Rent Limbo 3 Pack for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Limbo 3 Pack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rent if you have ever wanted to play these!

posted by SuperSofa (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I have always wanted to play Limbo and Trials HD but I never wanted to spend the Microsoft Points to buy them. I saw this pack was coming out so I decided to rent it and it lived up to all of my expectations. Although I am not going to review each of the games individually because that has already been done before I will say putting all three of them in a back was a great idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2 Great games, 1 not so much.

posted by Schwal (BOULDER, CO) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

It's definitely worth a rent if you wanted to play any of these.

Trials HD 10/10
I actually own this one, and it's expansions. It's fun, but it does require a LOT of practice to get consistently good, especially at the medium and higher difficulties. It's probably not going to have as much appeal as a rental, and if you were going to outright buy any of them, this would be the one as it has lots of replay value.

Limbo 9/10
Very good and atmospheric, with excellent puzzles. However it is short, at 4-5 hours, and has no replay value. Rent it to experience it, but it's not worth buying.

'Splosion Man 5/10
It starts off okay, but becomes unforgiving at about level 15 of 50, and the controls are just a little off. The camera seems to hate you a lot of the time, so you're going to die a lot. And then restart at a checkpoint that's too far back. N+ and Super Meat Boy are much better executions of the genre, helped by the fact that they are pure 2D. I stopped playing around level 23.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 Winners

posted by Slarky (LIBERTY, NC) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Collection is really fantastic. I played the Limbo demo on Xbox Live and immediately knew I wanted to play the full game. Being the cheapskate that I am, I added it to my gamefly Q to save myself $15 in XBL Points.

When the disc arrived I played through Limbo in about 2 days, mopping up the achievements the second evening. Some people might call that too short but it felt like a good length. It reminded me of the old days when you could pick up a NES cart and beat it once a day if you wanted to. Limbo is a really artistic game, the visuals, the themes, it really is the first game that I've played that felt like art.

Limbo IS however very gloomy. This is where you go back to the menu and look at the other titles on the disc. Splosion man is anything but gloomy. You are an escaped combustible man (reminiscent of a raving rabbid) who explode scientists into chunks of meat whilst running through the gauntlet of a subterranean lab. The controls are simple, you explode to jump, attack, wall climb etc... The special collection item for each level is a cake, the matrix slow motion as Splosion man yells out "CAKE!" is quite amusing. My son and I delight in finding the cake in each level. The character animations are very funny and the semi coherent babbling catchphrases don't get old.

The other title on the disc is Trials HD. I really expected this game to be filler. To my surprise, its really quite addictive. You drive through an extreme obstacle course floating in a giant warehouse type structure on a dirt bike. There's no steering left or right, just brakes gas and leaning forward or back to make sure the bike doesn't flip. It reminds me of what an Excitebike remake should be.

If you're looking for some unique twists on the old school 2D side scrollers of the past then this disc is simply gold. All 3 titles are real winners.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sick, Twisted and Simple

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Limbo, clearly the standout title in this 3-game pack can be best described with those three adjectives. In this title, you have to guide a dark shadow of a character through environments that range from murky swamps to industrial tunnels, using fantastic puzzle elements to keep him from dying. Along your path are bear traps, falling storage bunkers, giant spiders and savages with poison darts. The unique art style of this platformer, along with the accessibility and sheer simplicity of its controls make it a definite must play. And now that it's a rental, there's no excuse to not give it a try! Limbo's story can be completed in a couple of hours, even with collecting all the easter eggs.

Trials HD comes in at a close second. Glorious stunts and crashes are fun to enact, and it gives you a daredevil feeling from the safety and comfort of your couch. With a level editor and bikes and tournaments to unlock, Trials has quite a bit of replay value.

Splosion Man, in my opinion, is the least appealing of the three games. I should have guessed I was in for sensless entertainment when I opened the Options menu and found all four face buttons were set to "SPLODE!" A "splode" is essentially an exploding jump. You can splode three times in one jump. Unlike Limbo, whose simplicity comes off as artistically genius, Splosion Man feels more demented and uninspired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Limbo is great fun

posted by photokatalyst (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I totally ignored the other two games, but Limbo is a lot of fun. Sometimes the side scroller games can get a bit tedious because you have to try over and over, but Limbo more than makes up for this with imaginative gameplay and beautiful and gory game setting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great new experience

posted by bowsmasher (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rented this game purely for "limbo",and i am most certainly happy that i did. this game is very new and interesting,the presentation is not like anything i have ever seen before,i never thought i could say that a black and white game is somehow colorful. the puzzle make the game though,they can be so mind bending and hard,this is truly a trippy game and if thats your thing then you are definitely going to be impressed. and if you don't like trippy then you should still give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2 outta 3 ain't bad

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this solely for Limbo, as I already have downloaded Trials, but I'll review all 3 as best I can

Trials:

Starts off almost like a simple kickstart/excitebike game where you simply control your speed to hit the jumps, but before you know it you are grinding each level, and trying not to die 500 times per level. Fun, but frankly, too hard (for me). 7/10 (9/10 for the early levels where it is fun!).

Limbo:

Another oldskool formula, effectively a sequence of puzzle rooms to decipher. I finished it in one sitting of about 5 hours, not sure there is much reason to play through again (other than achievement to complete it in one sitting and die no more than five times), but is a joy for that sitting. 8/10

Splosion Man:

Rather aggravating platformer. Must admit I just didn't 'get' it. 5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I got it for Limbo...

posted by CJSmithers (MIDVALE, UT) May 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I had wanted to rent this game to play Limbo; I had tried the demo for this game back when and liked it but didn’t want to buy the game for the 1200 MP. I also had tried Trails HD demo and thought hey two games in one that I want lets try it. I have to say Limbo was great; puzzles were hard but not too hard that you couldn’t figure them out eventually with some trial and error. Limbo is a definite one to try this for, as for Trials I have to say it was fun at first but just got hard to the point that I was just frustrated as heck cause you cant get a gold metal in the later ones unless you do it without crashing or exploding which happens al lot in the later dynamite ridden levels. All in all it was still fun. Splodsion Man seemed fun but kept getting stuck even in two players it needed too much team work for my taste and timing skills. In the End I would say get it for Limbo and dabble if you want on the other two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is FUN

posted by KrazyKat (HAMILTON, MI) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

First off, Trials HD is a really fun sidescroller game where you have to get to the finish line the fastest and with few faults.. It's a lot harder then it looks.... sometimes the physics of it is hard to control... which is infuriating when you are checkpointed in front of a really big hill. Trials HD, 9/10. Secondly, Limbo is amazing. It's trial-and-death gameplay is really cool, and its so beautiful. 10/10. 'Splosion Man is cute, yet sometimes irritating with a partner. 8/10... overall 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good rental

posted by Ponno (ELKTON, MD) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's great that they are putting some more games on disc from the arcade. I dislike spending points on what really amoiunts to a license to play that can be revoked anytime.

Trials is a great game on it's own and is the better of the three games. It's a side scrolling dirtbike racing game that put you against the clock to get through an obstacle course. It has skill games included. unfortunately they did not include the additional DLC trakcs in this bundle. But it is very addictive and fun.

Limbo I found pretty boring and the controlls felt clunky and slow to reposnd. I played it for a hour and was just bored. It is a side scrolling puzzle type game. you are trying to keep moving while outwitting spiders and other enemies.

Spolision man I found frustrating. it's a fun game where you basicaly blow yourself up to get through a course as fast as possible. It is kid friendly but get can get repetitive. it would be th seocnd best in this group.

I'm sure others will find any three of these extremely fun to play. It is definatly worth a rent espcially just for Trials HD alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

limbo

posted by samuel420 (ORANGE, TX) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game made my pen1s grow 2 inches ,my girl friend is very happy that i rented it (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good rental...

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Apr 3, 2014

Member since May 2013

Fun games but not really anything worth playing a lot...really no replay value because of the lack of multiplayer and short games overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great!

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

Lots of fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Limbo is great

posted by DAG (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I'm rating this for limbo - it's great. It's kind of like an interactive suspense/horror movie. It isn't too hard but isn't so easy that it's boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boooo

posted by PhillyTerpDad (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 29, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

title says it all. Trials 2/10 Limbo 8/10 Splosion Man 2/10 so by averages they get a 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Three Great Titles

posted by rodfong591 (ESTES PARK, CO) May 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I Mainly Rented This For Limbo And A Little Bit For Trails HD but unlike most the "reviewers" i loved splosion man. it is a platformer and most people dont like platformers anyways but i loved it. it suprisingly was my favorite of the 3. trials hd supprisingly was my least favorite. it was just OK. limbo was fun and has a great storyline so heres my reviews for each game
Splosion man 10/10
limbo 9/10
Trails HD 6/10
Overall 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Three Low Quality Games

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

Limbo is a puzzle game which hides the puzzle elements from you (Oh, is that a switch? I wish I'd known that 10 minutes ago), then makes you do the same thing over and over again because your timing wasn't perfect, even though you've already figured out the answer.

Splosion man is an incredibly shallow platformer where all you do is triple jump. Like Limbo, prepare to be ruthlessly punished for narrowly missing jumps, having your timing just a little off, and being surprised by obstacles from off-screen.

After these two, trials is just par for the course. Some developer said "Oh motorcross game would be sweet!" and went about making it without bothering to think through the design. So yeah, it's flat and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by nate33 (ENCINITAS, CA) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

All of these games are very fun. Just one note though- ONLY SPLOSION MAN HAS MULTIPLAYER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just for trials, Limbo

posted by StonyFace (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Pretty fun with trials, Limbo was a trip but all in all 7-10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

all 3 games are average

posted by EuroGamer6 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

In this combo pack you get Trials HD, Limbo and Splosion Man. Trials HD is pretty fun while it lasts although it is sort of easy to play through and is pretty short. Sort of like a dirt bike plat former where you have to make it through the obstacles and stunts without falling. There are many checkpoints that make this game very easy. The HD graphics make it fun to play though. Splosion man is a simple plat former with easy puzzles and boss battles. All you do is run around making yourself explode in order to get to a higher level, kill enemies or solve puzzles. It is the least game i liked of the 3 in this combo pack. Limbo is the one that i liked the most just because of the smooth gameplay and clever puzzles. The visuals are all but black and white and some grey. There is barely any music except the sound effects of things around you and sometimes a dramatic tone will play if you come across something of a surprise. You play as a nameless little boy trying to escape a dark and deadly nightmarish world. By itself i would give this game a 6 because it is short, and not really a good next gen console game, but could be more of a fun flash game on armorgames or something. The combo pack although is worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Limbo is great, rest just OK

posted by Demon1728 (YORBA LINDA, CA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I rented this game for Limbo and it was all I expected and more. If you loved the demo, then you must rent this triple pack. Trials was ok, but nothing special. Splosion Man was fun at first, but got very old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »