Rent Little Big Planet for PS3
view large frontback

Little Big Planet

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
7.9

14306 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sackboy Saves The Platformer!

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Oct 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

109 out of 117 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Platforming games have seen a decline in popularity over the past few years since their pinnacle in Mario 64 (my opinion, anyway. Insert your favorite title there...) What Media Molecule has done with LittleBigPlanet is provide a game both young children and adults will enjoy for months or longer. After finishing the main game, finding all the stickers, outfits, and other secrets, you have the option to create your own levels. The culmination of all these elements create an exceptional title that deserves to be played by casual and hardcore gamers alike.

The main "story" mode is playable by up to four players (locally on your couch, or via the Playstation Network) and takes around ten hours. At least, it did for my son and I. You will experience races on larger than life skateboards, battle cardboard monsters both large and small, all while giggling at the outfits you are capable of placing on your avatar, the aptly named, Sackboy. He's without a doubt the cutest thing to happen to gaming in some time. Kids love 'em, believe me.

After finishing the game, or even before if you're so inclined, you may create your own levels with everything you've collected or unlocked within the game. The designs tools are both intuitive and explained very well. My son makes levels for me and I for him. I can adjust the difficulty to his abilities, which is nice. If you find yourself with an opus on your hands, you have the option of sharing it with the world by posting it on Media Molecule's site. It's great to receive feedback for your own level and they are fun to make as well.

LittleBigPlanet is without a doubt a must buy for those who enjoy good old platforming or have children. It's family friendly, addictive, and a guilty pleasure for everyone else. I highly recommend everyone with a Playstation 3 give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

100% game

posted by gamer333 (MINOT AFB, ND) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do to its ''Block Buster hit'' as i call it I LOVE IT! Of course every game will have a bump. And that one is the map building. But of course it perfect! I recamend buying it instead of renting it for it perfectness. Game of the year? More of game of the decade for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

definitely worth checking out!

posted by nabors0880 (NORTH SIOUX CITY, SD) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

When I first opened this game and moved a few steps I almost gave it up, thinking it was for young kids 10 or younger. I gave it a shot anyway and it became harder and harder, I almost couldn't put it down. Play it! Play it alone then with a friend, for 2 player goodies. It's a really fun game! I may have to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

If I'm Being Honest - I Hate This Game

posted by Mihalick (WINDBER, PA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I received this game for free with PlayStation Network's welcome back package, and only play it when my three year old niece is with me, as I can only play things that are child friendly.

This game is very boring to me. I know that it has a hardcore following, but it just did not appeal to me at all. I think it might be the only game I've ever fallen asleep while playing. Some of it comes off a little cheap to me.

I wish they had hired some voice actors rather than have generic cartoon mumblings for the in game characters. I will say the dialogue of the narrator made me chuckle a bit from time to time, but he's the only real voice throughout the whole game. The rest is you reading while cartoons mumble jargon behind speech bubbles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I want to love you.

posted by jam638 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to like this game for some reason but I get so ticked off when I play it. The characters are loveable and fun to control. The music is fun yet haunting. I don't feel right playing this game. Sack people should be allowed to carry a firearm. His sack world is a pretty sick place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh...its ok

posted by ShadowMonk (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is defaintley different when it comes to level design and gameplay but not worth a buy in my opinion. First off the story mode is frustrating and annoying after a while. You do the same thing over and over again only to come to a almost impossible challenge and die 3 times and get returned to the very beginning of the level!!! Now once you get fed up with the story mode you can move on and create your own levels. Sounds fun right?? NO! If you don't have patience and time don't even bother. Theres so many tools and objects to use its almost impossible to create even the simplest level without planning and knowing how to use the awkward control system. Also i was told by a few people there was a online multiplayer, i'm not sure if i picked the game up too late or if the servers were down while I had this game but I couldn't find anyone to play online.

Overall i'd give Little Big Planet a 6.5/10 simply because theres no other game like it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

1 Hour of updates to play game!!

posted by SJAM16 (HAINESPORT, NJ) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought that after waiting for the 1 hour updates to finish downloading for this game would be a sign it was great but no. It was just ok, I did think the graphics were interesting with how they designed it using real photos of real objects, not CGI. But as for game play it was just ok, nothing spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

CUTE

posted by DaInfamous (BRONX, NY) Sep 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cute,kids thought it was Cute. Cute that's it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Kid's Toybox, Not Meant For Kids.

posted by targetme (ALTON, ME) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While it's simple to build smile inducing contraptions, the game's harsh physics engine rules out the kid's market -- one it's clearly striving to reach. This miscalculation alienates people who are looking to create something darker, or at the very least, something not involving an adorable sack person.

With that said, the game is fantastic for marketing, however, It's also just not intuitive enough for the casual, and not meaty enough to satisfy the hardcore. With a lacking single player experience There's just no way I can recommend this game, at this time.

Hopefully, the sequel will have better results.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun little game!

posted by kupoteer (IRVINE, CA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We got this at the recommendation of a friend and we will most likely be keeping it!

Insanely quirky (in a good way), unique gameplay, overwhelmingly creative and great for 1 or more players, you cannot beat this!

The music is great (Cafe Tacuba, anyone?), the controls are fairly easy and responsive, and the game is so expansive it's difficult to fault it for anything.

My only complaint is that screenshots are incredibly small when transferred to your PS3 HDD, so you can't really upload snapshots and keep them for personal use.

The game still gets a 10 rating anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A World of Fun in LittleBigPlanet.

posted by ll2Scoopsl (KEARNY, NJ) May 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sony always manages to get their hands on gems. We can go on and list the many great games but this game is a huge accomplishment. LittleBigPlanet is a true gaming experience. It's brilliantly fun, with an enormous amount of things to do. There's a story to play, a community of player levels to behold, add-ons galore, and a level creator so you can let loose your creative abilities. LittleBigPlanet is a great platformer for all ages and I'll rate it on several different categories.      

Presentation 10/10: Everything about LittleBigPlanet is handed go you on a silver platter. The menu's are easy to explore, the tutorials are perfectly able to help all ages, and the game itself is simple enough for everyone to enjoy.   

Graphics 10/10: This game looks gorgeous. The character models and level textures all look great. This is how a next-gen game should look like.   

Sound 9.5/10: One word sums it all up: Spectacular. The soundtrack is perfect, and the voice acting is superb. My only little fuss is sackboy or girl could've used a couple more sound animations.    

Gameplay 9.5/10: The controls are tight and simple. The various amount of things to do from platforming to shooting the paint gun are all smooth. Creating levels are easy and co-op just adds even more to an already great experience.   

Replayability 10/10: LittleBigPlanet can take a tremendous amount of time out of your life. There are the story levels, challenges, downloadable add-ons, community levels, and even level modulators. Add all of this and the ability to play with up to three people, there is an endless amount of gaming and fun this game.   

Conclusion: LittleBigPlanet is a masterpiece. It has a blend of great gameplay, visuals, and a lot of variety. This is the next big step in gaming. It has so much to offer for every age group, creative minds, and even new gamers. I highly recommend this game for anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game

posted by rmm862002 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game would be best to play with your girlfriend, if she likes to watch you play but is not to god at video games this game is perfect to play with her the create can take a bit of time so if your planning on being hardcore about building levels and all that just buy it other than that its pretty fun some levels could be tricky with more than 1 player but with harder levels the key is to take your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOOL

posted by tylermaaan (Waianae, HI) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so neat & kool.
Iv'e played it for my first time & found it very intresting & have. Very Cute! If u like Super Mario, you'll enjoy this Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You have to understand this is a platformer

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

... and don't rate the game because comparing it to fps, third person shooters, or racing games.

I remember a time being a kid playing the NES version of Mario and it was the most wicked, wild and fun thing. Little Big Planet would be this generation's version of that thrill. This is a platformer, there will be jumping, dangling on things, and hitting switches to go up and down things. This borrows ideas from the games from days gone by. After a series of repeat fps and third person shooters, this belongs in a game library for a reason!

The real gold in this game is the level creator and the ability to play the levels of other contributors. People have tons of creative ideas, it may not seem like a big deal, but searching around, people really put in the effort to theme, and recreate all sorts of levels based on movies, books, and other games.

Like most games that has some reward/unlock system, the unlockables are costumes, stickers, objects, and other assortments of junk, but they contribute to the game in rewarding those bubble points and to use in level creator.

If you've got a bit of art sense in you, you'll see the sheer amount of artistic flair and composition that goes into those backgrounds and surroundings. The game is stunning in a psychedelic motion pop-up book sort of way. The music is pretty good, too.

The only con in this game is the controls, it could be tweaked a bit better, but otherwise, this is a great platformer with some replay value for folks who want to create their own levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game!

posted by rader8r (YERINGTON, NV) Jan 22, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this through gamefly cause I wasn't sure if it would be of interest to me. After an hour of playing, or wait was that 2 hours..Who am i kidding, this game has such interesting levels, not to mention all of the things you can do to create your own levels that time has no meaning. I played the story line for at least 4 hours, just so I could collect an assortment of different objects to start creating my own levels. The tutorial is awesome, they really found an excellent narrator, who keeps it interesting while teaching you the ins and outs of the game. Level design is a little challenging but i am sure that with practice I will be able to design some pretty sweet levels like the rest of my friends on PSN. Get this game. it rocks out loud!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Fun

posted by uberpig2k2 (BREMERTON, WA) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has gotten many awards, and for good reason. The graphics are awesome. I love the soundtrack in this game, very quirky and upbeat. Great to enjoy with your friends online or off. Can be very challenging at points, so don't let it's cute appearance throw you off. Limitless downloadable, user created maps. Even create your own maps. The replay value on this is second to none. Bought it right away after I rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Biggest little Big Plant

posted by Nocheala (GULFPORT, MS) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. It is a must buy for all PS3 owners out there. I was a little skeptical about playing with a little sack doll and thought that it was going to be the worst game play ever, boy was I ever wrong. There is so much that you can do from creating new worlds to changing your sack man to anything that you would like. It has a great online game play mode for up to four players and has very few lag issues if hardly any. This game is great for all ages and is well worth the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply awesome

posted by BossMeng (DUBUQUE, IA) Jan 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most fun and addicting game I've played in a long time! Anyone with a shred of gaming knowledge should get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very very fun

posted by jaie15 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although it might seem childish at first, this game is extremely fun. That goes for gamers of all types. The levels are both a challenge and something to look at. I love how it looks and how everything feels. The ability to customize your sackboy is fun and keeps things interesting. I haven't gotten into creating levels, but it seems to offer the ability to make almost anything. It takes me back to the old Excitebike days as far as that goes, the last time I ever spent time creating my own levels. This game is a definite rent if not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent this Game :)

posted by LoyalRebel (DOWNEY, CA) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Little Big Planet is the most refreshing game I have played all year long. It is simply a flawless master piece that will hopefully help rejuvenate the side scrolling puzzle genre.LBP is pure imagination where possibilities are endless. LBP consist of two main modes the story mode and the custom map mode. Story mode takes you around the glob in a theme adventure where you must save Little Big Planet form the evil collector. Each level consist of a series of puzzles that you must solve. The game mechanics are simply jumping, running and grabbing the many object in the world. I personally have not seen a game with such deep game play based such simple controls since the classic SNES Mario Bros. LBP created a core game play of simplicity and then added depth through excellent level design. Ever level is theme appropriately with your world location and the levels get progressively harder as you play the game. The puzzles are exciting and you feel a bit of relief when you successfully avoid falling into that pit of alligators.

As you progress through the game you unlock new clothes and stickers for your characters. The clothes are an awesome way of decorating your character appearance to yours heart desire. Stickers serve a dual purpose one being decorating your character and the world the second being placing trigger stickers in the correct location to unlock secrete paths in the level. You can also control your character emotions and poses for the pure entertainment factor or to use the camera function.

LBP also has a very in depth level creator that lets you create or recreate a wide variety of platformer and other genre of levels. The engine requires hard work and time but you can truly create some awesome things. The level creator also adds a lot of depth for some of the more hard core gamer types. LBP is one of those games where you really need to play the game in order to truly appreciate it. So definitely rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Looking for a fun time?

posted by L33T360 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is probably going to be one of my shortest reviews ever, ever, of a game (and this is a guy who write for a gaming site).

ONE OF THE BEST GAMING EXPERIENCES I have experienced in an oh so long time. I bought LittleBigPlanet so quickly after renting. The atmosphere is family friendly....graphics are stunning....gameplay is phenomenal

So If I were you, put this at the top of your Q or your to buy list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOST FUN GAME EVER

posted by shinyfrog (CEDAR PARK, TX) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You get to customize your character and build your own levels which is extremely FUN AND ADDICTIVE.I rented this game as soon as it came out and I still have it. When I return it, I'm going to buy this!!!If you like platformers at all YOU WILL LOVE THIS. The only problem I have is sometimes jumping doesn't seem to work right, and once in a while you get kicked off the server online. Everyone that has played this at my house has loved it- me, my wife, my kids, friends, even my mom. There is nothing bad for kids in the game. IT'S JUST FUN!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very creative and entertaining game

posted by xGN15330x (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first time I tried this game, I loved it. I am 14 and this game is definatly not for younger kids. You can create whatever your heart desires. By playing the career mode, you can unlock more items and clothing used to make your worlds. 1-4 player support (plus online play) is also astounding. My favorite thing to do is create my own object and stick wheels on it and roll away! TMF-(Too Much Fun!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simple yet fun.

posted by AlexD164 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is probaly the funnest game on the earth right now. It will have you playing all day. I bought this on street date and had non-stop fun. For an E rated game this game is truely for all ages. It is fun for the child,teenager,or even adult.
The story of it isn't freat but the story game play is fun you don't even need to pay attention to the story since it's skipable. Online laged alot at first but with new updates it has improved. The game is funny,cute and friendly to get a game like this you don't need to be creative just go ahead and play other user-made levels.

This game just might suprise the he ll out of you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the greatest games of our generation

posted by LordRaoh (BRONX, NY) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Brings back the early gaming days of platformers. Yet its an all new experience. Your retro gaming needs are met when playing levels designed after our favorites (donkey kong, megaman, mario brothers etc). new levels designed like our newer generation games like mirrors edge, anime themed like the macross level all show how deep the game could get.

This is not a kids game. its a family friendly game but not a kids game. if anything i think most levels are too challenging for children.

I can see a crowd that is all about shoot em up games with the kill em all mentality not taking to LBP. Those games are a dime a dozen. about 8 came out this holiday. minimum.

A game like littlebig planet only comes every so often. Do not miss out on this gaming experience. Your only short changing yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse