Rent Little King's Story for Wii
view large frontback

Little King's Story

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1485 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Overly long, but good!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Sep 1, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hello - never reeally played a game quite like it, so it's uniqueness counts for something! Lots of exploration, upgrading & a fun story keep it moving. I must say after 35 of the 100 side missions I found them getting to be quite repetitive & had NO desire to complete all 100. But certainly one of the better adventure games I've played recently & I highly recommend it! My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All Hail The King!

posted by StarWars94 (BAYONNE, NJ) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

23 out of 25 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

You start the game out with just a little, run down, poor kingdom. But as you progress through the game, you gather treasure and take over the lands as you build your vast empire to rule over. You get new classes to control over as the game continues. Each class has it's own specailty such as the soldiers which have an increased stregnth in battle, farmers to dig up treasure faster and open up cracks, carpenters for building bridges and stair cases, wood choppers for getting large trees out of your path, and many, many more! This game can easily be compared to Pikmin since it basically has the same format to it. Controls are pretty easy to handle although it can be a pain at certain times. Some examples are they don't go far enough when the enemy is right in front of them so instead of attacking it, they just run back to you. I experienced a really cheap death when I was in a squeezed off area because for some reason my soldiers didn't want to attack so instead I got killed. But beyond a few minor flaws everything is just fine. I had a lot of fun playing this game and I seriously recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is a blast

posted by GamerGirl0 (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so much fun. little rp, alittle Sim. and strategy allot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT FUN!

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I normally don't praise a game unless I have really enjoyed it. So when I say this game is great fun, it is because it was.

If you are a fan of the pikman games, you should enjoy this game. It has a lot of things to collect, a lot of quests to beat ( if you chose ), and a lot of monsters to kill.

Without giving away a plot.....the game plays like an adventure game blended with an rpg and real time strategy. You are a king character who is in direct control of your troops. Your character does no actual fighting itself. You can't control what moves one of your troops will do. You just point them in a direction of a monster and throw them at it. It sounds easy, but with the monsters there are a lot of attack patterns. Which means you need a strategy on who to throw at a monster and when to pull back your people.

This game has the most UNIQUE boss battles. I wasn't expecting that. They aren't some easy pushovers either. The boss fights require a lot of planning and patience. I loved them. Many of them are not your standard kill the bosses battles. They required thinking.

The camera can be a bit slow to move and sometimes a pain to get it to the perfect angle. But overall it works pretty well.

The controls are very decent too. They are easy to learn. They aren't a whole lot of weird button pressings or holding controllers in unconfortable positions.

The graphics are great. The game is cute. I personally like cute.
But don't let that turn you off. Underneath the cute looks is an awesome game.

The game is pretty long. I did about 3/4th of the quests and almost all of the collecting. I took my time playing as well. The game took me about 40 hours. So this isn't a short game at all.

There are several different difficulty levels so if you beat the game, you can then chose a harder difficulty. Which is what I am about to do.

All in all- great game! I give it a 9.5 It is well worth a rental and even a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First Wii Game I've Bought in a Long Time

posted by cptmullet (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I can't express how thrilled I was with this game. I found it unique, hilarious, and extremely engaging. It has drawn me away from my usual PC games to play it. This is the game I've always known was out there for Wii, and I joined GameFly to find it. I highly recommend this game, though I will say that it doesn't take full use of the Wii, having no motion sensing use at all (which is a major plus for me because imprecise movement infuriates me).

Give it a rent, you'll probably like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Little King's Story - Thumb's UP

posted by jesterloki (MASON, OH) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was great! I had fun while playing this game. The gameplay is not too hard nor too easy, and the controls are easy to use. The boss battles are challenging, and the storyline is very creative. The only bad thing is that you can lose your men easily. Overall, this was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great but Big.

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is worth buying and is very fun with the gameplay. It plays simply and easily and holds many classes to obtain as the game goes on. At first I loved it all, starting out expanding a place against one other was excellent! But after the first victory you have to fight what seems to be a massive amount of opponents. This made me dislike it a tid-bit but I wouldn't mind having this for my collection of wii games. Highly recommended rent and buy, you will enjoy this game. The only down points I see bit off is your weak, very open world for this type of game and you have an extremely weak attack for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If the controls were beter, it'd be great.

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'm glad I rented before I bought this title. Little King Story (LKS) is a strategy game along the lines of Pikmin in that you take command of a group of citizens and fight to take over the world (srsly). That's all well and good, but without another joystick, you can't control where your minions are going. It'd be ok if you could control their position with the Wii's cursor, but nope; they didn't include that feature.

That aspect alone ruined the game for me. Since you often have to traverse narrow passages elevated higher than the ground beside it, you need to be able to have some sort of control over their movement. And since the group will only follow directly behind you, they can easily, and unintentionally, be run off a cliff. This makes for a lot of backtracking and aggrivation. Every death costs you $50,000 and unhappiness among the kingdom so it's imperative you keep them alive.

I've spent most of the time stuck on one 1-star quest that really made it teeth-grindingly difficult to remain interested. The quest requires you to traipse along several narrow cliffs and clear a few rocks and downed trees before fighting the boss. Long story short, it was nearly impossible for me to get to the boss with my battalion intact and with enough ammo to take it out. Every twitch of the thumb has the civilians reforming behind you. If you could set waypoints or guide them with the cursor, it would be such a better experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super-high fun makes this the king of the Wii!

posted by Funfan12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

We've anticipated it for months. We've raved about it. We love it and give it a sky-high 10/10. You have no excuse: you MUST play Little King's Story for Wii (or you will miss out on the best Wii game of the year.)
In the game, you play as a little king. You get to order around little people to command a miniature army to fight dragons, find gold, and work together. You battle and work. You can marry a princess. You must balance the kingdom's wealth. You can explore. And more.
There's so much to do. The levels are easy and hard enough for everyone to enjoy in the whole family. The graphics are wonderful and the soundtrack is phenomenal.
The gameplay is even more fantastic. And there's so much more good stuff to say about Little King's Story that I could tell you a new positive thing each day for the rest of my life. Automatic purchase. It's great to be king.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fantastic art and concept but...

posted by leftfoot (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

There is only one problem with this game: The controls get in the way of the game. At the beginning, when you aren't fighting a lot of enemies, it's not a big deal. However, it ends up being a huge deal as you get closer to the end. Targeting is terrible as there's really not much fine control or even a "snap" selection.

We really enjoyed the concept of making and bringing different "classes" of citizens - from archers to builders and more. The artwork and illustrations are gorgeous and engaging.

I really, really wanted to love this game, and at the beginning I did. But the game got in the way of itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Spectacular Game, way better than its Avg. Score

posted by bakin64 (TORRINGTON, CT) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Before i start, do not let its terrible average score throw you off. the game is addicting, fun, and very very big.

You start as little king corobo, with a dream to unite all the earth under one stable government. You realize, theres going to have to be some fighting and conquering to achieve this goal.

So you set out in your small kingdom, while you hire people as fighters or farmers to gain wealth for your potential empire, and as you gain more and more money, you recieve letters of challenge that challenge you to a fight, winner takes the land fought over. As you gain more land, you can hire other workers, such as carpenters and lumberjacks, who open paths and are good in battle.

There are probably over 100 total hours of gameplay, with so much land to capture and civilize. Its a very big game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's good to be a little king

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When you first look at your copy of Little King's Story, you may be confused as to what the game is. Well, after playing it I can say it's rather unique.
You play a little king (duh) who finds himself in charge of a kingdom with no money, low morale and a handful of citizens. Your jobs is to expand your territory, grow your population, gain endless riches and crush your opposition. Ah, good times...
The closest things I can associate the gameplay with is Pikmin. As a king, you must lead your people out into the world where you'll give them tasks to accomplish. Create farmers to dig up treasure from the ground, make soldiers to fight, carpenters to build bridges and stairs, loggers to chop down fallen trees, etc. As you progress and gain money, you'll access additional buildings with other occupations, giving you access to more land where you can accrue more money, which allows you too... okay, you get the picture.
Citizens follow you and respond to a few basic commands. You can throw them in a straight line toward an objective and call them back to your side if there's trouble. Generally, these controls work well, but I felt that they could have been fleshed out far more. For instance, in Pikmin, you could sound a horn to move your group up hills, to a more opportune side, along a narrow cliff or around a large enemy. In Little King's Story, you don't have that level of control, which mskes it all the more difficult to complete your objectives.
As you destroy opposing kings, you'll expand your territory, influence, etc. You'll also get new quests thanks to the "suggestion box" your citizens use. But with larger terrain comes more walking from your castle.
The style is an acquired taste. I think the graphics could have used some work, especially since your common citizen looks strangely like the peasants from the original Warcraft.
Little King's Story offers unique ideas and concepts. It has the potential to become a great series, but it's not quite there yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Little Kings Story (Omg I wov teh cutness!!)

posted by Vain719 (FERNLEY, NV) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hehe hehe This game is Great!! When i come into this game i expected the controls to bother me and it to be hard as $$$$ But really i found this game to be quiite enjoyable. As the story goes you are a little boy that found a crown (And thow name shall be the burger king!!) And became the king of wtfisthename. Really its kinda nice to see a game thats not all about one man vs a million people and requires you to be more thoughtfull in your goings. Nowthen lets begin our Pros and Cons!
Pro:
A: The Cuteness: Almost every step i took was filled with happyness an joy :D And i found this really nice and fun. I mean most games now a days are filled with hate and darkness ( Dark Riders, Bayaneta, ... Umm ... Beautiful kalamari ... That things a dread bring man o-o It eats people!??!) And i love the music it so peacefull but also puts its point across.
B: Not taking itself so serious: (Why so Serious?) If you come into this game expecting a plot that will tear the funny bone out of its socket then you are looking at the wrong/right place (What would tearing a funny bone do ... make you lol or make you scream bloody murder .. hmmm ..) The main point of going around is to take over the world for pete sake you cant take that serious!!!
Cons:
A: Annoying little things: Ramps, Letters, Money, Collectibles, Bosses, Enemys, and so on and so on (Wow thats almost the whole game :O.) This game is ANNOYING AS $$$$ AND IT WONT LEAVE!!! The Ramps always make your men move to the side and require you needing to move them back up the ramp and money is scace And to add to that you need money for men which you need for bosses which kill your men its a ner ending circle.

In all this game was great but it had a lot of flaws. Maybe if they make a second one (I hope they do! xD) they can fix them and make the game even better! Anyway ill give this game being its from a company that iv never of a nice 8/10 For its creativity and overall funness (Just ignore the annoying parts.) Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!

posted by Yousha (LEECHBURG, PA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I recommend this game to anyone who have play "Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicle: My life as a King" on Wii. It's similar to this. But little much more different. I wouldn't spoil it to tell you. I like you to try yourself and see it. Graphic and controller are excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by AnsariX (LA MESA, CA) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, my only complaint is the controls. This game would have been perfect if it only used the wii control cursor, most of the fuctions are done just using A & B anyway, so being able to point with the cursor would have made everything a lot more fluid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but missing something

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Aug 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is an absolutely fantastic game but it lacks the one thing that could have made it great. The story is fun and entertaining. There is tons of things to experience such as fighting mad cows and then watching your citizens celebrate by were cow skeletons on their head and dancing around. This is just the begining though, you battle rulers of different lands in an effort to take over the world. The one thing this game lacks though may be one of the more important things to the gameplay. They did not include IR support which is absolutely vital to this style of game. I spent most of the game wishing that I had it and thinking of how much better it could have been. Considering this is a Wii exclusive you would think it would be a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Go play pikmin, keep this one on the self.

posted by Dagtastic (NEWARK, DE) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is NOT terrible, it is just not very good. The ideas are all there for a really nice experience, the problem is the control scheme and pacing. While on the surface it is JUST Pikmin reskinned, which in and of itself, isnt' a bad thing, Pikmin was a fantastic game and if you are going to ape something, it may as well be that game, it just doesn't capture that same charm, and ultimately tries to do too much.

The problem with Little King's Story, unlike Pikmin, is it is ultimately too slow and awkward to play. I appreciate the gameplay concepts, and in fact underneath the terrible controls is a fairly decent game. The issue is that it adds too many game elements for your individual "pikmin" to conquer. So you spent most of your time collecting and releasing villagers rather than exploring game content, and using your buttons and thumb sticks to try and wrestle your way through the map, selecting various villagers and navigating simple commands is just plain tedious.

And that is what is truly, truly bizarre about this game, and what is ultimately frustrating. I don't understand why a game developer develops what is essentially a point and click game, for a device that is made for the point and click mechanic and doesn't implement it.

If this was a gamecube game, I would have forgiven the terrible control choices, and if this was an N64 game I would have forgiven the silly save/mission system, but we should be beyond this by now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

AWWWWSOME

posted by littleking (FARMINGTON, CT) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game is fun and has a simple goal: World Domination. Recruiting People in places with citizens all around can be a pain, and if you pick somone wrong you have to dispatch your whole group. But other than that it's easy to make money and the guardians and bosses are challenging but not too hard. Overall a exellent game.

And yes my name is based on the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Super Stupid

posted by HelloKitty (EAST CANTON, OH) Dec 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game was soooo dumb! It is hard to control & is not fun at all. You mainly are looking down on the game. It is more like an aerial view, because you need to find cracks in the ground. Also the words come on the screen when the characters speak, but also these weird sounds accompany it. I quickly became annoyed by that. It is not even as fun as computer games you play online!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by maverick62 (CORBETT, OR) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

horrible graphics bad control and game play barely could stand it for the 1 hr i played would not recommend to even rent let alone buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Aspires to be Pikmin; Not quite there

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

In Little King's Story, you control a king who starts with just a few citizens and must expand to conquer the world. You do this by collecting a party of citizens around you (of various classes like grunts who are good at combat, farmers who can dig holes, lumberjacks who can remove stumps, etc.) and ordering these citizens to fight monsters, clear your path of obstacles, uncover treasures that you use to upgrade your kingdom, and ultimately defeat rival kings. The interface is very much in the style of Pikmin, but with a much wider variety of character classes. As an avid Pikmin lover, I was excited to see a copycat, especially one that tries to combine Pikmin with RPG and city-building elements, but unfortunately this game is not an improvement over the classic. Although decent, it is hampered by mediocre controls, poor tutorials, confusing quests, and interface issues.

Pros:
-A cute style of art, unique choice of music, and a quirky sense of humor give this game a lovable feel
-Games like Pikmin are few and far between. Beggars can't be choosers.
-The ending to the game is kind of cheesy, but was cute.

Cons:
-I had many issues during the game where I just plain didn't understand what I was supposed to do. I got stuck several times because I was confused, or I missed reading a sign, or I didn't notice some small innocuous object or path. This can be very frustrating. It reminds me of the old days of Zork or King's Quest where you can get stuck because of something completely trivial, not because the game is challenging.
-The controls are sub-par. Some buttons are overused while others do nothing. This can make some basic actions are very tough to do.
-The city-building element of the game is virtually non-existent. You have no control over how your kingdom is built, and you run out of things to build after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Difficulty damages gameplay

posted by palumatzu (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

In this game, you are expected to parade a group o workers through the land, removing obstacles, collecting treasures and trash alike, defeating various kings to get to the top. The catch? Getting to the kings. The difficulty on some of the bosses was so high, i had trouble just getting to them. Like in Dark Souls and Demon Souls, you had to know precisely what to do when, but even then, the high-paced attacks and traps were too much. I was overall displeased with the difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad at all

posted by Kiba3D (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Gameplay: 8/10- other than the camera and your followers, it's not that bad you will have once you start to get money and tacke over a few teratoories you get tons of upgrades
Graphics: 9/10- the paint graphic is nice give it that beautiful feel gland the glair and stff just make the game georgus
Story: 5/10- not really a story but a plot to run the world -_- sounds a bit... Eveilish
Audio: 7/10 this game is full of classical Beethoven, and harmony
Boss battles: 10/10 they are very challenging and awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a Wii Classic

posted by jalapeno (FAIRFAX, VA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

I took a chance on this game because I heard it was like Pikmin and because so many people praise this as one of the best Wii games. I popped in the game and found a bright and cheery world. There were a few classes I could assign to my few citizens and things didn't feel at all complex or over-cluttered. How quickly that changed. Suddenly my very small world (which by itself even felt very large due to how slow the characters move) became multiplied twice its size and then 4 times its size! With each expansion of the game world (which I'm not entirely sure if it ever stops growing) there were more and more classes to choose from and more and more dangers to face. The game becomes overly complicated before you even get to the start of the main plot. Your goal is to conquer 7 different surrounding kingdoms by defeating their kings. You also must take down several Guardians that hold plots of land you need to develop on. The absolute worst part of this game is the team mechanics. For one thing, it is tedious and confusing to select your teammates, and then it becomes an even more difficult challenge to keep them alive. You have to be constantly upgrading yourself to increase your team capacity, their life-bars, their weapons, in order to get even a yard out of your boundaries. This wouldn't be a problem if all of the treasure that you needed and the lands you get some upgrades from weren't in completely infested territory too strong for your current self. I spent in-game days trying to raise funds just to upgrade my weapons to search for treasure. I finally did and went out only to discover I needed a carpenter. So I went all the way back to down, recruited a carpenter, and went aaaaall the way back. Then I died and lost all my progress. I didn't even have a chance to defeat the 2nd king before I turned off the game and put it back in the sleeve. All that said, if you have extreme patience, the game does have plenty of charm. I do not recommend it, however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Long live the king- eh, that's enough

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) May 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Little King's Story has a lot in common with the Pikmin series. Like in Pikmin, you lead around a band of loyal soldiers - in this case your civilian subjects - which you will thrust in the direction of enemies to attack and treasures to collect, while regrouping them to avoid dangers.

Also like Pikmin though, after initially enjoying this greatly I ended up getting bored with it.

This game has a lot of charm to it. I greatly enjoyed the bright visuals, the classical music, and the premise of being a king along with the direction, given to you by your adviser, of taking over the world! (Well, I already try that all the time, but...) Along with the charm, the game is designed just well enough to avoid getting frustrating for the most part. Like just when it's getting annoying having to recruit individual citizens each in-game day, the game offers you a solution. Well done. Another thing that helped is that the field has some randomness to it and the same place can have different things in it.

Despite this, when you focus on the gameplay, it's nothing special. You'll build an army mostly of soldiers, archers, and a few support units for specific tasks like breaking logs or digging up treasure, and you'll fling them at stuff without getting your hands dirty yourself. You can buy things for your kingdom but there's no great strategy involved, play long enough and you'll earn the cash for it all anyway. The opponent kings are supposed to be a strength of the game, but I found them to be difficult and annoying since they require such vastly different tactics from the rest of the game.

When my kingdom expanded past a certain point and the music became more regal, I really began to lose interest and eventually just gave up. I'd recommend this as a rental for a few hours as there are certainly some smiles to be had. Maybe you'll like this better than I did if you can put up with the repetitive gameplay, but don't be surprised if this sours on you too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse