Rent Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude for PS2
view large frontback

Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
6.2

2187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hilarious!

posted by Mooersy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 21, 2006

Member since May 2006

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I found this game very entertaining. The whole point of the game is to get your character "Larry" laid. You will find that something always goes wrong when it is about to happen. This game reminds me of the movie 40 yr. old virgin. The game kept me interested for the simple fact of which dumb woman will actually have intercourse with this moron. The flirting side games are hilarious, because I used to play quite a few of em. I would definitely suggest renting if not owning this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good for the drunken college crowd.

posted by Rychris (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Here are the positives:
1). The graphics are entertaining.
2). The story makes sense and is engaging.
3). The different worlds are fun to explore.
4). The characters are hilarious.
5). A few of the minigames are creative and fun.

Here are the negatives:
1). The loading time is P A I N F U L L Y slow.
2). The humor is crude and doesn't change. If you like hearing the same joke over and over and over and over and over....well, you get the point.
3). The voicing is obnoxious. Mute it.
4). The conversation (i.e. sperm) minigame is repetitive and difficult to control even when Larry is sober.
5). The level of excitement is on par with watching a John McCain speech.
6). Every "prize" won elicits a "so what" response.
7). There's almost no challenge. Any challenge inherent in the game feels more like faulty programming with the controls.
8). This version lacks any real choice/consequence aspect that previous versions of LSL contained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Crude humor plentiful

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry appeals to a very limited audience. 18 years or older, in college, impressed by video game nudity and crude humor. If this applies to you, buy this game! If this does not apply, rent this to see what I am talking about.

This game is not horrible, but after a while it gets repetitive. It is very humorous if you like crude humor, but most of the time it is just down right stupid.

The object is to score. If you are thinking get the most possible points, this game is not for you. There are numerous ladies that you will get to know in one way or the other. There is animated nudity that is nothing to be offended about as it is quite ridiculous. There are of course jokes on different parts of the anatomy, male and female, an incredible amount of, in fact, and in the end you pick the girl you want to be with. With that comes jokes and puns in a mature manner definitely not intended for kids.

If you are a fan of the old Leisure Suit Larry's, not much has change, except game play was fun in the old version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, easy, and funny

posted by Cork007 (COLUMBIA, MD) May 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's a very simple game made to be completed. Lot's of funny things and characters, funny minigames, totally worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exocite fun

posted by Coffeeman2 (ONTARIO, OR) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is the best, the reason why is because it is so fun that it is just for adults that need some pleasure. The game is also very entertaining. You basicly get to play quarters with some of the woman. but it is also a game that can be challenging and very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I can't give this game a score

posted by CrazeFan (BROOKLINE, MA) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game is fairly odd because it's so great but it sucks at the same time. Let me explain: for this game to appeal to you, you have to like 3 things:
1) American-pie style humor
2) playing the same mini-games all day
3) Waiting.

This game has some of the funnies one liner jokes I've heard from a video game. This is a laugh out loud funny game.

Unfortunately the game consists of Larry running around and playing the same 5-10 mini-games over and over and over.... This is such a shame because the camera in this game worked so well, they could have really done something great with this game.

But what really brings this game down is the loading times. They can last up to 45 seconds! Which would be ok, but if you're just passing through to get somewhere else you'll probably only spend 20 seconds doing what's been loading for so long. The game is fairly short... about 10 hours or so, but at least 2 of those hours in total are spent on loading.

CONCLUSION?
This is a good game when it comes to content which is why I was grinding my teeth and just trying to get through the stupid mini-games to see the cut scenes. It all depends on your sense of humor (and patients)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PERVERTED

posted by Nameless (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 3, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

15 out of 29 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry is a pretty repetitive and perverted game. The whole point of the game is to get Larry laid, which he has a lot of trouble doing. This is a fantasy game for 13 year olds, it's pretty dirty. Even though the game looks like a cartoon it's surprisingly detailed. Their is a lot of loading screens and their a little too long, which can get annoying. But to make up for it the loading screens have some pretty hot women on them. Overall the game is alright, it's nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To much LOADING time

posted by Blueboy435 (HOPE, ID) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although I like the concept of the game I feel that it takes to long for the game to load every time you go to do anything. Will there be a newer version all uncensored?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not great, but not too bad

posted by Rhymes (WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well this game is pretty okay. Even though after awhile you fill like your doing the same thing over and over again. I felt like there should have been lot more to do in the game, so the creators left a few things out. Not a game I would put in my top five, but if you'd like a few laughs go ahead and rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Not That Bad!

posted by Raiden (KISSIMMEE, FL) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I mean, okay it has the same mini games but the story line was pretty cool and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quarters Baby!

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Dec 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Not a game for young children, but for those of you have hit adulthood this is a great game. There are a lot of challenges you face as Larry and the antics are awesome. Definitely pick this up if you are a guy who enjoys sims style games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

larry

posted by vt6470 (MORRILTON, AR) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

He is a stud muffin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amusing...

posted by weezer (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 11, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry is a little childish and stupid, but I think that's what gets you wrapped up in the game. Your goal is to become a suave sophisticated college student and to get drunk till you can no longer see what you're doing. This game will keep you entertained knowing that you really want this guy to get some action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funny Adult Humor

posted by TriggerCR (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you like mini games and adult humor then you won't want to miss out on this game. A definite good rental. I recommend it for a weekend of laughs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Leisure Suit Larry

posted by Cappish (HAVELOCK, NC) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of crude and sexual humor, this game is for you. I got this game and played it and to me it was very amusing. The fun only lasts a couple of days though because it all runs together. I gave it a 5 out of 10.

It is something to pass the time and after a while you do feel bad for Larry and is mishappening adventures in college.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Leisure Suit Larry

posted by tynkirbell (CHARLESTON, WV) Jun 2, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have to say that I was kind of disappointed in this game. All of the character games were the same, talking, quarters, trampoline. It gets boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Larry

posted by hahalina (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Larry tries to mix humor with adult content and it does not work. All missions and tasks center around getting Larry laid. The not so hidden innuendo of the title should clue you into the lack of taste the game has in store for you. Game play is too simple. If you have a mission you can't win/pass you can "wimp out" using secret tokens that are found and won in abundance through out the game. You will have to have a lot of patience too because the game is loading every 2min. it seems. Larry has very little replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Leisure Suit Larry

posted by zepplin (MIAMI, FL) May 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

What can I say that hasent already been said about this game. The jokes are pretty good but then again the jokes and crazzy things that happen are really your only reward for beating the umpteenth mini game. I think a break from the mini-game onslaught would have helped the game. Dont get me wrong like I said the jokes and situations you run through are funny, slightly original and entertaining. However, the problem is that if your the one playing the game you will miss about half of the graphics because your concentrating on the mini-game mostly involving sperm which loses its "oh no you didnt" about the tenth time you see it. I gave the game a four out of ten because i couldnt tell you what half the game looked like. If we had a little more veriety in the game play i think it would have been a lot better. Not to mention an instant replay would have been nice SO WE COULD SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON !instead of buddies and roomates enjoying the view while you "worked for the man"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Leisure Suit Larry Magna C.u.m Laude

posted by Mojobabe91 (ODESSA, TX) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I absolutely loved this game. Its a different compared to all the other games on the market right now. I couldnt wait to come home everyday and play it. Its fantastic if you have a perverted mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I am growing old with Larry

posted by sunnybear (EVERETT, WA) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I have been playing " Leisure suit Larry, The Land of the Lounge Lizards," and the one that came out right after the " Lounge Lizards!" Back then, I had a computer with the, "monachrome moniter," and I had a "DOT MATRIX PRINTER!" WOW! Things have REALLY changed! I was SO COOL, because I had a P.C. and not too many people had computers BACK THEN!!! About 1/4th into the second game, I got some sort of "color disc" that I could load EVERY TIME I played the game, BUT then IT WAS IN COLOR!!! That was "COOL," It has been at least 20 years since I played a "LARRY," game! BOY, DOES TIME FLY!!! STAY "COOL LARRY!" I think it's great!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Video Hound Dog

posted by gators9606 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

For those familiar with the Sierra series, this is a poorly made sequel with the nephew of the original Larry trying to score while at college. Lots of annoying mini games that often need to be played over and over to get a winning score. Graphics are cartoonish and women are hot in a Jessica Rabbit sort of way. This game did not have the feel of the original where the adventure was primary and only a few mini-games needed to be undertaken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Freezes up too much

posted by mrhouston (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I got this game and enjoyed some of it but then the loading times are too long and it just freezes up too many times so that's a buzzkill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Larry, Friend or Foe.

posted by SeroNitsua (BRADENTON, FL) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I just finished playing and I must say that I do not believe that this game is all it was cracked up too be. Between the annoyingly constant flatulence and the barrage of repetitive mini games, I found myself wanting to spend more and more time doing something else. Like pottery, sewing, or flower arrangements. Overall, I think that this game does have an audience all it's own, but I think that it was just not the right title for my tastes. So in this case I'm going to have to go with: FOE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ha.

posted by Barrenzye (EL PASO, TX) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game is enjoyable only because of the crude humor and hilarious sexual references.
Other than that, this game is a total waste of your time.
Only rent/buy this game if you are totally bored and looking for a cheap laugh.
Otherwise spend your money on something better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by tanner22 (FARGO, ND) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

this game was just doing the same thing over and over again. most of it is just freaking stupid. just playing quaters, and talking all the time. the boobies were a nice addition though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse