Rent Little Big Planet 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Little Big Planet 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

7051 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by Darcwave (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

38 out of 39 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Words cannot begin to describe how satisfying this game is. Only down side was that the main single player levels didn't take me very long. The platforming is easy and simple, but this does not mean that the experience is boring and dull, plus there are quite a few hidden items hiding in every level. And so that the platforming doesn't get dull there are many different bonus games in between the regular platforming levels that allow for new experiences. Also a very nice upgrade from the first game and you can import all your data and dlc from the first game. And although the game is playful and gives off a child like feeling, this game is not in the slightest only for children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The only game that mixes simplicity and complexity

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Jan 31, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Well, what did you honestly expect from this game? The first being a PS3 star, the sequel is no different. But don't expect it to change your mind if you didn't like the 1st. Little Big Planet mixed complexity and simplicity seamlessly. Giving you a game that could be played by a child, and give a challenge to the hardcore. But, it has its flaws. The online mode is amazing like the first, but how things are arranged now changes the somewhat overwhelming setup of the first, but over simplifies it this time. Finding your hearted levels makes you push an extra button and the new setup took me a few minutes to master. The rating system is also changed to just a smiley face or sad face. I preferred the star rating, but this is easier I suppose. And the create mode, well, its where the complexity kicks in. There are so many options and things you can do, its easy to get overwhelmed. But, I hate buts I really do, its extremely hard to make it do what you want it too. I spent twenty minutes trying to make my Sackbot deadly, and still to no avail. Its actually to complex for me, but I've played levels online that beat the story missions. Which bring me to those delightful missions, no with added story. It wasn't necessary, but adds another level of fun to it. The added pick-ups and weapons are amazing, no surprise there. But the story mode seems shorter than the first. We almost beat the whole thing in one afternoon.

Pros: Great graphics, customization is awesome, both on characters, your pod, and level design. Story mode is more fun and sophisticated this time, and the characters are actually likable. Online is great also. The new pins are a nice touch.

Cons: New online setup is a a bit to different, Create mode is also really complex. Kinda short story mode

This game is amazing and I highly recommend picking it up. But the Create mode, (which is the brunt of the game) is really complex for those simpleminded folk. But I highly recommend you to at least rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid, New Title

posted by nMedzy (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This new version of LittleBigPlanet is fantastic. Everything about the game, down to the actual gameplay mechanics has been improved and made more enjoyable. The main story levels are extremely fun, and even though there's only 30 of them, they'll last quite a bit. Along with that, if you enjoy collecting trophies and such, you'll enjoy MediaMolecule's new feature involving pins. These are in-game achievements, that don't necessarily give you a trophy, but give you a little pin, and you can display these to show them off.

Overall, it's a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Platformer of this Generation

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The gameplay and momentum mechanics are fun to play around with. I like how each level feels entirely different than the last. And with the level creator and the ability to play through levels either solo or in co-op there's an unlimited amount of gameplay to be had here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than part 1!

posted by hades360 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok im not makin this long...First, there are different tools u could use and the original ones from before are improved. The way u tweak them are...a little more complex and somtimes im twisting and turning knobs that i have no idea what they do! But there are tutorials and u no longer have to do them to unlock stuff they are already unlocked and it just shows u how to use them.The online part is wat i play the most though,especially with a friend or two. You can search anything about everything and theyll have a stage for it that someone online randomly made and u can comment and rate it as well. You could also make a stage and publish it online but that takes alot of time to get it right and to make it fun at the same time. Overall i got this game to build stages and publish them...so far only 2 heh. But yea its fun and if u never played it then look at gameplay and see if its yur type it did get a 9.5 in gameinformer!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Little "Fun" Planet 2

posted by GameslayerDJ15 (HENDERSON, MN) Sep 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the most fun, creative, non-ending game I have ever played. It seems like it is made for kids but, when you play it, it is so complex and sometimes difficult that it would take kids months to beat it and master it :D. The story mode is long as it is, but all the collectibles and co-op things they put in the levels make it even longer. Then you get to create your own levels, with items you unlocked from the story mode, and items you get from playing other peoples levels, you can even create your own objects and items. With tons of stickers, tools, and gadgets, this Little Big Planet surpass's it's older version with flying colors.
8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Creative and fun experience.

posted by owman3000 (ALBANY, CA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

LittleBigPlanet released back in 2008 and has been one of the few console games that gets better the longer you wait. Users have crafted great levels comparable to the main story the developers created. LittleBigPlanet 2 has now been out for a few months and the community has only gotten better at making great levels. I'll start with the main story. Media Molecule has now added a thin story that ties together the levels, but its only there to put you through the game. The story lasts about 8 hours and each level is innovative and fun each time. Each level gives you new ideas to incorporate into the levels you create. The gameplay is classic platforming with a few new tweaks to the series. You can swing with a lasso tool thing, its used for new platforming and puzzle solving. While the story is fun the main thing that'll keep you coming back is the user generated content. With hundreds of levels being added everyday and already all of the levels from the first game itll take years just to get through the excellent levels. The level creation tool is really thorough and its pretty complicated and will take a while to get used to it but its really precise and fun to make levels with. If you want to make a really good fun level it will take up to 50 hours but its well worth it if you want to make a well crafted map. With the new tools added to the level creator you can now make other types of games. If you want to mape a first person shooter you can, you just have a tweak a few settings and bam. Ive seen racers, shooters, platformers, minigames, all sorts of innovative games and different genres. The community is really good and I doubt it will ever change. LittleBigPlanet is fun game thats good for any family. You can run and jump with four other people online or off on any of the levels. Its good fun for any age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!!!

posted by DARCARIO (SKIATOOK, OK) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I myself, just love the advanced gameplay, but what I love most about it is the level creation part. You can basically create anything you want to. From tanks to robots to helicopters to controllable sackbots to... well there is not anything that this game won't let you create.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Little Big Planet 2 Rocks!

posted by taylorann1018 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So the creatures of Little Big planet 2 added in lots of extras to make this game far surpass the first. Just when you thought it couldn't get any better, there are now competitive side levels, and special equipment that add excitement to the game. In addition to the add ons the game is appropriate for everyone. The levels may require you to think through in order to progress and develop a technique, but some of the commentary is aimed at the younger audience; however, just like a great animated film there are jokes that are only understandable by a mature audience. This game is a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by mysticxradiance (LAKE FOREST, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a joy to play and it was great to see the many innovations with Little Big Planet 2.   

Pros:
-All data from the original LBP transfers very smoothly to LBP2.
-Overall a very fun game which kept with the spirit of the original Little Big Planet. 
-Beautiful graphics. Very creative. Artistic. 
-Music is lighthearted and fun. 
-New innovative gadgets which gives the game variety. Offers many new possibilities when designing and playing levels.
-Platforming is easy and fun, but still not dull or boring.
-Great game solo, or even more fun in groups.
-Slightly better storyline than LBP.
-Re-play value of this game is very high. Very fun to go back and re-play levels for fun, to get 100% completion, and to ace the levels.
-The ability to create your own levels.
-Many new fun items that you can collect throughout the levels.
-This game can be played for everyone and for all ages.

Cons:
-Story mode short .
-Storyline is an improvement, but I think it could be more improved.
-My LBP2 tends to lag when loading, especially when I try to go online.
-I wish it was possible to see the prize bubbles that your partner is missing in multiplayer.
-(Compared to LBP):Outfits are now alphabetized, rather than arranged from oldest-newest. Also new items are no longer highlighted, making it harder to find.

Verdict: 9.0/10
Great game! Enjoyable for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!

posted by NikonFlash (ARGYLE, TX) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After just buying my PS3 I knew the first game I wanted to rent was Little Big Planet 2. I remeber seeing the comercials for this game and was in love with the graphics.

After starting up the game and going through the basic controlls, I knew this was going to be an amazing game. As an art director, I always look closer at the textures, graphics and art than most people might want to. I was shocked to see how much care and creative energy went into making this unique and fun game.

Another interesting aspect of this game is the community that hundreds of thousands of people play in. You can visit peoples custom-built games and worlds. I also love that every "sack-thing" can be customized from the head down to the type of material. So basicly no two players will have the same character....which is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Jaws (FONTANA, CA) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has some awesome stuff like new outfits. The good part is when you have Little Big Planet 1, it transfers the data on Little Big Planet 1 to Little Big Planet 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First time playing this game and i enjoyed it!!!!!

posted by 250zombies (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first time playing a Little Big planet game. When i first saw the previews for the first one i was very confused on what the gameplay was all about. So when the second one came out i decided to give it a try, and im glad i did. Loved all the levels in it. The gameplay wasnt really original, but it didnt matter. The graphics are AMAZING!!! Some of the best 3D effects ever!!! The worlds are very creative. The mini games are fun to play. My only problem with this game are these stickers. It became very annoying pausing the game and going through the huge selection trying to find a sticker when there so many of them. Im a kind of player that doesnt really care about high scores, so i just skipped that and played the game. I might even rent the first one now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Little Big Planet 2 is awesome.

posted by DmeshOnPS3 (GARDINER, NY) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome and is as fun or funner than the first. While there are many similarities, there are new tools, weapons, and single-player campaign for sackboy to have fun with. The levels that you made and the levels that you favorited are carried over to LBP2. there's about 2 million user created levels to have fun with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!

posted by abbebosco (NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best game's ever!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More then you can Imagine

posted by Assassino (LIBERTY, MO) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Some of you may be looking at little big planet, see cute little sackboy, and say, "Im too old for this" I have news for you, you are never too old for uber fun! Not all fun has to come from shooting, but if you wanted that fun, dont panic, for you can find it here. Do you want a basic family game, you got it here. Do you like making somthing your own, raising to fame amongst people, you found it here. Do you like to laugh with your friends, while runing from a shark, you got it here. Do you like the Arcade games on PSN, but don't want to waste money everytime u want to play a new mini game, Buy this! Do you like making stories, you can do that here. Do you like feeling superior to your friends when they have no clue what your doing, guess what, you have it here!

WHAT CAN I DO?

That list would be too long, so i will leave it with this, "What can't you do?".

This game is not about single player, its about the community, its not about story mode, they add that to show you what you can do, and to give you prizes.

Story mode is fun, but irritating somtimes when trying to ace hard levels. But hey thats the point right!

WHAT ARE THE DOWNSIDES?

The main downside i could say about this game, and maybe the only, is the fact that to create a good game, it takes time, and a learning curve to get around.

ANY HINTS FOR BUILDING?

Yes, there are many things you can do that will help you build, the main thing is to remeber, "Trial & Error". Don't freak out if somthing doesn't work. Just rewined and try somthing else to make it work.

Other hints and tips can be found in the community, go to cool levels or text search, and search what you need help with.

SHOULD I BUY OR RENT THIS GAME?

The game grows itself, people get better and the game never ends. I suggest buying the game, but if your not sure u want the game then i recommend you rent it. Just remeber "DON'T MISS THIS GAME"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for Kids

posted by Bigbluelion (HOMESTEAD, FL) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Harmless fun for my 9, 7, and 4 year olds. They just simply enjoy playing this game and enjoy the features on it as well. They character dress up mode on their characters they really love editing them and winning new outfits and accessories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"More than a sequel"

posted by dbomb9 (DELTONA, FL) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found this to be the best game ever to hit the shelves! Everything is perfect, the sequencers, the controllinator, and my favorite, the sackbots. In the first, many people (me) had trouble creating good levels with advanced logic and vehicles, now all you need is a good imagination, some thought, and a smile on your face (which wasn't hard to get!).
Playability: Perfection! the game has easy controls thay contribute to the fun of the game.

Sound: A great variety of songs and SFX to make your levels great.

Entertainment: The story was so great that it made me cry because it ended.

Replay value: You'll be popping this game in for years to come.

Graphics: So awesome you'd think you were sackboy.

Concept: 10 out of 10 Best game I've played in years!

All together, this was more of a humongous add-on. Everything from the first (including DLC) is carried over. Bravo Media Molecule... You've improved perfection!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LBP2 Multiplayer

posted by lovNmygamz (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First things first. The game is excellent in so many ways and I love it.

Now my one and only complaint:

The game offers you to adjust your settings to auto-accept, ask, or reject you from joining other peoples games or your own game. At least from my own experience I have noticed a trend in this game compared to LBP1 that is aggravating me. I leave my settings set to auto everything, If someone joins me, cool. If not, oh well. But whenever I start a level it looks for ppl to join and I constantly get rejected warnings from ppl not wanting to play with anyone. Now, I understand ppl just want to solo it sometimes and that is cool, but for those that like to interact with others, finding a level to play with others can be a daunting task. MM really needs to make a lobby or something for ppl interested in not playing solo. Maybe a queue that allows you to be put in line for a certain level adjustable by how many ppl you are looking for and such. Just my thoughts on this, im not bashing ppl that want to play solo, just wish there was some way to meet new ppl easier, and not just by sheer luck when im starting a level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by beltazor (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games out there .
I only wish it was a little bit longer, other than that nothing else to complain .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Such a fun game for two or more players

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) Dec 21, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Keep an open mind and have fun :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice Upgrade

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a nice improvement on the first one. Added dimensions like mini-games, jump pads, a grappling gun all are fun to play with. The story mode is much improved as well.

I haven't had much chance to see what was online beyond just single levels but, the ability to create whole series of them should further enhance the community developed material even further.

Overall, if you are a fan of the first one (which I was) you will enjoy this one. It's got some "more of the same" so it's not a 10/10 in my book but, it definitely is a good game worth a rental at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

<3333

posted by star_city (ORLANDO, FL) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

LOVE THE ONLINE MULTIPLAYER FUN. SACKBOY IS SOOOO ADDICTING. LOVE THE STORY TOO. AN LOVE HEARING THAT TROPHY CHIME.
<3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Size doesn't matter when its this much fun

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 28, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Its here and its anything you can imagine. So happy to play the new LBP game, I really enjoyed the first one and couldn't wait till the next edition. I liked that it was simple to port over you existing LBP profile to LBP2.

Controls, well its hard to say really. Depends on what you are playing at the time. The main story controls are very simple and enjoyable, once you get into playing posted levels the controls change every time you dive. Graphics are charming and exactly what I like when trying to craft my own worlds for others to enjoy in LBP. Music was really enjoyable in the main game, I found myself tapping my foot on more than one occasion.

Main story was a lot of fun with all the different types of levels and characters plus the fun power ups, who doesn't want a gun that shoots cupcakes? Lots of fun jumping in with friends or even total strangers to complete the levels and try to pick up massive scores all the while searching for new stickers and parts for create mode.

Once you start creating you wont stop. So very many pieces and parts to combine together. Make music for your levels to set whatever mood you are trying to set. Anything and everything can be made in LBP2 and its even easier with the new tools at you disposal.

This game is a good play and unlimited fun, I mean come on where else can you play Super Mario Brothers, Grand Theft Auto and Dead Rising in one place? Only LBP. Now stop reading and get to creating!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No spoilers, just my opinion thus far.

posted by Force07 (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is not for everyone but it is solid. Thus, the score of a 9 versus a 10. The visuals are flatout amazing and the game play is phenominal. Hadn't got a chance to fully tackle every aspect of the game like the online options or the level editor; but so far it is nice if you are a pure platforming fan. No guns or violence here, just amazingly well thought out platforming with amazing artistic style. Also, the scope of the game is so huge. I will continue playing, but it seems like one of those games where no matter how long you've played there's still something different you can do. By the way. If you have a high end HD tv you are in for a treat much like the first time around. Worth a rental easily. Worth a purchase if you are into to this type of game. It is super nice so far for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse