Rent Let's Tap for Wii
view large frontback

Let's Tap

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

197 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

I'll tap - for a short while

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a very clever idea; to use the sensitivity of the Wiimote to tap, tap, tap your way to vicotry in several games.
But in order to play Let's Tap, you'll have to get a empty tissue box (the rectangular one works best, not the cube one). You place the Wiimote on top of the box, and tap the box to play the games, so it is not a Pick up and Play game.
There are five games available in Let's Tap.
Tap Runner has you running against the computer or players through up to sixteen obstacle courses. You have to jump over hurdles, go through hoops, swing on vines, and slide down inclines. I like this game the best of the five
Next, we have Rhtym Tap. Yep, it's a muscial rhythm game where you tap the box according to the prompts. It's fun, but can be hard; it's too easy to strike the box with a hard tap when the game wanted a light tap.
Silent Blocks is the Let's Tap version of Jenga; you pull out blocks from a tower and hope the tower doesn't fall. This may be fun multiplayer, but it's no fun in single player mode
Bubble Voyager has you as a guy in a suit floating through an obstacle course shooting boxes and other things. At the end of the course, you land on a platform, then do it all over again. I didn't find this game fun
But the worst game of the bunch iss the Visiualizer. All you have to do is tap the box to make some very bad abstract art. It's the type of art that a five year old's mother would put on the door of their refrigerator for the family to see.
So, this is yet another mini game compliation with some game that are fun, and some that aren't. It's worth a try, but there's not enough here for me to purchase it. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

interesting

posted by blomac7 (CHERRY VALLEY, IL) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the idea was genius the game not so much. the game seemed like a test to see if the whole tapping concept would work. make sure uyou have a wiimote cover and a shoebox to play the game on. with out the cover it alway told me i was tapping to hard because the wiimoe would roll every where. im not saying the game was bad. but if it would have had normal wii controls it would've gotten a 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Let's Not...

posted by Wendigo17 (DACULA, GA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let's Tap is the latest creation of famed game designer, Yuji Naka; he's the creative genius behind the Sonic series. You'll literally be tapping on a box to manipulate on-screen actions. Let's Tap features a total of five games, which I have reviewed individually below.

Game #1: Taprunner- This game is fun...at first, but it quickly becomes very repetitive. Flawed controls make it a frustrating experience when played competitively. That being said, it's the second best game in the bunch.

Game #2: Rhythm Tap- A very basic and physically exhausting rhythm action game; on the plus side, the songs aren't bad, but it's not enough to keep you coming back.

Game #3: Silent Block- This game is like a vertical version of Tetris; the problem is that selecting which block you want to remove will really try your patience. This game would have been more fun without the tap controls.

Game #4: Bubble Voyager- I had the most fun with this game; the single-player mode is very similar to the one in Balloon Fight but much better, and the multiplayer mode was a blast once I figured out the controls.

Game #5: Visualizer- This is perhaps the most boring of the five games; all you do is tap and watch what appears on-screen. You can't win or lose, and I can't help but to feel that this game was tacked on.

Pros:

1. Innovative concept
2. Catchy music
3. Bubble Voyager was fun
4. Interesting control scheme

Cons:

1. Only five games
2. Most of the games won't hold your interest for long
3. The control scheme is extremely frustrating at times
4. Only one game actually impressed me
5. Very short game
6. Virtually no replay value
7. You'll have to find your own box to play this game; it wasn't included in the American version.
8. Not worth the money, and it was a wasted rental for me.
9. Tapping a button would have been more effective than tapping a box.
10. It's just a cheap gimmick; nothing more.

Overall Score: 5.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dumb

posted by Eshh81 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This is by far the dumbEst game ever!!!! While trying to tap, you are constantly having to put the contoller back on the box bc tapping knocks it off- simply stupid. Back to the drawing board on this one. Plus the games are no fun, just no fun! Would not recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK Rental

posted by doug97 (WHITE, GA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is fun for a couple of hours as a rental. Very unique and fun control system, but in the end it felt like it might me a better fit as a mini game on another game than a stand-alone title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Perfect Rental Game

posted by Silvercube (Miami, FL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Let's Tap is a Nintendo Wii game that makes you place your Wiimote on a box (I used a tissue box) and use your fingers to tap to a variety of games.

The game is a lot more fun when playing with family and friends.

There's 5 games you can select from in the main menu once you finish the brief tutorial:

1. Tap Runner: Tap your character to run and jump over obstacles, more tracks unlock as you progress. It's a little bit of fun.

2. Rhythm Tap: My favorite game mode in which there are 16 songs in total (4 to start with) in which you tap to the beat. Most of the songs are quite catchy and fun to play! You need to score a grade C or higher in order to unlock more songs. There's 3 different tap icons, corresponding to what kind of tap you need to do. It's a little similar to Donkey Konga, so if you liked that game, you will enjoy this mode.

3. Silent Blocks: It's basically Jenga. Select a block by tapping, and then slowly tap to remove the block. Players alternate turns.

4. Bubble Voyager: A side-scroller shooting game. Do a heavy tap to fire a bullet, lightly tap to progress and collect energy.

5. Visualizer: Tap and see different effects show up on screen.

So the reason why it's a perfect rental game is because there's not much else to the game besides these 5 game modes, and some are more fun than others but won't keep you entertained that long. I wish there was more things to do in the game, maybe a sequel could improve on this concept. It's a great game to play over a weekend.

Enjoy and happy tapping!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So much promise.

posted by kokernutz (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game had so much promise but the controls just aren't tight enough.

The visualizer could have been SOOOOO good but it falls flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Let's Tap

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I am really surprised. When I got this game, I thought it was going too frustrate me with control issues. But the exact opposite happened. Rather than finding a game that will bore and frustrate me, I found a fun game with plenty of stuff to do. Now, I will review the games in the order they are in on the menu screen.
Tap Runner:It's a basic platformer with a new twist. The controls are basically tap lightly to run, tap heavily to jump. It's that simple. As you progress in the game you will find other obstacles in your way. They range from Hurdles, to electric balls, to branching pathways, to springs, and to escalators. This was the best game in the collection.
Rhythm Tap:This game is basically a Guitar Hero clone. You tap at different levels for the different collored orbs(Light=Blue, Medium=Green, Heavy=Red). The only problem is, you can never judge power. It was a fun game, but it was the second worst on the collection as well.
Silent Blocks-It's a fun puzzle game. It is simple but fun. Its the middle game on the collection.
Bubble Voyager-This game is a fun shoot em' up similar to Galaga in the single player mode. But in the multiplayer mode, it is like Asteroids. It is the second best game in the entire collection.
Visualizer-This is the worst game on the collection. It is more of a relaxation tool than anything. It basically controls like this, you tap and things happen on the screen. That is all. It is a boring game, but it is also the most beautiful game on the collection.
So what is my final verdict? Buy the game. You will have a blast playing the single player and a ton of fun with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor response and not much fun

posted by Aloric (FULLERTON, CA) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The addictive theme song lead me astray. The games aren't much fun at all and the whole tapping concept is made difficult because the system always thinks you're tapping too hard, even if the sensor level is compensated for in the game's settings.

This is a quick turn-around return for me from gamefly. And it's not my wiimote - I own 4 and they're all perfect for all other games, just not Lets Tap. That's a programming problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »