Rent Little Big Planet Karting for PS3
view large frontback

Little Big Planet Karting

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

I think i've played this before...

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Lets get this out of the way, yes this is a straight up copy of Modnation Racers with the LBP theme...with a few improvements and flaws. Overall, a decent game, but the too similar elements and bad choices in design, keep this game from standing out. Lets break it down:

The Good:

-Narrator: As per usual in LBP games, the Narrator steals the show with his witty humor and charm.

-Driving mechanics: Everything you loved about driving in MNR is kept intact.

-LBP style Creation Station: VEEERY deep track creator with plenty of tutorials for the novice track builder, just wished it had Auto Populate...

The MEH:

-Why oh why did you take out the upgradable powerups and optional mines?: That mechanic made racing in MNR exciting and balanced(for the most part) I don't understand why United Front took it out...

-Installation woes: While mandatory for most PS3 games these days, its especially painful for this game, you gotta update AND install.

-I miss the drivable menus...: LBPK doesn't have the much loved main menu, instead we got a pod and a VERY similar menu to LBP2.

-Clone: They needed to add SOMETHING different that isn't cosmetic, to make it stand out as its own game, everything feels too similar.

The BAAAAD:

-Where's the challenge? The excitement?: Because of the powerup mechanic change and the fact that you have to collect prize bubbles, racing in the story mode to unlock everything is a chore. On top of that, racing itself isn't as challenging as it was in MNR. Might be a minor gripe for others however, considering the amount of flak they got for the insane difficulty in MNR's single player, but they definitely learned they're lesson this time around.

Overall: If you're an LBP fan and haven't played Modnation Racers, definitely try this out, BUT if you want a better karting experience, go pick up Modnation Racers. I really hope this is the last spinoff LBP game, I really enjoy the series and I don't want it milked to death.

VERDI

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ModiNation with Sackboy

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cute game but a ModiNation copy. Yes it has the sackboy cuteness, the buildible tracks but nothing special. Good to rent not a buyer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Step Backward

posted by MOClone (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First thing's first, the game is effectively ModNation Racers with a new coat of paint. Not the least bit shocking since it had the same developers, the folks at United Front. But there are a couple of major problems. The first is the physics engine. The floaty physics from the LittleBigPlanet platformer games have made their way over to this title, resulting in extremely floaty karting, which means your kart handles sluggishly and sloppily, and is enough to quickly frustrate younger players. Worse still is that this game requires the now seemingly standard online pass, meaning that, unless you want to shill out an extra $9.99 on top of your monthly Gamefly rental fee, you will not be able to experience the heralded LittleBigPlanet user-generated levels, nor any other online content.

For those reasons, I strongly urge you to look into other karting games. There certainly aren't a shortage of them coming out this season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For the Fans of the LBP or Mario Kart Series

posted by rbp97ilv (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

LBPK takes you through eye popping, fast paced, and overall creative tracks in order to stop the Hoard, a race of creatures who steal crafts and never uses them for others.

Gameplay:
Race, Arena, and Pathfinding levels with weaponators (weapons / boosts) to aid you to first place across eye-popping, familiar (from the series), and greatly designed tracks. Solid controls.

Features:
A story mode, level creators, and a large community of players (Requires a purchasable online pass). Local split screen and online multiplayer.

Story:
A creative, but semi-brief, story taking you through 7 worlds. Unlockable minigames available over the story.

Sounds / Music:
A slew of guest artists and a comeback of soundtracks from previous games. SFXs are good.

Pros / Cons:
+Creative Tracks and Story
+Level Creators
+Soundtracks are Great
+Community Features
+Increasing Difficulty
-Medium Length Story
-$10 Online Pass
-Can be challenging for younger people
-Overall Price is "Iffy".

Overall, I have to give this game a standing ovation!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BEST REPLAY VALUE EVER!

posted by Tebowing (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

MAKE YOUR CUSTOM TRACKS AND RACE DIFFERENT TRACKS EVERY RACE,VERY FUN AND THE BEST GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

jeramy reviews little big planet karting

posted by battlemage (PLEASANT GROVE, AL) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

the popularity of this series may seem overated to some but the creativity itch some of us have really what makes this game spark the game is a racer spinoff of the popular little big planet series like mariocart iam saying mariokart cause thats at its core its predessor. the game the story overall isnt why you play this game its the multplayer and its online play which do the creativity itch the community is well earned which that was the core aspect they made this series cool is the i call it minecraft syndrome.Which means your given a toy box full of tools items etc which some you can earn both in story and online and you can build and create your own race tracks which may seem kinda boring for a normal racer but in big planet the ideas and concepts are endless graphics stick true to games past artwork it hasnt changed and i hope it doesnt it really makes this series stand out this the game you would get your family to play with you its alot of fun and reminded on why i loved mariokart as a kid and this isnt mariokart. Gameplay again copys the play dirty get a gun rocket fire it at your fellow racers to slow them down the controls take some time to get used to and the ai sometimes isnt great which this is the games only fault overall i would gave karting a rental at the last i doubt you will not play it out after you collected everything but i would atleast get for when you have friends over and you want to have a good time. overall i give this game a B-"

overall grade B-
+ stands out isnt a wasted attempt at mariokart nor nintendo
+ community is where the true experince is with this series not the story
+ online play
-poor AI
- controls take time to master mostly while on the track when you need to grapple onto something to swing cross a valley or whatever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

just like mario but sac peeps

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is fun and i love the customization cars and characters, very fun. only thing its lacking is more levels, story, and how about an online mutiplayer????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not very good.

posted by silverwolf123 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 24, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Obviously this game is a modnation copy, we all are aware of that and its just one of those spinoffs. Honestly, I liked LittleBigPlanet better without the racing and the karts. Just saving characters in Craftworld was good enough for me.

I was excited to play the game, knowing some wonders will await me. Though one I saw that you needed an online pass, 50% of my excitement broke down into despair. But hey, you're thinking, well what about the gameplay part. To me, the storyline is half the game, then the online portion completes that half. I know they're trying to make more money but, online passes, for littlebigplanet? Come on.

The gameplay was ok, there were a few glitches with the drifting maneuver, but overall the controls were okay to me. I got quite bored though, I didnt want to go through all the story without some kind of online gameplay with my friends. But then I remembered about the online pass. Which really crushed me about this game.

If you're planning on buying this game, I wouldn't recommend it, but if you really want it go ahead. I would rather much rent it than buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good

posted by Dovaking91 (BRONX, NY) Jul 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Pretty goodf

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok but I can't play it

posted by Krissyandjohn (ROCKY MOUNT, NC) May 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I have seen gameplay and I am sure it is a great game I just can't play it without erasing al my game data off my ps3 it sucks that the game is so greedy on space. I would love to play it but until I upgrade my storage space I won't play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's all about luck... no skill needed.

posted by Incogitant (OREGON, OH) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

the game is pretty much determined by whether the guy behind you has a weapon or not. You could be in 1st place all the way through the level untill someone decides to blow you up, and you loose. There should be a method of strategy as to how to use the weapons instead of them being a one hit kill everytime.

On the bright side i think the battles are pretty fun :) thats why I'm giving it a 3 instead of a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by soj2251 (MCALLEN, TX) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I absolutely love this game. It is definetly a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Online Pass Requirement Ruins Game

posted by whodunnit (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2005

Overall it's basically Mario Kart or Mod Nation Racers, combined. Fun game, but it's playabilty is ruined by 2 reasons.

1. All your items from the previous LBP games do not carry over.
2. You cannot access/view/play anything online, or anyone else's content without paying money. That makes this game useless as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

little disappointed while karting

posted by hes_goodpeople (VERONA, WI) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

loved little big planet 2, so i gave this a whirl. it's a bit of a poor man's mario kart. plus, half the game is community based (including the trophies), which requires a premium pass. so, unless you're an enormous lbp fan, i'd move on to the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

:(

posted by BPotts00 (ROCKMART, GA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Game wasn't as expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect PS3 counter to mario kart

posted by osubucks000 (WICKLIFFE, OH) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I absolutely love this game. It could not have been made any better! PS3 needed a version of mario kart(wii) and they sure did deliver! This is a must rent if you like Mario Kart

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best karting experience

posted by devoncoolman17 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Every single part of this game is awsome the graphics,the gameolay,the weapons,this beats mario kart you can change anything you want on this game the kart,the sackcreature,you can even make your own level!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME BUT......?

posted by MRGAMER4LYFE (ORANGE PARK, FL) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It should of came with the Ps vita version too. good game, it's LBP but on wheels. MOST OF DLC You can use with ALL LBP games. the game is not a 10, because alot of DLC should of came with the game and ps vita game. Buy one get one for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »