by JAM5909 (FLINT, MI) May 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Not much to say the story was well developed but had much more room to grow. The game-play and systems behind the scenes was awesome, love all the features and achievements for the game. This game overall gets a 7 out of 10 because even though it was good it could have been longer and more developed than what it was. It had much more room to grow. The plot twists were awesome but over kill on the twists itself near the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Compelling Aesthetic, terrible combat.

posted by furiouscabbage (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Lollipop Chainsaw, as is the case with all of Suda51's games, continues his long-tradition of interesting concepts that fall apart once gameplay actually begins.

The game is irreverent in it's almost Grindhouse-y presentation, brazenly immature with language, gore, and fetching angles of Juliet Staring in her cheerleader outfit.

But again, presentation goes only so far. Lollipop Chainsaw is one part brawler, another part Quick-Time-Event simulation. Neither of which would be a problem if they were actually fun. Combat is clumsy, lacking flow and feedback. QTEs largely stand-in for platforming and traversal.

Again, if you're a fan of Suda 51's particular brand of manic presentation, and can often overlook the lackluster gameplay that often graces his games, then you might get something out of Lollipop Chainsaw. If you're not a fan of Suda, then I would avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lollipop Chainsaw

posted by scoreo89 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game rocked in every way! The graphics were awesome, the storyline was hillarious, and the dialog was the best I've heard in a while. 5-Stars all around! The only issue with this game is DO NOT play it with children around. The inuendo is out of control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse