Rent Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude for Xbox
view large frontback

Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.0

1852 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Funny but don't try it on XBOX360

posted by Nothinggal (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 8, 2008

Member since May 2008

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldn't wait to check out the game... Yes, I am female but most of my friends are guys so I guess I'm a bit "open minded"!

Anyway, I have XBOX 360. The game is compatible, but it was released for the XBOX original. Game play is a bit difficult. The challenges are nearly impossible (perhaps it's because of the 360 controller setup). I was hoping there was a bit more room for customization; something similar to a Sims feel. No such luck.

I'll definitely try out the new one when it hits the shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Definitely for the Horny College Student

posted by DSPBacon (ROLLA, MO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is not very challenging but it makes up for it in the entertainment area. If you like animated nudity you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For mature audiences only!!!

posted by midnight11 (ARNOLD, MO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Magna Com Laude is an welcome addition to the Leisure Suit universe. Following the collegiate life of our original hero's nephew was a good change. Because let's face it folks Larry is becoming that old perv uncle that nobody wants around the kids. If you are not a fan of the Leisure Suit series you may be shocked at some of the humor and graphics that you will be exposed to. For the fans you will love to see your favorite Loser score with the killer graphics on the XBOX. Long and frequent load times as well as a repetitive game play put a damper to the fun. Defiantly not one for the kiddies but a good time for the mature, or somewhat mature audience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a new version of an old classic

posted by kameleon22 (NORWOOD, NJ) Jun 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

hey i know that some people think this game is just average but the mini games and the 5th grade humor make this game a hit for me..... it does the franchise well! i only wish that they would make the originals for the console lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An Adult Title with Kindergarden Gameplay.

posted by Ou81218 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The gamers who enjoyed playing the first PC Leisure Suit Larry games, ( like myself ) many years ago, will be compelled to rent this game out of loyalty to the franchise and just remembering how fun the original games where at the time. Unfortunately, though the graphics look a little better, the game play hasn't matured at all. Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Com Laude may have had a chance at being a hit in the 80's but by todays standards the game has simple child like game-play. Now if you are just looking for boob shots and don't care about the game play this game might be for you. Believe it or not, us middle aged dudes make up a pretty large percentage of the gamers in this country. I think, we, the OG's ( original gamers ) are looking for a serious game for mature audiences. Not just mature because of over the top extreme violence. Mature exclusively for it's sexual content. A Leisure Suit Larry of our time and worthy of our time ( meaning 2007 ) I think would be well received. Examples: The Hot Coffee sexx mini-game cheat that exists in the 2004 video game Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. The God of War--Sexx Mini Game. Full games like this would be awesome. Carding people that buy these particular games would help protect the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sexy babes

posted by gand1786 (DEAL, NJ) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wanted this game to see hot girls.I hope it has nudity & goin up & down if u know what I mean

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Girls, Alcohol, Nudity, & Hobos...

posted by zdilly (SANTA FE, NM) Oct 11, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry has been an iconic series that has not received the notoriety as it deserves. Back in the 80's the Larry series basically created the 'adult' video game genre, and this installment is no different. To sum it up, this game is an absolute treasure for mature audiences. The game itself is shy of complexity and difficulty, but if you were looking for a game with those qualities, chances are you would not be considering this game anyways. This game nails what it sets out to do: being the absolute best at having fun. Especially if you are in college or graduated, this game is a true riot. If you are looking for a casual game to drink a beer and play with friends or yourself, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I loved this game!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) May 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was a blast. Very tongue-and-cheek, doesn't take itself seriously, easy to get the hang of, lots of hidden stuff and all the T'n'A you can handle! However, this game can be redundant at times and it's not very big. But still fun for everyone (everyone 18 and older that is.) Rent it! And if you can get your hands on the UNcensored version... BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ha.

posted by Barrenzye (EL PASO, TX) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is enjoyable only because of the crude humor and hilarious sexual references.
Other than that, this game is a total waste of your time.
Only rent/buy this game if you are totally bored and looking for a cheap laugh.
Otherwise spend your money on something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LOL

posted by sergio (LEBANON, NH) Dec 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OK well I thought that this game was more funny then fun. It was pretty good except for the story starts to get boring after you move through as many chicks as possible. I really liked it though it was very challanging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

disappointing

posted by snakeman (DREXEL HILL, PA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I love this franchise. 5th grade humor geared for adults, and in general the game play is adult enough to make the experience rewarding. BUT...this title with it's repetitive mini games is barely worth the effort. Yeah, the game is funny, but it is a real shame it isn't fun to play as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It's the D student of the video game world

posted by Spanky7x60 (DENVER, CO) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Wow, I don't even know how to describe this "game". Well to call this a game is an insult to Aquaman!! THIS IS A COLLECTION OF VERY REPETITVE MINI-GAMES. That's about it. It does have a few bright spots, but don't be fooled! Every now and then you get hit with a witty one liner but it's nothing to make you want to play the game anymore. I will give this "game" some credit, the graphics in this title are very fitting. Easy to look at and makes this little fantasy world just a bit more believable. All in all if your gaming console never sees this title I believe it would thank you. This is not even worth a rent. Save your self the pain and just watch paint dry or something!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVED this game and not just for the T&A

posted by Roclord (AURORA, CO) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

While I was a little too young for most of the LSL games I had Love for Sail on the Mac (shows how old that game was) and I loved it. Was interested in seeing how nudity (usually gained from easter eggs, which involved typing) got into this game, No Easter Eggs hallelujah, the mini games were fun and the dialogue was top notch the only thing i missed were the clever names like Drew Baringmore, Dome More, Victorian Principles, Jaimie Lee Coitus, and my favorites Nail Me, and Whydoncha Juggs, but overall the dialogue, and the mistakes that can make it even funnier makes up for the lame names

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Funny game, take it for what it is!

posted by NUKEMUTANT (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is awesome, it is definitely a guy's game. Do not take this game seriously, because it is really funny and satisfying to see the social interactions throughout the game. This game consists of a series a fun (yet sometimes repetitive) mini games that advance to game to meet new girls. Great and funny dialog that references pop culture and raunchy hijinks. Other reviewers hate on this game for some reason, I think maybe Larry has more of social life than those that hate this game. Don't miss out on this one, it is fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Larry, What can I say..........

posted by purewitz (Orlando, FL) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Story is pretty funny, but not great. Game play was lacking and most of the mini-games were horrible. Its not the worst, but its not the best. I gave this game a try, because when I was a kid I remember see the boxes for the old games . Always wondered who this Larry guy was. Well needless to say I wasn't impressed. The final word: If you not a Larry fan already. Don't even bother with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worse Game I have ever played.

posted by sege5641 (PRINCETON, MN) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

The only object of the game is to get with girls. I didn't even get vary far because the puzzles are way to hard. If your talking to a girl you have to navigate your way though obstacles with your sperm. The outcome of the conversion depends on this. This game is cleanly for 13 year old boys but the puzzles are made for more older players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERY GOOD ADULT FUN!!!!!

posted by pacsghost (NORWALK, CA) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

BLAH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic but quick to finish!

posted by DanDanInc (CHELMSFORD, MA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I really thought they did a great job making this one! The unlocks are funny, the missions are hilarious and the dialog is a riot! For a Larry title they covered all the bases of college life. I would have kept this game if they gave me the option! I had my friends rolling on the floor during some of the scenes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by recon4 (ARNOLD, MD) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

anyone under 17 should not play this game because of the nudity

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A game for the hidden perv in all of us

posted by satchel (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

This game is completely perverted, but not in a bad or gross way. It definitely doesn't rate as anywhere near the best game ever, but it is still fun. If you're willing to slum for a few days, this game is for you. It's a short game, and is really easy to figure out. This game is definitely for adults, or atleast mature high school aged kids. Do not let your kids play this, there is a lot of animated nudity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice game but somewhat complex mini games

posted by songbird (MEMPHIS, TN) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

The game was easy in the begin. When you continue to play more and more, it became a restless task of trying to get on swingles and getting laid at the same time. The mini games get complicated after a while but it is still exciting. It's not made for anybody under the age of 18. I really enjoyed this game very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

oh dear

posted by Wookie345 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

well i actually did'nt even play this game. but this game should never get into the hands of ANYONE 17 OR UNDER!!!!! this is my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game and tokens.

posted by morbeus (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jul 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

A fantastic game i think,a sure time waster that will keep you going. i also found out that 550 token are possible if you save them until the game ends and then spend them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »