Rent Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
2.8

3947 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Alessa (JOHNSTON, RI) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

181 out of 186 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of the series ever since I played the 1st one on my fathers Tandy computer. That just might stop after playing this game.

1st off, let me just say that I thought the point of LSL games was to try and get laiid. So why have I played through 15 missions and not a single one is about girls?? I was completely excpecting repetitve mini games, but where magna cun laude made it fun with a fun story, this one falls completely flat.

I don't think i laughed a single time during the 3 hours of my life I wasted playing this. I normally love immautre diick, fartt, and sexx humor but it's like they didn't even try in this game.

And yes I'll agree with everyone else that the controls are completely horrible (panning around with the camera makes angle worse somehow, and is non-existent when in buildings), and the game has awful framrate issues and glitches (many missions had to be restarted due to this).

I really gave this game a chance but sadly it's one of the worst I've played and is headed straight back to gamefly. Don't even waste your time renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Low expectations not met

posted by BigJefe (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

123 out of 130 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First off let me start off by saying I'm 28, and have an immature junior high school sense of humor. Needless to say LSL was in my Q for months as I eagerly awaited it's release. Then I began reading reviews stating there was no nudity/adult activities and I thought about removing it, but then I saw that Artie Lange, Dave Atell, Carmen Electra, and other Stern Show guests played roles in the game and I figured I'd give it a shot.

Maybe it is my short attention span, or maybe I'm growing up, but I found this game extremely boring. Like another review said, the controls are a mess, and the camera angle is even worse... Especially indoors. The graphics are kinda disturbing, and not in the enjoyable way. The characters teeth look very odd and don't look like they were designed with the same theme as the rest of the character. The missions take forever considering the simplicity of them... Walking between the missions is flat out boring. I understand this isn't GTA4, but it would be nice if you could get into some trouble, break stuff, etc...

Artie sounds like he was chasing the dragon during the recording of his character and sounded about as interested in describing how to use the controls as I do in playing this game anymore.

There is a reason why it isn't a full priced game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls/camera are frustrating.

posted by Samarah (OREGON, OH) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

53 out of 58 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I've played the entire LSL series on the PC so I was looking forward to this release on the Xbox 360. I played the game approximately 6 hours so I feel I gave it a fair shot. There is a great deal of variety throughout the game. You can drive vehicles to different missions/tasks or walk/run if you prefer. You ride horses through obstacle courses and scale terrain and buildings. It also has some fighting by hand and gun. Unfortunately the story is weak and disjointed. The controls and camera/view panning are downright frustrating. After several repetitive death because of the poor controls and camera pan, I finally gave up and sent my rental back. Maybe they'll patch the control/view issues but there were several points where the camera locked into a forward view. I could only fix this issue by jumping in a vehicle. I also had vehicles get stuck on top of items and I couldn't exit the vehicle. I needed to restart to resolve this. Definitely not a buy but some people may enjoy the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth the rental.

posted by cnorris (WINCHESTER, IN) Apr 7, 2009

Member since May 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game had potential to be a fun and funny game, but ended up being not even worth a rental. The control of the characters jumping is horrible and the camera views are horrible as well. Many times when I would go to jump the camera angle would change and the character would jump a totally different way and sometimes kill me and jumping and climbing are important in this game. I failed missions several times just for this reason. I also experienced freezing and glitches during critical playing time and that resulted in lost missions and do-overs as well.
Also, the dialog is really bad, but I would forgive that if the game play was good, but it wasn't.I was hoping it would be similar to Bully, but I was sadly dissapointed. After 4 hours of frustrating gameplay I finally quit to avoid smashing my controller.
If you want a fun sandbox game with good game play then avoid this one like the plague, but if you want frustration and horrible controls then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Some pitty for this horrible game.

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before I say how horrible this game is, I guess I will give it some pitty for their jokes and cutscenes and the girls. Other then that, this game went straight down the toilet. Only some really horrible things about this game was the controls were really awful. The worst controls u can make in a game. And the combat was even more horrible. Here the combat move. A is to punch. And it's not even like a man punch, it's more like a wussy punch. The jumping is also horrible. They made this character like, so stupid, I can't believe it. And the way they made him run looks like a dysfunctional moron jogging. So I say the developers of this game, made this game look even worse then flies on some garbage. Smelly stinky dysfunctional garbage. (Worst of all, they made no cheats) WHAAAT!? So when u read this, lemmie say I am saving your time to rent or buy this game. Because If you do, this will for sure, waste your time. What happened to the old Liesure Suit Larry games? This one was an abomination then the other one. All of the other Larry games were really good untill this one came out. And one other thing, this character also is a major wuss when it comes to falling. Even from like 5 ft high, u would lose like, half of ur life. Let's just hope the same creator of this god for saken game dosnt make another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust

posted by bumpy31 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Camera angles Stink makes the game hard to play at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SMH!

posted by whyme4 (GARLAND, TX) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One word: HORRIBLE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

total gangrenous puss filled nodules

posted by IamDemigod (NEWARK, OH) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't wish this poorly coded piece of drivel on my worst enemy. It not only brings the awesome and funny series down into obscurity, it does so with maniacal displeasure. If it's not the craptastic platforming, in which Larry randomly, yet frequently, decided to simply go the wrong direction or worse, not grab onto a ledge when your 4 stories above the ground. And a six shooter? Come on, this is old school action adventure not red dead redemption. In short, steer clear and try to forget this game ever even existed. I will be rinsing my brain with bleach if you need me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as bad as some would make you think

posted by D2thaM (CANDLER, NC) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes the crude jokes are a bit stupid, I do think they should have waited a bit longer and incorporated nudity into the game instead of simple dirty jokes anyone in the second grade could use. That being said the game itself has a decent amount of fun factor, kinda like a dumbed down sandbox type game with bad controls, yes BAD controls, that will become a pet peeve until you get used to the quirkiness of it. It's definitely worth renting, you will get some laughs, though if you are a bible banger I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just Another Generic Platformer

posted by PooEater (ARLINGTON, TX) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying I have played and enjoyed every single Leisure Suit Larry game... from it's small text adventure beginnings on DOS to it's Point and Click awesomeness to it's console debut (LSL MCL), so I may be a bit biased.... however, this is one BAD game. The fun and humor and sexiness have been taken away from the series and replaced with bad jokes that don't work, horrible controls, one of the worst cameras since Drake and the 99 Dragons and some bad voice work from (some of my favorite) celebrities.

The basic plot of Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust is that you are Larry's nephew.....larry and you are on a mission to find out who is trying to sabotage your uncles studio. Let me really break it down for you... The missions are not very good and incredibly repetitive. Fetch Missions mostly with the occasional "Fight these guys, jump, jump, jump, fight" missions mixed in. Speaking of the "Fighting" I can't begin to explain how bad the combat is here, one button punch, one button block and neither buttons really work. You will repeat alot of missions over and over due to these bad bad bad fighting parts.

The Camera is not good.... while running around you have full control over it with your 2nd stick which is fine and dandy but when it comes to the actual platforming parts of this game (you know the parts where control of the camera is ABSOLUTELY necessary) it is set at a fixed view which is unmovable, Bad Idea!

The look of the game is ok, it is cartoony and fun, I did notice a lot of graininess to the character models when the camera gets up close but nothing that drove me crazy.

Now the most important part of a LSL game is (....not the boobs) the humor. It's an adult game with adult humor that just falls flat here, once or twice I did catch myself laughing (the drunken Cowboy Larry conversation was pretty good) and whoever did Larrys voice is good but all the other...stars(?) did not bring it.

Overall I cannot recommend this game to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

P.O.S

posted by murry14 (COOKEVILLE, TN) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

That should be enough said. Piece Of S!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I dare you to have fun playing this.

posted by Shinedown1 (ALLEN PARK, MI) Jul 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is bad. Im not gonna spend alot of time writing this review because noone will be looking up reviews for this game. Just take my word for it, its awful. Bad graphics, worse control and just plain boring. Skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A fond memory destroyed

posted by Nulzim (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

As a teenager, my mother bought a used computer that had a video game program titled "Leisure Suit Larry and the Land of the Lounge Lizards" already installed on it. I was at the perfect age to understand the fantastic humor based on Larry's (mis)adventures in his sad attempt at love. The graphics may have been bad, but the story and humor more than made up for it. I have many great memories of sitting in front of that tiny monitor, using the arrow keys to move a blocky sprite around town trying to find the perfect(translation:easy) woman. It was one of my fondest gaming memories as a teen.

And Codemasters has completely destroyed that for me. Larry's world has not made the transition to open, 3d world well. Ugly character models, sparse environment and frustrating controls make this game practically unplayable. The missions are bland, the storyline is childish in it's simplicity, and most of the characters personalities are unoriginal stereotypes.

The central theme of most Larry games involves a simple quest: find "love". The hilarious failed attempts that follow are the main attraction to play the games. Three hours into the game (dear lord, how did I survive that long without breaking my Xbox?) and all I seem to be doing is delivering random things to random people, in some odd attempt at finding some sort of corporate spy for your uncle, who owns the movie studio you work for. Basically, you are an intern. If I wanted to do menial things, I would do them IN MY REAL LIFE. What's even sadder is that the story was written by Allen Colvert, writer and star of one of my favorite movies, "Grandma's Boy".

The sole redeeming quality of this game is the voice acting. Jay Mohr, Jeffrey Tambor, Dave Attell, and Patrick Warburton headline some of the best comedic voiceover I have heard in a video game. Shannon Elizabeth and Carmen Electra round out the cast as the eye candy.

All in all, this is an absolute no-go for Larry fans, or video game fans in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW - BAAAAD

posted by albino9 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

there were 5-6 cinematic load screens before getting to gameplay - by then I was bored and asked to graffiti something (???) - I revolted, ejected the game and lived my life instead - it's been great ever since.

DO NOT RENT THIS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst game since E.T. for the Atari 2600.

posted by Eddie316 (RAINELLE, WV) May 21, 2009

Member since May 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Imagine a root canal and a prostate exam at the same time. Thats how painful it is to play this game. Ive been to funerals that were more entertaining than this game. Where did this game go wrong? Where did it go right. The camera angles suck. Most of the time you have no idea what you are looking at because you cant see infront of you. Larry runs like a guy I went to school with. For those of you wondering, he runs like he has a corn cob stuck up his butt. The missions are extremely stupid. Delivering the mail, returning a lost cell phone? Oh yeah, thats real fun. This game tries to hold onto the LSL Magna C Laude idea of crude jokes, but this one cant pull it off. The jokes are really lame and if you dont really pay attention to them then you wont get them.
The minigames are horrible. WOW I got to shoot a movie seen, Yippie. Now here was a perfect oppurtunity to make the game better. I was thinking maybe Ill get to do lines with this chick and she'll swoon over me and Ill get her later on. Ha, No. What do you do? You go get an old drunk for her to do her lines with.
Had I paid of this game, I would have been really mad over waisting good money on it. The game makers should be made to offer a full refund to anyone who did buy it.
The only good part of this game was when I took it out of my 360 and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Got it today, Going back... TODAY!

posted by dborg47 (BEAUMONT, TX) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like other users, I have played this game since it was on my friends commodore 64, this game was not only horrible, it was excruciatingly horrible. I played for a total of 45 minutes, and if I could rush this game back to gamefly I would !
Needless to say, it will be back in the mail early, and I will be waiting for another (hopefully better game) from gamefly...lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A game for two console generations ago.

posted by zombiemike (UNIVERSAL CITY, TX) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm on a side all of my own when I talk about this . . . but I feel this game is better suited about 10 years ago than it is now. . .

Remember Banjo Kazooie? Remember Conkers Bad Fur Day? What about Donkey Kong 64? Okay those games were good. If you go back and play those today, they feel tedious.

This game plays like it wants to be Conker, or Banjo.

In fact it seems to ride on the same joke like Conker.
Conker had feces and boob jokes. . . This game does the same. With the exception of harsher language this game is "Am I late to the party? Really? Oh well we removed nudity so you can even let your kids play!"

Yeah they removed Nudity in this game. Isn't that odd? Its leisure suit Larry with no nudity. I know why they did it, its just. . . they shouldn't have done it in the first place. So nudity was replaced with way worse language. I mean that doesn't make it better or worse. The character models are disgusting.

Everything about this game is that. They have jokes against movies that would have been better placed in the 90's than now. The fact that there are two main running jokes, one against Clint Eastwood/John Wayne and another almost entirely against Michael Jackson just places this game as a decade old in its jokes.

I honestly enjoyed this game after a while, this is because I stopped thinking of it as a Leisure Suit Larry game and instead a game that I would play on my N64.

Do I recommend playing this? Sure, if you were into Conker or Banjo and your very forgiving of some frustrating checkpoints and a rather clunky fighting system that may become trial and error.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever....

posted by thedread (MEDFORD, OR) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Need I say more???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Leisure Suit Lary Box Office Bust

posted by cueball217 (MCKINNEY, TX) May 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This games sucks. It's a mature game. Lots of bad language and sexually innuendos. It's by far the worst game ever created. The camera angles are the worst I've ever experienced. The controls have to do more with luck than skill. I played for about 6 hours hoping it would get better it didn't. It got progressively worse. Not as good as the last Leisure Suit Larry which was on the Xbox console. If you have time to kill and nothing to provide society then you should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rent anything else but this

posted by mitchbuff (CHAPMANVILLE, WV) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It is a pretty easy 600 gamerscore, but it is not worth the frustration. I have never been happier to finish a game, this makes alone in the dark look like Ocarina of Time. Do not even rent! Quite possibly the worst game I've ever played, and I've played some stinkers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Box Office Bust?More Like Bust This Game In Pieces

posted by brandonlah (BATAVIA, IL) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I've ever played in my life. I cant believe I actually rented this. This game actually makes me never want to rent another game from Gamefly again and cancel my subscription. I cant even believe Gamefly would keep such a horrible game in stock. It isnt funny, the graphics suck, the gameplay is awfull. Everything about this game is awfull and Gamefly should take this off of their rental list because your just waisting the time of paying customers. BLAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as bad as I've read about

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros:

- The story is silly but fun. A lot of Porno comedy.
- The character that Tom Arnold did the voice-over for was easily the most entertaining character in the game.
- To do the basic stories, it goes by quick, but you HAVE TO be patient.
- The achievements are pretty easy to get. The only ones that I can see being really frustrating to get are the Speed run, finding 100 trophies (though if you could get the pigeons in GTA, then this will be cake, and then driving 400 miles. In fact, there's no reason to have to drive that long in the game so it's just a time waster of an achievement.

Cons:
- #1 goes to the bad camera controls. It's not a deal breaker, but it's certainly no GTA4.
- Some parts in the game, you just have NO IDEA what you're supposed to do. Don't be afraid to go to youtube to get help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not that bad and not that great all in one

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played it lastnight it was not that bad only thing that really sucks some times you fight the camera but its not as bad as people make it to be and the framerate dips alot and the videos texaure go in and out once in awhile but other then that its worth a rent so what theres no nudity get a girlfriend are a wife and see real tattas are rent the godfather2 the humor is not bad some of it is funny its kind of a fun game ive played all of them and this one is more like a sand box try it your self {l8ter} o yeah graphics i give a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Does anyone understand how this game works?

posted by SlashOmen (LAUDERDALE, MS) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

So everyone has been bashing this game and saying that the graphics and the gameplay are not all they should be, right? So not many people that have played this game can be considered true gamers in my opinion. This whole series is a set of games that is meant to relax you and make you laugh with the stupid jokes and the hokey "missions". It was not intended to be a all out XXX slash first person shooter. It was meant for rude humor, sexual inuendos, and just all round raunchy fun. none of the Larry games have ever had more that a little glimpse of the top half of girls and none of them have ever had all out full xxx scenes. That is not what the game is about. It is about you getting to help this poor, geeky, not so bright person get into the pants of super models and xxx stars. RELAX, ENJOY THE CRUDE HUMOR, AND MOST OF ALL DO WHAT THE WRITERS OF THESE GAMES WANT YOU TO DO (TAKE A BREAK FROM THE SERIOUS BUTT KICKING FPS's AND RPG's).
Now that i have vented a little on peoples ability (or lack of) to relax and have fun, we will get into the game play. To me the game play was much better than the PS2 version of larry. There were a few issues of camera angles and getting stuck on walls and not being able to get out of buggies, but over all the being able to go anywhere and jump around on anything was pretty cool. I will be waiting for this game to get a little better on gameplay and missions, but i hope they keep the crude humor coming. (By the way, I am 32 and can remember playing the original games so i do have a long standing view of this game and hope no offense came to anyone reading this review.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a game to be played around children

posted by Calistyle (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Other then that.. If you've played the oringinal Leisure Suit Larry , I'd reccomend checking this out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse